DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/161,394, filed on 1/30/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/23/2024, 11/26/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al., (US 2017/0047639), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 21 Lee discloses a portable communication device comprising: a housing (Fig. 4B, at 210) including a side member (Fig. 4B, at 410) forming a side surface of the portable communication device, the side member including a first conductive portion (Fig. 4B, at 214); a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 0101 “PCB”) accommodated in the housing, the PCB including a first electrical path (Fig. 4B, at 4123 to 2141) to carry a first signal of a first frequency band and a second electrical path (Fig. 4B, at 4124) to carry a second signal of a second frequency band, the first electrical path electrically connected to a first position of the first conductive portion and a first feeder (Fig. 4B, at 411), and the second electrical path electrically connected to a second position of the first conductive portion and a second feeder (Fig. 4B, at 421); a first variable element (Fig. 4B, at 415) electrically connected to the first position of the first conductive portion and the first electrical path such that the first position is electrically connected to a ground of the PCB via the first variable element (e.g., paragraph 0095); and a second variable element (Fig. 4B, at 416) electrically connected to the second position of the first conductive portion and the second electrical path such that the second position is electrically connected to the ground via the second variable element (e.g., paragraph 0095).
Regarding claim 22 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 21, at least one of the first variable element and the second variable element includes a plurality of passive elements for selective switching (Fig. 4B, at 416, 2142, and 4124).
Regarding claim 23 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 21, wherein each of the first variable element and the second variable element in formed in the PCB (e.g., paragraphs 0094-0095).
Regarding claim 24 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 21, wherein the first variable element is disposed in the middle of the first electrical path (Fig. 4B, at 415).
Regarding claim 25 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 24, wherein the first variable element includes a plurality of passive elements for selective switching (Fig. 4B, at 440a and 415; paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 26 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 21, wherein the second variable element is disposed in the middle of the second electrical path (Fig. 4B, at 416).
Regarding claim 27 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 26, wherein the second variable element includes a plurality of passive elements or tunable ICs for selective switching (Fig. 4B, at 440b and 416; paragraph 0103).
Regarding claim 28 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of The portable communication device of wherein the first frequency band includes frequencies in a range of about 900MHz to about 1200MHz, and wherein the second frequency band includes frequencies in a range of about 750MHz to about 850MHz (e.g., paragraphs 0005-0008).
Regarding claim 29 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 21, wherein the first variable element is serially connected with respect to the first position and the first electrical path (Fig. 4B, at 440a).
Regarding claim 30 Lee further discloses the portable communication device of claim 21, wherein the second variable element is serially connected with respect to the second position and the second electrical path (Fig. 4B, at 440b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lee in view of Handro et al., (US 2013/0194136), hereinafter Handro.
Regarding claim 31 Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein an electric first shock prevention circuit is included in the first electrical path, and wherein a second electric shock prevention circuit is included in the second electrical path.
Handro discloses wherein an electric first shock prevention circuit is included in the first electrical path, and wherein a second electric shock prevention circuit is included in the second electrical path (e.g., Fig, 6, at 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the communication device disclosed by Lee in accordance with the teaching of Handro regarding ESD circuits in order to protect the electronic device from electrostatic shocks (Handro, paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 32 Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first feeder is tuned through the first variable element, and wherein the second feeder is tuned through the second variable element.
Handro discloses wherein an electric first shock prevention circuit is included in the first electrical path, and wherein a second electric shock prevention circuit is included in the second electrical path (e.g., Fig, 6, at 56; paragraphs 0034-0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the communication device disclosed by Lee in accordance with the teaching of Handro regarding ESD circuits in order to protect the electronic device from electrostatic shocks (Handro, paragraph 0036).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No.11,569,561. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed elements of the current application are also recited in claims 1-12 of the ‘561 patent.
Claims 21-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No.12,100,884. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed elements of the current application are also recited in claims 1-16 of the ‘884 patent.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845