DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Per amendment dated 8/6/26, claims 1-8 are currently pending in the application.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 7/19/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration dates of Appl. Nos. 18888452, 19013016, 18893049 and 18893036 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A1) (of record).
At the outset, it is noted that the WIPO publication to Imamura is relied upon for date purposes and the US 11,926,753 patent is relied upon herein below as its English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-4, Imamura teaches a fluororesin having a total number of functional groups per 106 main-chain carbon atoms, at preferably 6 or less and particularly preferably at 0, in order to obtain superior high-frequency electrical properties (Ab., col. 3, line 16-col. 4 line 6), wherein said functional groups may be of CF═CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, and CH2OH. (col. 5, lines 14-67). Thus, Imamura teaches type of groups and an upper limit for the total number thereof within the scope of the claimed invention.
Disclosed fluororesins include a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and hexafluoropropylene (HFP) TFE/HFP copolymer (FEP) and a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), hexafluoropropylene (HFP) and perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE) TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymer. Disclosed TFE/HFP copolymer (FEP) has a mass ratio of the TFE unit to the HFP unit (TFE/HFP) of 70 to 99/1 to 30 (% by mass), and the mass ratio in TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymer of (75 to 99.8):(0.1 to 25):(0.1 to 25) (col. 7, lines 36-62), said fluororesin having a melt flow rate (MFR), preferably of from 0.1-40 g/10 min (per ASTM D1238, 372oC) (col. 6, line 9- col. 8, line 54). Additionally, the small genus of disclosed PAVE monomers includes perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (PPVE) as a preferred species (lines col. 6, lines 28-57). Thus, Imamura teaches overlapping ranges for the MFR and the amounts of claimed monomer units for both copolymers.
Imamura is silent on fluororesins having the claimed MFR and amounts of monomer units in a single embodiment as claimed.
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the teaching in Imamura on fluororesins of overlapping scope, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for any fluororesin within the scope of Imamura, including those comprising only TFE and HFP units, or those further including TFE/PAVE/PPVE in claimed amounts, having the claimed MFR and the claimed type and number of functional groups.
Regarding claims 6-8, Imamura teaches injection and extrusion molding of the fluororesins, for forming articles such as coated electric wire (Ab., col. 9, line 55-col. 10, line 66).
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga et al. (EP 1260526 A1) in view of Yokotani et al. (US 2019/0382544 A1) (references of record).
Hiraga teaches an electric wire or a cable, which is coated with a fluorine-containing polymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene and hexafluoropropylene and, if necessary, perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, wherein a melt flow rate (MFR) at 372oC is within a range from 0.1 to 100, and comprising 70 to 95% by weight of tetrafluoroethylene, 5 to 25% by weight of hexafluoropropylene and 0 to 20% by weight of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, such as perfluoropropyl vinyl ether (Ab., [0011]-[0015]).
Hiraga is silent on a fluoropolymer having a melt flow rate, monomer units in claimed amounts, and having a number and type of functional groups as in the claimed invention.
As stated in paragraph 8 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The secondary reference to Yokotani teaches fluororesins suitable for wire insulation, having a number, i.e., the sum of all unstable groups, e.g., -COF, -COOH, -CF2H, -COOCH3, -CH2OH, CONH2, and -CF═CF2 groups, at 20 or smaller or 0, per 106 carbon atoms, in order to achieve a low dissipation factor within a high frequency region (10 GHz or higher) [0172], [0230].
In view of the advantages taught in Yokotani, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for fluoropolymers comprising units in claimed amounts, and having MFR and HFP units with the claimed ranges as prescribed by Hiraga, including those of the claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brothers et al. (US 2007/0292685 A1), in view of Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A) (references of record).
Regarding claims 1-5, Brothers teaches fluoropolymers for producing insulated wires, comprising units of tetrafluoroethyelene (TFE), hexafluoropropylene (HFP) and perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE), such as a TFE/HFP/PAVE terpolymer, wherein the HFP content is about 6-17 wt. %, and the PAVE, preferably perfluoro (ethyl vinyl ether) (PEVE), content is about 0.2 to 3.0 wt. %, the remainder being TFE to total 100 wt % of the copolymer, and having a melt flow rate (MFR) of at least 10 (per ASTM D-1238) (Ab., [0013]). Thus, the monomer units and amounts thereof, and the melt flow rate of Brothers’ fluoropolymers overlap in the scope with those of the claimed invention.
Brothers further teaches that the polymer end groups are -CF₃, that unstable groups e.g., -CONH₂, -COOH, -COF may be converted by fluorination and that hydrogen containing groups, COF, -COOH and -CF=CF2 are absent as a result of fluorination [0016]-[0017].
Brothers is silent on a fluoropolymer having a total number of claimed groups within the claimed upper limit.
As stated in paragraph 8 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Incorporating the discussion on Imamura from paragraphs 4 and 5 above, and given the generic teaching in Brothers on fluoropolymers suitable for forming an insulated wire, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for fluoropolymers having a MFR and units in claimed amounts, and having a number of functional groups as prescribed by Imamura so as to provide for a superior high-frequency electrical properties, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 6-8, Brothers teaches the use of the fluoropolymers in injection molding, and melt extrusion to form a tube, a film, a pipe, or an insulated wire coating (Ab., [0018], [0027]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-9 of copending Application No. 19/058232 (reference application), in view of Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 is as follows:
Copending claims are silent on a copolymer having claimed content of perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) units and a total number of claimed groups within the claimed upper limit.
The discussion on Imamura from paragraphs 5-6 above is incorporated herein by reference. Given the teaching in Imamura on a total number of groups within the claimed upper limit in order to obtain superior high-frequency electrical properties, and given that the recitation of the lower limit of perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) units in copending claims is close to the claimed upper limit, it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for copolymers within the scope of copending claims, as modified by Imamura’s teachings, including those of the presently claimed invention (obviates claims 1-5). As stated in paragraph 7 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are sufficiently close that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the ranges to yield products having the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 6-8, copending claims 7 and 9 obviate the claimed limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
In view of the filing of a terminal disclaimer, the double patenting rejections of record are withdrawn, except for those based on copending application number 19/058232. Applicant’s arguments and the Declaration filed on 8/6/26 have been duly considered.
Referring to the Declaration, to the data in the disclosure and to the advantageous results of the claimed fluorine-containing copolymer disclosed therein, Applicant argues that the primary documents to Imamura, Hiraga and Brothers are all very broad compared to claim 1, the documents do not disclose regulating the contents of HFP and FAVE, MFR and the number of functional groups to fall within claimed ranges to provide the advantageous results of the claimed copolymer. Applicant further contends that the primary documents do not disclose examples that fall within the scope of claim 1, and that the comparative Examples of the present disclosure are closer in scope to claim 1 than the closest actual embodiment of the prior art, rendering the comparisons highly probative of nonobvious.
In response, the general disclosure to Imamura teaches fluororesins based on tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) (70-99.8 mass%), hexafluoropropylene (HFP) (0.1-25 mass%) and perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE) (0.1-25 mass%) with perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (PPVE) being a preferred species thereof. Disclosed melt flow rate (MFR) is, preferably, of from 0.1-40, and a total number of functional groups per 106 main-chain carbon atoms, at preferably 6 or less and particularly preferably at 0,
Hiraga teaches a copolymer comprising units of TFE (70 to 95% wt.%), HFP (5 to 25 wt.%) and PAVE (0 to 20 wt.%), e.g., PPVE, having a MFR within a range from 0.1 to 100. In addition, Yokotani is relied upon for advantages on limiting the number of functional groups in the copolymer.
Brothers teaches fluoropolymers, such as a TFE/HFP/PAVE terpolymer, wherein the HFP content is about 6-17 wt. %, PAVE, preferably perfluoro (ethyl vinyl ether) (PEVE), content is about 0.2 to 3.0 wt. %, the remainder being TFE to total 100 wt % of the copolymer, and having a melt flow of at least 10. In addition, Imamura is relied upon for advantages on limiting the number of functional groups in the copolymer.
Although the primary documents fail to teach the claimed elements in a single embodiment, it is noted that Examiner has only relied on obviousness rejections on the basis that all the primary documents teach the claimed elements in overlapping ranges. Moreover, a teaching contained in a reference's broader disclosure may be relied upon despite not appearing in the reference's examples. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. V. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
It is further noted that Examples 1-4 in the disclosure demonstrate one or more superior properties when compared to Comp. Examples 1-4 (Tables 3 and 4). However, the data on record in support of the superior performance is limited, at best, to copolymers having monomer units TFE, HFP (11.5-12.5 mass%) and PPVE (0-0.1 mass%), with a MFR of 10.5-16.5 g/10 min and having functional groups of type and amount within the scope of the Examples (at best at <23). It is not clear why this limited data would be considered reasonably representative of claim 1, which is of a much broader scope. In other words, the data on record is not reasonably commensurate in scope with the claim language to overcome the rejections of record.
As for the arguments on double patenting rejections over copending Appl. No. 19/058232, Applicant's arguments are not deemed persuasive. The claimed invention is directed to a fluorine-containing copolymer and for reasons stated in rejections of record and herein above, the claimed copolymer is deemed obvious over the copolymer component of the composition in claims of the copending application in view of the cited secondary reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762