DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an assembling portion configured to be assembled with a driving member” in claim 1. However, claim limitations are read in view of the specification. In the instant case, the Specification in applicant’s PG-PUB describes “the assembling portion” as being, “a protruding head or a recessed hole” (see paragraph 16). Thus, in view of the specification, the limitation, “a assembling portion”, is being interpreted as a protruding head or a recessed hole and/or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wypych (2021/0094154) in view of Chiang (7114415) and/or Shen (2005/0235782).
In reference to claim 1, Wypych discloses a ratchet wrench (see Title) including:
a rod body (formed from 2 and 10), two ends of the rod body including a working head (10) and a handle (2) respectively, the working head including a chamber (formed from 11 and 12, Figure 1);
a ratchet member (40) rotatably received in the chamber and including an assembling portion (i.e. protruding head 44, which meets the limitation of the assembling portion, as previously interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), see section 4a above) configured to be assembled with a driving member (i.e. socket, paragraph 41);
a blocking member (20) received in the chamber;
a dial member (30) inserted in the working head, the dial member including a body portion (i.e. upper portion of 30 as seen in Figure 4) extending into the chamber and a toggle portion (31) blocked on an outer side of the working head (Figure 4), the body portion including an insertion hole (32) and a receiving hole (36);
a fixation member (33) inserted in the insertion hole, the fixation member restricting the blocking member between the fixation member and an inner surface (i.e. inner surface of 50) of the chamber (Figure 4); and
an elastic urging mechanism (formed from 35 and 37) received in the receiving hole and urging the blocking member so that the blocking member and the ratchet member are engaged with each other (Figures 1-4).
Wypych lacks,
the fixation member including a hollowed portion elastically engaged with the body portion.
However, Chiang teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a fixation member (60, which restricts a blocking member 40, similar to the fixation member, of Wypych) that includes a hollowed portion (62) elastically engaged (i.e. by spring 50) with a body portion (32) of a dial member (30, Figures 1, 3, 57 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the fixation member, of Wypych, with the known technique of providing a fixation member including the hollowed portion elastically engaged with a body portion of a dial member, as taught by Chiang, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that more effectively biases or forces the fixation member to engage with protrusions of a blocking member (Column 4, Lines 59-65).
In addition, Shen also teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a fixation member (35, which positions a dial member 31 “rigidly and stably positioned in a receiving chamber 14” (see paragraph 33 of Shen, which is similar to how the fixation member, of Wypych, “prevents[ing] the dial member 30 [or selector switch 30] from falling out of the [second] cavity 12”, see paragraph 37 of Wypych) that includes a hollowed portion (see figure below) elastically engaged (i.e. at 36 because it is a spring, see Figure 4 and paragraph 32) with a body portion (at 31 in Figure 1) of a dial member (formed from 30 and 31, Figures 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the fixation member, of Wypych, with the known technique of providing a fixation member including the hollowed portion elastically engaged with a body portion of a dial member, as taught by Shen, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that more rigidly and stably positions the dial member in a receiving chamber (paragraph 33).
In reference to claim 2, Wypych discloses that the fixation member extends radially beyond more than 0.5 times a thickness of the blocking member (see figure below).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Extension of fixation member )][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Thickness of blocking member)]
In reference to claim 3, Chiang discloses that the hollowed portion includes a slot (see figure below), and one end of the slot (i.e. right end of the slot in the figure below) is open on one side of the fixation member (Figure 3 of Chiang). In addition, Shen also discloses that the hollowed portion includes a slot (see figure below), and one end of the slot (i.e. right end of the slot in the figure below) is open on one side of the fixation member (Figure 4 of Shen).
[AltContent: textbox (Slot of Chiang)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Slot of Shen)]
In reference to claim 4, Shen discloses that the fixation member is generally Ω-shaped (Figure 1).
In reference to claim 7, Chiang discloses that the hollowed portion includes an open end (i.e. right end of 62 in Figure 3), and the hollowed portion gradually widens (from starting point represented by the dot below) toward the open end (see left figure below). In addition, Shen discloses that the hollowed portion includes an open end (i.e. right end of 36), and the hollowed portion gradually widens (from starting point represented by the dot below) toward the open end (see right figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (Shen)][AltContent: textbox (Chiang)]
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Areas of hollowed portion that gradually widens to the open end)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Areas of hollowed portion that gradually widens to the open end)]
In reference to claim 8, Chiang discloses that the hollowed portion further includes a closed end, and the closed end includes an enlarged hole (see figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (Thinner portion at open end)]
[AltContent: textbox (Wider portion at closed end)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Closed end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Enlarged hole)]
In reference to claim 9, Shen discloses that the fixation member gradually thins from the closed end toward the open end (see figure above).
In further reference to claim 9, Chiang discloses a reverse configuration of the fixation members such that the fixation member gradually widens from the closed end toward the open end, instead of gradually thinning from the closed end toward the open end. However, the examiner notes that the applicant fails to provide any criticality in providing that the fixation member gradually thins from the closed end toward the open end or that this specific arrangement provides any unexpected result. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to rearrange the fixation member such that it gradually thins from the closed end toward the open end, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. In this situation, one could modify the closed end, of Chiang, such that it is larger than the hole 62, and thins toward the open end thereby more effectively holding or retaining the spring therein.
In reference to claim 10, Chiang discloses that there is a gap between a portion of the fixation member adjacent to the open end and an inner surface of the insertion hole (see figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (Portion of the fixation member adjacent to the open end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inner surface of the insertion hole)][AltContent: textbox (Gap)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention pertains to a ratchet wrench. It is the examiner's opinion that the art of record considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious of providing that; the fixation member includes a U-shaped body and two engaging blocks connected to the two ends of the U-shaped body, the U-shaped body is disposed through the insertion hole and elastically engages with an inner surface of the insertion hole, and the two engaging blocks are positioned at one side of the body portion (as in claim 5), together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chow (5533427) discloses a coiled spring fixation member (70) attached to a dial member (60) and engages with an upper surface (54) of a pawl/blocking member (50, Figures 1-6).
Lin (8960054) discloses a coiled spring fixation member (50) attached to a dial member (40) and engages with an upper surface (66) of a pawl/blocking member (60, Figures 2-4).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723