DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Claims 15, 17, and 18, the monopodal silane is understood to be mono reactive and the dipodal silane is understood to be dual reactive. The crosswise recitation is unclear as to what type of compound is intended. The scope of the claims is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10, 16, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comeau et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2019/0038940, in view of Lutz et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2003/0004013. As to Claim 1, Comeau teaches a method of forming a golf ball comprising a core (dual core) and disposing a casing (first layer) on the core, paragraph 0055. Given that the casing layer disposed on a core is present, it is inherent that a method comprises the steps of providing the core and disposing the casing layer on the core. The casing layer may be formed from a casing composition comprising carboxyl groups, paragraph 0055, noting ionomer. It is inherent that the casing layer may have a moisture content. Comeau teaches forming a cover (second layer) on the casing layer, paragraph 0058. The cover may be formed from a base polymer (polyurethane) and an adhesion promoter, paragraph 0058. The cover may comprise functional groups, paragraph 0045. Comeau discloses the claimed invention except for applying moisture to the casing layer. Lutz teaches a method for promoting interlayer adhesion, paragraph 0002. An adhesion promoter (silane coupling agent) may be used to promote adhesion between an ionomer layer and a polyurethane layer, paragraph 0082. Crosslinking may be encouraged when reaction occurs in the presence of water, which may be applied to a casing layer (core with optional layers), paragraph 0086. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Comeau with the step of adding water to the casing layer, as taught by Lutz, to provide Comeau with a treated casing layer surface to yield the predictable result of improving crosslinking between the casing layer and cover. As to Claims 2 and 19, Lutz teaches that excess water on the core surface may be removed prior to the crosslinking step, paragraph 0086, indicating that the moisture content on the surface is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to remove excess water, as taught by Lutz, to provide Comeau, as modified, with a suitable moisture content for a crosslinking step. Comeau, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for selecting a range for moisture content of about 0.1 to about 5 percent by weight. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide moisture content within the claimed range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. As to Claims 3 and 20, Lutz teaches that ambient moisture may provide a desirable range of moisture content, paragraph 0086. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Comeau, as modified, with a step of hydrolizing by ambient moisture, as taught by Lutz, as a known alternative method for increasing moisture content. Comeau, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for storing the casing layer at a relative humidity of about 50 to about 100 percent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide moisture content by storing the casing layer at relative humidity within the claimed range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, supra. As to Claims 4 and 21, Lutz teaches applying liquid water to the casing layer, paragraph 0086, noting aqueous bath. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Comeau, as modified, with application of liquid water to the casing layer, as taught by Lutz, to provide Comeau, as modified, with a known substitute step for increasing the moisture content. As to Claim 6, Comeau teaches that the adhesion promoter may comprise organic silane, paragraph 0008, noting organosilane. As to Claims 7 and 8, Comeau, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for specifying dual reactive silane and mono reactive silane. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select dual and/or mono reactive silane, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). As to Claim 9, Comeau teaches that the base polymer may be polyurethane, paragraph and the casing composition may comprise ionomer, paragraph 0054. As to Claim 10, Comeau, as modified by Lutz, is applied as in Claims 1 and 9, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Comeau teaches that the cover may comprise at least one adhesion promoter suggesting that first and second adhesion promoters may be present, paragraph 0058. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide first and second adhesion promoters, as suggested. The examiner finds that treating for a second moisture content may be considered a counterpart to applying moisture. As to Claim 16, Comeau, in view of Lutz, together with cited case law, is applied as in Claims 1 and 10, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 10, 12-16, and 18-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 6, noting hydrolysable. Claims 2-5 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claims 2-5 respectively. Claims 10 and 15 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claims 7 and 8. Claims 10 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 9-11. Claims 12-15 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claims 12-15 respectively. Claim 16 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 16 and 17. Claims 18-21 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claims 18-21 respectively.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 13 August 2026