DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment dated July 10, 2026. Currently, claims 1-11 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard ( US Patent No 4,957,251) in view of Mori et al. (US Patent No 3,862,691) (“Mori”).
Referring to claim 1: Hubbard teaches a support member comprising: a central member (item 28) and a side member (item 29) arranged transverse to each other; the central member defining a first aperture (item 30) through which an elongate suspension article can be inserted when the support member is in a first orientation; and the side member defining a second aperture (item 30) through which the suspension article can be inserted when the support member is in a second orientation, wherein the first and second apertures are slots. Hubbard does not teach each slot having narrow opposite end regions and a wider inner region. However Mori teaches each slot having narrow opposite end regions and a wider inner region (item 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Hubbard with the slot characteristics taught by Mori in order to allow for attachment of additional devices such as the ones of Mori.
Referring to claim 2: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein the central member is elongate, having a longitudinally extending axis, and wherein the side member is elongate, having a longitudinally extending axis, the first and second apertures extending across the respective central and side members, transverse to the longitudinal axes of the respective central and side members (figures 3 and 4).
Referring to claim 3: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein the central member has opposite end regions, and defines two of the first apertures, the two first apertures being defined at respective opposite ends of the central member (figure 6).
Referring to claim 4: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 3 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein the side member has opposite end regions, the side member defining two of the second apertures, the two second apertures being defined at respective opposite ends of the side member (figure 6).
Referring to claim 5: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein the support member has two of the side members, each side member extending from a respective opposite edge of the central member, each side member defining a respective second aperture, both of the side members extending in the same direction from the central member, whereby the support member has a substantially U shaped configuration (figures 3 and 4).
Referring to claim 6: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein each side member defines two of the second apertures, the second apertures being defined at opposite ends of the respective side member (figures 3, 4, and 6).
Referring to claim 8: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein the support member defines two of the apertures, and the support member comprises a spacer portion between the two apertures (figure 6, space between apertures).
Referring to claim 9: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 8 as noted above. Hubbard does not specifically teach wherein opposite end regions of the support member extend from the apertures, the end regions being configured to support articles, the spacer portion spacing the apertures from each other by a distance to prevent interference between the articles on each end region. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to recognize that any location on the support member would be configured to support articles.
Referring to claim 10: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein the support member is elongate, having a longitudinal axis, and the, or each, aperture extends transverse to the longitudinal axis of the support member (figure 6).
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubbard in view of Mori and Zhang et al. (US Patent No 9,458,952) (“Zhang”).
Referring to claim 7: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Hubbard teaches wherein each side member has an elongate free edge spaced from the central member (figures 3 and 4). Hubbard does not teach the free edge of each side member comprising a respective inwardly extending return portion, and each of the return portions extending along the respective free edge. However, Zhang teaches the free edge of each side member comprising a respective inwardly extending return portion (item 13), and each of the return portions extending along the respective free edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Hubbard and Mori with the return portions taught by Zhang in order to prevent injuries on a shark corner and to add strength to the side members to prevent bending.
Referring to claim 11: Hubbard and Mori teach all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Hubbard does not teach wherein the support member is elongate, having a longitudinal axis, and the, or each, aperture extends along the longitudinal axis of the support member. However, Zhang teaches wherein the support member is elongate, having a longitudinal axis, and the, or each, aperture (item 50) extends along the longitudinal axis of the support member (figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Hubbard and orient the apertures taught by Zhang in order to allow for lateral adjustability along the support member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new amendments are met with the newly applied Mori reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635