DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021042144 A1 (herein Zieger).
Regarding claim 1, Zieger teaches A differential pressure sensor, comprising:
a sensor housing (housing 4a, p. 4 of translation, Fig. 2) comprising a first input port and a second input port (connectors 2a, p. 4, Fig. 2);
a first sensor tube connected to the sensor housing at a first tube housing end, the first sensor tube extending from the first tube housing end to a first conduit end that is isolated from the sensor housing (pressure sensor 200a, p. 4, Fig. 2; line 10b, Fig. 2);
a second sensor tube connected to the sensor housing at a second tube housing end, the second sensor tube extending from the second tube housing end to a second conduit end that is isolated from the sensor housing (pressure sensor 300a, p. 4, Fig. 2; line 10b, Fig. 2);
a first fluid conduit extending from the first input port, through the sensor housing and the first sensor tube, to the first conduit end, the first sensor tube being configured to experience a first deflection in response to a first fluid pressure within the first fluid conduit (Fig. 2 teaches unnumbered conduit within pressure sensor 200a that connects connector 2a to line 10b);
a second fluid conduit extending from the second input port, through the sensor housing and the second sensor tube, to the second conduit end, the second sensor tube being configured to experience a second deflection in response to a second fluid pressure within the second fluid conduit (Fig. 2 teaches unnumbered conduit within pressure sensor 300a that connects connector 2a to line 10b);
a first circuit element bonded to the first sensor tube, the first circuit element having a first electrical characteristic that is dependent upon the first deflection of the first sensor tube (Internal measuring cells 10a serve to convert the detected pressure into an electrical variable and have connections for forwarding the raw signal of the electrical variable, p. 5; see cell 10a of transducer 200a in Fig. 2);
a second circuit element bonded to the second sensor tube, the second circuit element having a second electrical characteristic that is dependent upon the second deflection of the second sensor tube (Internal measuring cells 10a serve to convert the detected pressure into an electrical variable and have connections for forwarding the raw signal of the electrical variable, p. 5; see cell 10a of transducer 300a in Fig. 2); and
a sensing circuit electrically connected to the first circuit element and the second circuit element, the sensing circuit being configured to determine a pressure differential between the first fluid pressure within the first fluid conduit and the second fluid pressure within the second fluid conduit based on the first electrical characteristic of the first circuit element and the second electrical characteristic of the second circuit element (pressure sensors 200a, 300a can be designed to detect pressures of different levels, in particular if different media pressures prevail in the process connections 2a and the differential pressure is to be determined, p.4; evaluation electronics 8a are electrically connected to the pressure sensors 200a, 300a by means of lines 10b and are designed to receive the raw signals from the pressure sensors 200a, 300a, process them and output them via an electrical connection 9a of the pressure sensor system 100, p. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Zieger teaches wherein the sensor housing further comprises a first housing end and a second housing end opposite the first housing end, the first housing end comprising the first input port and the second input port, and the second housing end connecting to the first sensor tube or second sensor tube at the first tube housing end or the second tube housing end (housing 4a, and cover 13a, p. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Zieger teaches wherein the first sensor tube or the second sensor tube is recessed within the sensor housing, such that the sensor housing encircles the first sensor tube or the second sensor tube (Fig. 2 teaches recessed design of transducer 200a, 300a in housing).
Regarding claim 5, Zieger teaches wherein the sensor housing further comprises: a first groove encircling a first portion of the first sensor tube, such that the first portion of the first sensor tube is isolated from the sensor housing, and a second groove encircling a second portion of the second sensor tube, such that the second portion of the second sensor tube is isolated from the sensor housing (see corresponding space between wrench surface 6a and cover 13a in Fig. 2, on both sensors 200a and 300a that isolate the top part of both sensors from cover 13a).
Regarding claim 11, Zieger teaches A hydraulic system (pressure sensor system according to the invention has a housing that carries pressurized, gaseous or liquid media), comprising:
a hydraulic device (system 100, p. 5) comprising a device housing (housing 4a, p. 4 of translation, Fig. 2) enclosing a first fluid volume separated from a second fluid volume (see volumes at connectors 2a, p. 4, Fig. 2); and a differential pressure sensor (Fig. 2), comprising: a sensor housing comprising a first input port in fluid communication with the first fluid volume and a second input port in fluid communication with the second fluid volume (Fig. 2 teaches unnumbered conduit within pressure sensor 200a that connects connector 2a to line 10b),
a first sensor tube connected to the sensor housing at a first tube housing end, the first sensor tube extending from the first tube housing end to a first conduit end that is isolated from the sensor housing (pressure sensor 200a, p. 4, Fig. 2; line 10b, Fig. 2);
a second sensor tube connected to the sensor housing at a second tube housing end, the second sensor tube extending from the second tube housing end to a second conduit end that is isolated from the sensor housing (pressure sensor 300a, p. 4, Fig. 2; line 10b, Fig. 2);
a first fluid conduit extending from the first input port, through the sensor housing and the first sensor tube, to the first conduit end, the first sensor tube being configured to experience a first deflection in response to a first fluid pressure within the first fluid conduit (Fig. 2 teaches unnumbered conduit within pressure sensor 200a that connects connector 2a to line 10b);
a second fluid conduit extending from the second input port, through the sensor housing and the second sensor tube, to the second conduit end, the second sensor tube being configured to experience a second deflection in response to a second fluid pressure within the second fluid conduit (Fig. 2 teaches unnumbered conduit within pressure sensor 300a that connects connector 2a to line 10b);
a first circuit element bonded to the first sensor tube, the first circuit element having a first electrical characteristic that is dependent upon the first deflection of the first sensor tube (Internal measuring cells 10a serve to convert the detected pressure into an electrical variable and have connections for forwarding the raw signal of the electrical variable, p. 5; see cell 10a of transducer 200a in Fig. 2);
a second circuit element bonded to the second sensor tube, the second circuit element having a second electrical characteristic that is dependent upon the second deflection of the second sensor tube (Internal measuring cells 10a serve to convert the detected pressure into an electrical variable and have connections for forwarding the raw signal of the electrical variable, p. 5; see cell 10a of transducer 300a in Fig. 2); and
a sensing circuit electrically connected to the first circuit element and the second circuit element, the sensing circuit being configured to determine a pressure differential between fluid in the first fluid volume of the hydraulic device and fluid in the second fluid volume of the hydraulic device based on the first electrical characteristic of the first circuit element and the second electrical characteristic of the second circuit element (pressure sensors 200a, 300a can be designed to detect pressures of different levels, in particular if different media pressures prevail in the process connections 2a and the differential pressure is to be determined, p.4; evaluation electronics 8a are electrically connected to the pressure sensors 200a, 300a by means of lines 10b and are designed to receive the raw signals from the pressure sensors 200a, 300a, process them and output them via an electrical connection 9a of the pressure sensor system 100, p. 4).
Claims 12, 13, and 15 share the same limitations as claims 2, 3, and 5 and are rejected equivalently. See rejections for claim 2, 3, and 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-8, 10, 14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zieger as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of US 4385525 (herein Phillips).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zieger does not teach, “wherein the sensor housing is comprised of a metal material.” However, Phillips teaches using metallic material to form housings (12) for pressure transducers (10) is well known in the art (Col. 4, Lines 15-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to use the metal taught by Phillips to form the housing of Zieger. One would have been motivated to do so for at least the purpose of imparting the desired strength into the structure (Col. 4, Line 19).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zieger does not teach, “wherein the first circuit element comprises a first resistor, the second circuit element comprises a second resistor, the first electrical characteristic comprises a first resistance, and the second electrical characteristic comprises a second resistance.” However, Phillips teaches that strain gages using resistance for pressure detectors 10 is well known in the art (Col. 5, Lines 51-52).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Zieger does not teach, “wherein the first circuit element comprises a first strain gauge and the second circuit element comprises a second strain gauge.” However, Phillips teaches that strain gages for pressure detectors 10 is well known in the art (Col. 5, Lines 51-52).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zieger does not teach, “wherein the first strain gauge and the second strain gauge are comprised of foil.” However, Phillips teaches that strain gages (84) using foil elements (86, 88, 90, 92) are well known in the art (Col. 5, Lines 6-8).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Zieger teaches the first sensor tube comprises a first inner sensor tube portion within the first fluid conduit (measuring cell 10a, Fig. 2), and a first outer sensor tube portion outside the first fluid conduit (see lower body of transducer 200a, Fig. 2), the second sensor tube comprises a second inner sensor tube wall within the second fluid conduit (measuring cell 10a, Fig. 2), and a second outer sensor tube portion outside the second fluid conduit (see lower body of transducer 300a, Fig. 2). Zieger does not teach, “the first circuit element is bonded to the first outer sensor tube portion, and the second circuit element is bonded to the second outer sensor tube portion.” However, Phillips teaches it is well known in the art to bond two elements within a pressure gauge 10 using epoxy (Col. 6, Lines 47-49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to attach the elements of Zieger using a bonding technique taught by Phillips. One would have been motivated to do so as a means of combining or merging two elements together.
For the above claims 4, 6-8, 10, 14, 16-18, and 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute pressure detecting of Zieger with the resistance strain gages of Phillips because both perform the same function of detecting pressure. The above findings satisfies the Graham factual inquiries stated in MPEP 2143 B regarding simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zieger as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in further view of EP 3236226 A1 (herein Zwijze).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zieger teaches the sensor housing (housing 41, Fig. 2), the first sensor tube (200a, Fig. 2), and the second sensor tube (300a, Fig. 2). Zieger does not teach them being a single continuous machined piece of metal. However, Zwijze teaches combining a housing (port 10) and a pressure sensitive element (12) into a continuous piece of metal ([0014], [0022]). Based on MPEP 2144.04 V B, the use of one piece construction would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art make integral the housing and both sensor tubes of Zieger as taught by Zwijze. See In re Larsen, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Note that according to § MPEP 2144, “Office personnel may invoke legal precedent as a source of supporting rationale when warranted and appropriately supported.”
Conclusion
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/PHILIP T FADUL/Examiner, Art Unit 2852