Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-15, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2024/0123853) in view of Oliver (US 2015/0178784)
A computer implemented method, for managing a recharge session for an electric vehicle (EV) battery (para 7: a method for electric vehicle charging management, comprising: detecting a charge session associated with a charging station;) , the method comprising: encrypting a session identifier; embedding the encrypted session identifier into a text message (encoded identification message that includes an identifier and sending the encoded identification message to the charging station); encoding the text message into a scannable QR code; in response to scanning the QR code, causing the text message to be decoded on an end-user device; in response to decoding the text message, (decoding the identifier from the battery charging rate; and assigning the charge session to an account associated with the vehicle based on the decoded identifier) causing a messaging app on the end-user device to automatically open with a predetermined recipient address and a message body pre-populated with the decoded text message (assign the charge session to an account associated with the vehicle based on the decoded identifier.) in response to sending the decoded text message to the predetermined recipient address, receiving and storing the decoded text message on one or more cloud-based servers; extracting the encrypted session identifier from the decoded text message; decrypting the session identifier embedded in the text message (para 129: aspects of processing system 1200 may be distributed, such as between charging stations 104, the CMS 106, edge network processors, and other processing equipment, including on-site, remote, or cloud-based processing equipment) obtaining session information based on decrypted session identifier; generating and sending one or more messages to the end-user device via the messaging app based on the obtained session information; and deleting the stored decoded text message from the one or more cloud-based servers ( an optional deletion flag in a server-signed data message to the source wireless device).
Lee does not teach:
encoding the text message into a scannable QR code; in response to scanning the QR code, causing the text message to be decoded on an end-user device; in response to decoding the text message;
Lee does not also teach:
causing a messaging app on the end-user device to automatically open with a predetermined recipient address and a message body pre-populated with the decoded text message.
Oliver teaches:
when the QR code is scanned by the user's communications device, the information provided by the QR code opens the SMS client on the communications device used to scan the QR code.
By scanning the QR code 100, the pre-coded message body 220 and destination number or short code 210 will populate the user's screen 200 using the device's SMS application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art that time before the effective filing date of the application to have applied the teaching of Oliver in the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to store large and variable kind of amount of information of data.
In addition, deleting text from web-based server or cloud is routine technique in the art to remove relevant, pertinent, personal information contained in the text being sent or received.
With regard to claim 2, Lee fails to clearly teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the messaging app is at least one of an email app or a short-messaging-service (SMS) app.
Oliver discloses a SMS application (para 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have applied the teaching of Oliver in the transaction device of Lee as an effective way to send and receive the detail of the ongoing transaction process.
With regard to claim 3, Lee fails to teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein in response to the text message starting with a first predetermined string of text, the end user-device automatically opens an email messaging app.
Oliver teaches:
The process begins with a user scanning a QR code, which then, at step 810 automatically opens the user's SMS text messaging application on the user's communications device, and then pre-populates a ready to send text message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately and rapidly identify the consumer making the transaction.
With regard to claim 4, Lee fails to teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein in response to the message text starting with a second predetermined string of text, the end user-device automatically opens an SMS messaging app.
Oliver teaches:
The process begins with a user scanning a QR code, which then, at step 810 automatically opens the user's SMS text messaging application on the user's communications device, and then pre-populates a ready to send text message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately and rapidly identify the consumer making the transaction.
With regard to claim 5, Lee fails to teach Oliver discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined recipient address directs a message to one or more cloud-based servers configured to run a message collector service.
Oliver discloses:
(para 8: user sends the message, the response message and user information are routed to a web-based or network-based application, that can include cloud-based application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately store vast amount of information to be later processed.
With regard to claim 7, Lee discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more messages sent to the end-user device include at least one of:
an acknowledgment of receipt of the initial message sent from the end user device;
a progress update on the level of charge of the EV battery (Para 28);
an emergency stop notification;
a link to a web-based summary of the recharge session;
a receipt;
and a notification of non-compliance and additional fees.
With regard to claim 8, Lee fails to teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined recipient address is one of at least a unique phone number, or a unique email address.
Oliver discloses
the disclosed principles may be extended to any future replacement for consumer identifiers like telephone numbers should the traditional phone number be replaced with something else.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately and rapidly identify the consumer making the transaction.
With regard to claim 11, Lee discloses:
A system, for managing a recharge session for an electric vehicle (EV) battery, (para 7: a method for electric vehicle charging management, comprising: detecting a charge session associated with a charging station;) the system comprising: a kiosk including a graphical user interface; and at least one processor configured to execute one or more operations, the operations comprising: encrypting a session identifier; embedding the encrypted session identifier into a text message; (encoded identification message that includes an identifier and sending the encoded identification message to the charging station); encoding the text message into a scannable QR code; in response to scanning the QR code, causing the text message to be decoded on an end-user device; in response to decoding the text message, causing a messaging app on the end-user device to automatically open with a predetermined recipient address and a message body pre-populated with the decoded text message (decoding the identifier from the battery charging rate; and assigning the charge session to an account associated with the vehicle based on the decoded identifier); in response to sending the decoded text message to the predetermined recipient address, receiving and storing the decoded text message on one or more cloud-based servers; extracting the encrypted session identifier from the decoded text message (assign the charge session to an account associated with the vehicle based on the decoded identifier.) ; decrypting the session identifier embedded in the text message(para 129: aspects of processing system 1200 may be distributed, such as between charging stations 104, the CMS 106, edge network processors, and other processing equipment, including on-site, remote, or cloud-based processing equipment).; obtaining session information based on decrypted session identifier; generating and sending one or more messages to the end-user device via the messaging app based on the obtained session information; and deleting the stored decoded text message from the one or more cloud-based servers ( an optional deletion flag in a server-signed data message to the source wireless device).
Lee does not teach:
encoding the text message into a scannable QR code; in response to scanning the QR code, causing the text message to be decoded on an end-user device; in response to decoding the text message;
Lee does not also teach:
causing a messaging app on the end-user device to automatically open with a predetermined recipient address and a message body pre-populated with the decoded text message.
Oliver teaches:
when the QR code is scanned by the user's communications device, the information provided by the QR code opens the SMS client on the communications device used to scan the QR code.
By scanning the QR code 100, the pre-coded message body 220 and destination number or short code 210 will populate the user's screen 200 using the device's SMS application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art that time before the effective filing date of the application to have applied the teaching of Oliver in the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to store large and variable kind of amount of information of data.
In addition, deleting text from web-based server or cloud is routine technique in the art to remove pertinent, relevant and personal information in the text being sent or received.
With regard to claim 12, Lee fails to teach:
The system of claim 11, wherein the messaging app is at least one of an email app or a short-messaging-service (SMS) app.
Oliver discloses a SMS application (para 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the teaching of Oliver in the transaction device of Lee as an effective way to send and receive the detail of the ongoing transaction process.
With regard to claim 13, Lee fails to teach:
The system of claim 12, wherein in response to the text message starting with a first predetermined string of text, the end user-device automatically opens an email messaging app.
Oliver teaches:
The process begins with a user scanning a QR code, which then, at step 810 automatically opens the user's SMS text messaging application on the user's communications device, and then pre-populates a ready to send text message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately and rapidly identify the consumer making the transaction.
With regard to claim 14, Lee fails to teach:
The system of claim 12, wherein in response to the message text starting with a second predetermined string of text, the end user-device automatically opens an SMS messaging app.
Oliver teaches:
The process begins with a user scanning a QR code, which then, at step 810 automatically opens the user's SMS text messaging application on the user's communications device, and then pre-populates a ready to send text message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately and rapidly identify the consumer making the transaction.
With regard to claim 15, Lee fails to teach: Oliver discloses:
The system of claim 11, wherein the predetermined recipient address directs a message to one or more cloud-based servers configured to run a message collector service.
Oliver discloses:
(para 8: user sends the message, the response message and user information are routed to a web-based or network-based application, that can include cloud-based application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately store vast amount of information to be later processed.
With regard to claim 17, Lee discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein the one or more messages sent to the end-user device include at least one of:
an acknowledgment of receipt of the initial message sent from the end user device;
a progress update on the level of charge of the EV battery; (para 28).
an emergency stop notification; a link to a web-based summary of the recharge session; a receipt;
and a notification of non-compliance and additional fees.
With regard to claim 20, Lee fails to teach:
The system of claim 11, wherein the predetermined recipient address is one of at least a unique phone number, or a unique email address.
Oliver discloses:
the disclosed principles may be extended to any future replacement for consumer identifiers like telephone numbers should the traditional phone number be replaced with something else.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to have applied the teachings of Oliver to the transaction device of Lee for the benefit to accurately and rapidly identify the consumer making the transaction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-10, 16, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Beiter (US 2017/0244555), Kassemi (US 20160358174), Duane (12,586,051) disclose device to encrypt and decrypt transaction data.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEGUY JEAN PIERRE whose telephone number is (571) 272-1803. The examiner can normally be reached from 8:00-6:30 PM Monday-Thursday. The examiner’s fax phone number is (571) 273-1803. The Examiner email address is peguy.jeanpierre@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the Examiner are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor Dameon E. Levi can be reached at (571) 272-2105.
/PEGUY JEAN PIERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845