DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi (Pub. No.: US 2021/0153273 A1) and further in view of LINNEY (Pub. No.: US 2017/0126899 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Qi discloses a method comprising: receiving Automated Frequency Coordination (AFC) information (fig. 2, parag. 0005 and 0027);
Qi does not explicitly discloses determining a mask for a punctured channel indicated in the AFC information; determining a first amount that the mask needs to be altered to reach an AFC response for the punctured channel indicated in the AFC information; and reporting a Transmit Power Envelop (TPE) value for the punctured channel comprising the first amount plus a second amount.
LINNEY discloses determining a mask for a punctured channel indicated in the AFC information (abstract); determining a first amount that the mask needs to be altered to reach an AFC response for the punctured channel indicated in the AFC information; and reporting a Transmit Power Envelop (TPE) value for the punctured channel comprising the first amount plus a second amount (abstract and parag. 0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of LINNEY into the teaching of Qi in order to improve allocation of power over a range of frequencies for a transmission.
With respect to claim 8:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Qi further discloses a system comprising a memory storage (fig. 10, item 1008); and a processing unit coupled to the memory storage (fig. 10, item 1006).
With respect to claim 14:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Qi further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions (parag. 0091, 0096).
Claims 2-7, 9-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi (Pub. No.: US 2021/0153273 A1), LINNEY (Pub. No.: US 2017/0126899 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of AZiZi (Pub. No.: US 2017/0142721 A1).
With respect to claims 2, 9, 15:
the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Qi and LINNEY do not explicitly disclose wherein the mask comprises an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) mask.
AZiZi discloses mask comprises an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) mask. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of AZiZi into the teaching of Qi in view of LINNEY in order to enable improved low power operation of wireless devices.
With respect to claims 3, 10, 16:
AZiZi discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second amount comprises min (the IEEE Mask decibel-milliwatts (dBm)) (parag. 0158).
With respect to claims 4, 11, 17:
AZiZi discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second amount comprises mean Ln log Domain (the IEEE Mask decibel-milliwatts (dBm)) (parag. 0158).
With respect to claims 5, 12, 18:
AZiZi discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second amount comprises mean Ln Power Domain (the IEEE Mask decibel-milliwatts (dBm)) (parag. 0158).
With respect to claims 6, 13, 19:
Qi discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second amount comprises max (the IEEE Mask decibel-milliwatts (dBm)) (parag.0024).
With respect to claims 7, 20:
Qi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein reporting the TPE value comprises reporting the TPE value in a TPE element (parag. 0035 and 0068).
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649