DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/23/24, 4/2/26 and 7/6/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasai, US 2020/0287007.
Regarding claim 1, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (Abstract and at least Figures 5C-5F and 6), the method comprising: forming a thin-film structure on a substrate (32 and 42 formed on substrate 9); forming a trench (49) into the thin film structure; forming a blocking layer (52) covering at least a portion of the trench; forming a charge storage layer (542) on the blocking layer; doping carbon into the charge storage layer ([0068]); forming a tunneling layer (56) on the charge storage layer; and forming a channel layer (601) covering the tunneling layer and the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches when the charge storage layer has been formed, a carbon compound is supplied into a chamber in which the semiconductor device has been placed, wherein a heat treatment is performed on the semiconductor device in a state in which a pressure in the chamber is set to a predetermined process pressure ([0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 2 and further teaches the carbon compound includes at least one of CH4, C2H4, C2H6, C3H7, C3H8, iC4H10, nC4H10, nC5H12, C6H6, C6H12, C7H8, C8H18, C10H22, or C12H26 ([0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Kasai teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract and at least Figures 5C-5F and 6) comprising: a substrate (9); a thin film structure formed on the substrate (32/42); a blocking layer (52) covering at least a portion of a trench (49) formed in the thin film structure; a charge storage layer (542) formed on the blocking layer; a tunneling layer (56) formed on the charge storage layer; and a channel layer (601) covering the tunneling layer and the substrate, wherein the charge storage layer is doped with carbon ([0068]).
Regarding claim 8, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 7 and further teaches when the charge storage layer has been formed, a carbon compound is supplied into a chamber in which the semiconductor device has been placed, wherein a heat treatment is performed on the semiconductor device in a state in which a pressure in the chamber is set to a predetermined process pressure ([0068]).
Regarding claim 12, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 8 and further teaches the carbon compound includes at least one of CH4, C2H4, C2H6, C3H7, C3H8, iC4H10, nC4H10, nC5H12, C6H6, C6H12, C7H8, C8H18, C10H22, or C12H26 ([0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai.
Regarding claim 3, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 2. Although Kasai fails to teach the exact claimed range of pressures, Kasai does teach the chamber is set to a predetermined pressure of 1-100 Torr, and further teaches greater pressures can be used. Lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation and optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine a higher workable range above the range taught by Kasai in order to achieve the best results in the shortest amount of time.
Regarding claim 4, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 2. Although Kasai fails to teach the atmospheric gas is H2, D2 or N2, Kasai does teach a carbon precursor gas comprising H2, D2 or N2 ([0068]). Therefore, lacking criticality or unexpected results, it is the position of the examiner that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a carbon precursor gas in lieu of separate gas and carbon compound to form the carbon doped layer in order to increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 2. Although Kasai fails to teach the exact temperature range claimed by applicant, Kasai further teaches heat treatment at a temperature of 200-800 degrees Celsius ([0068]). Lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation and optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine a smaller workable range within the range taught by Kasai in order to achieve the best results in the shortest amount of time.
Regarding claim 9, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 8. Although Kasai fails to teach the exact claimed range of pressures, Kasai does teach the chamber is set to a predetermined pressure of 1-100 Torr, and further teaches greater pressures can be used. Lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation and optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine a higher workable range above the range taught by Kasai in order to achieve the best results in the shortest amount of time.
Regarding claim 10, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 8. Although Kasai fails to teach the atmospheric gas is H2, D2 or N2, Kasai does teach a carbon precursor gas comprising H2, D2 or N2 ([0068]). Therefore, lacking criticality or unexpected results, it is the position of the examiner that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a carbon precursor gas in lieu of separate gas and carbon compound to form the carbon doped layer in order to increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Kasai teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 8. Although Kasai fails to teach the exact temperature range claimed by applicant, Kasai further teaches heat treatment at a temperature of 200-800 degrees Celsius ([0068]). Lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation and optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine a smaller workable range within the range taught by Kasai in order to achieve the best results in the shortest amount of time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 10-2018-0137720 teaches all of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 7.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875