DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on merits. Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, the examiner notes that the reference to page numbers refers to that inscribed on the reference rather than the total number of document pages.
Response to Arguments
In light of the recent amendment and applicant’s remarks on, applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C 101 have been considered and are persuasive. The examiner recognizes that the recent amendments integrated into the independent claims regarding, “control an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance,” incorporates a direct control step tied to the “determine” and “apply” steps that constitute at least one abstract idea and that cannot be practically performed in the human mind. As such, the rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 03/03/2026, regarding the 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(2) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Melya Boukheddimi et al. (“Robot Dance Generation with Music Based Trajectory Optimization), hereinafter referred to as Boukheddimi.
Regarding claim 1, Boukheddimi discloses: an apparatus control device for controlling an apparatus, the apparatus control device comprising (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance, which discloses a general robot control system) , at least one processor configured to:
apply a first change to emotion data stored in a memory, wherein the emotion data represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus and the first change is based on a key of a
performance sound in a performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a first change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the first change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance)
determine a predetermined time has lapsed from a start of the performance and in response to a lapse of the predetermined time from the start of the performance: determine a constancy of a performance speed of the performance sound (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis which discloses determining time sequences (a feature space within a window of time) in the form of beat timing used in response to tie a sequence of choreography configurations, this means that a constancy (averaging between beat times and global tempo) of performance speed is determined in response to a lapse of the predetermined time from the start of the performance)
apply a second change to the emotion data stored in the memory, wherein the second change is based on the constancy of the performance speed based on the emotion data with the first change and the second change applied, (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance; Fig.3 discloses the cycle through updated extracted features which maps them to poses throughout the continuous choreography, this means a second change is implied)
determine a control coefficient of an action of the apparatus that causes the apparatus to coordinate with the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame)
control an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame; B. Method 2: Initiate Choreography, discloses an example where the optimal controller’s determined control coefficient (trajectories based on predetermined choreography) is initiated to cause the robot to perform the predetermined choreography, this means control an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance)
Examiner Note: The notation “a second change” is not explicitly provided in the disclosure of Boukheddimi, however, it is present as the overall pipeline for robot dance generation is continuously updating the mapping the robot’s music states and poses throughout the choreography relative to the extracted music features and spectral characteristics. A second change occurs within multiple cycles which stem from a first change as the features are evaluated over time and influence the output repeatedly.
Regarding claim 2, Boukheddimi discloses: the apparatus control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor changes a pseudo-personality of the apparatus in accordance with at least one of the key of the performance and the constancy of the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a first change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the first change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance)
Regarding claim 3, Boukheddimi discloses: the apparatus control device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the actuator in accordance with the changed pseudo-personality of the apparatus (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame; B. Method 2: Initiate Choreography, discloses an example where the optimal controller’s determined control coefficient (trajectories based on predetermined choreography) is initiated to cause the robot to perform the predetermined choreography, this means control an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance)
Regarding claim 5, Boukheddimi discloses: An apparatus control method (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance, which discloses a general robot control system) for controlling an apparatus, the apparatus control method comprising:
applying, by at least one processor, a first change to emotion data stored in a memory, wherein the emotion data represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus and the first change is based on a key of a performance sound in a performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a first change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the first change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance)
determining, by the at least one processor, a predetermined time has lapsed from a start of the performance and in response to a lapse of the predetermined time from the start of the performance determining, by at least one processor, a constancy of a performance speed of the performance sound (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis which discloses determining time sequences (a feature space within a window of time) in the form of beat timing used in response to tie a sequence of choreography configurations, this means that a constancy (averaging between beat times and global tempo) of performance speed is determined in response to a lapse of the predetermined time from the start of the performance)
applying, by the at least one processor, a second change to the emotion data stored in the memory, wherein the second change is based on the constancy of the performance speed based on the emotion data with the first change and the second change applied, (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance; Fig.3 discloses the cycle through updated extracted features which maps them to poses throughout the continuous choreography, this means a second change is implied)
determining, by the at least one processor, a control coefficient of an action of the apparatus that causes the apparatus to coordinate with the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame)
controlling, by the at least one processor, an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame; B. Method 2: Initiate Choreography, discloses an example where the optimal controller’s determined control coefficient (trajectories based on predetermined choreography) is initiated to cause the robot to perform the predetermined choreography, this means control an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance)
Examiner Note: The notation “a second change” is not explicitly provided in the disclosure of Boukheddimi, however, it is present as the overall pipeline for robot dance generation is continuously updating the mapping the robot’s music states and poses throughout the choreography relative to the extracted music features and spectral characteristics. A second change occurs within multiple cycles which stem from a first change as the features are evaluated over time and influence the output repeatedly.
Regarding claim 6, Boukheddimi discloses: A non-transitory recording medium storing a program (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance, which discloses a general robot control system), the program causing a computer to execute processing comprising:
applying, by at least one processor, a first change to emotion data stored in a memory, wherein the emotion data represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus and the first change is based on a key of a performance sound in a performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a first change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the first change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance)
determining, by the at least one processor, a predetermined time has lapsed from a start of the performance and in response to a lapse of the predetermined time from the start of the performance determining, by at least one processor, a constancy of a performance speed of the performance sound (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis which discloses determining time sequences (a feature space within a window of time) in the form of beat timing used in response to tie a sequence of choreography configurations, this means that a constancy (averaging between beat times and global tempo) of performance speed is determined in response to a lapse of the predetermined time from the start of the performance)
applying, by the at least one processor, a second change to the emotion data stored in the memory, wherein the second change is based on the constancy of the performance speed based on the emotion data with the first change and the second change applied, (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3070, II. Mathematical Formulation of Dance; pg.3071-3072, A. Music Analysis, which discloses the process of mapping music features to various poses and states via an optimization method; spectral information is extracted from an audio signal that includes melody (pitch) and beat structures which are then mapped to corresponding pose and states of a dance choreography, this means that a change to emotion data (the music features used to determine the robot’s behavior) which represents a pseudo-emotion of the apparatus (robot’s internal state or pose) and the change is based on a key (pitch or beat) of a performance sound (audio signal) in a performance; Fig.3 discloses the cycle through updated extracted features which maps them to poses throughout the continuous choreography, this means a second change is implied)
determining, by the at least one processor, a control coefficient of an action of the apparatus that causes the apparatus to coordinate with the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame)
controlling, by the at least one processor, an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance (see at least Boukheddimi, pg.3072-3073, C. Choreography Timing Optimization, which discloses the determination of a control coefficient (optimal trajectories) based on the predetermined choreography, that causes the apparatus (robot) to coordinate with the performance; A. Method 1: Expert Choreography discloses an example of the beat extraction and control coefficient determined to coordinate a choreography performance based within a time frame; B. Method 2: Initiate Choreography, discloses an example where the optimal controller’s determined control coefficient (trajectories based on predetermined choreography) is initiated to cause the robot to perform the predetermined choreography, this means control an actuator according to the control coefficient to cause the apparatus to execute the action that coordinates with the performance)
Examiner Note: The notation “a second change” is not explicitly provided in the disclosure of Boukheddimi, however, it is present as the overall pipeline for robot dance generation is continuously updating the mapping the robot’s music states and poses throughout the choreography relative to the extracted music features and spectral characteristics. A second change occurs within multiple cycles which stem from a first change as the features are evaluated over time and influence the output repeatedly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664