DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are now pending in the application. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 3 and previously non-elected claims 10-15 have been canceled by the Applicant. Previous claim 1 objection has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.04, 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on provisional application US 63/540272, filed on 09/25/2023.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (hereafter Zheng, where English language translation is referenced) CN 202776263 U in view of Mita US 20060165347 A1 (both of record).
In regard to independent claim 1, Zheng teaches (see Figs. 1-3) an imaging camera system (i.e. as slit lamp illuminating device for a microscope photography, see abstract, paragraphs [02-08,11-22]) comprising:
a light box comprising an outer surface (i.e. as lamp holder mount 1, also with condenser lens holder 2, either with an outer surface, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3);
a light guide configured to provide light to the light box (i.e. as optical fiber 10, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3);
a focus assembly including a focus lens disposed at a distal end of the light guide (i.e. condenser lens holder 2 with lens 3 and grating plate 6, at distal end of 10, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3); and
a collar disposed on the focus assembly (i.e. as adjustment seat 4 disposed on condenser lens holder 2, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3), wherein the collar comprises:
a main body comprising a front face and a rear face (as 4 with main body and front and rear faces, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3); and
one or more set screws disposed on the main body (i.e. as rotating pin screw 5, cooperating with grating pin/waist-shaped groove 7 of grating plate 6, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3);
wherein the collar is configured to slide along the focus assembly and can be secured to a position along a length of the focus assembly via the set screws (i.e. as adjustment seat slides with 6, rotates along 2 and can be secured along 2 using pin 5 cooperating with 6 and 7, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3) such that the focus lens of the focus assembly refracts light from the light guide into the light box (i.e. as 3 with 6 in 1, 2 refracts light from 10 to 1, paragraphs [08,11,19-22], as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-3).
However, Zhang is silent that a first set of magnets are disposed on the outer surface of the light box (i.e. on lamp mount 1 with holder 2) and a second set of magnets disposed on the rear face of the main body (e.g. on rear face of main body of adjustment seat 4), and that the light guide is removable from the light box (Zheng does not specify that the optical fiber 10 is removable from lamp holder mount 1, and condenser lens holder 2, paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3).
However, Mita teaches in the similar field of invention of an optical switch with optical fibers and components being coupled with magnetic blocks (see Figs. 1-3,6-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [07-17,39-45,50-53]) and further teaches a first set of magnets are disposed on the outer surface of the light box (i.e. as stationary magnetic block with magnet 6, 8 on substrate in actuator 10 with movable fibers 3a,b, paragraphs [07-17,39-45,50-53], e.g. Figs. 1-3) and a second set of magnets disposed on the rear face of the main body (e.g. as movable block 5, with magnetic body 5a, including the rear of 5, with fibers 2a,b e.g. paragraphs [07-17,39-45,50-53], e.g. Figs. 1-3), and that the light guide is removable from the light box (i.e. as movable block 5 with fibers 2 a,b is movable to and from stationary magnetic block with fibers 3a,b constituting switching connection of one or more movable optical fibers to one or more stationary optical fibers, and thus providing sufficient magnetic attraction, provides a high-reliability optical switch and switching connection by coupling movable optical fibers to the stationary optical fibers, e.g. paragraphs [08-10, 4245,50-50]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stationary outer surface of lamp mount with lens holder and rear face of the movable of main body of adjustment seat of Zhang with stationary magnet block with permanent magnet, and movable magnetic block and forming removable switching connection according to teachings of Mita in order to provide sufficient magnetic attraction for high-reliability optical coupling switch for coupling movable optical fibers to the stationary optical components and providing switching connection between then (see Mita paragraphs [42,45,50-50, 08-10]).
Regarding claim 2, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the light guide comprises a fiber optic cable (i.e. a light guide is optical fiber 10, paragraphs [08,11,19-22], Fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the focus lens of the focus assembly refracts light from the light guide into the light box (i.e. as 3 with 6 in 1, 2 refracts light from 10 to 1, paragraphs [08,11,19-22], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the first set of magnets on the outer surface of the light box are configured to attach to the second set of magnets on the rear face of the collar (i.e. as per modification with Mita as stationary outer surface of 1 with lens holder 2, and rear face of the movable of main body of 4 of Zhang, paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3, modified with stationary magnet block with permanent magnet, and movable magnetic block, see Mita e.g. paragraphs [39-45,50-53], e.g. Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the main body of the collar comprises at least three sides (as main body of 4 has more than 3 sides, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) the main body ((as main body of 4 has more than 3 sides, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3) but is silent that it is substantially triangular (i.e. as main body of adjusting seat includes three adjusting rings, while the shape of 4 is not disclosed). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply triangular shape to the manual adjustment seat main body, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, one would have been motivated to select such triangular the shape of manual adjustment seat for the purpose of providing easier hand control for the manual adjustment seat (see Zhang, paragraph [21]).
Regarding claim 7, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the set screws are disposed adjacent the rear face of the main body (i.e. as rotating pin screw 5 with grating pin 7 on rear face of 4, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Fig. 2);
Regarding claim 8, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the front face and the rear face comprise the same shape and are separated by the main body (as front and rear faces of 4 separated by main body of 4, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, the Zhang-Mita combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the rear face of the main body is thicker than the front face (as rear face of 4 is thicker than the front face part around the 10 insert, as depicted in e.g. Fig. 2, paragraphs [08,19-22]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 09/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 5-6 that the cited prior art of Zheng along or in combination with the cited prior art of Mita does not disclose limitations of amended claim 1, namely that (1) “a focus assembly including a focus lens disposed at a distal end of the light guide”, arguing that Zheng has focusing lens group (second condenser lens 3) is located at the proximal/entrance end of the optical fiber (10), housed within the condenser base (2) attached to the main lamp housing (1), and allegedly the distal output end of the optical fiber (10) is only a slit lamp holder (9) configured to secure the slit lamp (8); and that (2) “a collar disposed on the focus assembly” where “the collar is configured to slide along the focus assembly and can be secured to a position along a length of the focus assembly via the set screws such that the focus lens of the focus assembly refracts light from the light guide into the light box”, since Zhang only has adjustment seat (4) with rubber rings (11) and a rotating pin (5) that engages a waist-shaped slot (7) on a grating sheet (6) located at the condenser base (2) but no collar.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issues (1) and (2), as presented in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Zhang teaches most and in combination with cited prior art of Mita teaches and renders obvious all limitations of amended claim 1, as Zheng teaches (see Figs. 1-3) an imaging camera system (i.e. as slit lamp illuminating device for a microscope photography, see abstract, paragraphs [02-08,11-22]) comprising:
a light box comprising an outer surface (i.e. as lamp holder mount 1, also with condenser lens holder 2, either with an outer surface, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3);
a light guide configured to provide light to the light box (i.e. as optical fiber 10, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3);
a focus assembly including a focus lens disposed at a distal end of the light guide (i.e. condenser lens holder 2 with lens 3 and grating plate 6, at distal end of 10, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3); and
a collar disposed on the focus assembly (i.e. as adjustment seat 4 disposed on condenser lens holder 2, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3), wherein the collar comprises:
a main body comprising a front face and a rear face (as 4 with main body and front and rear faces, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3); and
one or more set screws disposed on the main body (i.e. as rotating pin screw 5, cooperating with grating pin/waist-shaped groove 7 of grating plate 6, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3);
wherein the collar is configured to slide along the focus assembly and can be secured to a position along a length of the focus assembly via the set screws (i.e. as adjustment seat slides with 6, rotates along 2 and can be secured along 2 using pin 5 cooperating with 6 and 7, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3) such that the focus lens of the focus assembly refracts light from the light guide into the light box (i.e. as 3 with 6 in 1, 2 refracts light from 10 to 1, paragraphs [08,11,19-22], as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-3).
However, Zhang is silent that a first set of magnets are disposed on the outer surface of the light box (i.e. on lamp mount 1 with holder 2) and a second set of magnets disposed on the rear face of the main body (e.g. on rear face of main body of adjustment seat 4), and that the light guide is removable from the light box (Zheng does not specify that the optical fiber 10 is removable from lamp holder mount 1, and condenser lens holder 2, paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3).
However, Mita teaches in the similar field of invention of an optical switch with optical fibers and components being coupled with magnetic blocks (see Figs. 1-3,6-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [07-17,39-45,50-53]) and further teaches a first set of magnets are disposed on the outer surface of the light box (i.e. as stationary magnetic block with magnet 6, 8 on substrate in actuator 10 with movable fibers 3a,b, paragraphs [07-17,39-45,50-53], e.g. Figs. 1-3) and a second set of magnets disposed on the rear face of the main body (e.g. as movable block 5, with magnetic body 5a, including the rear of 5, with fibers 2a,b e.g. paragraphs [07-17,39-45,50-53], e.g. Figs. 1-3), and that the light guide is removable from the light box (i.e. as movable block 5 with fibers 2 a,b is movable to and from stationary magnetic block with fibers 3a,b constituting switching connection of one or more movable optical fibers to one or more stationary optical fibers, and thus providing sufficient magnetic attraction, provides a high-reliability optical switch and switching connection by coupling movable optical fibers to the stationary optical fibers, e.g. paragraphs [08-10, 4245,50-50]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the stationary outer surface of lamp mount with lens holder and rear face of the movable of main body of adjustment seat of Zhang with stationary magnet block with permanent magnet, and movable magnetic block and forming removable switching connection according to teachings of Mita in order to provide sufficient magnetic attraction for high-reliability optical coupling switch for coupling movable optical fibers to the stationary optical components and providing switching connection between then (see Mita paragraphs [42,45,50-50, 08-10]).
Specifically. Zhang teaches the focus assembly including a focus lens disposed at a distal end of the light guide. i.e. as the condenser lens holder 2 with lens 3 and grating plate 6, at distal end of 10, see paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3. It is noted that the distal end of light guide the end at the light box with the light source, according to the claim as well as the disclosure including Figures 1-3 and their descriptions. The distal end is not recited or specified as the other end of the light guide that in Zhang is proximal to patient’s eye. The output end of the optical fiber (10), with only a slit lamp holder (9) configured to secure the slit lamp (8), was not red on the above claim limitations, as asserted by the Applicant. The claim construction requires that the distal end is at the light box, not the patient’s eye.
Further, Zhang teaches the collar disposed on the focus assembly, i.e. as adjustment seat 4 disposed on condenser lens holder 2, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3), and that the collar comprises: a main body comprising a front face and a rear face (as 4 with main body and front and rear faces, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3); and one or more set screws disposed on the main body, i.e. as specifically the rotating pin screw 5, cooperating with grating pin/waist-shaped groove 7 of grating plate 6, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3). Zhang also teaches that the collar is configured to slide along the focus assembly and can be secured to a position along a length of the focus assembly via the set screws, i.e. as adjustment seat slides with 6, rotates along 2 and can be secured along 2 using pin 5 cooperating with 6 and 7, e.g. paragraphs [08,19-22], Figs. 2-3, where it is noted that no specific length or direction is recited in the claim), and further teaches, such that the focus lens of the focus assembly refracts light from the light guide into the light box, i.e. as the condenser lens 3 with 6 in 1, 2 refracts light from 10 to 1 since it is a lens with refractive power, paragraphs [08,11,19-22], as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-3. In addition, the assertion that modifying Zheng to replace its rotary pin/grating plate assembly with a set-screw sliding collar featuring magnetic coupling on a distal focus assembly would require completely re-engineering Zheng's mechanical layout and optical delivery path, is hypothetical modification, not presented in the combination of teachings of Zhang and Mita. Instead the missing parts in Zhang, namely the magnetic connectivity with moving the light box to or from the light guide were taught by the combination of Zhang and Mita (please see above).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., as the slidable, set-screw-secured collar with magnetic coupling allowing a user to rapidly adjust and set the position of the focus assembly relative to the light box to tune illumination intensity for specific camera imaging applications without deconstructing the system, or how and in what direction/orientation or axis is the collar sliding along the focus assembly, and what is the arrangement/position or application of the set screw that secures the collar along the focus assembly) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). It is also noted that claim requires that the collar can be secured to a position along a length of the focus assembly via the set screws, but not that the collar is secured in some specific manner at the specific direction on the focus assembly. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is also noted that although the cited reference(s) is/are different from the invention disclosed by Applicant, the language of Applicant's claims is sufficiently broad to reasonably read on the cited reference(s). Additionally, it is noted that "[t]he use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))." MPEP §2123.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 6 of the Remarks dated 09/15/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872