DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs (US 20100041285 A1) in view of Morisawa (US 2001/0008192 A1) and further in view of Fuss (US 2012/0064424 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Riggs (US20100041285A1) discloses A vehicle control device (see at least
para. [0079] of Riggs which discloses “a control component 132 that contains some or all of the onboard processing and control hardware and logic”) comprising: a plurality of power units (Fig. 60, 350 and see at least para. [0074] of Riggs which discloses “a plurality of power units arranged therein” and see at least para. [0095] of Riggs which discloses “at least one power unit 350”) mounted on a vehicle (Fig. 55B, 300 and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “vehicle 300 is similar to vehicles 100 and 200 described above”); and a controller (Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“) configured to control the power units, wherein each of the plurality of power units includes: a fuel cell (see at least para. [0098] of Riggs which discloses "Power unit 350, in the form of a fuel cell, for example, includes a plurality of anode-cathode pairs 352 1-13. The anodes are shown at 353 1-13 and surrounded by cathodes 354", *Examiner interprets this as evidence of a fuel cell inside each power unit), which are power sources (see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a power source to supply power”), wherein the controller controls an operation (Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“) of a rotating electric machine (Fig. 1, 160 and see at least para. [0081] of Riggs which discloses “a pair of electric motors and propellers 160 …to provide for the propulsion and directional control of the vehicle 100 using … differential steering or thrust displacement steering …a wireless, rotating motor control mechanism for steering”), the power unit (Fig. 60, 350 and see at least para. [0074] of Riggs which discloses “a plurality of power units arranged therein” and see at least para. [0095] of Riggs which discloses “at least one power unit 350” and see at least para. [0098] of Riggs which discloses "Power unit 350, in the form of a fuel cell, for example, includes a plurality of anode-cathode pairs 352 1-13. The anodes are shown at 353 1-13 and surrounded by cathodes 354", *Examiner interprets this as evidence of a fuel cell inside each power unit and Examiner notes that Riggs discloses a plurality of power units 350 that each include a fuel cell).
Riggs does disclose a vehicle with multiple rotating electric machines (Fig. 1, 160 and see at
least para. [0081] of Riggs which discloses “a pair of electric motors and propellers 160 …to provide for the propulsion and directional control of the vehicle 100 using … differential steering or thrust displacement steering …a wireless, rotating motor control mechanism for steering”). It should be noted that while Riggs discloses a plurality of power units 350 that each include a fuel cell, Riggs may not expressly disclose that each power unit includes a rotating electric machine configured to exchange torque with wheels. Riggs also discloses a power storage device in the form of batteries (see at least para. [0094] of Riggs which discloses “The middle hull section 110 can house one or more batteries” and see at least para. [0101] of Riggs which discloses “The fuel cell is electrically coupled to one or more batteries of the vehicle 300 via the contact terminals and provides power to the battery or batteries to charge, recharge, and/or maintain a desired output level of the battery or batteries. Less than all of the fuel cells may be coupled to a particular battery for supply of power thereto”, *Examiner interprets this as evidence of teaching a battery which is a power storage device).
Riggs may not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of power units
includes: a rotating electric machine configured to exchange torque with wheels; a power storage device; and an electric power controller configured to control electric power transmission of the rotating electric machine, the power storage device and the fuel cell, a rotation number of the rotating electric machine, and controlling a torque requirement of the vehicle in the power unit having the abnormal fuel cell, when an abnormality of the fuel cell occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Morisawa (US20010008192A1) discloses
wherein each of the plurality of power units (Fig. 1, 10/12 see at least para. [0033] of Morisawa which discloses “The primary drive unit 10 has an internal combustion engine 14 that is operated by utilizing combustion of an air-fuel mixture, a motor-generator MG1 (hereinafter, referred to as “MG1”) that selectively functions as a first electric motor or a first generator” and see at least para. [0037] of Morisawa which discloses “The secondary drive unit 12 includes a rear motor-generator MG2 (hereinafter, referred to as “MG2”) that functions as a second electric motor and a second generator”) includes: a rotating electric machine (Fig. 1, MG1/MG2 and see at least para. [0034] of Morisawa which discloses “the torque for regeneratively driving or rotating the MG1, so as to cause the MG1 to generate electric power, and also smoothly increase the speed of rotation of the ring gear 32 as an output member from zero to a desired speed”, *Examiner interprets para. [0033]-[0034] and [0037] as evidence of the power units including the rotating electric machine) configured to exchange torque with wheels (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control”);
a power storage device (Fig. 1, 94 and see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “an electric energy storage device 94, such as a capacitor or a storage battery, for storing electric energy generated by the MG1 or MG2 through regeneration, or electric energy generated by the fuel cell FC”) and a fuel cell (Fig. 1, FC and see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “a fuel cell FC that serves as an electric power source, a reformer 90 that reforms liquid fuel into hydrogen gas to be consumed in the fuel cell FC, a fuel distribution device 92 that distributes liquid fuel”), which are power sources (see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “an electric power source”); and an electric power controller (Fig. 4 and see at least para. [0023] of Morisawa which describes “control functions of the control system”) configured to control electric power transmission (see at least para. [0020] of Morisawa which discloses “a power transmission apparatus of a four-wheel drive vehicle equipped with a control system” and see at least para. [0032] of Morisawa which discloses “a power transmission apparatus of a four-wheel drive vehicle, that is, a front-wheel and rear-wheel drive vehicle”) of the rotating electric machine, the power storage device and the fuel cell (see at least para. [0044] of Morisawa which discloses “so as to restrict or otherwise control the drive forces or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 as drive wheels. … the fuel supplied to the fuel cell FC is limited by a fuel control unit 114 (which will be described later) so that the drive forces or rotation of the drive wheels, that is, the front wheels 66, 68 or the rear wheels 80, 82, are restricted or controlled. This leads to increased grip force of the drive wheels, improved vehicle stability, and increased tractive force” and see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68”), and according to a state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell”, *Since Morisawa explicitly teaches using the charge amount (state of charge) of the energy storage device as a control parameter, Examiner interprets this to be evidence of control according to a state of charge. Also see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “the electric energy storage device 94, and a second inverter 102 that controls current supplied and received among the MG2, the storage device 94, and the fuel cell FC”) of the power storage device, a rotation number of the rotating electric machine (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control. In this case, therefore, the traction control correction unit 122 relaxes the restriction of the drive torque or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 in accordance with the increase in the assist torque from the MG2”), and a torque requirement (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14” and see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control”) of the vehicle in the power unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the control device of Riggs to include wherein each of the plurality of power units includes: a rotating electric machine configured to exchange torque with wheels; a power storage device; and an electric power controller configured to control electric power transmission of the rotating electric machine, the power storage device and the fuel cell, and controlling a torque requirement of the vehicle in the power unit; as taught in Morisawa with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate a power unit’s ability to supply its own associated rotating electric machine so that torque can be exchanged with vehicle wheel while improving localized power management and torque delivery from each power unit. See para. [0033]-[0034] and [0049] of Morisawa for motivation.
As discussed above, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa, does disclose a rotating electric
machine, which is the rotating electric machine (Fig. 1, MG1/MG2 and see at least para. [0034] of Morisawa which discloses “the torque for regeneratively driving or rotating the MG1, so as to cause the MG1 to generate electric power, and also smoothly increase the speed of rotation of the ring gear 32 as an output member from zero to a desired speed”).
Riggs, as modified by Morisawa, may not explicitly disclose an abnormal fuel cell, the power
unit having the abnormal fuel cell, when an abnormality of the fuel cell occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fuss discloses having an abnormal fuel cell (see at
least para. [0012] of Fuss which discloses “If an abnormal fuel cell impedance is detected, then the fuel cell system can take corrective action that will address the potential problem”), the abnormal fuel cell, when an abnormality of the fuel cell occurs (see at least para. [0020] of Fuss which discloses the “controller can take other remedial or corrective actions to improve the cell impedance, such as adjusting the humidification of the cathode inlet air, adjusting the coolant flow through and/or temperature of the fuel cell stack 12, reducing the stack load current, etc. Thus, in this manner, the system 10 is able to monitor cell voltages to detect abnormal operating conditions with only two connections to the fuel cell stack 12 for the voltage meter and the current meter, instead of the many connections that were typically required to measure fuel cell voltages to detect low performing cells”, *Examiner interprets Fuss as teaching detection of a fuel cell abnormality (see para. [0012] and taking corrective actions when such abnormality occurs (see para. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the control device of Riggs, as modified by Morisawa, to include an abnormal rotating electric machine, which is the rotating electric machine in the power unit having an abnormal fuel cell, and a torque requirement of the vehicle in the power unit having the abnormal fuel cell, when an abnormality of the fuel cell occurs, as taught in Fuss with a reasonable expectation of success in order maintain control over the operation of the rotating electric machine when the fuel cell power unit experiences an abnormality. See para. [0020] – [0021] of Fuss for motivation. Although, Fuss may not explicit disclose a rotating electric machine, it would have been obvious to apply the known abnormality corrective action to the rotating electric machine of the system as modified by Riggs and Morisawa because the electric machine is the primary consumer of fuel cell power and this facilitates the maintenance of safe operation and prevention of excessive load on a fuel cell experiencing an abnormal condition. See para. [0020]-[0021] for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the controller
(Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“) operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a power mode when the rotation number is smaller than a predetermined rotation number (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control. In this case, therefore, the traction control correction unit 122 relaxes the restriction of the drive torque or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 in accordance with the increase in the assist torque from the MG2”), the torque requirement is equal to or greater than a predetermined torque (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”), and the state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell”, *Since Morisawa explicitly teaches using the charge amount (state of charge) of the energy storage device as a control parameter, Examiner interprets this to be evidence of control according to a state of charge. Also see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “the electric energy storage device 94, and a second inverter 102 that controls current supplied and received among the MG2, the storage device 94, and the fuel cell FC”) is equal to or greater than a predetermined state of charge, and wherein the controller stops (see at least para. [0009] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction controller is able to restrict or control the output of the drive wheels, or the rotation of the drive wheels, so as to assure or improve the tractive force of the vehicle” and see at least para. [0065] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction control device 108 or the traction control unit 112 is adapted to restrict or reduce the rotation or drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 such that the front wheels 66, 68 grip the road surface”) the abnormal rotating electric machine or reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is smaller than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is equal to or greater than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined state of charge (see at least para. [0054] of Morisawa which discloses “steps SA1, SA2 and SA3 correspond to a means for determining that the traction control starting conditions are established or satisfied. Under the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 or the MG1 is reduced so that the slip rate Rs of the front wheels 66, 68 [=(ΔV/VF)×100%] becomes equal to or smaller than a pre-set target slip rate Rs1, and at the same time the drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 are reduced by the wheel brakes 66wB, 68wB. In order to increase the effect of the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 is reduced by reducing the amount of fuel distributed to the engine 14 by the fuel distribution device 92”).
Regarding claim 3, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the controller
(Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“)
stops the abnormal rotating electric machine or reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine (see at least para. [0009] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction controller is able to restrict or control the output of the drive wheels, or the rotation of the drive wheels, so as to assure or improve the tractive force of the vehicle” and see at least para. [0065] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction control device 108 or the traction control unit 112 is adapted to restrict or reduce the rotation or drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 such that the front wheels 66, 68 grip the road surface”) to zero when the rotation number is smaller than a predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than a predetermined torque (see at least para. [0060] of Morisawa which discloses “If the operated amount θ of the accelerator pedal is zero, namely, if the throttle valve is in a completely closed state, an affirmative decision (YES) is obtained in step SA11, and the assist control is finished, followed by another control”), and the state of charge is equal to or greater than a predetermined state of charge, and wherein the controller operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a regenerative mode when the rotation number is smaller than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined state of charge (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”).
Regarding claim 4, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the controller
(Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“) operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a power mode when the rotation number is smaller than a predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is equal to or greater than a predetermined torque, and the state of charge is equal to greater than a predetermined first state of charge, wherein the controller stops (see at least para. [0047] of Morisawa which discloses “the coordination control unit 120 stops power output from the storage device 94, and continues power output from the MG1. If the elapsed time t following the assist control starting point exceeds a pre-set allowable operation time tA of the MG1, or if the temperature of the MG1 exceeds a pre-set allowable temperature, the coordination control unit 120 stops power generation of the MG1”) the abnormal rotating electric machine or reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is smaller than the predetermined rotation number (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control. In this case, therefore, the traction control correction unit 122 relaxes the restriction of the drive torque or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 in accordance with the increase in the assist torque from the MG2”), the torque requirement is equal to or greater than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined first state of charge and is equal to or greater than a predetermined second state of charge which is smaller than the predetermined first state of charge, wherein the controller stops the abnormal rotating electric machine when the rotation number is smaller than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is equal to or greater than the predetermined torque (see at least para. [0034] of Morisawa which discloses “the torque of the engine 14 is amplified by 1/ρ times, for example, about 2 times, before it is transmitted to the continuously variable transmission 20, in view of the relationship of the torque of the ring gear 32:the torque of the carrier 28:the torque of the sun gear 24=1/ρ:(1−ρ)/ρ:1. Thus, the operating mode in which the engine 14 is operating with the clutch C2 being engaged (the ring gear 32 being coupled with the input shaft 26 of the CVT 20) is called “torque amplifying mode”), and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined second state of charge, wherein the controller stops the abnormal rotating electric machine or reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is smaller than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than the predetermined torque (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”), and the state of charge is equal to or greater than a predetermined third state of charge which is greater than the predetermined first state of charge, and wherein the controller operates the abnormal rotating electric machine (see at least para. [0048] of Morisawa which discloses “The traction control correction unit 122 corrects the traction control performed by the traction control device 108, based on the operating state of the fuel cell FC”) in a regenerative mode when the rotation number is smaller than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined third state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell”, *Since Morisawa explicitly teaches using the charge amount (state of charge) of the energy storage device as a control parameter, Examiner interprets this to be evidence of control according to a state of charge. Also see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “the electric energy storage device 94, and a second inverter 102 that controls current supplied and received among the MG2, the storage device 94, and the fuel cell FC”).
Regarding claim 5, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the controller
(Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“)
operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a power mode when the rotation number is equal to or greater than a predetermined rotation number (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control. In this case, therefore, the traction control correction unit 122 relaxes the restriction of the drive torque or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 in accordance with the increase in the assist torque from the MG2”), the torque requirement is equal to or greater than a predetermined torque (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”), and the state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell”, *Since Morisawa explicitly teaches using the charge amount (state of charge) of the energy storage device as a control parameter, Examiner interprets this to be evidence of control according to a state of charge. Also see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “the electric energy storage device 94, and a second inverter 102 that controls current supplied and received among the MG2, the storage device 94, and the fuel cell FC”) is equal to or greater than a predetermined state of charge, and wherein the controller stops (see at least para. [0009] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction controller is able to restrict or control the output of the drive wheels, or the rotation of the drive wheels, so as to assure or improve the tractive force of the vehicle” and see at least para. [0065] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction control device 108 or the traction control unit 112 is adapted to restrict or reduce the rotation or drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 such that the front wheels 66, 68 grip the road surface”) the abnormal rotating electric machine or reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is equal to or greater than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is equal to or greater than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined state of charge (see at least para. [0054] of Morisawa which discloses “steps SA1, SA2 and SA3 correspond to a means for determining that the traction control starting conditions are established or satisfied. Under the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 or the MG1 is reduced so that the slip rate Rs of the front wheels 66, 68 [=(ΔV/VF)×100%] becomes equal to or smaller than a pre-set target slip rate Rs1, and at the same time the drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 are reduced by the wheel brakes 66wB, 68wB. In order to increase the effect of the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 is reduced by reducing the amount of fuel distributed to the engine 14 by the fuel distribution device 92”).
Regarding claim 6, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the controller
(Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“)
reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is equal to or greater than a predetermined rotation number (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control. In this case, therefore, the traction control correction unit 122 relaxes the restriction of the drive torque or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 in accordance with the increase in the assist torque from the MG2”), the torque requirement is smaller than a predetermined torque (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”), and the state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell”, *Since Morisawa explicitly teaches using the charge amount (state of charge) of the energy storage device as a control parameter, Examiner interprets this to be evidence of control according to a state of charge. Also see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “the electric energy storage device 94, and a second inverter 102 that controls current supplied and received among the MG2, the storage device 94, and the fuel cell FC”) is equal to or greater than a predetermined state of charge, and wherein the controller operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a regenerative mode (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”) when the rotation number is equal to or greater than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined state of charge (see at least para. [0042] of Morisawa which discloses “the quantity of electricity generated from the fuel cell FC is increased to a value that is greater by a predetermined value than the quantity of electricity that has been supplied from the MG1”).
Regarding claim 7, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the controller
(Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“)
operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a power mode when the rotation number is equal to or greater than a predetermined rotation number (see at least para. [0049] of Morisawa which discloses “when the quantity of electricity supplied from the fuel cell FC to the MG 2 is to be increased to be greater by a predetermined value than the quantity that has been supplied from the MG1, the increase in the rotation speed of the front wheels 66, 68, that is, the increase in the vehicle speed, has been restricted by the traction control. In this case, therefore, the traction control correction unit 122 relaxes the restriction of the drive torque or rotation of the front wheels 66, 68 in accordance with the increase in the assist torque from the MG2”), the torque requirement is equal to or greater than a predetermined torque (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”), and the state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell”, *Since Morisawa explicitly teaches using the charge amount (state of charge) of the energy storage device as a control parameter, Examiner interprets this to be evidence of control according to a state of charge. Also see at least para. [0038] of Morisawa which discloses “the electric energy storage device 94, and a second inverter 102 that controls current supplied and received among the MG2, the storage device 94, and the fuel cell FC”) is equal to or greater than a predetermined first state of charge, wherein the controller reduces (see at least para. [0009] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction controller is able to restrict or control the output of the drive wheels, or the rotation of the drive wheels, so as to assure or improve the tractive force of the vehicle” and see at least para. [0065] of Morisawa which discloses “the traction control device 108 or the traction control unit 112 is adapted to restrict or reduce the rotation or drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 such that the front wheels 66, 68 grip the road surface”) the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is equal to or greater than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is equal to or greater than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined first state of charge and equal to or greater than a predetermined second state of charge smaller than the predetermined first state of charge (see at least para. [0054] of Morisawa which discloses “steps SA1, SA2 and SA3 correspond to a means for determining that the traction control starting conditions are established or satisfied. Under the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 or the MG1 is reduced so that the slip rate Rs of the front wheels 66, 68 [=(ΔV/VF)×100%] becomes equal to or smaller than a pre-set target slip rate Rs1, and at the same time the drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 are reduced by the wheel brakes 66wB, 68wB. In order to increase the effect of the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 is reduced by reducing the amount of fuel distributed to the engine 14 by the fuel distribution device 92”), wherein the controller stops the abnormal rotating electric machine or reduces a rotation number of the rotating electric machine to be smaller than the predetermined rotation number when the rotation number is equal to or greater than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is equal to or greater than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined second state of charge, wherein the controller reduces the torque of the abnormal rotating electric machine to zero when the rotation number is equal to or greater than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than the predetermined torque (see at least para. [0041] of Morisawa which discloses “the drive control device 110 selects a torque regenerative braking mode in which braking force is generated by using the torque required for electric power generation of the MG1 or MG2, or an engine brake mode in which braking force is generated by using rotation resistant torque of the engine 14, based on the throttle opening θ and the operated amount of brake pedal BF”), and the state of charge is equal to or greater than a predetermined third state of charge greater than the predetermined first state of charge, and wherein the controller operates the abnormal rotating electric machine in a regenerative mode (see at least para. [0034] of Morisawa which discloses “the torque for regeneratively driving or rotating the MG1, so as to cause the MG1 to generate electric power, and also smoothly increase the speed of rotation of the ring gear 32 as an output member from zero to a desired speed. Thus, the vehicle can be smoothly started and accelerated”) when the rotation number is equal to or greater than the predetermined rotation number, the torque requirement is smaller than the predetermined torque, and the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined third state of charge (see at least para. [0054] of Morisawa which discloses “steps SA1, SA2 and SA3 correspond to a means for determining that the traction control starting conditions are established or satisfied. Under the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 or the MG1 is reduced so that the slip rate Rs of the front wheels 66, 68 [=(ΔV/VF)×100%] becomes equal to or smaller than a pre-set target slip rate Rs1, and at the same time the drive forces of the front wheels 66, 68 are reduced by the wheel brakes 66wB, 68wB. In order to increase the effect of the traction control, the output torque of the engine 14 is reduced by reducing the amount of fuel distributed to the engine 14 by the fuel distribution device 92”).
Regarding claim 8, Riggs, as modified by Morisawa and Fuss discloses wherein the power
storage device (see at least para. [0094] of Riggs which discloses “The middle hull section 110 can house one or more batteries” and see at least para. [0101] of Riggs which discloses “The fuel cell is electrically coupled to one or more batteries of the vehicle 300 via the contact terminals and provides power to the battery or batteries to charge, recharge, and/or maintain a desired output level of the battery or batteries. Less than all of the fuel cells may be coupled to a particular battery for supply of power thereto”, *Examiner interprets this as evidence of teaching a battery which is a power storage device) is in an overcharging state when the state of charge is equal to or greater than the predetermined third state of charge, and the power storage device is in an over-discharge state when the state of charge is smaller than the predetermined second state of charge (see at least para. [0010] of Morisawa which discloses “After a certain period of time, e.g., when the charge amount of the energy storage device falls short, the output of the fuel cell is controlled so that the electric motor is operated with electric energy supplied from the fuel cell. In this manner, the assist drive, or four-wheel drive, can be continued even if the traction control is performed for a prolonged time”).
Regarding claim 9, Riggs discloses A vehicle control method (see at least para. [0079] of
Riggs which discloses “a control component 132 that contains some or all of the onboard processing and control hardware and logic”) executed by a controller (Fig. 54, 132 and see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a controller to control autonomous operations of the aquatic vehicle, wherein the controller is arranged on the base portion” and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “component 132 are electrical and electronic components, such as a controller, to control the vehicle 300 and/or receive signals from various vehicle sensors“) configured to control a plurality of power units (Fig. 60, 350 and see at least para. [0074] of Riggs which discloses “a plurality of power units arranged therein” and see at least para. [0095] of Riggs which discloses “at least one power unit 350” and see at least para. [0098] of Riggs which discloses "Power unit 350, in the form of a fuel cell, for example, includes a plurality of anode-cathode pairs 352 1-13. The anodes are shown at 353 1-13 and surrounded by cathodes 354", *Examiner interprets this as evidence of a fuel cell inside each power unit) mounted on a vehicle (Fig. 55B, 300 and see at least para. [0093] of Riggs which discloses “vehicle 300 is similar to vehicles 100 and 200 described above”), each of the plurality of power units (Fig. 60, 350 and see at least para. [0074] of Riggs which discloses “a plurality of power units ) comprising: a rotating electric machine (Fig. 1, 160 and see at least para. [0081] of Riggs which discloses “a pair of electric motors and propellers 160 …to provide for the propulsion and directional control of the vehicle 100 using … differential steering or thrust displacement steering …a wireless, rotating motor control mechanism for steering”), a power storage device (see at least para. [0094] of Riggs which discloses “The middle hull section 110 can house one or more batteries” and see at least para. [0101] of Riggs which discloses “The fuel cell is electrically coupled to one or more batteries of the vehicle 300 via the contact terminals and provides power to the battery or batteries to charge, recharge, and/or maintain a desired output level of the battery or batteries. Less than all of the fuel cells may be coupled to a particular battery for supply of power thereto”, *Examiner interprets this as evidence of teaching a battery which is a power storage device) and a fuel cell (see at least para. [0098] of Riggs which discloses "Power unit 350, in the form of a fuel cell, for example, includes a plurality of anode-cathode pairs 352 1-13. The anodes are shown at 353 1-13 and surrounded by cathodes 354", *Examiner interprets this as evidence of a fuel cell inside each power unit and Examiner notes that Riggs discloses a plurality of power units 350 that each include a fuel cell), which are power sources (see at least para. [0003] of Riggs which discloses “a power source to supply power”).
Riggs does disclose a vehicle with multiple rotating electric machines (Fig. 1, 160 and see at
least para. [0081] of Riggs which discloses “a pair of electric motors and propellers 160 …to provide for the propulsion and directional control of the vehicle 100 using … differential steering or thrust displacement steering …a wireless, rotating motor control mechanism for steering”). It should be noted that while Riggs discloses a plurality of power units 350 that each include a fuel cell, Riggs may not expressly disclose that each power unit includes a rotating electric machine configured to exchange torque with wheels. Riggs also discloses a power storage device in the form of batteries (see at least para. [0094] of Riggs which discloses “The middle hull section 110 can house one or more batteries” and see at least para. [0101] of Riggs which discloses “The fuel cell is electrically coupled to one or more batteries of the vehicle 300 via the contact terminals and provides power to the battery or batteries to charge, recharge, and/or maintain a desired output level of the battery or batteries. Less than all of the fuel cells may be coupled to a particular battery for supply of power thereto”, *Examiner interprets this as evidence of teaching a battery which is a power storage device).
Riggs may not explicitly disclose an electric power controller configured to control electric
power transmission of the rotating electric machine, the power storage device and the fuel cell, the vehicle control method comprising: a step of determining whether there is an abnormality of the fuel cell or not; and a step of controlling an operation of the rotating electric machine in the power unit having the abnormal fuel cell according to a state of charge of the power storage device, a rotation number of the rotating electric machine, and a torque requirement of the vehicle in the power unit having the abnormal fuel cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Morisawa discloses a rotating electric machine (Fig.
1, MG1/MG2 and see at least para. [0034] of Morisawa which discloses “the torque for regeneratively driving or rotating the MG1, so as to cause the MG1 to generate electric power, and also smoothly increase the speed of rotation of the ring g