DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,126,091. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant invention is merely broader and encompassed by the conflicting patent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, fist clause reciting a second instance of “an antenna array” is indefinite, since it’s unclear whether this limitation is related (or in addition) to “an antenna array” recited in the preamble.
Claim 1, second and third clauses respectively reciting “the antenna array” is indefinite, since it’s unclear which of the two instances of “antenna array” earlier recited is being referred to.
Claims 2-15 are rejected for depending therefrom.
There should be a clear recitation of interrelated structure in order to provide a complete and operable method for suppressing interference signals received by an antenna array.
The following claims, drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, is presented to applicant for consideration:
1. (Currently Amended) A method for suppressing a plurality of interference signals received by an antenna array that concurrently receives a desired signal, the method comprising:
receiving N antenna signals from the antenna array comprising N antenna elements, where N is greater than one;
obtaining respective arrival directions of the interference signals upon the antenna array;
applying each of a plurality of nulling beam weight sets to a respective one of N null beam forming networks (null BFNs) of an interferer-nulling beam forming network coupled to the antenna array to generate N null signals, wherein each nulling beam weight set corresponds to a different respective set of (N-1) independent nulls corresponding to (N-1) of the arrival directions, such that within each null signal, (N-1) of the interference signals are suppressed with respect to each of a remaining one of the interference signals and the desired signal;
filtering each of the N null signals using a respective one of N non-linear filters to suppress the respective remaining one of the interference signals with respect to the desired signal, thereby generating N filtered signals;
combining the N filtered signals to generate an output signal corresponding to the desired signal[[.]]; and
wherein said obtaining respective arrival directions comprises:
coupling signal energy from at least one signal path between the antenna array and a signal path containing the output signal to provide at least one coupled signal,
sampling the coupled signal to provide a sequence of samples, and
computing the arrival directions using the sequence of samples.
3. (Canceled)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document “Wolcott” (US 5579019).
Claim 1: As best understood, Wolcott discloses a method for suppressing a plurality of interference signals received by an antenna array that concurrently receives a desired signal (col. 2, ll. 38-64), the method comprising:
receiving N antenna signals from an antenna array comprising N antenna elements 20 (Fig. 1), where N is greater than one;
obtaining (inherently) respective arrival directions of the interference signals upon the antenna array (col. 2, ll. 38-64);
applying each of a plurality of nulling beam weight sets to a respective one of N null beam forming networks (null BFNs) 26 of an interferer-nulling beam forming network coupled to the antenna array to generate N null signals (col. 3, ll. 47-58), wherein each nulling beam weight set corresponds to a different respective set of (N-1) independent nulls corresponding to (N-1) of the arrival directions (col. 6, ll. 32-46), such that within each null signal, (N-1) of the interference signals are suppressed with respect to each of a remaining one of the interference signals and the desired signal (col. 8, ll. 36-55);
filtering each of the N null signals using a respective one of N non-linear filters to suppress the respective remaining one of the interference signals with respect to the desired signal, thereby generating N filtered signals (col. 4, ll. 9-21).
Wolcott fails to expressly teach combining the N filtered signals to generate an output signal corresponding to the desired signal.
However, Wolcott teaches “The amplitude and phase adjustment by the variable amplitude and phase elements 28 allows each beam forming network 26 the capability to simultaneously and independently form multiple high-gain antenna patterns to cover multiple coverage areas or theaters of interest.” (Col. 4, ll. 30-34)
Wolcott further teaches “Since each output of the first tier of beam forming networks 26 contains signals from multiple coverage areas, legitimate users of the system located in one theater or coverage area could present interference to the nulling processors 16 assigned to other theaters, diluting their power to suppress real jammers or unintentional interferers within their assigned theaters. This potential self-interference is avoided by providing filters in the nulling processor 16 which discriminate against system users which are located outside the theater assigned to that nulling processor 16. One skilled in the art would also recognize that shared signal features or characteristics other than frequency band (such as pseudo-random codes and time slot assignments) could be used to distinguish users in one coverage area from those in other areas.” (Col. 4, ll. 47-61)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to design Wolcott’s method for combining the N filtered signals to generate an output signal corresponding to the desired signal, thereby achieving the capability to simultaneously and independently form multiple high-gain antenna patterns to cover multiple coverage areas of interest.
Claim 2: Wolcott discloses the antenna array system of claim 1, wherein said obtaining respective arrival directions comprises receiving the estimated respective arrival directions from an external system 18 (Fig. 1).
Claims 6-14: Wolcott discloses the antenna array system of claim 1, wherein each of the interference signals received by the antenna array has a larger magnitude than the desired signal (col. 4, ll. 30-34);
wherein each of the interference signals received by the antenna array has a magnitude at least ten times that of the desired signal (col. 4, ll. 30-34);
wherein each of the interference signals is a substantially constant envelope signal that overlaps the desired signal in frequency spectrum and in time (col. 4, ll. 30-34);
wherein said non-linearly filtering each of the null signals comprises polar excising each of the null signals (col. 4, ll. 30-34);
wherein the respective one of the N filtered signals from each of the N non-linear filters is not a linear function of the respective one of the N null signals (col. 4, ll. 30-34);
further comprising generating the respective nulling beam weight set for each of the N null BFNs, and generating a desired signal beam weight set for combining the N filtered signals (col. 4, ll. 30-34 and col. 8, ll. 36-55);
wherein each of the interferer nulling beam forming network and the non-linear filters comprise analog circuitry (see Fig. 1 and col. 4, ll. 30-34);
wherein each of the interferer nulling beam forming network and the non-linear filters is a virtual element having respective functions implemented by digital circuitry (col. 4, ll. 30-34);
further comprising operating in a first mode using the plurality of beam weight sets when a number of interference signals is equal to N, and operating in a second mode when the number of interference signals is less than N (col. 4, ll. 30-34 and col. 8, ll. 36-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leabman (US 8923189)
/HASAN ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845