DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Per response dated 9/23/26, claims 1-9 are currently pending in the application.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/14/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration dates of Appl. Nos. 18892976, 19013081, 18452126 and 18451524 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A1) (of record).
At the outset, it is noted that the WIPO publication to Imamura is relied upon for date purposes and the US 11,926,753 patent is relied upon herein below as its English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, Imamura teaches fluororesins, such as a copolymer of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), hexafluoropropylene (HFP) and perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE) (TFE/HFP/PAVE) copolymer. Disclosed mass ratio of the constituent units in TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymer is (75 to 99.8):(0.1 to 25):(0.1 to 25) (col. 7, lines 36-62), and disclosed fluororesin has a melt flow rate (MFR), preferably of from 0.1-40 g/10 min (per ASTM D1238, 372oC) (col. 6, line 9- col. 8, line 54). Additionally, the small genus of disclosed PAVE monomers includes perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (PPVE) as a preferred species (col. 6, lines 28-57). Thus, Imamura teaches overlapping ranges for the MFR and the amounts of claimed monomer units for both copolymers.
Imamura teaches a fluororesin having a total number of functional groups per 106 main-chain carbon atoms, at preferably 6 or less, in order to obtain superior high-frequency electrical properties (Ab., col. 3, line 16-col. 4 line 6), wherein said functional groups include -CF═CF2, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2 (i.e., carbonyl group-containing group) and CH2OH present in the main chain or side chain (col. 5, lines 14-67, ref. claim 1).
Imamura is silent on fluororesins having the claimed MFR and amounts of monomer units in a single embodiment as claimed.
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the teaching in Imamura on fluororesins of overlapping scope, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for any fluororesin within the scope of Imamura, including those comprising hexafluoropropylene (HFP) and perfluoro (propylvinyl ether) (PPVE) in claimed amounts, and having the claimed MFR.
Regarding claims 7-9, Imamura teaches injection, transfer and extrusion molding of the fluororesins for forming articles, including a coated electric wire (Ab., col. 9, line 55-col. 10, line 66).
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga et al. (EP 1260526 A1), in view of Isaka et al. (US 2017/0008986 A1).
Regarding claims 1-6, Hiraga teaches a fluorine-containing polymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene and hexafluoropropylene, if necessary, perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, wherein a melt flow rate (MFR) at 372oC is within a range from 0.1 to 100, and comprising 70 to 95% by weight of tetrafluoroethylene, 5 to 25% by weight of hexafluoropropylene and 0 to 20% by weight of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, such as perfluoropropyl vinyl ether (Ab., [0011]-[0015]).
Hiraga further teaches unstable terminal groups, such as -COOH, -COF and -CF=CF2 in the fluorine-containing polymer is at most 20, per 106 carbon atoms of the polymer [0022].
Hiraga is silent on a fluoropolymer having total number of functional groups including -CH2OH with the claimed limit.
As stated in paragraph 8 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
In a related field of endeavor, Isaka teaches fluororesins, such as tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymers and terpolymers thereof including perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units [0030]-[0038]. Isaka further teaches that a sum of -CF2H and unstable end groups of 120 or less, per 106 carbon atoms, as preventing the formation of a lump during the formation of an electric wire, wherein said unstable end groups include -COF group, a -COOH group, a -COOCH3 group, a -CONH2 group, and a -CH2OH group [0059]-[0061].
In view of the advantage taught in Isaka, and given the teaching in Hiraga on MFR and monomer unit amounts of overlapping scope in the terpolymers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for any fluororesin within the scope of Imamura, and to limit the number of -CH2OH and -CF2H groups in the fluororesins, including to those within the scope of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7-9, disclosed coated wire of Example 3 is produced molding using an extruder (Ab., [0036]). As such, the recitations “extrusion formed” and transfer molded” in claims 7 and 8 are product-by-process limitations in claims drawn to articles. It is well settled that product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process." (MPEP 2113, quoting In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). Therefore, absent probative evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed "extrusion formed" or "transfer molded" feature and given that Hiraga meets the requirements of the claimed articles, Hiraga clearly fulfills the requirements of said claims.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga et al. (EP 1260526 A1) in view of Isaka et al. (US 2017/0008986 A1) and Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A1) (references of record).
The discussions on Hiraga and Isaka from preceding paragraphs 12-16 above, as applied to claim 1, are incorporated herein by reference.
Although Hiraga-Isaka combination is silent on a molded article as claimed, incorporating the discussion on Imamura from paragraphs 5-6 above, Imamura is in a related field of endeavor and teaches the suitability of fluororesins, which overlap in scope with those of Hiraga, for use in extrusion moldings and in transfer moldings alike (col. 9, line 55-col. 10, line 66). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Hiraga’s fluororesins in extrusion moldings or in transfer molding. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
27. In view of the filing of a terminal disclaimer, the double patenting rejections of record are withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments and the Declaration filed on 8/11/26 have been duly considered.
Referring to the Declaration, to the data in the disclosure and to the advantageous results of the claimed fluorine-containing copolymer disclosed therein, Applicant argues that the primary documents to Imamura and Hiraga are all very broad compared to claim 1, the documents do not disclose regulating the contents of HFP and FAVE, MFR and the number of functional groups to fall within claimed ranges to provide the advantageous results of the claimed copolymer. Applicant further contends that the primary documents do not disclose examples that fall within the scope of claim 1, and that the comparative Examples of the present disclosure are closer in scope to claim 1 than the closest actual embodiment of the prior art, rendering the comparisons highly probative of nonobvious.
In response, it is noted that the general disclosure to Imamura teaches fluororesins based on tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) (70-99.8 mass%), hexafluoropropylene (HFP) (0.1-25 mass%) and perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE) (0.1-25 mass%) with perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (PPVE) being a preferred species thereof. Disclosed melt flow rate (MFR) is, preferably, of from 0.1-40, and a total number of functional groups per 106 main-chain carbon atoms, at preferably 6 or less and particularly preferably at 0,
Hiraga teaches a copolymer comprising units of TFE (70 to 95% wt.%), HFP (5 to 25 wt.%) and PAVE (0 to 20 wt.%), e.g., PPVE, having a MFR within a range from 0.1 to 100. In addition, Isaka is relied upon for advantages on limiting the number of functional groups in the copolymer.
Although the primary documents fail to teach the claimed elements in a single embodiment, it is noted that Examiner has only relied on obviousness rejections on the basis that all the primary documents teach the claimed elements in overlapping ranges. Moreover, a teaching contained in a reference's broader disclosure may be relied upon despite not appearing in the reference's examples. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. V. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
It is further noted that Examples 1-5 in the disclosure demonstrate one or more superior properties when compared to Comp. Examples 1-6 (Tables 3 and 4). However, the data on record in support of the superior performance is limited, at best, to copolymers having monomer units TFE, HFP (9.5-10.1 mass%) and FAVE (0 mass%), with a MFR of 2.5-3.9 g/10 min and having functional groups of type and amount within the scope of the Examples 1-5. It is not clear why this limited data would be considered reasonably representative of claim 1, which is of a much broader scope. In other words, the data on record is not reasonably commensurate in scope with the claim language to overcome the rejections of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762