DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on March 31, 2026 Claims 1-21 are pending.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
In response to applicant's amendments, the claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), Sixth paragraph.
In respond to applicant's arguments based on the filed amendment with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of said previous office action have been fully considered; however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koto et al. US2020/0375095 (“Koto”) in view of Hoyda USPN: 11,350,564 (Hoyda).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 17-21. Koto discloses an autonomous work machine including a working unit, the autonomous work machine (abstract, The present invention provides an autonomous traveling work machine that can accurately receive positioning signals from navigation satellites and autonomously travel without deviating from a traveling path,) comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
detect a rear work target object of the autonomous work machine ([0067] In this configuration, it is preferable that the distance sensor is configured to perform scanning by rotating about a machine body front-rear direction. [0068] According to this configuration, the scan angle of the distance sensor rotates about the front-rear direction, and therefore the distance sensor can scan a portion of the mowed ground surface that is in the region below the traveling machine body. Accordingly, the distance sensor can accurately scan the mowed ground surface and uncut grass.);
determine a state of the rear work target object based on a detection result of the detection unit ([0072] According to this configuration, a distance sensor provided at the front portion of the traveling machine body can scan the ground surface and the grass at a position where traveling mowing has not been performed, and a distance sensor provided at the rear portion of the traveling machine body can scan the ground surface and the grass at a position where traveling mowing has been performed. Accordingly, the mowing machine can accurately travel along the boundary between the mowed ground surface and uncut grass.); and
control a travel route of the autonomous work machine based on a determination result ([0084] a traveling path setting unit configured to set a traveling path for the mowing machine; and a control instruction unit configured to transmit an instruction signal to the mowing machine, wherein the object detection unit is configured to track the reflecting portion, the control instruction unit calculates a traveling route for the mowing machine based on the reflection signal acquired by the object detection unit, calculates a difference between the traveling route of the mowing machine and the traveling path, and generates the instruction signal so as to reduce the difference, and the mowing machine is configured to perform autonomous traveling mowing along the traveling path in accordance with the instruction signal.)
Koto does not explicitly disclose wherein the state includes whether the rear work target object includes an uncut part; however, Koto further teaches The unmowed ground surface and the uncut grass GNC are scanned by the distance sensor 210a provided at the front portion of the traveling machine body 201. Also, the mowed ground surface and the uncut grass GNC are scanned by the distance sensor 210b provided at the rear portion of the traveling machine body 201 ([0269]).
Hoyda teaches another system and method that detects uncut grass area using vison system (Col. 5, Lines 43-63, vision processor 215 may identify portions of a captured image that are associated with uncut grass, cut grass, particular types of obstacles, and other classes of lawn objects. In fact, various vision assemblies can complement collision assembly 111 in lawn mower 210.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koto’s with Hoyda’s teaching of using vision sensors to detect uncut grass area to improve autonomous lawn mower controls and improve obstacle detections and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim(s) 2. Koto discloses wherein the control unit changes the travel route so that the autonomous work machine executes work again on the rear work target object ([0212-0213], The discharge mechanism 104 is provided on the side of the traveling machine body 101 that corresponds to the mowed ground surface. For this reason, even after teaching traveling is complete, the discharge mechanism 104 needs to autonomously travel in order to be able to continuously discharge the clumped cut grass G from the side corresponding to the mowed ground surface. In view of this, the traveling machine body 101 needs to autonomously travel without turning, such that the discharge mechanism 104 does not face the side corresponding to the unmowed region GNB. In other words, traveling mowing is performed while the traveling machine body 101 zig-zags, that is to say, while the traveling machine body 101 repeatedly moves forward and rearward.).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Koto discloses wherein the travel route by moving the autonomous work machine backward ([0212-0213], The discharge mechanism 104 is provided on the side of the traveling machine body 101 that corresponds to the mowed ground surface. For this reason, even after teaching traveling is complete, the discharge mechanism 104 needs to autonomously travel in order to be able to continuously discharge the clumped cut grass G from the side corresponding to the mowed ground surface. In view of this, the traveling machine body 101 needs to autonomously travel without turning, such that the discharge mechanism 104 does not face the side corresponding to the unmowed region GNB. In other words, traveling mowing is performed while the traveling machine body 101 zig-zags, that is to say, while the traveling machine body 101 repeatedly moves forward and rearward.).
Regarding claim(s) 4. Koto discloses wherein the travel route so that the autonomous work machine works on a work target object in a worked area including at least a part of the rear work target object and a work target object in an unworked area where the autonomous work machine is not performing work ([0248] As shown in FIG. 27, when the mowing machine performs mowing while autonomously traveling, the distance sensor 210 performs scanning while rotating about the front-rear direction of the traveling machine body 201 so as to acquire the separation distance of the distance sensor 210 from the ground surface and uncut grass (region denoted by GNC in FIG. 27). In the present embodiment, the scanning performed by the distance sensor 210 is performed in the counter-clockwise direction shown in FIG. 27).
Regarding claim(s) 5. Koto discloses wherein changes the travel route by shifting a position of the autonomous work machine in a lateral direction by a predetermined amount and moving the autonomous work machine backward ([0215] During traveling mowing performed along the target line LB(1), new clumped cut grass G(2) is discharged from the discharge opening 104a, and the new clumped cut grass G(2) forms a continuous or non-continuous line on the mowed ground surface and becomes a new target object for the calculation of the next target line LB(2) by the target line calculation unit 112. The new clumped cut grass G(2) is shifted more to the side corresponding to the traveling machine body 101 than the clumped cut grass G(1) discharged during teaching traveling is, and therefore a new straight line is formed on the mowed ground surface by the raised portion formed by the new clumped cut grass G(2).).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Koto discloses wherein the work target object is vegetation, and the working device is a cutter the vegetation ([0210] The target line calculation unit 112 recognizes the clumped cut grass G detected through scanning performed by the detection device 110, and calculates a target line LB. Specifically, using the clumped cut grass G as a target object, the target line calculation unit 112 calculates a target line LB based on the linear shape of the clumped cut grass G. Note that if the clumped cut grass G is non-continuous, and the linear shape of the clumped cut grass G is non-continuous, the target line calculation unit 112 calculates the target line LB by performing linear interpolation on the non-continuous linear shape with use of an approximate line.).
Regarding claim(s) 7. Koto discloses wherein detects a height of the vegetation ([0209] The detection device 110 performs detection by scanning the linear shape of a raised portion formed by clumped cut grass G. The ground height of the raised portion is then calculated by the decoding unit 114 based on the distance detected through scanning and the scan angle of the detection device 110. According to this configuration, it is possible to distinguish between the mowed ground surface and the clumped cut grass G.).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Koto discloses wherein the detection unit is a photographing unit, and determines a state of the rear work target object by comparing a teacher image in which the vegetation has a specific height with a photographed image obtained by photographing a rear vegetation by the photographing device ([0229] (8) The detection device 110 in the above embodiment does not need to be an LRF, and may be the image sensor of a camera or the like.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Koto discloses wherein determines a degree of non-uniformity of the rear work target object by comparing the teacher image with the photographed image ([0076] According to this configuration, the ground height data that is used for generation of grass candidate line is limited to data that is consecutive over a certain range or more. For this reason, data that is not consecutive over the range is excluded from the data for grass candidate lines, and the risk of erroneous grass detection is reduced. Also, the grass candidate lines are generated based on an approximate line, and therefore the mowed ground surface and uncut grass can be efficiently identified based on the ground height data.).
Regarding claim(s) 10. Koto discloses wherein determines the state of the rear work target object by comparing distribution of luminance values between the teacher image and the photographed image ([0082] In traveling mowing, even if the distance between the grass and the traveling machine body is maintained in a certain range, cases are conceivable in which the distance between the grass reference line and the traveling machine body suddenly changes a large amount due to the detection of a rock, a post, or the like on the ground surface. According to the above configuration, the target distance is a moving average value, and therefore even if the distance between the grass reference line and the traveling machine body suddenly changes a large amount, the change in the target distance is smaller than the change in the distance between the grass reference line and the traveling machine body, and the instruction signal output by the travel instruction unit is stable.).
Regarding claim(s) 11. Koto discloses irradiates rear vegetation of the autonomous work machine with a laser ([0208, 0237, 0281] For example, as shown in FIG. 14, the detection device 110 is provided at an upper portion of the traveling machine body 101. The detection device 110 is an LRF (Laser Range Finder) for example, and transmits an air-propagating signal, such as laser beams, as a detection signal.)..
Regarding claim(s) 12. Koto discloses wherein scans the laser in a horizontal direction ([0208, 0237, 0281] For example, as shown in FIG. 14, the detection device 110 is provided at an upper portion of the traveling machine body 101. The detection device 110 is an LRF (Laser Range Finder) for example, and transmits an air-propagating signal, such as laser beams, as a detection signal.).
Regarding claim(s) 13. Koto discloses wherein an irradiation range of the laser is wider than a size of the cutting device ([0208, 0237, 0281] For example, as shown in FIG. 14, the detection device 110 is provided at an upper portion of the traveling machine body 101. The detection device 110 is an LRF (Laser Range Finder) for example, and transmits an air-propagating signal, such as laser beams, as a detection signal.).
Regarding claim(s) 14. Koto discloses further comprising: estimate a position of the autonomous work machine, wherein controls the travel route based on a position of the autonomous work machine at the time of detection and a position of the rear work target object ([0166] A configuration is also possible in which the position of the traveling machine body 1 is successively measured by the positioning receiver 4 during teaching traveling, and the positioning signals are stored in the storage unit 11. Here, the teaching path TA is obtained by extracting chronological position coordinates of the traveling machine body 1 from the set of positioning signals over the period from the start position TAs in teaching traveling to the finish position TAf in teaching traveling. This configuration is particularly useful in the case where the teaching path TA is curved.).
Regarding claim(s) 15. Koto discloses further comprising: notify a communication device of information, wherein detects a work target object after rework by the autonomous work machine in accordance with a change in the travel route, determines a state of the work target object work target object after the rework, and determines necessity of notification to the communication device based on the state of the work target object work target object after the rework, and notifies the communication device of information when it is determined that notification is necessary ([0207] The status of the autonomous traveling mowing machine can be transmitted from the communication unit 117 to a device that is outside the machine body, and the current position and status of the autonomous traveling mowing machine can also be displayed on the display screen of a mobile terminal device, for example. The status of the autonomous traveling mowing machine may include the speed during traveling mowing, the remaining fuel amount, and problems regarding various devices included in the autonomous traveling mowing machine.).
Regarding claim(s) 16. Koto discloses wherein determines that notification is necessary when the work target object after the rework is non-uniform, and notifies the communication device of information indicating that manual work is necessary or information indicating that replacement of the working unit is necessary ([0197] An antenna 108 for communication with a transmitter 107 (see FIG. 13) is provided at an upper portion of the traveling machine body 101. The transmitter 107 is configured to enable manual operation of the autonomous traveling work machine while being held by an operator. The transmitter 107 may enable operations with use of a proportional type of transmitter that is operated in the worker's hands, or may enable operations with use of a mobile terminal device that has a touch panel type of display screen.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658