DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The applicant is requested to update the status of Application No. 17/421,853 (now US Patent No. 12,126,577).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ang et al (2019/0124558).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Ang discloses a method and a network node (see the base station 505 in figure 5), comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor (see figure 9), the memory storing executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations comprising: sending to, or receiving from, a wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU) (see UE 515 in figure 5) a communication, wherein the WTRU is served by two or more serving cells (see multiple serving cells in paragraph 0092), wherein the two or more serving cells comprise a special cell (SpCell) and one or more secondary cells (SCells) (see primary cell and one or more secondary cells in paragraph 0098), wherein each of the one or more SCells is in a cell state for the WTRU, wherein the cell state comprises a deactivated state, an activated dormant state, or an activated non-dormant state (see different sates in paragraphs 0013, 0054, 0063-0064).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Ang discloses sending, for an SCell that is in the activated non-dormant state with a non-dormant bandwidth part (BWP), information indicating to switch to the activated dormant state with a dormant BWP for the SCell (see the BWP switching in paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0029, 0063, 0065).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Ang discloses after sending the information, switching to the activated dormant state with the dormant BWP for the SCell (see The dormant state may also hereby be referred to as a partially activated state and The UE may transition the state of the secondary cell to a dormant state based on the received MAC CE in paragraph 0054).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Ang discloses wherein the information comprises a bitmap, and wherein each of the one or more SCells is associated with a bit of the bitmap in accordance with a configurable association (see to reduce latency signaling associated with secondary cell activation and deactivation, the base station may configure a downlink control information (DCI) format that may include a bitmap for secondary cell activation and deactivation in paragraphs 0005, 0021-0025, 0029-0030).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Ang discloses wherein the information is transmitted on the special cell (SpCell) (a primary cell) (see configuring the secondary cell to switch from the partially activated state to a full activated state based at least in part on a BWP switching DCI transmitted on a primary cell in paragraph 0012).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Ang discloses wherein the information indicates to switch an active downlink (DL) BWP from the non-dormant BWP to the dormant BWP (see an activated secondary cell may quickly switch to the dormant state in paragraph 0063).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Ang discloses wherein the information indicates to switch the SCell from the deactivated state to the activated dormant state with the dormant bandwidth part (see transition the secondary cell to a dormant state (a partially activated state) in paragraph 0067; UE 515 may transition a state of a secondary cell from deactivated to a dormant state in paragraph 0141).
Regarding claims 16 and 18-20, claims 16 and 18-20 claim a WTRU that is in communication with a network node claimed in claims 2-6 and 9-13 where the process is in reverse. Claims 16 and 18-20 are, therefore, subject to the same ejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang in view of Chen et al (2021/0168636).
Regarding claim 17, Ang discloses all the claimed subject matter as described in previous paragraphs except for beam failure recovery (BFR) and beam failure detection. However, Chen discloses these features (see beam failure recovery (BFR) and beam failure detection in the abstract and paragraphs 0061-0062, 0067, 0100. Note that it is obvious that when the WTRU is in an activated dormant state for the SCell, the WTRU can be configured to: not monitor PDCCH, not transmit PUCCH, and not transmit SRS). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,577. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the features claimed in claims 16-20 are described in claims 1-20 and claims 2-15 claim a method and a network node that is obvious in view of a method and a WTRU described in claims 1-20 of 12,126,577.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475