DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,097,071 are directed to planning for left atrial appendage transseptal access point optimization comprising a processor configured to generating an anatomical map comprising a representation of at least part of a heart of a patient, identifying a septum of LAA of the heart of the patient in the anatomical map; defining on the anatomical map an entry surface over which a medical device, which is to be delivered via a sheath that penetrates the septum, is to engage with the LAA; calculate a plurality of curves that each include a first end extending to the entry surface, a second end extending to the septum, and comply with specified mechanical properties of the sheath; derive from the curves, multiple candidate locations on the septum for transseptal puncture with the sheath; and cause visualization the multiple candidate locations being represented as multiple candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve. Furthermore, the independent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,071 are narrower than claim 1 of current application.
Claims 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,097,071 are directed to planning for left atrial appendage transseptal access point optimization comprising a processor configured to configured to cause the system to: calculate a plurality of curves that each (i) have a first end that is tangent to an entry surface over which a medical device is to engage with a Left Atrial Appendage (LAA) of a heart of a patient, (ii) have a second end touching a septum of the heart of the patient, and (iii) comply with specified mechanical properties of a sheath used to guide the medical device; derive, from the curves, multiple candidate locations on the septum for transseptal puncture with the sheath; and cause visualization the multiple candidate locations being represented as multiple candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve. Furthermore, the independent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,071 are narrower than claim 12 of current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the claim limitation “discrete candidate locations”, “discrete candidate locations overlaid on the anatomical map”, and “discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve” in the claims was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does disclose puncture candidate locations, however, the specification does not recite or disclose “discrete candidate location” and the specification does not recite the term “discrete”.
Claims 2-11 and 13-21 are rejected as they depends from rejected claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0125581; hereinafter Wang), in view of Sone et al. (US 2019/0000551; hereinafter Sone), in view of Fahim et al. (US 2019/0183577; hereinafter Fahim).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a selecting a medical device for use in a medical procedure. Wang shows a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions thereon that (see par. [0007], when executed by one or more processors (see par. [0007]), cause a device to: generate an anatomical map comprising a representation of at least part of a heart of a patient (see par. [0031]; fig. 3 and 5); identify a septum and a Left Atrial Appendage (LAA) of the heart of the patient in the anatomical map (see par. [0031]); define on the anatomical map an entry surface over which a medical device, which is to be delivered via a sheath that penetrates the septum, is to engage with the LAA (see par. [0039]; fig. 3); comply with specified mechanical properties of the sheath (see par. [0084], [0091]); multiple discrete candidate locations on the septum for transseptal puncture with the sheath (see par. [0031], [0082]); and cause visualization, for performance of a cardiac procedure on the patients, the multiple discrete candidate locations overlaid on the anatomical map (see par. [0083]).
Wang fails to explicitly state calculate a plurality of curves that each include a first end extending to the entry surface, a second end extending to the septum, and that the multiple discrete candidate locations being represented as multiple discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve.
Sone discloses a medical image processing apparatus. Sone teaches a plurality of curves that includes a first ending extending to entry surface (see fig. 3; 5, 7A-C and 9; par. [0085]); and have a second end touching the septum (see fig. 3; 5, 7A-C and 9; par. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a plurality of curves that each include a first end extending to the entry surface, a second end extending to the septum in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to be able to determine and provide a more accurate puncture location which would reduce a burden on the subject by avoiding further unnecessary surgery procedure.
But, Wang and Sone fail to explicitly state that the multiple discrete candidate locations being represented as multiple discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve.
Fahim discloses an augmented reality solution to optimize the directional approach and therapy delivery of interventional cardiology tools. Fahim teaches multiple discrete locations disposed along a semicircular curve (see par. [0051], [0053], [0068], the examiner notes that claim merely limits a semicircular curve, and a circle comprises a semicircular curve).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of multiple discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve in the invention of Wang and Sone, as taught by Fahim, to aid the user by providing a better estimate location for the insertion.
Regarding claim 2, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the device to calculate a normal to the entry surface (see par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Sone teaches wherein calculating a plurality of curves further includes the first end being tangent to the normal (see fig. 3; 5, 7A-C and 9; par. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein calculating a plurality of curves further includes the first end being tangent to the normal in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to be able to determine and provide a more accurate puncture location which would reduce a burden on the subject by avoiding further unnecessary surgery procedure.
Regarding claim 4, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Sone teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the device to receive ultrasound data from an invasive ultrasound probe inserted into the heart of the patient (see abstract; par. [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the device to receive ultrasound data from an invasive ultrasound probe inserted into the heart of the patient in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to provide highly detailed images of the heart and its internal structure which would aid in determining of the accurate puncture location which would reduce a burden on the subject by avoiding further unnecessary surgery procedure.
Regarding claim 5, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Sone teaches wherein the anatomical map is calculated based at least in part on the ultrasound data (see par. [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the anatomical map is calculated based at least in part on the ultrasound data in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to prove a safer imaging dur to absence of ionizing radiation.
Regarding claim 6, Wang, Sone and Fahim i disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows wherein the specified mechanical properties of the sheath comprise a minimal radius of curvature of the sheath obtainable inside the heart by external manipulation of the sheath (see par. [0084], [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows delineating an ostium of the LAA on the anatomical map (see par. [0039], [0040], [0041]); and best fitting a plane to the delineated ostium (see par. [0039], [0040], [0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows an access position of the sheath to a RA of the heart is from the inferior vena cava (see par. [0018], fig. 1). Sone also teaches an access position of the sheath to a RA of the heart is from the inferior vena cava (see fig. 7A; par. [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows an LAA occlusion device (See par. [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows causing visualization the multiple discrete candidate locations comprises presenting the sheath, the entry surface, using a 3D mapping system (see par. [0035], [0083]; fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses a selecting a medical device for use in a medical procedure. Wang teaches a system (see fig. 2), comprising: a memory storing instructions thereon that (see par. [0007]), when executed by the one or more processors (see par. [0007]), are configured to cause the system to: access an anatomical map comprising a representation of at least part of a heart of a patient (see par. [0031]; fig. 3 and 5); identifying a septum and a LAA of a heart of a patient in an anatomical map of at least part of the heart (see par. [0031], fig. 3)) and comply with specified mechanical properties of a sheath used to guide the medical device (see par. [0084], [0091]); multiple discrete candidate locations on the septum for transseptal puncture with the sheath (see par. [0031], [0082]); and cause visualization, for performance of a cardiac procedure on the patients, the multiple discrete candidate locations overlaid on the anatomical map (see par. [0083]).
Furthermore, Wang shows an entry surface over which medical device is to engage with a Left Atrial Appendage (LAA) of a heart of a patient (see par. [0039]; fig. 3), but Wang fails to explicitly state calculating a plurality of curves that each have a first end that is tangent to an entry surface, (ii) have a second end touching a septum of the heart of the patient, and the multiple discrete candidate locations being represented as multiple discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve.
Sone discloses a medical image processing apparatus. Sone teaches a plurality of curves that includes a first ending extending to entry surface (see fig. 3; 5, 7A-C and 9; par. [0085]); and have a second end touching the septum (see fig. 3; 5, 7A-C and 9; par. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a plurality of curves that each include a first end extending to the entry surface, a second end extending to the septum in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to be able to determine and provide a more accurate puncture location which would reduce a burden on the subject by avoiding further unnecessary surgery procedure.
But, Wang and Sone fail to explicitly state that the multiple discrete candidate locations being represented as multiple discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve.
Fahim discloses an augmented reality solution to optimize the directional approach and therapy delivery of interventional cardiology tools. Fahim teaches multiple discrete locations disposed along a semicircular curve (see par. [0051], [0053], [0068], the examiner notes that claim merely limits a semicircular curve, and a circle comprises a semicircular curve).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have utilized the teaching of multiple discrete candidate locations disposed along a semicircular curve in the invention of Wang and Sone, as taught by Fahim, to aid the user by providing a better estimate location for the insertion.
Regarding claim 13, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Sone teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the system to receive ultrasound data from an invasive ultrasound probe inserted into the heart of the patient (see abstract; par. [0035]), the ultrasound data comprising data indicative of at least part of the heart of the patient (see abstract; par. [00035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the system to receive ultrasound data from an invasive ultrasound probe inserted into the heart of the patient, the ultrasound data comprising data indicative of at least part of the heart of the patient in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to provide highly detailed images of the heart and its internal structure which would aid in determining of the accurate puncture location which would reduce a burden on the subject by avoiding further unnecessary surgery procedure.
Regarding claim 14, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the system to generate an anatomical map (see fig. 5), the anatomical map comprising a representation of at least part of the heart (see fig. 5), and Sone teaches data comprising ultrasound data (see abstract; par. [00035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of utilizing ultrasound data in the invention of Wang, as taught by Sone, to prove a safer imaging dur to absence of ionizing radiation.
Regarding claim 15, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the system to cause visualization, on the anatomical map, of the sheath and the entry surface over which the medical device, which is to be delivered via the sheath that penetrates the septum, is to engage with the LAA (see par. [0039], fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows delineating an ostium of the LAA on the anatomical map (see par. [0039], [0040], [0041]); and best fitting a plane to the delineated ostium (see par. [0039], [0040], [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows calculating a normal to the entry surface (see par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows wherein the specified mechanical properties of the sheath comprise a minimal radius of curvature of the sheath obtainable inside the heart by external manipulation of the sheath (see par. [0084], [0091]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows an access position of the sheath to a RA of the heart is from the inferior vena cava (see par. [0018], fig. 1). Sone also teaches an access position of the sheath to a RA of the heart is from the inferior vena cava (see fig. 7A; par. [0076]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang, Sone and Fahimdisclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows an LAA occlusion device (See par. [0017]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Wang shows 3D anatomical model (see par. [0035]); and delineate an ostium of the LAA in a form of a closed curve over the 3D anatomical model (see par. [0039], [0040], [0041]; fig. 5-6).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0125581; hereinafter Wang), in view of Sone et al. (US 2019/0000551; hereinafter Sone), in view of Fahim et al. (US 2019/0183577; hereinafter Fahim) as applied to claim 1 above, and furthermore in view of Kassab et al. (US 2010/0286718).
Regarding claim 10, Wang, Sone and Fahim disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state a balloon catheter.
Kassab discloses a device and method for percutaneous trans-septal left atrial appendage occlusion. Kassab teaches a balloon catheter (see par. [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized a balloon catheter in the invention of Wang, Sone and Fahim, as taught by Kassab, to be able to occlude the LAA ostium and to be able to perform suctioning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/11/2026with respect to independent claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has provided new prior art Fahim.
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797