Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2023-0149454 , filed on 11/01/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2024, 02/07/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/893,226 filed on 09/23/2024.
Claims 1-10, 11-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, 13, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan ( US 20230336994, hereinafter, Gan’s 994) in view Luo ( Patent No.: US 12052655, hereinafter, Luo’s 655 ), and further in view of of LI ( US 20240214379, hereinafter, LI’s 379).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20230336994 teaches electronic apparatus (the second electronic device 300 ) [see Paragraph 0077 ] comprising:
a communication interface (user interface) [see Paragraph 0382] ; and at least one processor configured to:
based on occurrence of an event in which control information allowing control (authorized to use the IoT device 200) over a target apparatus (IoT device 300 is an IoT lamp ) [see Paragraph 0077 ] be provided , identify the target apparatus (IoT device 300) among at least one external apparatus connected with the electronic apparatus (the second electronic device 300 ) [see Paragraph 0077 ] ,
transmit a packet, in association with providing the control information (control instruction ) [see Paragraphs 0079-0080 and TABLE 1 ] , through the communication interface [see Paragraphs 0079-0080 and TABLE 1 ] ,
receive identification information (the Device Identifier of an IoT device) [see Table 1 ] , from an apparatus (the server 400 ) [see Table 1 ] that responds to the packet, through the communication interface, and
based on the received identification information(the Device Identifier of an IoT device) [see Table 1 ] from the apparatus ( the server 400 ) being included in stored identification information [see Table 1 ] (Device Identifier of an IoT device, Identifier of control device, Identifier of a shared control device ) , provide the control information (control information, control instruction for controlling the IoT device 300 ) [see Paragraph 0079 ] allowing control over the target apparatus (Device identifier of an IoT device ) to the apparatus.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach pre-stored identification information.
Patent No.: US 12052655, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches based on the received identification information (SSID of IOT device) [see Col. 5, Lines 23-65 ] [see Col. 4, Lines 35-45 ] from the apparatus being included in pre-stored identification information ( pre-stored password) [see col. 5, Lines 25-35] ( pre-stored account list ) [see Col. 7, lines 40-60 ] , provide the control information allowing control over the target apparatus ( Target IOT device ) [see the col. 7, lines 25-65 ] to the apparatus.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230336994 in view of Patent No.: US 12052655 because Patent No.: US 12052655 suggests that this application provides an IoT device and an IoT device authorization method, to ensure security, further provide convenience, and simplify a user operation.
However, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 do not explicitly teach broadcast a packet with providing the control information.
US 20240214379, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches broadcast a packet, in association with providing the control information (control connection request ) , through the communication interface, receive identification information ( Target Device Identifier from the Connection response information) , from an apparatus that responds to the packet, through the communication interface [see Paragraphs 0184 – 0185]
( [0184] As an example, the second Internet of Things device may transmit a multicast or broadcast packet by means of a multicast packet or the like within a local area network, so as to transmit a control connection request to the first Internet of Things device, where the control connection request includes a second system identification being a device identification of an Internet of things system to which the second Internet of Things device belongs, and a format of the packet is agreed in advance. Accordingly, the first Internet of Things device can obtain the control connection request of the second Internet of Things device. If the second system identification matches the target system identification, the first Internet of Things device may further establish a control connection relationship with the second Internet of Things device based on the target device identification, the object identification, and the connection key information. Specifically, the step of “establishing a control connection relationship with the second Internet of Things device based on the target device identification, the object identification, and the connection key information” may include: [0185] generating device connection response information of the device connection request, where the device connection response information comprises the target device identification ) [see Paragraphs 0184 -0185] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655), and further in view of US 20240214379 because US 20240214379 suggests that if it is expected to implement the interconnection and intercommunication across Internet of Things systems, for example, when an Internet of Things device is controlled by a hub node of a different Internet of Things system than an Internet of Things system to which the Internet of Things device belongs, a relatively high cost is required, so that the interconnection and intercommunication between the hub device and the Internet of Things device still needs to be improved in an application scenario across the Internet of Things systems.
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a contact number obtained through the received identification information being included in the pre-stored identification information, transmit information of an access point (AP) through which the electronic apparatus is connected to the apparatus that responded to the packet through the communication interface.
Patent No.: US 12052655, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a contact number obtained through the received identification information being included in the pre-stored identification information, transmit information of an access point (AP) through which the electronic apparatus is connected to the apparatus that responded to the packet through the communication interface (wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a contact number obtained through the received identification information being included in the pre-stored identification information, transmit information of an access point (AP) through which the electronic apparatus is connected to the apparatus that responded to the packet through the communication interface ) [see Col. 7, Lines 1-10 & Lines 45-60 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230336994 in view of Patent No.: US 12052655 because Patent No.: US 12052655 suggests that this application provides an IoT device and an IoT device authorization method, to ensure security, further provide convenience, and simplify a user operation.
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a contact number obtained through the received identification information not being included in the pre-stored identification information, control a user interface (UI) to be provided to check a connection authority of the apparatus that responded to the packet.
Patent No.: US 12052655, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a contact number obtained through the received identification information not being included in the pre-stored identification information, control a user interface (UI) to be provided to check a connection authority of the apparatus that responded to the packet (wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on a contact number obtained through the received identification information not being included in the pre-stored identification information, control a user interface (UI) to be provided to check a connection authority of the apparatus that responded to the packet ) [see Col. 7, Lines 1-10 & Lines 45-60 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230336994 in view of Patent No.: US 12052655 because Patent No.: US 12052655 suggests that this application provides an IoT device and an IoT device authorization method, to ensure security, further provide convenience, and simplify a user operation.
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 1.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive account information from the apparatus that responded to the packet through the communication interface, and based on the received account information being included in a pre-stored account list, provide the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet based on the account information.
Patent No.: US 12052655, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive account information from the apparatus that responded to the packet through the communication interface, and based on the received account information being included in a pre-stored account list, provide the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet based on the account information (receive account information from the apparatus that responded to the packet through the communication interface, and based on the received account information being included in a pre-stored account list, provide the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet based on the account information) [see Col. 7, Lines 1-10 & Lines 45-60 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230336994 in view of Patent No.: US 12052655 because Patent No.: US 12052655 suggests that this application provides an IoT device and an IoT device authorization method, to ensure security, further provide convenience, and simplify a user operation.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20230336994 teaches a controlling method of an electronic device , the controlling method comprising:
based on occurrence of an event in which control information allowing control (authorized to use the IoT device 200) over a target apparatus (IoT device 300 is an IoT lamp ) [see Paragraph 0077 ] be provided , identify the target apparatus (IoT device 300) among at least one external apparatus connected with the electronic apparatus (the second electronic device 300 ) [see Paragraph 0077 ] ,
transmit a packet, in association with providing the control information (control instruction ) [see Paragraphs 0079-0080 and TABLE 1 ] , through the communication interface [see Paragraphs 0079-0080 and TABLE 1 ] ,
receive identification information (the Device Identifier of an IoT device) [see Table 1 ] , from an apparatus (the server 400 ) [see Table 1 ] that responds to the packet, through the communication interface, and
based on the received identification information(the Device Identifier of an IoT device) [see Table 1 ] from the apparatus ( the server 400 ) being included in stored identification information [see Table 1 ] (Device Identifier of an IoT device, Identifier of control device, Identifier of a shared control device ) , provide the control information (control information, control instruction for controlling the IoT device 300 ) [see Paragraph 0079 ] allowing control over the target apparatus (Device identifier of an IoT device ) to the apparatus.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach pre-stored identification information.
Patent No.: US 12052655, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches based on the received identification information (SSID of IOT device) [see Col. 5, Lines 23-65 ] [see Col. 4, Lines 35-45 ] from the apparatus being included in pre-stored identification information ( pre-stored password) [see col. 5, Lines 25-35] ( pre-stored account list ) [see Col. 7, lines 40-60 ] , provide the control information allowing control over the target apparatus ( Target IOT device ) [see the col. 7, lines 25-65 ] to the apparatus.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230336994 in view of Patent No.: US 12052655 because Patent No.: US 12052655 suggests that this application provides an IoT device and an IoT device authorization method, to ensure security, further provide convenience, and simplify a user operation.
However, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 do not explicitly teach broadcast a packet with providing the control information.
US 20240214379, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches broadcast a packet, in association with providing the control information (control connection request ) , through the communication interface, receive identification information ( Target Device Identifier from the Connection response information) , from an apparatus that responds to the packet, through the communication interface [see Paragraphs 0184 – 0185]
( [0184] As an example, the second Internet of Things device may transmit a multicast or broadcast packet by means of a multicast packet or the like within a local area network, so as to transmit a control connection request to the first Internet of Things device, where the control connection request includes a second system identification being a device identification of an Internet of things system to which the second Internet of Things device belongs, and a format of the packet is agreed in advance. Accordingly, the first Internet of Things device can obtain the control connection request of the second Internet of Things device. If the second system identification matches the target system identification, the first Internet of Things device may further establish a control connection relationship with the second Internet of Things device based on the target device identification, the object identification, and the connection key information. Specifically, the step of “establishing a control connection relationship with the second Internet of Things device based on the target device identification, the object identification, and the connection key information” may include: [0185] generating device connection response information of the device connection request, where the device connection response information comprises the target device identification ) [see Paragraphs 0184 -0185] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655), and further in view of US 20240214379 because US 20240214379 suggests that if it is expected to implement the interconnection and intercommunication across Internet of Things systems, for example, when an Internet of Things device is controlled by a hub node of a different Internet of Things system than an Internet of Things system to which the Internet of Things device belongs, a relatively high cost is required, so that the interconnection and intercommunication between the hub device and the Internet of Things device still needs to be improved in an application scenario across the Internet of Things systems.
Regarding the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 4 above.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan ( US 20230336994, hereinafter, Gan’s 994) in view Luo ( Patent No.: US 12052655, hereinafter, Luo’s 655 ), and further in view of of LI ( US 20240214379, hereinafter, LI’s 379), and further in view of Song et al. ( US 20230155903, hereinafter, Song’s 903 ).
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach wherein the event is a user input requesting the control information, and the at least one processor is configured to: broadcast the packet by using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication through the communication interface.
US 20230155903, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the event is a user input requesting the control information, and the at least one processor is configured to: broadcast the packet by using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication through the communication interface [see Paragraph 0200] ([0200] The visitor's mobile device (100) may first recognize an encountered site using a BLE beacon. Along with a site identifier, the beacon may broadcast a short-lived toke).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379), and further in view of US 20230155903 because US 20230155903 suggests that to solve such problems as above, an object of the present disclosure is to provide a system for social control and use of IoT devices.
Regarding to the claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan ( US 20230336994, hereinafter, Gan’s 994) in view Luo ( Patent No.: US 12052655, hereinafter, Luo’s 655 ), and further in view of of LI ( US 20240214379, hereinafter, LI’s 379), and further in view of CHOI ( US 20200301720, hereinafter, CHOI’s 720 ).
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 5 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach provide the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet based on the temporary account information.
US 20200301720, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches based on the received account information not being included in the pre-stored account list, generate temporary account information, and provide the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet based on the temporary account information [see Figure 10 and Paragraphs 0147-0149].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379), and further in view of US 20200301720 because US 20200301720 suggests that Account-related information about the external electronic device is received from the server. An account of the external electronic device is logged into based on the account-related information. A configuration of the electronic device is changed while logged into the account of the external electronic device.
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20230155903 teach the limitations of the claim 5 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate the temporary account information based on a contact number obtained through the identification information received from the apparatus that responded to the packet.
US 20200301720, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate the temporary account information based on a contact number obtained through the identification information received from the apparatus that responded to the packet (wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate the temporary account information based on a contact number obtained through the identification information received from the apparatus that responded to the packet ) [see Figure 10 and Paragraphs 0147-0149].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379), and further in view of US 20200301720 because US 20200301720 suggests that Account-related information about the external electronic device is received from the server. An account of the external electronic device is logged into based on the account-related information. A configuration of the electronic device is changed while logged into the account of the external electronic device.
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 5 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach update the account information received from the apparatus such that the control information for the target apparatus is added to the account information.
US 20200301720, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches update the account information received from the apparatus such that the control information for the target apparatus is added to the account information ( update the account information received from the apparatus such that the control information for the target apparatus is added to the account information) [see Paragraph 0188].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379), and further in view of US 20200301720 because US 20200301720 suggests that Account-related information about the external electronic device is received from the server. An account of the external electronic device is logged into based on the account-related information. A configuration of the electronic device is changed while logged into the account of the external electronic device.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan ( US 20230336994, hereinafter, Gan’s 994) in view Luo ( Patent No.: US 12052655, hereinafter, Luo’s 655 ), and further in view of of LI ( US 20240214379, hereinafter, LI’s 379), and further in view of LUO ( US 20220159559, hereinafter, LUO’s 559).
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach based on the event being receiving a user input to provide the control information, control to maintain a state for providing the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet during a predetermined time, and wherein the control information is no longer provided, based on the predetermined time passing, to the apparatus that responded to the packet.
US 20220159559, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches based on the event being receiving a user input to provide the control information, control to maintain a state for providing the control information to the apparatus that responded to the packet during a predetermined time, and wherein the control information is no longer provided, based on the predetermined time passing, to the apparatus that responded to the packet [see Paragraph 0046].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379), and further in view of US 20220159559 because US 20220159559 suggests that there is a need to develop a distribution control method, system, devices and storage medium for IOT networks which may resolve the above-mentioned problems.
Regarding to the claim 10, US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230336994 does not explicitly teach obtain signal strength of the at least one external apparatus connected with the electronic apparatus, respectively, and based on the signal strength, of an external apparatus among the at least one external apparatus, being greater than or equal to a threshold value, identify the external apparatus as the target apparatus.
US 20220159559, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches obtain signal strength of the at least one external apparatus connected with the electronic apparatus, respectively, and based on the signal strength, of an external apparatus among the at least one external apparatus, being greater than or equal to a threshold value, identify the external apparatus as the target apparatus [see Paragraph 0048]
([0048] In this variation of the present invention, more than one criterion may be sequentially applied to the SSID candidates in the SSID target set so as to choose the best available SSID for connecting to the IOT participating device. For example, when the first performance parameter is set as signal strength and the second performance parameter is set as the number of connected IOT participating devices, the first criterion may be set as the SSID having a threshold signal strength, while the second criterion may be set as the SSID having the smallest number of connected IOT participating devices. In this scenario, the first criterion and the second criterion may be sequentially applied to the SSID candidates so that the first criterion selects those SSID candidates reaching the threshold signal strength, while the second criterion selects those SSID which has fulfilled the first criterion, and which connect to the smallest number of IOT participating devices. These selection procedures ensure that the IOT participating device will be connected to a SSID which has acceptable signal strength and which has connected to the smallest number of other IOT participating device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230336994 and Patent No.: US 12052655 and US 20240214379), and further in view of US 20220159559 because US 20220159559 suggests that there is a need to develop a distribution control method, system, devices and storage medium for IOT networks which may resolve the above-mentioned problems.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412