DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20200028562 A1) in view of Seyed (US 20210099205 A1).
For claim 2. Yang discloses ([0003], [0103]) A mobile device comprising: a interface including an n79 section for an n79 frequency band and an n77 section for an n77 frequency band ([0003], figure 2B; 5G new radio (NR) system frequency bands including n77 and n79); a plurality of antennas including a first antenna (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) and a second antenna (figure 3L, Third Antenna Group); and a radio frequency front-end system including a first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module ([0381]-[0391], figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module “top-left module”) including a first antenna switch (matrix switches) and a first transmit/receive switch (Nx PA/LNA switch) that is connected to the first antenna by way of both the first antenna switch and the n79 section of the interface, a second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1/RX1 module “top-right module”) including a second antenna switch (matrix switches) and a second transmit/receive switch (Ny PA/LNA switch) that is connected to the first antenna (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) by way of both the second antenna switch and the n77 section of the interface (figure 3L, also via the first antenna switch), a first ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, RX3 module) including a third antenna switch connected to the second antenna (Third Antenna Group), a first signal route from the second antenna switch to the first antenna switch through a first auxiliary input of the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1 using Second Antenna Group), a second signal route from the first antenna switch to the second antenna switch through a second auxiliary input of the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyRX1 using Third Antenna Group), and a third signal route from the first antenna switch (figure 3L, NxTX2 using Third Antenna Group) to the third antenna switch through a third auxiliary input to the first ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, RX3 module).
Yang fails to disclose the interface is a diplexer including an n79 diplexer section for an n79 frequency band and an n77 diplexer section for an n77 frequency band, and connecting to the first antenna via the diplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Seyed discloses a radio front end including a diplexer 750-1 including an n79 diplexer section for an n79 frequency band and an n78 diplexer section for an n78 frequency band, and connecting to the first antenna 735-1 via the diplexer from n79 antenna switch module 740-2 and n78 antenna switch module 740-1 (figure 7A, [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Seyed into the art of Yang as to improve signal quality between n77 and n79 signals using the diplexer for shared antenna.
For claim 3. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 2, Yang discloses further comprising a second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module) including a fourth antenna switch, and a fourth signal route from the second antenna switch to the fourth antenna switch through a fourth auxiliary input to the second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1 using Fourth Antenna Group).
For claim 4. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 3 Yang discloses further comprising a third ultrahigh band receive module including a fifth antenna switch, and a fifth signal route between the second antenna switch and the fifth antenna switch through a fifth auxiliary input to the third ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module can be duplicated as a NyRX5 module for providing an extra spatial antenna group for the NyTX1/RX1 module connected in same fashion as the NyRX4 module).
For claim 5. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 4 Yang discloses wherein the plurality of antennas further includes a third antenna and a fourth antenna, the second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module) connected to the third antenna (Fourth Antenna Group) by way of the fourth antenna switch, and the third ultrahigh band receive module connected to the fourth antenna by way of the fifth antenna switch (figure 3L, NyRX4 module can be duplicated as a NyRX5 module for providing an extra spatial antenna group for the NyTX1/RX1 module connected in same fashion as the NyRX4 module).
For claim 6. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 2, Yang discloses wherein the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module further includes an n79 filter connected between the first transmit/receive switch and the first antenna switch ([0381]-[0391], figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module “top-left module”).
For claim 7. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 6, Yang discloses wherein the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module further includes an n77 filter connected between the second transmit/receive switch and the second antenna switch (figure 3L, NyTX1/RX1 module “top-right module”).
For claim 8. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 6 Yang discloses wherein the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module further includes a power amplifier having an output connected to the n79 filter through the first transmit/receive switch, and a low noise amplifier having an input connected to the n79 filter through the first transmit/receive switch (figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module “top-left module”).
For claim 12. Yang discloses ([0003], [0103]) A radio frequency front-end system comprising: a interface including an n79 section for an n79 frequency band and an n77 section for an n77 frequency band ([0003], figure 2B; 5G new radio (NR) system frequency bands including n77 and n79); a plurality of antenna terminals including a first antenna terminal (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) and a second antenna terminal (figure 3L, Third Antenna Group); a first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module ([0381]-[0391], figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module) including a first antenna switch (matrix switches) and a first transmit/receive switch (Nx PA/LNA switch) that is connected to the first antenna terminal by way of both the first antenna switch and the n79 section of the interface; a second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1/RX1 module) including a second antenna switch (matrix switches) and a second transmit/receive switch (Ny PA/LNA switch) that is connected to the first antenna terminal (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) by way of both the second antenna switch and the n77 section of the interface (figure 3L, also via the first antenna switch); a first ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, RX3 module) including a third antenna switch connected to the second antenna terminal (Third Antenna Group); and a plurality of signal routes including a first signal route from the second antenna switch to the first antenna switch through a first auxiliary input of the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1 using Second Antenna Group), a second signal route from the first antenna switch to the second antenna switch through a second auxiliary input of the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyRX1 using Third Antenna Group), and a third signal route (figure 3L, NxTX2 using Third Antenna Group) from the first antenna switch to the third antenna switch through a third auxiliary input to the first ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, RX3 module).
Yang fails to disclose the interface is a diplexer including an n79 diplexer section for an n79 frequency band and an n77 diplexer section for an n77 frequency band, and connecting to the first antenna terminal via the diplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Seyed discloses a radio front end including a diplexer 750-1 including an n79 diplexer section for an n79 frequency band and an n78 diplexer section for an n78 frequency band, and connecting to the first antenna 735-1 via the diplexer from n79 antenna switch module 740-2 and n78 antenna switch module 740-1 (figure 7A, [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Seyed into the art of Yang as to improve signal quality between n77 and n79 signals using the diplexer for shared antenna.
For claim 13. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the radio frequency front-end system of claim 12 Yang discloses further comprising a second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module) including a fourth antenna switch, the plurality of signal routes further including a fourth signal route from the second antenna switch to the fourth antenna switch through a fourth auxiliary input to the second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1 using Fourth Antenna Group).
For claim 14. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the radio frequency front-end system of claim 13 Yang discloses further comprising a third ultrahigh band receive module including a fifth antenna switch, the plurality of signal routes further includes a fifth signal route between the second antenna switch and the fifth antenna switch through a fifth auxiliary input to the third ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module can be duplicated as a NyRX5 module for providing an extra spatial antenna group for the NyTX1/RX1 module connected in same fashion as the NyRX4 module).
For claim 15. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the radio frequency front-end system of claim 14 Yang discloses wherein the plurality of antenna terminals further includes a third antenna terminal and a fourth antenna terminal, the second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module) connected to the third antenna terminal (Fourth Antenna Group) by way of the fourth antenna switch, and the third ultrahigh band receive module connected to the fourth antenna terminal by way of the fifth antenna switch (figure 3L, NyRX4 module can be duplicated as a NyRX5 module for providing an extra spatial antenna group for the NyTX1/RX1 module connected in same fashion as the NyRX4 module).
For claim 16. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the radio frequency front-end system of claim 12 Yang discloses wherein the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module further includes an n79 filter connected between the first transmit/receive switch and the first antenna switch ([0381]-[0391], figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module “top-left module”).
For claim 17. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the radio frequency front-end system of claim 16 Yang discloses wherein the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module further includes an n77 filter connected between the second transmit/receive switch and the second antenna switch (figure 3L, NyTX1/RX1 module “top-right module”).
For claim 18. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the radio frequency front-end system of claim 12 Yang discloses wherein the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module further includes a power amplifier having an output connected to the n79 filter through the first transmit/receive switch, and a low noise amplifier having an input connected to the n79 filter through the first transmit/receive switch ([0381]-[0391], figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module “top-left module”).
For claim 19. Yang discloses ([0003], [0103]) A method of radio frequency signal communication in a mobile device, the method comprising: transmitting a first transmit signal and receiving a first receive signal by way of a first antenna (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) and a interface using a first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module ([0381]-[0391], figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module), the interface including an n79 section for an n79 frequency band and an n77 section for an n77 frequency band ([0003], figure 2B; 5G new radio (NR) system frequency bands including n77 and n79), and the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NxTX2/RX2 module) including a first antenna switch (matrix switches) and a first transmit/receive switch (Nx PA/LNA switch) that is connected to the first antenna (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) by way of both the first antenna switch and the n79 section of the interface; transmitting a second transmit signal and receiving a second receive signal by way of the first antenna (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) and the interface using a second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1/RX1 module), the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1/RX1 module) including a second antenna switch (matrix switches) and a second transmit/receive switch (Ny PA/LNA switch) that is connected to the first antenna (figure 3L, Second Antenna Group) by way of both the second antenna switch and the n77 section of the interface (figure 3L, also via the first antenna switch), the second antenna switch connected to the first antenna switch by a first signal route through a first auxiliary input of the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyTX1 using Second Antenna Group), and the first antenna switch connected to the second antenna switch by a second signal route through a second auxiliary input of the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module (figure 3L, NyRX1 using Third Antenna Group); and receiving a third receive signal by way of a second antenna (Third Antenna Group) using a third antenna switch of a first ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, RX3 module), the first antenna switch connected to the third antenna switch by a third signal route (figure 3L, NxTX2 using Third Antenna Group) through a third auxiliary input of the first ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, RX3 module).
Yang fails to disclose the interface is a diplexer including an n79 diplexer section for an n79 frequency band and an n77 diplexer section for an n77 frequency band, and connecting to the first antenna via the diplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Seyed discloses a radio front end including a diplexer 750-1 including an n79 diplexer section for an n79 frequency band and an n78 diplexer section for an n78 frequency band, and connecting to the first antenna 735-1 via the diplexer from n79 antenna switch module 740-2 and n78 antenna switch module 740-1 (figure 7A, [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Seyed into the art of Yang as to improve signal quality between n77 and n79 signals using the diplexer for shared antenna.
For claim 20. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the method of claim 19 Yang discloses further comprising receiving a fourth receive signal by way of a third antenna (figure 3L, Fourth Antenna Group) using a fourth antenna switch of a second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module), the second antenna switch connected to the fourth antenna switch by a fourth signal route (figure 3L, NyTX1 using Fourth Antenna Group) to through a fourth auxiliary input of the second ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module).
For claim 21. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the method of claim 20 Yang discloses further comprising receiving a fifth receive signal by way of a fourth antenna using a fifth antenna switch of a third ultrahigh band receive module, the second antenna switch connected to the fifth antenna switch by a fifth signal route through a fifth auxiliary input to the third ultrahigh band receive module (figure 3L, NyRX4 module can be duplicated as a NyRX5 module for providing an extra spatial antenna group for the NyTX1/RX1 module connected in same fashion as the NyRX4 module).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20200028562 A1) as modified by Seyed (US 20210099205 A1), in view of Kim (US 20210083635 A1).
For claim 9. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 2, but fails to disclose further comprising a power management system including a first envelope tracker configured to generate a first power amplifier supply voltage for the first ultrahigh band transmit/receive module and a second envelope tracker configured to generate a second power amplifier supply voltage for the second ultrahigh band transmit/receive module.
This teaching is disclosed by Kim ([0002], [0047]-[0054], figures 3 and 6, first envelope tracker 111 for first frequency band B1 power amplifier PAM1; second envelope tracker 112 for second frequency band B3 power amplifier PAM3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Kim into the art of Yang as modified by Seyed as to utilize envelope trackers for improving transmission power control.
For claim 10. Yang in combination with Seyed and Kim substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 9, Kim discloses further comprising at least one module also powered by the first envelope tracker (Kim: figure 3, the at least one module PAM2 also powered by the first envelope tracker 111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Kim into the art of Yang as modified by Seyed and Kim as to utilize envelope trackers for improving transmission power control.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20200028562 A1) as modified by Seyed (US 20210099205 A1), in view of Poilasne (US 20090316612 A1).
For claim 11. Yang in combination with Seyed substantially teaches the mobile device of claim 2, but fails to disclose further comprising a cross-board cable connected between the diplexer and the first antenna.
This teaching is disclosed by Poilasne (figure 4, [0048], cable 407, diplexer 411, antenna 403).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Poilasne into the art of Yang as modified by Seyed as to accommodate extended spatial antennas and improve extended signal transmission using cables.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
June 16, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643