DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: "communication unit" and "attachment tool" in Claim 1.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 5, 8-9, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All the claimsThe “communication unit” could be a mobile device or a radio or a computer device that could be held by the operator and set on a holder. There is no evidence that the “communication unit” is in possession of the Applicant.
Claim limitation “communication unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. As mentioned in the previous rejection, the term “communication unit” is not adequately defined and does not provide the entire structure needed for performing the entire claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai et al. (JP 2021150509 B1).
Re Claim 1, Arai et al. disclose,
a working machine (Fig. 1: 1; Para 0008) comprising:
a machine body (Fig. 1: 2; Para 0008);
a seat on the machine body (Fig. 2: 6; Para 0014);
a console (Fig. 2: 44R; Para 0015) located outward of the seat in a machine-body width direction;
a meter provided at a front portion of the console (Fig. 4: as seen annotated; Para 0017);
a communication unit (Fig. 4: as seen annotated; Para 0020) located forward of the meter; and
a unit support (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to support the communication unit, wherein the unit support includes a unit bracket (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to which the communication unit is attached,
a support bracket (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) located outward of the meter in the machine-body width direction and attached directly or indirectly to the machine body, and an attachment tool (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to attach the unit bracket to the support bracket,
the unit bracket includes an attached section (Fig. 4: as seen annotated),
the support bracket includes an attaching section (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) with which the attached section overlaps in the machine-body width direction, and
the attachment tool is configured to attach the attached section to the attaching section in the machine-body width direction (Fig. 4: as seen annotated).
Re Claim 5, Arai et al. discloses:
the communication unit (Fig. 4: as seen annotated; Para 0020) includes an information processing device (Fig. 4: 59; Para 0020) and a communication device (Fig. 4: 60; Para 0020) to receive data from and transmit data to the information processing device, the communication device containing a communication antenna (Fig. 14: 92; Para 0037) and configured to transmit data,
the information processing device is located on a back side of the communication device (as seen in Fig. 4) and includes, at a lower side thereof, a connection portion (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to have a harness (Fig. 7: 64) connected thereto, and
the unit bracket includes a guard member (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to guard the harness connected to the connection portion from below.
Figure 4 of Arai et al. (JP 2021150509 B1)
Re Claim 4, Arai et al. discloses:
a controller (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) located outward of the meter in the machine-body width direction; and
a controller support (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) attached directly or indirectly to the machine body to support the controller, wherein
the support bracket is attached on the controller support along a front-rear direction (Fig. 4: as seen annotated), and
the controller support includes a constituent portion (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) including an upper surface (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) extending below the attaching section and the attached section and extending diagonally forward and downward (the diagonally extended portion is not clearly visible in Fig. 4 as it is in Fig. 5 of Arai et al.).
Re Claim 5, Arai et al. discloses:
the communication unit (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) includes an information processing device (Fig. 4: 59) and a communication device (Fig. 4: 60) to receive data from and transmit data to the information processing device, the communication device containing a communication antenna (Fig. 14: 92; Para 0037) and configured to transmit data,
the information processing device is located on a back side of the communication device and includes, at a lower side thereof, a connection portion (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to have a harness (Fig. 7:64) connected thereto, and the unit bracket includes a guard member (Fig. 4: as seen annotated) to guard the harness connected to the connection portion from below.
Re Claim 6, Arai et al. discloses:
a pedal member (Fig. 2: 50) to be depressed by a user seated on the seat is located below the guard member (In the annotated Fig. 4, the pedal member would be located below the guard member).
Re Claim 9, Arai et al. discloses:
A working machine (Fig. 1: 1; Para 0008) comprising:
a machine body (Fig. 1: 2; Para 0008);
a seat (Fig. 2: 6; Para 0014) on the machine body;
a console (Fig. 5: as seen annotated; Para 0015) located at one side of the seat;
a communication unit (Fig. 5: as seen annotated; Para 0020);
a unit bracket (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) to which the communication unit is attached;
a support bracket (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) vertically provided directly or indirectly on the machine body to support the console; and
an attachment bracket (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) provided at the support bracket to attach the unit bracket, wherein
the communication unit includes an information processing device (Fig. 5: 59; Para 0020) and a communication device (Fig. 5: 60; Para 0020) to receive data from and transmit data to the information processing device, the communication device containing a communication antenna (Fig. 14: 92; Para 0037) and configured to transmit data,
the information processing device and the communication device are arranged in a front-rear direction (as seen in Fig. 5), and
the communication device includes an electronic substrate (Fig. 14: 91; Para 0037) with the communication antenna attached on an obverse side thereof, and a case (Fig. 11: 72; Para 0027, 0037) to house the electronic substrate such that the obverse side faces in the same direction as a device front surface (Fig. 5: as seen annotated; Para 0026-0027) of the communication device, and the device front surface is positioned to face a space above a floor portion (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) located forward of the seat.
Re Claim 10, Arai et al. discloses:
the unit bracket includes an attachment member (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) attached to the attachment bracket, a vertical member (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) extending in an up-down direction and including an upper portion to which the attachment member is fixed, a first bracket member (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) fixed forward of the vertical member, and a second bracket member (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) fixed rearward of the vertical member, and
one of the information processing device and the communication device is attached to the first bracket member, and the other of the information processing device and the communication device is attached to the second bracket member (Fig. 5: as seen annotated).
Re Claim 11, Arai et al. discloses:
the attachment bracket is provided at an upper portion of the support bracket (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) such that the attachment bracket protrudes sideways from the support bracket away from the seat, and includes an attachment wall (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) including an attachment surface (Fig. 5: as seen annotated) facing in the up-down direction, and
the attachment member is attached to the attachment wall such that the attachment member and the attachment wall overlap each other in the up-down direction (Fig. 5: as seen annotated).
Re Claim 14, Arai et al. discloses:
a harness (Fig. 7: 64) connected to the communication unit (as seen in Fig. 7); and
a cover member (as seen annotated in Fig. 5) attached to the support bracket to cover a side of the harness that faces the seat.
Figure 5 of Arai et al. (JP 2021150509 B1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (JP 2021150509 B1) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Nishigori et al. (JP 6946172 B2).
Re Claim 15, Arai et al. discloses a working machine that includes a machine body, a seat, a console located at sideward of the seat, and a communication unit that comprises an information processing device, a communication device, and a communication antenna configured to transmit data.
But Arai et al. does not explicitly disclose that the seat is provided at a position deviated from the center of the machine body, or that the communication unit is located rearward and sideward of the seat, or that the working machine also comprises a prime mover and a hood to cover the prime mover and the communication unit is located above the hood.
However, Nishigori et al. discloses that the seat is located away from the center in the machine-body width direction (as seen in Fig. 2: 6 of Nishigori et al.), and that the communication unit is located rearward and sideward of the seat (as seen annotated in Fig. 6 of Nishigori et al.) and that the working machine further comprises a prime mover in the rear of the machine body and a hood to house the prime mover (as seen annotated in Fig. 6 of Nishigori et al.) and that the communication unit is located above the hood (as seen annotated in Fig. 6 of Nishigori et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the working machine of Arai et al., by orientating the prime mover covered by the hood to be located behind the seat, and the communication unit to be located above the hood and the seat being offset from the center, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the space inside the working machine will be efficiently utilized and the operator of the working machine will experience maximum comfort while operating in such compact spaces.
Re Claim 16, Arai et al. discloses:
a seat protector (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) provided on the machine body;
a unit support (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) to support the communication unit; and
a support frame (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) provided on the machine body to support the hood (as seen annotated in Fig. 15), wherein
the seat protector includes an attachment frame (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) attached to the support frame, and
the unit support includes an attachment member (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) attached to the attachment frame.
Figure 15 of Arai et al. (JP 2021150509 B1)
Re Claim 17, Arai et al. discloses:
the unit support includes a first device bracket (as seen annotated in the magnified Fig. 15 below) to which the communication device is attached with a device front surface (as seen annotated in the magnified Fig. 15 below) of the communication device facing rearward (as seen annotated in the magnified Fig. 15 below), and
a second device bracket (as seen annotated in the magnified Fig. 15 below) to which the information processing device is attached.
Magnified Figure 15 of Arai et al. (JP 2021150509 B1)
Re Claim 19, Arai et al. discloses:
the seat protector (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) is a cabin surrounding the seat, and
the unit support includes a support member (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) attached to a pillar (as seen annotated in Fig. 15) of the cabin.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. and Nishigori et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Miyazaki (US 20170101134 A1).
While Arai et al. and Nishigori et al. disclose the limitations of the independent claim 15, Arai et al. and Nishigori et al. do not disclose a lamp member, a lamp stay and a lamp stay attachment portion.
On the other hand, Miyazaki discloses a lamp member, a lamp stay to which the lamp member is attached, wherein the unit support includes a lamp stay attachment portion to which the lamp stay is attached (Para 0072-0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the working machine, as disclosed by Arai et al. and Nishigori et al., by including a lamp member, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the working machine would be able to indicate visible intent to those outside the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-13, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 2-3 are the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to a pin in combination with a bolt and its position in a bracket. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Arai et al, do not teach or suggest the pin and bolt combination within the bracket as claimed. There is no suggestion or motivation in the prior art to make such a modification to the device of Arai et al.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 7 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to the direction of the arrangement of the attached and attaching section. While the attached and attaching sections along with the attachment tool are met by the prior art of record, the orientation of the bracket is not taught by the art. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Arai et al, do not teach or suggest the orientation of the attaching and attached sections as claimed. There is no suggestion or motivation in the prior art to make such a modification to the device of Arai et al.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 8 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to a harness guide to restrict movement. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Arai et al, do not teach or suggest the harness guide as claimed. There is no suggestion or motivation in the prior art to make such a modification to the device of Arai et al.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 12-13 are the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to a fixing member and a fixing bracket to which the support bracket is attached. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Arai et al, do not teach or suggest the fixing member as claimed. There is no suggestion or motivation in the prior art to make such a modification to the device of Arai et al.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 20 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to grease gun system. While the grease gun system is known in the art, the placement of the system is not known without impermissible hindsight reasoning. The prior arts of record, Arai et al. or Nishigori et al, do not teach or suggest the grease gun system placement as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose a working machine:
Otsu (US 20250347087 A1) disclose a work machine that has a machine body which includes a communication device with an antenna.
Sawayama et a. (EP 4567200 A1) disclose a construction machine that reduces the obstruction of the field of view for an operator.
/JASMINE JAMES THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 15, 2026
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612