Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/18/25 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement. Examiner has also considered the references cited on the Third-Party Submission Under 37 CFR 1.290.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second end of the mounting post including both a picatinny rail mounting system and a hook and loop strap, as currently required by claim 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). See paragraph 5 below. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 16 is objected to because the second to last line should read “to contact” instead of “to contract”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6-8, claim 6 recites “an angled protrusion” while claim 1, from which claim 6 ultimately depends, also recites “an angled protrusion”. As currently claimed it is not clear if these are the same protrusions or separate protrusions. Claim 7 and 8 then go on to recite “the angle protrusion” where, again, it seems two have been set forth. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that these protrusions are one in the same.
Regarding claim 10, as it currently depends from claim 9, it seems to currently require the second end of the mounting post to include both a picatinny rail mounting system (claim 9) and a hook and loop strap (claim 10) at the same time. The specification seems clear that these are features of two separate embodiments (see paragraphs [0075]-[0077] and [0081]). As such, the actual scope of the claim is unclear. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that these are in fact separate embodiments as Applicant has neither shown (see paragraph 3 above) nor described them being within the same embodiment. It is also assumed that claim 10 should in fact depend from claim 1 instead of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-8, 11-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bow Spider Packing System - ATA 2020 (hereafter referred to as Bow Spider).
Regarding claim 1, Bow Spider discloses an equipment retention system, comprising: a receiver (R below) including a first component (back half portion) and a second component (front half portion) secured (via fasteners F) to the first component; and a mounting post (MP below) having a first end and a second end, the mounting post selectively engaged with the receiver via the first end and fixedly secured to an object (bow, object currently being claimed in combination due to positively structural recitation “secured to”) via the second, opposite, end; wherein the receiver defines a substantially Y-shaped opening (Y below) configured to selectively receive the first end of the mounting post; and wherein, upon insertion of the first end of the mounting post into the Y-shaped opening, the mounting post is locked within the Y-shaped opening (see “gravity locking system” from 0:10-0:16 and 1:10-1:16 in video) via engagement between a head (H below) of the mounting post and an angled protrusion (AP below) extending away from a surface of the second component of the receiver.
Regarding claim 2, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 1, wherein the Y-shaped opening includes a chamfered edge (CE above) to guide the first end of the mounting post into the Y-shaped opening.
Regarding claim 3, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 2, wherein the Y-shaped opening includes a U-shaped slot (U above) to receive the first end of the mounting post.
Regarding claim 4, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 1, wherein the receiver includes a slot (S above) to permit the insertion of a strap (strap not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “to permit”) through the receiver.
Regarding claim 5, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 3, wherein the U-shaped slot includes an exterior wall (that which includes AP above) to retain the first end of the mounting post (see “gravity locking system” from 0:10-0:16 and 1:10-1:16 in video).
Regarding claim 6, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 5, wherein the exterior wall defines a stepped profile, with an angled protrusion (AP above) configured to retain the first end of the mounting post within the receiver (see “gravity locking system” from 0:10-0:16 and 1:10-1:16 in video).
Regarding claim 7, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 6, wherein rotation of the mounting post in a first direction (hanging under the weight of the bow, see position X above) locks the mounting post within the receiver via contact between the first end of the mounting post and the angled protrusion.
Regarding claim 8, Spider Mount discloses the equipment retention system of claim 7, wherein rotation of the mounting post in a second direction (rotating the top of the bow toward the user, see position Z above) unlocks the mounting post from the receiver and reduces contact between the first end of the mounting post and the angled protrusion.
Regarding claim 11, Spider Mount discloses a method of using an equipment retention system, the method comprising: arranging a head of a mounting post (MP above) within a gap (Y above) defined by a receiver (R above), with the head (H above) of the mounting post positioned below an angled portion (AP above) of the gap of the receiver; releasing the mounting post to permit rotation of the head the mounting post within the gap of the receiver in a first direction to move the mounting post into a first position (when in position X above); and preventing removal of the mounting post from the gap of the receiver via contact between the head of the mounting post and the angled portion of the gap of the receiver when in the first position (see user jumping from 0:11-0:14 in video where the head stays in place within the slot due to gravity and the angled portion).
Regarding claim 12, Spider Mount discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: rotating the mounting post in a second direction (to position Z above) to move the mounting post into a second position; when the mounting post is in the second position, moving the head of the mounting post out of contact with the angled portion of the gap of the receiver; and permitting removal of the mounting post from the gap of the receiver when in the second position.
Regarding claim 13, Spider Mount discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the receiver defines a substantially Y-shaped opening (Y above) configured to selectively receive the first end of the mounting post.
Regarding claim 16, Spider Mount disclose an equipment retention system, comprising: a mounting post (MP above), including: a head (H above) defining a first end; a neck (secured within the thickness of Y above) secured to and extending away from the head; and a body (widest part of MP above) secured to and extending from the neck, the body defining a second end configured to retain an object (object not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to retain); and a receiver (R above), the receiver to selectively receive and retain the mounting post, the receiver including: a first component (back half portion); and a second component (front half portion) secured (via fasteners F) to the first component, the first component and the second component together defining a gap (Y above) to receive the head of the mounting post, and the second component defining a chamfered edge (CE above) to guide the mounting post into the gap; wherein the second component includes a stepped inner surface having an angled protrusion (AP above) extending within the gap, towards the first component, the angled protrusion to contact the head of the mounting post to selectively retain the mounting post within the gap (when in position X above, see “gravity locking system” from 0:10-0:16 and 1:10-1:16 in video).
Regarding claim 17, Bow Spider discloses the equipment retention system of claim 16, wherein the object is one of: an archery bow; a crossbow; a firearm; or an optic. The object is still not being claimed in combination but Bow Spider shows a bow.
Regarding claim 18, Bow Spider discloses the equipment retention system of claim 16, wherein the head defines a first diameter (caught behind the slot, wider than the slot), the neck defines a second diameter (to fit within the slot, narrower than the slot), and the body defines a third diameter (outside of the receiver, also wider than the slot), and wherein the second diameter of the neck is smaller than the first diameter of the head and the third diameter of the body.
Regarding claim 19, Bow Spider discloses the equipment retention system of claim 18, wherein, when the head is positioned within the gap, the neck extends through a U-shaped slot (U above) within the second component, with the head preventing movement of the mounting post in a first direction (perpendicular to the length of the slot).
Regarding claim 20, Bow Spider discloses the equipment retention system of claim 19, wherein, when the head is positioned within the gap, contact between the head and the angled protrusion (in position X above) prevents movement of the mounting post in a second direction (see user jumping from 0:11-0:14 in video where the head stays in place within the slot due to gravity and the angled portion), when the mounting post is in a first position; and when the head is positioned within the gap, rotation of the mounting post into a second position (Z above) reduces contact between the head and the angled protrusion to permit movement of the mounting post in the second direction, but not the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bow Spider Packing System - ATA 2020 (hereafter referred to as Bow Spider) as applied above in view of Swan (US 8,166,694 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Bow Spider discloses the equipment retention system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a second end of the mounting post includes a picatinny rail mounting system.
Regarding claim 14, Bow Spider discloses the method of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein a second end of the mounting post includes a picatinny rail mounting system.
Swan teaches that it was also known in the art for a mounting post (217) like that of Bow Spider to include a second end with a picatinny rail mounting system (216) in order to mount to the rail of an assault rifle (see col. 4 lines 2-10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the second end of the Bow Spider mounting post with a picatinny rail mounting system, the motivation being to allow a user to mount an assault rifle instead of a bow, where Swan teaches that such use was already known in the art.
11. Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bow Spider Packing System - ATA 2020 (hereafter referred to as Bow Spider) as applied above in view of Ray (US 10,378,855 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Bow Spider discloses the equipment retention system of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein a second end of the mounting post includes a hook and loop strap.
Regarding claim 15, Bow Spider discloses the method of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein a second end of the mounting post includes a hook and loop strap.
Ray teaches that it was also known in the art for a mounting post (106) like that of Bow Spider to include a second end with a hook and loop strap (102 - see “Velcro” in col. 3 lines 50-60) in order to mount to the stock of a firearm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the second end of the Bow Spider mounting post with a hook and loop strap, the motivation being to allow a user to mount to the stock of a firearm, where Ray teaches that such use was already known in the art.
Conclusion
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 3/3/26