DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt of the preliminary amendment filed 09/24/2024 is acknowledged. This amendment cancelled claims 1-12 and added claims 13-28 and amended the abstract and specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 204821929 U; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 13, Chen discloses a frame structure comprising: a head pipe (4); a main frame (22, 24) extending rearward from the head pipe (4); and a seat frame (21, 25, 23, 6) disposed above (fig. 1) the main frame (22, 24) and supporting a seat (fig. 1), wherein the seat frame (21, 25, 23, 6) includes a through hole ((Modified fig. 5, see below) that passes through a region within a front-rear width and a vertical width of the seat frame (21, 25, 23, 6) in a left-right direction in a side view, and wherein a grip portion (Modified fig. 5, see below) that follows an upper edge of the through hole (Mod. Fig. 5) is formed in a flat shape extending in a front-rear direction. (Figs. 1-7, MTD paragraphs 8-29.)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Grip Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Through Hole)]
With respect to claim 14, Chen discloses the grip portion (Mod. Fig. 5) is formed in a plane shape extending in a vehicle width direction (figs. 1-3). (Figs. 1-7, MTD paragraphs 8-29.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Fang (CN 202320658 U; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 24, Chen is silent regarding a cover member. Fang teaches of a cover member (37, 57) for covering the seat frame from outside in the left-right direction (figs. 1, 6). (Figs. 1-6, MTD paragraphs 38-40.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cover structure as described in Fang into the invention of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to makes the components reliable, the outer shape of the box regular, smooth and clean, and the appearance beautiful. (MTD paragraph 10.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-22 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 15 includes the limitations of an inner peripheral wall (27) surrounding a hole internal space (25b) of the through hole over the entire periphery of the through hole (25a), wherein the inner peripheral wall (27) is formed by a peripheral wall rib (27a) extending in the left-right direction over the entire periphery of a peripheral edge of the through hole (25a), and wherein a portion (28a) of the peripheral wall rib that forms the grip portion is formed to be thicker than a portion (27a) of the peripheral wall rib that forms another portion. (Fig. 6.) The closest prior art, Bailey (GB 2401088 A) discloses a different thickness of the grip portion as opposed to another portion (fig. 1) but does not disclose the details of the inner peripheral wall nor the peripheral wall rib. Claim 25 includes the limitations of the cover member includes a cover through hole forming portion (38) that forms a cover through hole (38a) that overlaps the through hole (25a) of the seat frame in a side view, and wherein the cover through hole forming portion (38) includes an inclined portion (38b) that is inclined from a side of the through hole (25a) of the seat frame toward an outer side surface of the cover member (35a) on an outer side in the left-right direction so as to be widened with respect to the through hole (25a) in a side view toward the outer side in the left-right direction. The closest prior art Fang (CN 202320658 U) does not disclose an inclined portion. Claim 26 includes the limitations of the cover member includes a cover through hole forming portion (38) that forms a cover through hole (38a) that overlaps the through hole of the seat frame in a side view, and wherein the cover through hole forming portion includes an upper surface cover portion (38c) that covers the grip portion of the seat frame. (Fig. 11.) The closest prior art Fang (CN 202320658 U) does not disclose an upper surface cover portion that covers the grip portion of the seat frame.
Claim 28 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 28 includes the limitations of the seat frame includes a through hole forming portion (25) that forms a through hole (25a) that passes through a region within a front-rear width and a vertical width of the seat frame in a left-right direction in a side view, wherein the through hole forming portion includes an inner peripheral wall (27) surrounding a hole internal space of the through hole over the entire periphery of the through hole, and wherein a grip portion (28a) of the inner peripheral wall (27) that follows an upper edge of the through hole (25a) is formed in a flat shape extending in a front-rear direction by at least one of the seat frame and the cover member. The closest prior art, Chen (CN 204821929 U) does not disclose grip portion of the inner peripheral wall that follows an upper edge of the through hole is formed in a flat shape extending in a front-rear direction by at least one of the seat frame and the cover member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miao et al. (CN 208715389 U) discloses a similar grip arrangement with a head pipe, main frame, seat frame and grip portion. (Fig. 1.) The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614