CTNF 18/893,237 CTNF 91981 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The IDS filed to date have been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Son (US 20160161720) herein after referred to as D1 . With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a lens module (100), in at least (fig. 1) comprising: a first lens (110) having a refractive power (Fig. 4); a second lens (120) having positive refractive power (Fig. 4); a third lens (130) having a refractive power (Fig. 4); a fourth lens (140) having a refractive power (Fig. 4); and a fifth lens (150) having a convex object-side surface (150 has convex center portion on object side), wherein the first (110) to fifth lenses (150) are sequentially arranged in ascending numerical order (110-150) from an object side (left side) of the lens module (100) toward an image side (right side) of the lens module (100), and wherein a radius of curvature (fig. 4) of an image-side surface of the third lens (130) is greater than a radius of curvature (fig. 4) of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (140) (Fig. 4; -3.7754 > -154.5710). With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the first lens (110) has a convex object-side surface (110, left side). With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the second lens (120) has a convex object-side surface (120, left side). With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the fourth lens (140) has a concave object-side surface (140, left side). With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the fifth lens (150) has a convex object-side surface (150, left side). With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the fifth lens (150) has an inflection point formed on an image-side surface thereof (150, inflection on right side). With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches a lens module (100) comprising: a first lens (110) having a refractive power (Fig. 4); a second lens (120) having a refractive power (Fig. 4); a third lens (130)having a refractive power (Fig. 4); a fourth lens (140)having a refractive power (Fig. 4); and a fifth lens (150) having negative refractive power (Fig. 4) and a convex object-side surface, wherein the first to fifth lens (150)es are sequentially arranged in ascending numerical order from an object side of the lens module (100) toward an image side of the lens module (100), and wherein a focal length of the lens module (100) is within a range of 2 . 8 mm to 3 . 7 mm (Fig. 4; F = 3.24). With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the first lens (110) has a convex object-side surface (110, left side). With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the second lens (120) has a convex object-side surface (120, left side). With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the third lens (130) has a concave object-side surface (140, left side). With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the fourth lens (140) has a concave object-side surface (140, left side). With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a lens module (100), in at least one of (fig. 1-5); wherein the fifth lens (150) has a convex object-side surface (150, left side). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GRANT A GAGNON whose telephone number is (571)270-0642. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bumsuk Won can be reached at (571) 272-2713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/893,237 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/893,237 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/893,237 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/893,237 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/893,237 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/893,237 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872