DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on August 11, 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claims 1, 3-4, 13 and 16-17 have been acknowledged. Claims 18-20 have been canceled. New claims 21-23 have been added.
In view of the amendment of claim 3, Applicant amended the claim to describe “a plurality of external apparatuses”. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11 of Remarks, filed June August 11, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the amended claims. Upon further consideration, Applicant’s arguments are addressed in the claim rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-14, 17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0012995 A1).
Regarding claim 1, WATANABE discloses a system (Paragraph [0043], FIG. 1 is illustrated a stereoscopic image capturing reproducing system 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The system 10 consists of a binocular digital camera 11 that embodies the stereoscopic image recording apparatus of the present invention, and a digital photo frame 12 that embodies the stereoscopic image outputting apparatus of the present invention) comprising:
a capturing apparatus (Paragraph [0023], FIG. 3 shows a structure of a binocular digital camera; paragraph [0049], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R are mounted on upper front portions of the camera 11);
an external apparatus (Paragraph [0049], an operating section 31 (see FIG. 3) and an image display section 32 (see FIG. 3) are provided on its back side of the camera 11); and
a recording apparatus (Paragraph [0049], the camera 11 also has a card slot 30 on its left side for loading a memory card 29 as an image recording medium), wherein the capturing apparatus includes:
one or more processors (Paragraph [0050], main CPU 35 supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 according to a certain control program in response to inputs from the operating section 31); and
a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors (Paragraph [0050], the CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 and a work memory 39 via a system bus 36. The ROM 37 stores the control programs and a variety of data necessary for the CPU 35 to execute the control programs), cause the capturing apparatus to function as:
a capturing unit (Paragraph [0058], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R ...) configured to capture a plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0044], the binocular digital camera 11, hereinafter referred to simply as the camera 11, has a first imaging unit 15L and a second imaging unit 15R, which are horizontally spaced apart from each other, so that the camera 11 can shoot an identical subject from different viewpoints simultaneously to capture a pair of images of the subject having parallax therebetween ...; paragraph [0067], the image sensor 54 is constituted of a CCD. A great number of photodiodes are arranged in a two-dimensional array on a photoreceptive surface of the image sensor 54, and filters of three primary colors (R, G, B) are arranged in front of the photodiodes in a predetermined arrangement) in response to being Paragraph [0050], The CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 ... The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user; paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45) from among instructions of a plurality of types (Paragraph [0052], the image capturing mode may include for example a 2D still image capturing model for capturing a two-dimensional still image, a 2D moving image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional moving image, a 3D still image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional still image, and a 3D moving image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional moving image),
wherein at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus includes:
one or more processors (Paragraph [0050], main CPU 35 supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 according to a certain control program in response to inputs from the operating section 31; paragraphs [0069]-[0070], analog signal processor 80 .... a digital signal processor 85); and
a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors (Paragraph [0050], the CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 and a work memory 39 via a system bus 36. The ROM 37 stores the control programs and a variety of data necessary for the CPU 35 to execute the control programs; paragraphs [0069]-[0070], analog signal processor 80 .... a digital signal processor 85), cause the at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus to function as:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire the captured plurality of two-dimensional images regardless of a type of the instruction (Paragraph [0074], FIG. 5 illustrating a sequence of operation in the 3D still image capturing mode, when the release button 28 is pressed to the full (S10), the imaging units 15L and 15R synchronously capture left and right parallax images respectively (S11). Note that the AF and AE processes are executed based on the image signal from either one of the imaging units 15L and 15R. The parallax images captured by the imaging units 15L and 15R are processed in the digital signal processors 85L and 85R, and then written in the work memory 39); and
a first generation unit configured to generate an image according to the type of the instruction based on the acquired plurality of two-dimensional images (Paragraphs [0069]-[0071], analog signal processor 80 includes a correlated double sampling circuit (CDS) for eliminating reset-noises (low frequency noises) from the RGB signals from the image sensor 54 ... The analog RGB signals at the output of the image sensor 54 are subjected to the correlated double sampling process and amplified in the analog signal processor 80, and thereafter converted to digital RGB signals through an A/D converter 81 and input in an image input controller (buffer memory) 82 ... A digital signal processor 85 includes a synchronizing processing circuit (a processing circuit that compensates for special lags among output signals of different colors from a single CCD, due to the color filter arrangement on the single CCD, by interpolating color signals so as to synchronize the different color signals), a white-balance adjusting circuit, a gradation conversion circuit (gamma correction circuit), an edge correction circuit, and a luminance-chrominance signal production circuit. As being input in the image input controller 82, the digital RGB signals are processed by the digital signal processor 85 for the synchronizing, the white-balance adjustment, the gradation conversion, the edge correction and other necessary treatments, and converted to a YC signal that is composed of a luminance signal (Y-signal) and chrominance signals (Cr and Cb signals). The YC signal is stored in a work memory 39 ... While the image display section 32 is functioning as the electronic viewfinder, the YC signal produced from the digital signal processor 85 is sequentially fed to a buffer memory 88. A display controller 89 reads and transfers the YC signal from the buffer memory 88 to a YC/RGB converter 90. The YC/RGB converter 90 converts the YC signal to the original RGB signal, and outputs the RGB signal to the image display section 32 via a driver 91. Thus, the image display section 32 displays a through-image or live-view image of objects existing in the field of view of the camera 11. Thus, the displayed image is generated from the captured 2D images), and
wherein the recording apparatus records the captured plurality of two-dimensional images in an association manner (Paragraph [0053], the camera 11 can also record multiple pairs of right and left images as a series of successive frames for displaying a 3D moving image in the form of a 3D moving image file in the 3D moving image capturing mode; FIG. 4A and 4B; paragraph [0087], the images 103L and 103R are compressed by the compression/decompression processor circuits 97L and 97R respectively, and then compiled in a 3D still image file when written on the memory card 29. Along with the compressed data of the parallax images, the 3D image file also stores information on the evaluated recommendability level, and other information relating to the parallax images, including the subject distance, and the reference length (spacing) and the angle of convergence between the taking lenses 51L and 51R (S13)).
It’s noted that WATANABE does not use term of “notification” or “notified” to configure the capturing unit for capturing a plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax based on an instruction from among instructions of a plurality of types. However, as discussed above, WATANABE discloses “The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user” and “the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45”. In additional, paragraph [0052] of WATANABE describes different capturing modes and paragraph [0054] of WATANABE describes “set a mode to the capturing unit from a plurality capturing modes for capturing 2d image”. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to interpret the “notified” recited in the claim equivalent to “set” taught by WATANABE. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to understand WATANABE disclose the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 2, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and WATANABE further disclose wherein at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus further includes a second generation unit (Paragraph [0101], the digital photo frame 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 15. The digital photo frame 12 includes CPU 131 134 that supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 ...) configured to newly generate an image (Paragraph [0112], when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "0", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a small size 150, as shown in FIG. 20 (S67, S69). When the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "1", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a middle size 151, as shown in FIG. 20 (S68, S70). Moreover, when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "2", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a full size of the screen, as shown by solid line in FIG. 20 (S71)) based on the plurality of two-dimensional images recorded in the recording apparatus (Paragraph [0106], the operation of displaying 3D still images; FIG. 19; paragraph [0111], CPU 131 reads out the first 3D still image file 110 from the memory card 29 (S65)).
Regarding claim 3, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and WATANABE further disclose wherein the system further comprises a plurality of external apparatuses (Paragraph [0049], an operating section 31 (see FIG. 3) and an image display section 32 (see FIG. 3) are provided on its back side of the camera 11; paragraph [0101], the digital photo frame 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 15. The digital photo frame 12 includes CPU 131 134 that supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 ...), wherein a first external apparatus from among the plurality of external apparatuses includes the acquisition unit and the first generation unit (Paragraph [0050], main CPU 35 supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 according to a certain control program in response to inputs from the operating section 31; paragraphs [0069]-[0070], analog signal processor 80 .... a digital signal processor 85), and wherein a second external apparatus from among the plurality of external apparatuses includes a second generation unit (Paragraph [0101], the digital photo frame 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 15. The digital photo frame 12 includes CPU 131 134 that supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 ...) configured to newly generate an image (Paragraph [0112], when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "0", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a small size 150, as shown in FIG. 20 (S67, S69). When the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "1", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a middle size 151, as shown in FIG. 20 (S68, S70). Moreover, when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "2", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a full size of the screen, as shown by solid line in FIG. 20 (S71)) based on the plurality of two-dimensional images recorded in the recording apparatus (Paragraph [0106], the operation of displaying 3D still images; FIG. 19; paragraph [0111], CPU 131 reads out the first 3D still image file 110 from the memory card 29 (S65)).
Regarding claim 4, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), and WATANABE further disclose wherein an image generated by the first generation unit and an image generated by the second generation unit are images at least any of a type, resolution, a size, and a frame rate of which is different (FIG. 15, paragraph [0112], when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "0", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a small size 150, as shown in FIG. 20 (S67, S69). When the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "1", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a middle size 151, as shown in FIG. 20 (S68, S70). Moreover, when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "2", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a full size of the screen, as shown by solid line in FIG. 20 (S71)).
Regarding claim 5, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4), and WATANABE further disclose wherein at least a two-dimensional still image, a two-dimensional moving image, a three-dimensional still image, and a three-dimensional moving image are included in the type (Paragraph [0052], the image capturing mode may include for example a 2D still image capturing model for capturing a two-dimensional still image, a 2D moving image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional moving image, a 3D still image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional still image, and a 3D moving image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional moving image).
Regarding claim 13, WATANABE discloses a method of a system (Paragraph [0043], FIG. 1 is illustrated a stereoscopic image capturing reproducing system 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The system 10 consists of a binocular digital camera 11 that embodies the stereoscopic image recording apparatus of the present invention, and a digital photo frame 12 that embodies the stereoscopic image outputting apparatus of the present invention) including a capturing apparatus (Paragraph [0023], FIG. 3 shows a structure of a binocular digital camera; paragraph [0049], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R are mounted on upper front portions of the camera 11), an external apparatus (Paragraph [0049], an operating section 31 (see FIG. 3) and an image display section 32 (see FIG. 3) are provided on its back side of the camera 11), and a recording apparatus (Paragraph [0049], the camera 11 also has a card slot 30 on its left side for loading a memory card 29 as an image recording medium), the method comprising:
capturing a plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0044], the binocular digital camera 11, hereinafter referred to simply as the camera 11, has a first imaging unit 15L and a second imaging unit 15R, which are horizontally spaced apart from each other, so that the camera 11 can shoot an identical subject from different viewpoints simultaneously to capture a pair of images of the subject having parallax therebetween ...; paragraph [0067], the image sensor 54 is constituted of a CCD. A great number of photodiodes are arranged in a two-dimensional array on a photoreceptive surface of the image sensor 54, and filters of three primary colors (R, G, B) are arranged in front of the photodiodes in a predetermined arrangement), by capturing through the capturing apparatus (Paragraph [0058], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R ...), in response to being Paragraph [0050], The CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 ... The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user; paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45) from among instructions of a plurality of types (Paragraph [0052], the image capturing mode may include for example a 2D still image capturing model for capturing a two-dimensional still image, a 2D moving image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional moving image, a 3D still image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional still image, and a 3D moving image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional moving image);
acquiring the captured plurality of two-dimensional images, through at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus (Paragraph [0074], FIG. 5 illustrating a sequence of operation in the 3D still image capturing mode, when the release button 28 is pressed to the full (S10), the imaging units 15L and 15R synchronously capture left and right parallax images respectively (S11). Note that the AF and AE processes are executed based on the image signal from either one of the imaging units 15L and 15R. The parallax images captured by the imaging units 15L and 15R are processed in the digital signal processors 85L and 85R, and then written in the work memory 39), regardless of a type of the instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode); and
generating an image according to the type of the instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode), by first generation through at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus (Paragraph [0050], the CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 and a work memory 39 via a system bus 36. The ROM 37 stores the control programs and a variety of data necessary for the CPU 35 to execute the control programs; paragraphs [0069]-[0070], analog signal processor 80 .... a digital signal processor 85), based on the plurality of two-dimensional images acquired by the acquiring (Paragraphs [0069]-[0071], analog signal processor 80 includes a correlated double sampling circuit (CDS) for eliminating reset-noises (low frequency noises) from the RGB signals from the image sensor 54 ... The analog RGB signals at the output of the image sensor 54 are subjected to the correlated double sampling process and amplified in the analog signal processor 80, and thereafter converted to digital RGB signals through an A/D converter 81 and input in an image input controller (buffer memory) 82 ... A digital signal processor 85 includes a synchronizing processing circuit (a processing circuit that compensates for special lags among output signals of different colors from a single CCD, due to the color filter arrangement on the single CCD, by interpolating color signals so as to synchronize the different color signals), a white-balance adjusting circuit, a gradation conversion circuit (gamma correction circuit), an edge correction circuit, and a luminance-chrominance signal production circuit. As being input in the image input controller 82, the digital RGB signals are processed by the digital signal processor 85 for the synchronizing, the white-balance adjustment, the gradation conversion, the edge correction and other necessary treatments, and converted to a YC signal that is composed of a luminance signal (Y-signal) and chrominance signals (Cr and Cb signals). The YC signal is stored in a work memory 39 ... While the image display section 32 is functioning as the electronic viewfinder, the YC signal produced from the digital signal processor 85 is sequentially fed to a buffer memory 88. A display controller 89 reads and transfers the YC signal from the buffer memory 88 to a YC/RGB converter 90. The YC/RGB converter 90 converts the YC signal to the original RGB signal, and outputs the RGB signal to the image display section 32 via a driver 91. Thus, the image display section 32 displays a through-image or live-view image of objects existing in the field of view of the camera 11. Thus, the displayed image is generated from the captured 2D images), wherein the recording apparatus records the plurality of two-dimensional images captured by the capturing in an association manner (Paragraph [0053], the camera 11 can also record multiple pairs of right and left images as a series of successive frames for displaying a 3D moving image in the form of a 3D moving image file in the 3D moving image capturing mode; FIG. 4A and 4B; paragraph [0087], the images 103L and 103R are compressed by the compression/decompression processor circuits 97L and 97R respectively, and then compiled in a 3D still image file when written on the memory card 29. Along with the compressed data of the parallax images, the 3D image file also stores information on the evaluated recommendability level, and other information relating to the parallax images, including the subject distance, and the reference length (spacing) and the angle of convergence between the taking lenses 51L and 51R (S13)).
It’s noted that WATANABE does not use term of “notification” or “notified” to configure the capturing unit for capturing a plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax based on an instruction from among instructions of a plurality of types. However, as discussed above, WATANABE discloses “The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user” and “the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45”. In additional, paragraph [0052] of WATANABE describes different capturing modes and paragraph [0054] of WATANABE describes “set a mode to the capturing unit from a plurality capturing modes for capturing 2d image”. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to interpret the “notified” recited in the claim equivalent to “set” taught by WATANABE. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to understand WATANABE disclose the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 14, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), and WATANABE further disclose further comprising:
generating an image (Paragraph [0101], the digital photo frame 12 will be described with reference to FIG. 15. The digital photo frame 12 includes CPU 131 134 that supervises the overall operation of the camera 11 ...; Paragraph [0112], when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "0", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a small size 150, as shown in FIG. 20 (S67, S69). When the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "1", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a middle size 151, as shown in FIG. 20 (S68, S70). Moreover, when the recommendability level of the 3D still image file 110 is "2", the CPU 131 controls the LCD panel 17 to display the stereoscopic image of the 3D still image file 110 in a full size of the screen, as shown by solid line in FIG. 20 (S71)) based on the plurality of two-dimensional images recorded in the recording apparatus (Paragraph [0106], the operation of displaying 3D still images; FIG. 19; paragraph [0111], CPU 131 reads out the first 3D still image file 110 from the memory card 29 (S65)).
Regarding claim 17, WATANABE discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer (Paragraph [0043], FIG. 1 is illustrated a stereoscopic image capturing reproducing system 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The system 10 consists of a binocular digital camera 11 that embodies the stereoscopic image recording apparatus of the present invention, and a digital photo frame 12 that embodies the stereoscopic image outputting apparatus of the present invention) to execute a method of a system (Paragraph [0050], the CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 and a work memory 39 via a system bus 36. The ROM 37 stores the control programs and a variety of data necessary for the CPU 35 to execute the control programs) including a capturing apparatus (Paragraph [0023], FIG. 3 shows a structure of a binocular digital camera; paragraph [0049], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R are mounted on upper front portions of the camera 11), an external apparatus (Paragraph [0049], an operating section 31 (see FIG. 3) and an image display section 32 (see FIG. 3) are provided on its back side of the camera 11), and a recording apparatus (Paragraph [0049], the camera 11 also has a card slot 30 on its left side for loading a memory card 29 as an image recording medium), the method comprising:
capturing a plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0044], the binocular digital camera 11, hereinafter referred to simply as the camera 11, has a first imaging unit 15L and a second imaging unit 15R, which are horizontally spaced apart from each other, so that the camera 11 can shoot an identical subject from different viewpoints simultaneously to capture a pair of images of the subject having parallax therebetween ...; paragraph [0067], the image sensor 54 is constituted of a CCD. A great number of photodiodes are arranged in a two-dimensional array on a photoreceptive surface of the image sensor 54, and filters of three primary colors (R, G, B) are arranged in front of the photodiodes in a predetermined arrangement), by capturing through the capturing apparatus (Paragraph [0058], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R ...), in response to being Paragraph [0050], The CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 ... The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user; paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45) from among instructions of a plurality of types (Paragraph [0052], the image capturing mode may include for example a 2D still image capturing model for capturing a two-dimensional still image, a 2D moving image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional moving image, a 3D still image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional still image, and a 3D moving image capturing mode for capturing a three-dimensional moving image);
acquiring the captured plurality of two-dimensional images, through at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus (Paragraph [0074], FIG. 5 illustrating a sequence of operation in the 3D still image capturing mode, when the release button 28 is pressed to the full (S10), the imaging units 15L and 15R synchronously capture left and right parallax images respectively (S11). Note that the AF and AE processes are executed based on the image signal from either one of the imaging units 15L and 15R. The parallax images captured by the imaging units 15L and 15R are processed in the digital signal processors 85L and 85R, and then written in the work memory 39), regardless of a type of the instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode); and
generating an image according to the type of the instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode), by first generation through at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus (Paragraph [0050], the CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 and a work memory 39 via a system bus 36. The ROM 37 stores the control programs and a variety of data necessary for the CPU 35 to execute the control programs; paragraphs [0069]-[0070], analog signal processor 80 .... a digital signal processor 85), based on the plurality of two-dimensional images acquired by the acquiring (Paragraphs [0069]-[0071], analog signal processor 80 includes a correlated double sampling circuit (CDS) for eliminating reset-noises (low frequency noises) from the RGB signals from the image sensor 54 ... The analog RGB signals at the output of the image sensor 54 are subjected to the correlated double sampling process and amplified in the analog signal processor 80, and thereafter converted to digital RGB signals through an A/D converter 81 and input in an image input controller (buffer memory) 82 ... A digital signal processor 85 includes a synchronizing processing circuit (a processing circuit that compensates for special lags among output signals of different colors from a single CCD, due to the color filter arrangement on the single CCD, by interpolating color signals so as to synchronize the different color signals), a white-balance adjusting circuit, a gradation conversion circuit (gamma correction circuit), an edge correction circuit, and a luminance-chrominance signal production circuit. As being input in the image input controller 82, the digital RGB signals are processed by the digital signal processor 85 for the synchronizing, the white-balance adjustment, the gradation conversion, the edge correction and other necessary treatments, and converted to a YC signal that is composed of a luminance signal (Y-signal) and chrominance signals (Cr and Cb signals). The YC signal is stored in a work memory 39 ... While the image display section 32 is functioning as the electronic viewfinder, the YC signal produced from the digital signal processor 85 is sequentially fed to a buffer memory 88. A display controller 89 reads and transfers the YC signal from the buffer memory 88 to a YC/RGB converter 90. The YC/RGB converter 90 converts the YC signal to the original RGB signal, and outputs the RGB signal to the image display section 32 via a driver 91. Thus, the image display section 32 displays a through-image or live-view image of objects existing in the field of view of the camera 11. Thus, the displayed image is generated from the captured 2D images), wherein the recording apparatus records the plurality of two-dimensional images captured by the capturing in an association manner (Paragraph [0053], the camera 11 can also record multiple pairs of right and left images as a series of successive frames for displaying a 3D moving image in the form of a 3D moving image file in the 3D moving image capturing mode; FIG. 4A and 4B; paragraph [0087], the images 103L and 103R are compressed by the compression/decompression processor circuits 97L and 97R respectively, and then compiled in a 3D still image file when written on the memory card 29. Along with the compressed data of the parallax images, the 3D image file also stores information on the evaluated recommendability level, and other information relating to the parallax images, including the subject distance, and the reference length (spacing) and the angle of convergence between the taking lenses 51L and 51R (S13)).
It’s noted that WATANABE does not use term of “notification” or “notified” to configure the capturing unit for capturing a plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax based on an instruction from among instructions of a plurality of types. However, as discussed above, WATANABE discloses “The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user” and “the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45”. In additional, paragraph [0052] of WATANABE describes different capturing modes and paragraph [0054] of WATANABE describes “set a mode to the capturing unit from a plurality capturing modes for capturing 2d image”. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to interpret the “notified” recited in the claim equivalent to “set” taught by WATANABE. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to understand WATANABE disclose the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 21, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and WATANABE further disclose wherein the instructions of the plurality of types include at least:
a two-dimensional image capturing instruction (FIG. 3; Paragraph [0050], The CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 ... The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user; paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) for generating a two-dimensional image (Paragraph [0052], a 2D still image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional still image; paragraphs [0069]-[0071], analog signal processor 80 includes a correlated double sampling circuit (CDS) for eliminating reset-noises (low frequency noises) from the RGB signals from the image sensor 54 ... The analog RGB signals at the output of the image sensor 54 are subjected to the correlated double sampling process and amplified in the analog signal processor 80, and thereafter converted to digital RGB signals through an A/D converter 81 and input in an image input controller (buffer memory) 82 ... A digital signal processor 85 includes a synchronizing processing circuit (a processing circuit that compensates for special lags among output signals of different colors from a single CCD, due to the color filter arrangement on the single CCD, by interpolating color signals so as to synchronize the different color signals), a white-balance adjusting circuit, a gradation conversion circuit (gamma correction circuit), an edge correction circuit, and a luminance-chrominance signal production circuit. As being input in the image input controller 82, the digital RGB signals are processed by the digital signal processor 85 for the synchronizing, the white-balance adjustment, the gradation conversion, the edge correction and other necessary treatments, and converted to a YC signal that is composed of a luminance signal (Y-signal) and chrominance signals (Cr and Cb signals). The YC signal is stored in a work memory 39 ... While the image display section 32 is functioning as the electronic viewfinder, the YC signal produced from the digital signal processor 85 is sequentially fed to a buffer memory 88. A display controller 89 reads and transfers the YC signal from the buffer memory 88 to a YC/RGB converter 90. The YC/RGB converter 90 converts the YC signal to the original RGB signal, and outputs the RGB signal to the image display section 32 via a driver 91. Thus, the image display section 32 displays a through-image or live-view image of objects existing in the field of view of the camera 11. Thus, the displayed image is generated from the captured 2D images), and
a three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45) for generating a three- dimensional image or a three-dimensional model (Paragraph [0063], The camera 11 is configured to record a pair of right and left parallax images as a 3D still image file in the 3D still image capturing mode, each time the right and left images are captured through the imaging units 15R and 15L in response to an operation on the release button 28. The camera 11 can also record multiple pairs of right and left images as a series of successive frames for displaying a 3D moving image in the form of a 3D moving image file in the 3D moving image capturing mode),
wherein the capturing unit is configured to capture the plurality of two- dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0044], the binocular digital camera 11, hereinafter referred to simply as the camera 11, has a first imaging unit 15L and a second imaging unit 15R, which are horizontally spaced apart from each other, so that the camera 11 can shoot an identical subject from different viewpoints simultaneously to capture a pair of images of the subject having parallax therebetween ...; paragraph [0067], the image sensor 54 is constituted of a CCD. A great number of photodiodes are arranged in a two-dimensional array on a photoreceptive surface of the image sensor 54, and filters of three primary colors (R, G, B) are arranged in front of the photodiodes in a predetermined arrangement) in response to each of the two-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) and the three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45), and
wherein the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the captured plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0073], the processes for image capturing and recording will be described. In the 2D mode, an image to be recorded is captured by one of the imaging units, e.g. the first imaging unit 15L. Image data of the image captured by the first imaging unit 15L is compressed by the compression/decompression processor 97L, and is recorded as an image file of a predetermined format on the 29 through the memory controller 94 and the interface 95 ...; paragraph [0074], FIG. 5 illustrating a sequence of operation in the 3D still image capturing mode, when the release button 28 is pressed to the full (S10), the imaging units 15L and 15R synchronously capture left and right parallax images respectively (S11). Note that the AF and AE processes are executed based on the image signal from either one of the imaging units 15L and 15R. The parallax images captured by the imaging units 15L and 15R are processed in the digital signal processors 85L and 85R, and then written in the work memory 39) in response to each of the two-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) and the three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45).
Regarding claim 22, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), and WATANABE further disclose wherein the instructions of the plurality of types include at least:
a two-dimensional image capturing instruction (FIG. 3; Paragraph [0050], The CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 ... The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user; paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) for generating a two-dimensional image (Paragraph [0052], a 2D still image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional still image; paragraphs [0069]-[0071], analog signal processor 80 includes a correlated double sampling circuit (CDS) for eliminating reset-noises (low frequency noises) from the RGB signals from the image sensor 54 ... The analog RGB signals at the output of the image sensor 54 are subjected to the correlated double sampling process and amplified in the analog signal processor 80, and thereafter converted to digital RGB signals through an A/D converter 81 and input in an image input controller (buffer memory) 82 ... A digital signal processor 85 includes a synchronizing processing circuit (a processing circuit that compensates for special lags among output signals of different colors from a single CCD, due to the color filter arrangement on the single CCD, by interpolating color signals so as to synchronize the different color signals), a white-balance adjusting circuit, a gradation conversion circuit (gamma correction circuit), an edge correction circuit, and a luminance-chrominance signal production circuit. As being input in the image input controller 82, the digital RGB signals are processed by the digital signal processor 85 for the synchronizing, the white-balance adjustment, the gradation conversion, the edge correction and other necessary treatments, and converted to a YC signal that is composed of a luminance signal (Y-signal) and chrominance signals (Cr and Cb signals). The YC signal is stored in a work memory 39 ... While the image display section 32 is functioning as the electronic viewfinder, the YC signal produced from the digital signal processor 85 is sequentially fed to a buffer memory 88. A display controller 89 reads and transfers the YC signal from the buffer memory 88 to a YC/RGB converter 90. The YC/RGB converter 90 converts the YC signal to the original RGB signal, and outputs the RGB signal to the image display section 32 via a driver 91. Thus, the image display section 32 displays a through-image or live-view image of objects existing in the field of view of the camera 11. Thus, the displayed image is generated from the captured 2D images), and
a three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45) for generating a three- dimensional image or a three-dimensional model (Paragraph [0063], The camera 11 is configured to record a pair of right and left parallax images as a 3D still image file in the 3D still image capturing mode, each time the right and left images are captured through the imaging units 15R and 15L in response to an operation on the release button 28. The camera 11 can also record multiple pairs of right and left images as a series of successive frames for displaying a 3D moving image in the form of a 3D moving image file in the 3D moving image capturing mode),
wherein the capturing captures the plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0044], the binocular digital camera 11, hereinafter referred to simply as the camera 11, has a first imaging unit 15L and a second imaging unit 15R, which are horizontally spaced apart from each other, so that the camera 11 can shoot an identical subject from different viewpoints simultaneously to capture a pair of images of the subject having parallax therebetween ...; paragraph [0067], the image sensor 54 is constituted of a CCD. A great number of photodiodes are arranged in a two-dimensional array on a photoreceptive surface of the image sensor 54, and filters of three primary colors (R, G, B) are arranged in front of the photodiodes in a predetermined arrangement) in response to each of the two-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) and the three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45), and
wherein the acquiring acquires the captured plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0073], the processes for image capturing and recording will be described. In the 2D mode, an image to be recorded is captured by one of the imaging units, e.g. the first imaging unit 15L. Image data of the image captured by the first imaging unit 15L is compressed by the compression/decompression processor 97L, and is recorded as an image file of a predetermined format on the 29 through the memory controller 94 and the interface 95 ...; paragraph [0074], FIG. 5 illustrating a sequence of operation in the 3D still image capturing mode, when the release button 28 is pressed to the full (S10), the imaging units 15L and 15R synchronously capture left and right parallax images respectively (S11). Note that the AF and AE processes are executed based on the image signal from either one of the imaging units 15L and 15R. The parallax images captured by the imaging units 15L and 15R are processed in the digital signal processors 85L and 85R, and then written in the work memory 39) in response to each of the two-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) and the three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45).
Regarding claim 23, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), and WATANABE further disclose further comprising:
wherein the instructions of the plurality of types include at least:
a two-dimensional image capturing instruction (FIG. 3; Paragraph [0050], The CPU 35 is connected to ROM 37, EEPROM 38 ... The EEPROM 38 stores many kinds of setup information relating to the operation of the camera 11, including information set up by the user; paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) for generating a two-dimensional image (Paragraph [0052], a 2D still image capturing mode for capturing a two-dimensional still image; paragraphs [0069]-[0071], analog signal processor 80 includes a correlated double sampling circuit (CDS) for eliminating reset-noises (low frequency noises) from the RGB signals from the image sensor 54 ... The analog RGB signals at the output of the image sensor 54 are subjected to the correlated double sampling process and amplified in the analog signal processor 80, and thereafter converted to digital RGB signals through an A/D converter 81 and input in an image input controller (buffer memory) 82 ... A digital signal processor 85 includes a synchronizing processing circuit (a processing circuit that compensates for special lags among output signals of different colors from a single CCD, due to the color filter arrangement on the single CCD, by interpolating color signals so as to synchronize the different color signals), a white-balance adjusting circuit, a gradation conversion circuit (gamma correction circuit), an edge correction circuit, and a luminance-chrominance signal production circuit. As being input in the image input controller 82, the digital RGB signals are processed by the digital signal processor 85 for the synchronizing, the white-balance adjustment, the gradation conversion, the edge correction and other necessary treatments, and converted to a YC signal that is composed of a luminance signal (Y-signal) and chrominance signals (Cr and Cb signals). The YC signal is stored in a work memory 39 ... While the image display section 32 is functioning as the electronic viewfinder, the YC signal produced from the digital signal processor 85 is sequentially fed to a buffer memory 88. A display controller 89 reads and transfers the YC signal from the buffer memory 88 to a YC/RGB converter 90. The YC/RGB converter 90 converts the YC signal to the original RGB signal, and outputs the RGB signal to the image display section 32 via a driver 91. Thus, the image display section 32 displays a through-image or live-view image of objects existing in the field of view of the camera 11. Thus, the displayed image is generated from the captured 2D images), and
a three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45) for generating a three- dimensional image or a three-dimensional model (Paragraph [0063], The camera 11 is configured to record a pair of right and left parallax images as a 3D still image file in the 3D still image capturing mode, each time the right and left images are captured through the imaging units 15R and 15L in response to an operation on the release button 28. The camera 11 can also record multiple pairs of right and left images as a series of successive frames for displaying a 3D moving image in the form of a 3D moving image file in the 3D moving image capturing mode),
wherein the capturing captures the plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0044], the binocular digital camera 11, hereinafter referred to simply as the camera 11, has a first imaging unit 15L and a second imaging unit 15R, which are horizontally spaced apart from each other, so that the camera 11 can shoot an identical subject from different viewpoints simultaneously to capture a pair of images of the subject having parallax therebetween ...; paragraph [0067], the image sensor 54 is constituted of a CCD. A great number of photodiodes are arranged in a two-dimensional array on a photoreceptive surface of the image sensor 54, and filters of three primary colors (R, G, B) are arranged in front of the photodiodes in a predetermined arrangement) in response to each of the two-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) and the three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45), and
wherein the acquiring acquires the captured plurality of two-dimensional images having parallax (Paragraph [0073], the processes for image capturing and recording will be described. In the 2D mode, an image to be recorded is captured by one of the imaging units, e.g. the first imaging unit 15L. Image data of the image captured by the first imaging unit 15L is compressed by the compression/decompression processor 97L, and is recorded as an image file of a predetermined format on the 29 through the memory controller 94 and the interface 95 ...; paragraph [0074], FIG. 5 illustrating a sequence of operation in the 3D still image capturing mode, when the release button 28 is pressed to the full (S10), the imaging units 15L and 15R synchronously capture left and right parallax images respectively (S11). Note that the AF and AE processes are executed based on the image signal from either one of the imaging units 15L and 15R. The parallax images captured by the imaging units 15L and 15R are processed in the digital signal processors 85L and 85R, and then written in the work memory 39) in response to each of the two-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], the camera 11 is set to the 2D still image capturing mode or the 2D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 2D mode for capturing a 2D image is set in an image capturing mode managing flag register 45) and the three-dimensional image capturing instruction (Paragraph [0054], when the camera 11 is set to the 3D still image capturing mode or the 3D moving image capturing mode, a flag indicating that the camera 11 is in the 3D mode for capturing a 3D image is set in the image capturing mode managing flag register 45).
Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0012995 A1) in view of Biswas et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0078401 A1).
Regarding claim 6, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose wherein the recording apparatus records the image generated by the first generation unit and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other.
In additional, Biswas discloses (Paragraph [0035], FIG. 1 depicts an example of a computing environment 100 for using generating camera scan data 102 for creating a 3D model 105 of an object 101 during a user computing device camera scan of the object) generate an image (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) wherein the recording apparatus records the image generated by the first generation unit (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other (Paragraph [0042], the modeling system 110 includes a data storage unit 111. An example data storage unit 111 is accessible to the modeling system 110 and stores data for the modeling system 110. In some instances, the data storage unit 111 stores camera scan data 102 generated by the modeling system 110 from video feed data 128 received from the camera component 122 of the user computing device 120 ... The camera scan data 102 comprises a set of 2D images 103 used to construct a 3D model 105 of the scanned object 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Biswas, and applying the techniques for generating a three-dimensional (3D) representations of objects taught by Biswas to generate an image based on the instruction type from the captured 2D images and store the generates image with the captured 2D image in association with each other. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Biswas to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 7, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose wherein the recording apparatus records a three-dimensional model generated by the first generation unit and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other.
In additional, Biswas discloses (Paragraph [0035], FIG. 1 depicts an example of a computing environment 100 for using generating camera scan data 102 for creating a 3D model 105 of an object 101 during a user computing device camera scan of the object) generate an image (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) wherein the recording apparatus records a three-dimensional model generated by the first generation unit (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other (Paragraph [0042], the modeling system 110 includes a data storage unit 111. An example data storage unit 111 is accessible to the modeling system 110 and stores data for the modeling system 110. In some instances, the data storage unit 111 stores camera scan data 102 generated by the modeling system 110 from video feed data 128 received from the camera component 122 of the user computing device 120 ... The camera scan data 102 comprises a set of 2D images 103 used to construct a 3D model 105 of the scanned object 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Biswas, and applying the techniques for generating a three-dimensional (3D) representations of objects taught by Biswas to generate an image based on the instruction type from the captured 2D images and store the generates image with the captured 2D image in association with each other. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Biswas to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of WATANABE in view of Biswas discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), and WATANABE further disclose
wherein the recording apparatus is arranged on any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus (Paragraph [0023], FIG. 3 shows a structure of a binocular digital camera; paragraph [0049], the first and second imaging units 15L and 15R are mounted on upper front portions of the camera 11; paragraph [0049], an operating section 31 (see FIG. 3) and an image display section 32 (see FIG. 3) are provided on its back side of the camera 11 ... the camera 11 also has a card slot 30 on its left side for loading a memory card 29 as an image recording medium).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of WATANABE in view of Biswas discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose wherein the recording apparatus is communicably connected to at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus via a network.
In additional, Biswas discloses wherein the recording apparatus is communicably connected to at least any one of the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus via a network (FIG. 1; paragraphs [0035]-[0036], the modeling system 110 is a component of a user computing device 120 and operates on the user computing device 120. In certain embodiments, as also depicted in FIG. 1, the modeling system 110, including the OM subsystem 113, the CMTM subsystem 115, the OCE subsystem 117, the MG subsystem 119, and the data storage unit 111, is a network server or other computing device that is accessible to the user computing device 120 and communicates with the user computing device 120 via a network 130 ... The modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Biswas, and applying the computing environment for generating a three-dimensional (3D) representations of objects taught by Biswas to have a network for providing the communication between the capturing apparatus and the external apparatus to record the captured images and generate images. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Biswas to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 15, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose further comprising:
recording the generated image and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other.
In additional, Biswas discloses (Paragraph [0035], FIG. 1 depicts an example of a computing environment 100 for using generating camera scan data 102 for creating a 3D model 105 of an object 101 during a user computing device camera scan of the object) further comprising:
recording (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) the generated image (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other (Paragraph [0042], the modeling system 110 includes a data storage unit 111. An example data storage unit 111 is accessible to the modeling system 110 and stores data for the modeling system 110. In some instances, the data storage unit 111 stores camera scan data 102 generated by the modeling system 110 from video feed data 128 received from the camera component 122 of the user computing device 120 ... The camera scan data 102 comprises a set of 2D images 103 used to construct a 3D model 105 of the scanned object 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Biswas, and applying the techniques for generating a three-dimensional (3D) representations of objects taught by Biswas to generate an image based on the instruction type from the captured 2D images and store the generates image with the captured 2D image in association with each other. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Biswas to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 16, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose further comprising:
recording a generated three-dimensional model and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other.
In additional, Biswas discloses (Paragraph [0035], FIG. 1 depicts an example of a computing environment 100 for using generating camera scan data 102 for creating a 3D model 105 of an object 101 during a user computing device camera scan of the object) further comprising:
recording (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) a generated three-dimensional model generating (Paragraph [0036], the modeling system 110 includes the MG subsystem 119 that generates a 3D model 105 of an object 101 based on camera scan data 102, including a set of 2D images, generated by the modeling system 110 ... In some instances, the MG subsystem 119 generates a 3D model 105 by applying a machine learning model to the camera scan data 102. The MG subsystem 119 can display the generated 3D model 105 on a user interface 125 of the user computing device 120) and the plurality of two-dimensional images in association with each other (Paragraph [0042], the modeling system 110 includes a data storage unit 111. An example data storage unit 111 is accessible to the modeling system 110 and stores data for the modeling system 110. In some instances, the data storage unit 111 stores camera scan data 102 generated by the modeling system 110 from video feed data 128 received from the camera component 122 of the user computing device 120 ... The camera scan data 102 comprises a set of 2D images 103 used to construct a 3D model 105 of the scanned object 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Biswas, and applying the techniques for generating a three-dimensional (3D) representations of objects taught by Biswas to generate an image based on the instruction type from the captured 2D images and store the generates image with the captured 2D image in association with each other. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Biswas to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0012995 A1) in view of Cho et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0070298 A1).
Regarding claim 8, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of two-dimensional images is two-dimensional RAW images.
In additional, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of two-dimensional images is two-dimensional RAW images (Paragraph [0031], FIG. 1A is a side view (right) and FIG. 1C is a side view (left) of an example hardware configuration of an eyewear device 100; paragraph [0035], the eyewear device 100 includes a left visible-light camera 114A and a right visible-light camera 114B; paragraph [0040], the visible-light cameras 114A, 114B capture respective left and right raw images in the two-dimensional space domain ...; paragraph [0037], each of the visible-light cameras 114A, 114B have a different frontward facing field of view which are overlapping to enable generation of three-dimensional depth images ...; FIG. 3 and paragraphs [0055]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Cho, and applying the eyewear device taught by Cho to provide hardware configuration having visible-light cameras for capturing 2D raw images and allow the system to generate 3D image using the captured 2D raw images. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Cho to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0012995 A1) in view of Falco (U.S. Patent No. 8,300,050 B2).
Regarding claim 11, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose wherein, in a case where a three-dimensional model is to be generated in a course of generating an image based on the plurality of two-dimensional images, the first generation unit or the second generation unit makes resolution of a two-dimensional image used to generate a polygon of the three-dimensional model be lower than resolution of a two-dimensional image used to generate a texture of the three-dimensional model and generates the three-dimensional model.
In additional, Falco discloses (Abstract, 3D scenes may be rendered a resolution lower than a resolution associated with the resultant image. A graphics application or 3D editor may render the 3D artwork at a lower resolution while the user modifies or manipulates the 3D model from which the artwork is derived ...) wherein, in a case where a three-dimensional model is to be generated in a course of generating an image (FIG. 1; Col 3, lines 41-59, graphics application 100 may also include a 3D editor 120 configured to manipulate and render 3D models ... 3D editor 120 may represent a separate application, utility and/or library that graphics application 100 may communicate with and/or use to generate, manipulate and/or render artwork) based on the plurality of two-dimensional images (Col 5, lines 62-67, graphics application 100 and/or 3D editor 120 may be configured to provide a 3D editing mode or user interface separate from modes or user interfaces allowing editing or manipulating of 2D artwork included in an image or document; Col 3, lines 9-20, a graphics application may also allow an image document to include multiple image layers as described above. In some embodiments, the graphics application may allow 3D artwork or scenes to be included as layers in an image document), the first generation unit or the second generation unit makes resolution of a two-dimensional image (Col 2, lines 59-67, when creating a new image, a user may specify the overall size of the image in pixels, such as 800.times.600 or 1280.times.1024. Thus, when drawing or rendering objects into an image, a graphics application may be configured to render the objects at the resolution specified for the image) used to generate a polygon of the three-dimensional model be lower than resolution of a two-dimensional image (Col 4, lines 31-47, a multi-layer image in a tiled, raster environment is generally associated with, or specifies, a pixel resolution. In some embodiments, a user may specify a resolution for an image ... graphics application 100 and/or 3D editor 120 may be configured to temporarily render 3D objects at a resolution lower than the specified resolution. For example, in one embodiment 3D editor 120 may render the 3D scene at a lower resolution, such as at the screen resolution, than a resolution specified by the overall image or document including the 3D artwork) used to generate a texture of the three-dimensional model and generates the three-dimensional model (Col 7, lines 16-31, graphics application 100 and/or 3D editor 120 may be configured to render 3D artwork using a single image tile even when working with images in tiled, raster environment. Typically, large images, especially 2D images, are rendered multiple (sometimes) many individual image tiles, or sub-images. However, rendering 3D artwork using multiple image tiles may result in poor performance because every element of the 3D model (sometimes called the geometry), such as every vertex, polygon, texture ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Falco, and applying the three-dimensional (3D) graphics rendering taught by Falco to specific the resolution of 2D images and generate the three-dimensional model including polygon and texture at lower resolution than the two-dimensional image. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Falco to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 12, WATANABE discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, WATANABE does not specifically disclose wherein, the recording apparatus makes resolution of a two-dimensional image from among the plurality of two-dimensional images, used to generate a polygon of a three-dimensional model, be lower than resolution of a two-dimensional image used to generate a texture of the three-dimensional model and records the plurality of two-dimensional images.
In additional, Falco discloses (Abstract, 3D scenes may be rendered a resolution lower than a resolution associated with the resultant image. A graphics application or 3D editor may render the 3D artwork at a lower resolution while the user modifies or manipulates the 3D model from which the artwork is derived ...) wherein, the recording apparatus makes resolution of a two-dimensional image from among the plurality of two-dimensional images (Col 2, lines 59-67, when creating a new image, a user may specify the overall size of the image in pixels, such as 800.times.600 or 1280.times.1024. Thus, when drawing or rendering objects into an image, a graphics application may be configured to render the objects at the resolution specified for the image), used to generate a polygon of a three-dimensional model (FIG. 1; Col 3, lines 41-59, graphics application 100 may also include a 3D editor 120 configured to manipulate and render 3D models ... 3D editor 120 may represent a separate application, utility and/or library that graphics application 100 may communicate with and/or use to generate, manipulate and/or render artwork), be lower than resolution of a two-dimensional image (Col 5, lines 62-67, graphics application 100 and/or 3D editor 120 may be configured to provide a 3D editing mode or user interface separate from modes or user interfaces allowing editing or manipulating of 2D artwork included in an image or document; Col 3, lines 9-20, a graphics application may also allow an image document to include multiple image layers as described above. In some embodiments, the graphics application may allow 3D artwork or scenes to be included as layers in an image document; Col 4, lines 31-47, a multi-layer image in a tiled, raster environment is generally associated with, or specifies, a pixel resolution. In some embodiments, a user may specify a resolution for an image ... graphics application 100 and/or 3D editor 120 may be configured to temporarily render 3D objects at a resolution lower than the specified resolution. For example, in one embodiment 3D editor 120 may render the 3D scene at a lower resolution, such as at the screen resolution, than a resolution specified by the overall image or document including the 3D artwork) used to generate a texture of the three-dimensional model (Col 7, lines 16-31, graphics application 100 and/or 3D editor 120 may be configured to render 3D artwork using a single image tile even when working with images in tiled, raster environment. Typically, large images, especially 2D images, are rendered multiple (sometimes) many individual image tiles, or sub-images. However, rendering 3D artwork using multiple image tiles may result in poor performance because every element of the 3D model (sometimes called the geometry), such as every vertex, polygon, texture ...) and records the plurality of two-dimensional images (Col 10, lines 27-49, the memories 1010 may embody a graphics application 100 and/or a 3D editor 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for producing a stereoscopic image of the subject taught by WATANABE incorporate the teachings of Falco, and applying the three-dimensional (3D) graphics rendering taught by Falco to specific the resolution of 2D images and generate the three-dimensional model including polygon and texture at lower resolution than the two-dimensional image. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify WATANABE according to the relied-upon teachings of Falco to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XILIN GUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616