DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 of U.S. Application No. 18/893,159 filed on 09/23/2024 have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 of this application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each of the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are:
“a movable portion configured to receive” in claim 1
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the specification, applicant discloses that, “the term “movable portion 8” refers to a movable portion, namely the seat body 2 or the seatback 5, that moves upon receipt of a driving force from the “electric motor 7”.” (See at least [0023] in applicant’s specification). It will therefore be appreciated that the functions disclosed are executed in the form of hardware and/or software executed by one or more processors. This is adequate structure to perform the claimed functions, so no 112(b) rejections are given based on this claim interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sone et al. (US20090039812A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sone discloses a vehicle seat configured to be mounted to a vehicle, the vehicle seat comprising:
an electric motor configured to generate a driving force (“The motor unit 46 includes a motor gear 46b and a motor 46c” [0045]);
a movable portion configured to receive the driving force from the electric motor to thereby move in a direction corresponding to a rotation direction of the electric motor (“the backrest 12” [0035]; “When the sector gear 44 rotates, the bump 26 of the backrest side bracket contacting with the notch 44a of the sector gear also rotates, and the backrest side bracket 21 (backrest 12) rotates (returns) to a backward tilting direction.” [0053]);
an operation switch configured (i) to be manually operated by a user and (ii) to output an ON signal in response to the operation switch being manually operated (“A switch SW1 is for operating the rotating device 4. The switch SW1 is installed near the driver’s seat apart from the vehicle seat 1, and is means for remote control of the rotating device 4.” [0055]; “When the switch SW1 is turned on (Yes at S12)” [0060]);
a controller configured: to rotate the electric motor in a first rotation direction in response to the operation switch outputting the ON signal (“the motor 46c is rotated normally, and the backrest is raised (S14).” [0060]);
to detect the movable portion in its movement interrupted state at least based on (i) the operation switch outputting the ON signal and (ii) a rotation of the electric motor being stopped (“The motor speed is monitored by a pulse signal from the rotation detector 64 shown in FIG. 5, and the change rate of a pulse period is judged to be under a specified value or not described specifically below, and jamming is detected (S16).” [0060]; “When jamming occurs, the load becomes higher gradually, and the pulse period becomes longer gradually.” [0014]);
and to perform a rotation inverting control in response to the controller having detected the movable portion in its movement interrupted state for a first preset time period, the movable portion in its movement interrupted state being unable to move in the direction corresponding to the first rotation direction of the electric motor, the rotation inverting control being configured for the controller to rotate the electric motor in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction (“During normal rotation of the motor 46c, if jamming occurs while raising the backrest (Yes at S16), the motor 46c is stopped immediately (S18), and rotation is inverted (S22), and the backrest is tilted again.” [0061]; “jamming by the movable part by judging whether the value of a period of one pulse P1 and a period of the next pulse P2 (P2/P1) integrated for 150 times (integrated value: 150) exceeds a specified threshold (160) or not.” [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 4, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1, wherein: the movable portion is a seatback configured (i) to support an occupant’s back and (ii) to tilt with respect to a front-rear axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seatback tilts backward of the vehicle seat (“the movable part is a backrest of a vehicle seat disposed so as to contact with other members” [0023]; “the backrest side bracket 21 (backrest 12) rotates (returns) to a backward tilting direction.” [0053]).
Regarding claim 6, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to detect the movable portion in its movement interrupted state based on the movable portion having maintained its movement interrupted state for a preset detecting period (“jamming by the movable part by judging whether the value of a period of one pulse P1 and a period of the next pulse P2 (P2/P1) integrated for 150 times (integrated value: 150) exceeds a specified threshold (160) or not.” [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 7, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1, further comprising a rotation sensor configured to output a pulse signal in association with the rotation of the electric motor, wherein the movable portion in its movement interrupted state causes the rotation sensor not to output the pulse signal while the operation switch is outputting the ON signal (“a rotation detector for detecting rotation of the motor and outputting a pulse corresponding to the motor speed” [0019]; “When jamming occurs, the load becomes higher gradually, and the pulse period becomes longer gradually.” [0014]; note that as the period becomes infinitely long when rotation stops, no pulse is outputted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sone in view of Nathan et al. (US7145263B2), hereinafter referred to as Sone and Nathan respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1,
Sone does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the vehicle is stationary.
However, Nathan in teaches wherein the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the vehicle is stationary. Nathan, analogous field of vehicle seat adjustment with anti-pinch features, teaches enabling automatic motorized adjustments (including pinch response actions) based on vehicle state sensors indicating conditions consistent with the vehicle being stationary, such as ignition activated and doors closed (“Control module 42 is operatively connected to an ignition sensor 70 and one or more door open sensors 72.” [Col. 5, lines 29-30]; “When ignition sensor 70 is activated and door open sensor 72 detects a closed door condition, control module 42 will activate drive motor 32 to position the headrest 30 to a predefined raised position.” [Col. 5, lines 58-61]; “An ignition sensor is in communication with the control module and monitors 82 the ignition condition of the vehicle.” [Col. 6, lines 54-56]; “At least one door open sensor is provided which is in communication with the control module. The at least one door open sensor monitors 76 the position or condition of the vehicle door to determine if the door is open or closed and transmits an output signal to the control module 84.” [Col. 6, lines 34-39]). Both Sone and Nathan teach methods for vehicle seat control. However, Nathan explicitly teaches wherein the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the vehicle is stationary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sone’s controller to enable rotation inverting control at least when the vehicle is stationary, as taught by Nathan with a reasonable expectation of success, by incorporating vehicle state sensors (e.g., ignition and door sensors) to condition the anti-pinch response, thereby enhancing safety by ensuring adjustments and reversals occur only under safe, non-driving conditions, preventing unintended operations while the vehicle is in motion.
Regarding claim 3, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1,
Sone does not explicitly disclose wherein: the movable portion is a seat body configured to move along a front-rear axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seat body moves rearward of the vehicle seat.
However, Sone teaches applying the jamming detection and inversion to movable vehicle seat portions (“a motor for driving a movable part” [0019]), and Nathan teaches wherein: the movable portion is a seat body configured to move along a front-rear axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seat body moves rearward of the vehicle seat. Nathan teaches analogous motorized adjustment with anti-pinch reversal for seat components moving in directions toward potential obstructions, such as headrest positioning proximate to the passenger’s head (which may involve rearward/forward movement relative to the seat back) (“Control module 42 transmits a signal to drive motor 32 to adjust the position of headrest 30 proximate to the passenger’s head 48 to prevent injury in case of a vehicle collision.” [Col. 4, lines 49-52]). Both Sone and Nathan teach methods for vehicle seat control. However, Nathan explicitly teaches the movable portion is a seat body configured to move along a front-rear axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seat body moves rearward of the vehicle seat. Front-rear sliding adjustments are well-known equivalents to other directional mechanisms (e.g., tilting or headrest positioning) in vehicle seats for occupant positioning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Sone’s system, as modified by Nathan with a reasonable expectation of success, to a seat body moving rearward along a front-rear axis, as this is a simple substitution of one known movable seat portion (tilting backrest or headrest) for another (sliding seat body) to achieve predictable anti-pinch safety during rearward movement, motivated by preventing jamming in common seat adjustments where obstructions are likely (e.g., rearward sliding toward rear passengers or objects).
Regarding claim 5, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1,
Sone does not explicitly disclose wherein: the movable portion is a seat body configured to move along an up-down axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seat body moves downward of the vehicle seat.
However, Sone teaches applying the jamming detection and inversion to movable vehicle seat portions (“a motor for driving a movable part” [0019]), and Nathan explicitly teaches wherein: the movable portion is a seat body configured to move along an up-down axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seat body moves downward of the vehicle seat. Nathan teaches motorized adjustment with anti-pinch reversal for a headrest (part of the seat body) moving along an up-down axis, such as raising to a predefined position or adjusting vertically proximate to the head (“control module 42 will activate drive motor 32 to position the headrest 30 to a predefined raised position.” [Col. 5, lines 59-61]; “The control logic of control module 84 monitors the feedback from all connected sensors and generates 86 a control signal instructing the at least one drive motor to adjust 88 the position the headrest based on detected passenger conditions described above between at least one predefined headrest position in proximity to the passenger’s head and a stored position adjacent the upper portion of the seat back” [Col. 6, lines 57-65]). Both Sone and Nathan teach methods for vehicle seat control. However, Nathan explicitly the movable portion is a seat body configured to move along an up-down axis of the vehicle seat corresponding to the rotation direction of the electric motor; and the controller is configured to be enabled to perform the rotation inverting control at least when the seat body moves downward of the vehicle seat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Sone’s system, as modified by Nathan with a reasonable expectation of success, to a seat body moving downward along an up-down axis, by incorporating Nathan’s headrest height adjustment with reversal, as this is a simple substitution of one known movable seat portion (tilting backrest) for another (height-adjustable seat body or headrest) to achieve predictable anti-pinch safety during downward movement, motivated by preventing jamming in standard seat functions where obstructions (e.g., legs or objects below) are possible.
Regarding claim 8, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1, wherein the movable portion in its movement interrupted state causes a load increase (“When jamming occurs, the load becomes higher gradually” [0014]),
Sone does not explicitly disclose wherein the movable portion in its movement interrupted state keeps increasing a conduction current flowing through the electric motor while the operation switch is outputting the ON signal.
However, Nathan teaches wherein the movable portion in its movement interrupted state keeps increasing a conduction current flowing through the electric motor while the operation switch is outputting the ON signal. Nathan teaches detecting pinch conditions via increasing conduction current or voltage fluctuations in the motor during obstruction (“Load sensor 74 detects fluctuations in drive motor output to detect an obstruction or blockage in the path of the moving headrest 30. Load sensor 74 may include a current, voltage or PWM sensor, which is coupled to the drive motor 32 to prevent passenger injury resulting from a blocking or pinching condition.” [Col. 6, lines 7-16]). Both Sone and Nathan teach methods for vehicle seat control. However, Nathan explicitly teaches wherein the movable portion in its movement interrupted state keeps increasing a conduction current flowing through the electric motor while the operation switch is outputting the ON signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sone’s detection to explicitly include increasing conduction current as an indicator of the interrupted state, as taught by Nathan with a reasonable expectation of success, by using a current/voltage sensor for load monitoring, as this provides an alternative or complementary detection method to pulse-based sensing, motivated by accurately identifying sustained obstructions through inherent electrical effects of motor stalling under load, enhancing reliability in vehicle seat systems.
Regarding claim 9, Sone discloses the vehicle seat according to claim 1, wherein: the controller is configured: to output, to the electric motor, a supply voltage having a first magnitude in response to (i) the operation switch outputting the ON signal and (ii) the controller not detecting the movable portion in its movement interrupted state (“the motor 46c is rotated normally” [0060]);
and stopping the motor before inversion upon jamming (“the motor 46c is stopped immediately (S18), and rotation is inverted (S22)” [0061]),
Sone does not explicitly disclose performing a motor load reducing control before performing the rotation inverting control in response to the controller detecting the movable portion in its movement interrupted state, the motor load reducing control being configured for the controller to output, to the electric motor, the supply voltage having a second magnitude smaller than the first magnitude.
However, Nathan teaches performing a motor load reducing control before performing the rotation inverting control in response to the controller detecting the movable portion in its movement interrupted state, the motor load reducing control being configured for the controller to output, to the electric motor, the supply voltage having a second magnitude smaller than the first magnitude. Nathan teaches a motor load reducing control by stopping (reducing voltage to zero) before optional reversal upon pinch detection (“If a pinch condition is detected by load sensor 74, the control module 42 instructs drive motor 32 to stop positioning of the headrest 30 and may reverse the direction of drive motor 32 to prevent the blocking or pinching conditions.” [Col. 6, lines 12-16]; “The control module will instruct the at least one drive motor to stop or reverse the positioning of the headrest if the load/pinch sensor detects a pinch condition.” [Col. 7, lines 2-4]; “At least one load or pinch sensor is in communication with the control module and monitors 90 the activity of the at least one drive motor to detect a pinch condition during the positioning of the headrest. The control module will instruct the at least one drive motor to stop or reverse the positioning of the headrest if the load/pinch sensor detects a pinch condition.” [Col. 6-7, lines 65-67 & 1-4). Both Sone and Nathan teach methods for vehicle seat control. However, Nathan explicitly teaches performing a motor load reducing control before performing the rotation inverting control in response to the controller detecting the movable portion in its movement interrupted state, the motor load reducing control being configured for the controller to output, to the electric motor, the supply voltage having a second magnitude smaller than the first magnitude.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sone’s controller to perform a motor load reducing control by outputting a smaller supply voltage (e.g., zero via stop) before inversion, as taught by Nathan with a reasonable expectation of success, as this is a routine transitional step to minimize mechanical stress and prevent further pinching during the reversal process, motivated by Nathan’s emphasis on safe stopping and optional inversion in analogous vehicle seat anti-pinch systems.
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668