DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-11 have been examined in this application filed on or after March 16, 2013, and are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This communication is the First Office Action on the Merits.
Key to Interpreting this Office Action
For readability, all claim language has been bolded. Citations from prior art are provided at the end of each limitation in parenthesis. Any further explanations that were deemed necessary the by Examiner are provided at the end of each claim limitation. The Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner directly if there are any questions or concerns regarding the current Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an actuating element in claim 1, interpreted as actuating element 14, which is designed as an accelerator pedal.
MPEP § 2181, I. A. provides a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Mass. Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Note that there is no fixed list of generic placeholders that always result in 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, and likewise there is no fixed list of words that always avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. Every case will turn on its own unique set of facts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 20180244158 A1) herein Komatsu, in view of Ganley et al. (US 20120109479 A1) herein Ganley.
In regards to Claim 1, Komatsu discloses the following:
1. A method for operating a motor vehicle, which includes a drive system including an electric drive machine, (see at least Abstract “electric vehicle” and Fig. 1, item 4) a friction braking system, (see at least Fig. 1, item 12 and [0032]-[0035] “friction brake 12”) and an actuating element, (see at least [0026] “accelerator pedal”) the actuating element being continuously movable between a first end state and a second end state, a position of the actuating element in the first end state corresponding to a percentage value of 0%, and the position of the actuating element in the second end state corresponding to a percentage value of 100%, (limitations in the preamble, no patentable weight given)
Examiner Note: Applicant is reminded that a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). See also MPEP 2111.02 (II).
Komatsu discloses the following:
the method comprising the following steps:
predefining an acceleration torque for the motor vehicle when the position of the actuating element has a percentage value that is greater than a predefined threshold value; (see at least Fig. 2, step 201 and [0037] “In Step S201, signals indicating the vehicle states are input to the motor controller 2… [including] the accelerator position θ (%)”, and Fig. 3 “Motor Torque” vs. “pedal position”, wherein each of pedal positions 2/8-8/8 provide a predefined positive motor torque that inherently provides acceleration.)
predefining a deceleration torque for the motor vehicle when the position of the actuating element has a percentage value that is less than the threshold value; (see at least Fig. 2, step 201 and [0037] “In Step S201, signals indicating the vehicle states are input to the motor controller 2… [including] the accelerator position θ (%)”, and Fig. 3 “Motor Torque” vs. “pedal position”, wherein pedal positions 1/8-0/8 provide a predefined negative motor torque that inherently provides deceleration.)
and activating the friction braking system in such a way that the friction braking system generates, at least partially, the predefined deceleration torque, (see at least [0034] “friction-braking-amount controller to generate the brake fluid pressure according to the friction-braking-amount command value, which is generated by the motor controller 2.”, and Fig. 8, steps S804, S806 and [0127] “when the motor rotation speed ωm becomes almost 0, the control device performs the control such that the friction-braking-amount command value with respect to the friction brakes 12 converges to a value determined on the basis of the disturbance torque estimated value T.sub.d, and causes the motor torque command value to converge to almost 0.”)
wherein: a minimum value is predefined for the deceleration torque, (see at least Fig. 3 “Motor Torque” vs. “pedal position”, wherein pedal positions 1/8-0/8 provide a predefined negative motor torque and associated acceleration for a given motor rotation speed.)
It is noted that Komatsu Fig. 3 does not explicitly describe the predefined deceleration torque of accelerator positions of 1/8 and 0/8 as a “minimum” torque. However, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of a “minimum” only requires that the control scheme include a pre-established lower-bound deceleration torque value within the set of deceleration torque values that may be commanded when deceleration torque is being redefined. The claim does not recite any particular mechanism by which the minimum is established, nor does it require that the controller perform any explicit limiting step beyond predefining the minimum. Further, Komatsu inherently includes the functionality of both a “minimum” and a “maximum” torque with the torque settings of Fig. 3. i.e. if the motor torque of Komatsu deviates below the set torque, the control logic of Komatsu inherently increased the torque output to compensate. Accordingly, the torque setting of Komatsu inherently includes both a minimum and maximum, according to the BRI of the claim.
In the alternative, this limitation is more explicitly taught by Ganley. (see at least Fig. 4, and [0017] “minimum output torque (To_min) 35, and a minimum output torque during regenerative braking (To_min_regen) 37”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ganley with the invention of Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of securing the torque commands generated so that they are within a calculated range of the net torque request 31 during ongoing operation, (Ganley, [0044]) and/or with the motivation of ensuring a smooth deceleration without vibration. (Komatsu, [0004])
Komatsu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Ganley:
and a base deceleration torque is generated by the friction braking system, (see Fig. 3 and [0033] “friction brake torque 27, 28”) a difference between the base deceleration torque and the predefined deceleration torque being compensated for by operating the electric drive machine as a motor or as a generator. (see at least Fig. 3 and [0033] “torque command 25 to control the torque machine 30”, see also [0036] “implementing the torque command 25 in response to the regenerative braking torque request 23 at timestep 309, which includes commanding the torque machine 30 to operate in the electric power-generating mode to react torque in response to the torque command 25. The EBCM 20 begins to reduce the magnitude of the friction braking torque 27 by an amount corresponding to an expected increase in regenerative braking torque associated with the torque command 25.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ganley with the invention of Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of securing the torque commands generated so that they are within a calculated range of the net torque request 31 during ongoing operation, (Ganley, [0044]) and/or with the motivation of ensuring a smooth deceleration without vibration. (Komatsu, [0004])
In regards to Claim 3, Komatsu discloses the following:
3. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the friction braking system is a hydraulic friction braking system, (see at least [0032] “A fluid pressure sensor 10 detects a brake fluid pressure of friction brakes 12.”)
Komatsu does not explicitly disclose the following, which is taught by Ganley:
and wherein, in the activating step, the friction braking system generates completely the predefined deceleration torque. (see at least Fig. 3 and [0033] “The EBCM 20 commands a magnitude of friction braking torque 27 equal to the braking torque request 13 at subsequent timestep 305 in response to the braking torque request 13.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ganley with the invention of Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of reducing braking delays caused by latencies associated with communications between the controller and the electric machine, (Ganley, [0033]) and/or with the motivation of ensuring a smooth deceleration without vibration. (Komatsu, [0004])
In regards to Claim 4, Komatsu discloses the following:
4. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the electric drive machine of the drive system is operated as a generator for generating the predefined deceleration torque in such a way that the drive machine generates at least partially the predefined deceleration torque. (see at least previous citations to Fig. 3 and [0045])
In regards to Claim 5, Komatsu discloses the following:
5. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein a relative speed of the motor vehicle to ground is detected, and the predefined deceleration torque is changed as a function of the detected relative speed. (see at least [0038] “vehicle speed V (kin/h) is obtained”, [0040] “rotator phase a (rad) of the motor 4 is obtained from the rotation sensor 6.” and Fig. 3)
In regards to Claim 9, Komatsu discloses the following:
9. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the deceleration torque is predefined as a function of a previously stored characteristic curve. (see at least Fig. 3)
In regards to Claim 10, Komatsu discloses the following:
10. The method as recited in claim 9, wherein the characteristic curve exhibits a slope, which becomes greater and/or smaller with decreasing relative speed. (see at least Fig. 3)
In regards to Claim 11, Komatsu discloses the following:
11. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the motor vehicle is decelerated to a standstill by the predefined deceleration torque. (see at least [0014] “slow and/or stop the vehicle 100”)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Ganley, and further in view of Headlee et al. (US 20100125398 A1) herein Headlee.
In regards to Claim 2, Komatsu is silent, but Headlee teaches the following:
2. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the friction braking system is one of an electromotive friction braking system and a pneumatic friction braking system. (see at least [0013] “pneumatic brake actuation system”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Headlee with the invention of Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing friction service brake operation to any wheels not supplying the target level of braking torque when regenerative braking proves insufficient to meet braking target levels, (Headlee, [0006]) particularly during emergency braking. (Headlee, [0017])
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu in view of Ganley, and further in view of Osborn et al. (US 20070182243 A1) herein Osborn.
In regards to Claim 6, Komatsu is silent, but Osborn teaches the following:
6. The method as recited in claim 5, wherein the predefined deceleration torque is reduced with a reduction of the relative speed. (see at least [0009] “Braking pressure to the vehicle actuators is reduced as a function of vehicle speed”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Osborn with the invention of Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of preventing a sudden jolt or jerk stop that is displeasing to passengers traveling in a vehicle. (Osborn, [0007])
In regards to Claim 7, Komatsu is silent, but Osborn teaches the following:
7. The method as recited in claim 6, wherein a first threshold speed is predefined, the predefined deceleration torque being reduced only when the detected relative speed is less than the first threshold speed. (see at least Fig. 2, steps 46 and 53)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Osborn with the invention of Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of preventing a sudden jolt or jerk stop that is displeasing to passengers traveling in a vehicle. (Osborn, [0007])
In regards to Claim 8, Komatsu suggests the following:
8. The method as recited in claim 7, wherein a second threshold speed is predefined, which is greater than the first threshold speed, the predefined deceleration torque being increased with the reduction of the relative speed when a relative speed is detected, which is greater than the first threshold speed and less than the second threshold speed. (see at least Fig. 3, inherent)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jason Roberson, whose telephone number is (571) 272-7793. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday thru Friday between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM. The examiner may also be reached through e-mail at Jason.Roberson@USPTO.GOV, or via FAX at (571) 273-7793. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Navid Z Mehdizadeh can be reached on (571)-272-7691.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patient Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the PAIR system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAX. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have any questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule either an in-person or a telephone interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/JASON R ROBERSON/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
December 19, 2025
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669