DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second elastic element” in claims 9 and 19 and the “third elastic element” in claims 10 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng US 11256163 (hereinafter Tseng).
Re. Cl. 1, Tseng discloses: A supporting device (Fig. 2), comprising: a first assembly (2, Fig. 4), the first assembly being configured to be connected to a supported object (12, Fig. 7); a second assembly (3, Fig. 4), the first assembly and the second assembly being configured to mate with each other (see Fig. 2); the first assembly and the second assembly being movable with respect to each other along a mating direction (see Fig. 6, with and against the force of the spring 4) so as to form a changeable clamping space formed between the first assembly and the second assembly (see Fig. 6, between 24 and 34); the clamping space being configured to clamp a target object (see 201, Fig. 1); and a limiting mechanism (31, 202, 32, 4, Fig. 4) configured to make the first assembly and the second assembly in a relatively fixed state so as to securely keep the target object (see Fig. 1, the parts listed above cooperate to hold the first and second assemblies in a relatively fixed state to clamp 201 therebetween).
Re. Cl. 2, Tseng discloses: the first assembly comprises an insertion portion (portion of 2 between 209 and 25/26 which goes into 33 as shown in Figs. 5-6) and a first clamping portion (24, Fig. 4) fixedly connected with the insertion portion (see Fig. 4); and wherein the first clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 4), and a plate surface of the first clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 4-6).
Re. Cl. 3, Tseng discloses: the second assembly comprises a receiving portion (33, Fig. 4) and a second clamping portion (34, Fig. 4) connected with the receiving portion; the receiving portion comprises a first through hole and a side wall surrounding the first through hole (see Fig. 4, curved sidewall and insertion hole where 2 enters); the insertion portion is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from one end of the receiving portion (see Fig. 4-6), so that the first assembly and the second assembly are mated with each other (see Fig. 6); the second clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 4), and a plate surface of the second clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 6); the clamping space is a space located between the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion (see Fig. 6).
Re. Cl. 4, Tseng discloses: the first assembly further comprises a connecting portion (25, 26, 1, 5, 6, Fig. 4) configured to be connected to the supported object (see Fig. 4-7); the connecting portion is fixed to the insertion portion (see Fig. 4, 25/26 are fixed to the portion which enters into 3).
Re. Cl. 5, Tseng discloses: the connecting portion comprises a receiving member (11, 13, Fig. 7), a first connecting piece (25, Fig. 4), a shaft core (111, Fig. 7) and a fastening member (5, Fig. 4); the supported object is configured to be received in the receiving member (see Fig. 7, 12 is received in 11, 13); the receiving member is fixedly connected to the first connecting piece (see Fig. 4-6, via 5, 6); the first connecting piece is screwed on the shaft core by the fastening member (see Fig. 4, 25 is screwed onto 111 by 5); the shaft core is fixedly connected to the insertion portion (see Fig. 4, via 5, 6); and when an external force is applied to the receiving member, the first connecting piece is rotatable relative to the shaft core (see Fig. 4-6, when an external force is applied to 11, it is rotatable so that 25 rotates relative to 111).
Re. Cl. 7, Tseng discloses: the connecting portion comprising a fixing seat (26, Fig. 4) engaging with the shaft core and the shaft core is rotatable with respect to the fixing seat (see Fig. 4-6, rotatable about 6).
Re. Cl. 12, Tseng discloses: A supporting device (Fig. 2), comprising: a first assembly (2, Fig. 4), the first assembly being configured to be connected to a supported object (see 12, Fig. 7); a second assembly (3, Fig. 4), the first assembly is partially inserted in the second assembly (see Fig. 4-6); the first assembly being telescopically movable with respect to the second assembly along a mating direction so as to form a changeable clamping space formed between the first assembly and the second assembly (see Fig. 6, with or against the force of the spring 4); the clamping space being configured to clamp a target object (see Fig. 1, space between 24 and 34 clamps 201); and a limiting mechanism (31, 202, 32, 4, Fig. 4) configured to make the first assembly and the second assembly in a relatively fixed state so as to securely keep the target object (see Fig. 1, the parts listed above cooperate to hold the first and second assemblies in a relatively fixed state to clamp 201 therebetween).
Re. Cl. 13, Tseng discloses: the first assembly comprises an insertion portion (see Fig. 4-6, portion of 2 which goes into 33 of 3) and a first clamping portion (24, Fig. 4) fixedly connected with the insertion portion (see Fig. 4); and wherein the first clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 4), and a plate surface of the first clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 6).
Re. Cl. 14, Tseng discloses: the second assembly comprises a receiving portion (33, Fig. 4) and a second clamping portion (34, Fig. 4) connected with the receiving portion; the receiving portion comprises a first through hole and a side wall surrounding the first through hole (see Fig. 4, curved sidewall and insertion hole where 2 enters); the insertion portion is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from one end of the receiving portion (see Fig. 4-6), so that the first assembly and the second assembly are mated with each other (see Fig. 6); the second clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 4), and a plate surface of the second clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 6); the clamping space is a space located between the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion (see Fig. 6).
Re. Cl. 15, Tseng discloses: the first assembly further comprises a connecting portion (25, 26, 1, 5, 6, Fig. 4) configured to be connected to the supported object (see Fig. 4-7); the connecting portion is fixed to the insertion portion (see Fig. 4, 25/26 are fixed to the portion which enters into 3).
Re. Cl. 16, Tseng discloses: the connecting portion comprises a receiving member (11, 13, Fig. 7), a first connecting piece (25, Fig. 4), a shaft core (111, Fig. 7) and a fastening member (5, Fig. 4); the supported object is configured to be received in the receiving member (see Fig. 7, 12 is received in 11, 13); the receiving member is fixedly connected to the first connecting piece (see Fig. 4-6, via 5, 6); the first connecting piece is screwed on the shaft core by the fastening member (see Fig. 4, 25 is screwed onto 111 by 5); the shaft core is fixedly connected to the insertion portion (see Fig. 4, via 5, 6); and when an external force is applied to the receiving member, the first connecting piece is rotatable relative to the shaft core (see Fig. 4-6, when an external force is applied to 11, it is rotatable so that 25 rotates relative to 111).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pang US 11268653 (hereinafter Peng).
Re. Cl. 1, Pang discloses: A supporting device (Fig. 1), comprising: a first assembly (4, Fig. 3), the first assembly being configured to be connected to a supported object (see Fig. 3, via 1); a second assembly (5, Fig. 3), the first assembly and the second assembly being configured to mate with each other (see Fig. 1-2); the first assembly and the second assembly being movable with respect to each other along a mating direction so as to form a changeable clamping space formed between the first assembly and the second assembly (see Fig. 6, with or against the force of springs 8); the clamping space being configured to clamp a target object (see Fig. 11); and a limiting mechanism (8, 18, 14, 15, Fig. 4-6) configured to make the first assembly and the second assembly in a relatively fixed state so as to securely keep the target object (see Fig. 11, the parts listed above cooperate to hold the first and second assemblies in a relatively fixed state to clamp the object therebetween).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8, 12-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang.
Re. Cl. 2, Pang discloses: the second assembly comprises an insertion portion 17 and top cover shown in Fig. 3, Figs. 5) and a first clamping portion (16, Fig. 5) fixedly connected with the insertion portion (see Fig. 5); and wherein the first clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 5), and a plate surface of the first clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 2-6).
Re. Cl. 3, Pang discloses: the first assembly comprises a receiving portion (13, Fig. 4) and a second clamping portion (25, Fig. 4) connected with the receiving portion; the receiving portion comprises a first through hole and a side wall surrounding the first through hole (see Fig. 4, open end of 13 where 17 enters); the insertion portion is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from one end of the receiving portion (see Fig. 2-6), so that the first assembly and the second assembly are mated with each other (see Fig. 2-6); the second clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 4), and a plate surface of the second clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 2-6); the clamping space is a space located between the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion (see Fig. 2-6).
Re. Cl. 8, Pang discloses: the insertion portion comprises a base portion with a rectangular section (see 17, Fig. 3-5), and a sealing plate fixedly connected to an opening side of the base portion (see top cover shown in Fig. 3).
Re. Cl. 12, Pang discloses: A supporting device (Fig. 2), comprising: a first assembly (4, Fig. 3), the first assembly being configured to be connected to a supported object (see Fig. 3, via 1); a second assembly (5, Fig. 3); the first assembly being telescopically movable with respect to the second assembly along a mating direction so as to form a changeable clamping space formed between the first assembly and the second assembly (see Fig. 3-11, with or against the force of the spring 8); the clamping space being configured to clamp a target object (see Fig. 11); and a limiting mechanism (8, 18, 14, 15, Fig. 4-6) configured to make the first assembly and the second assembly in a relatively fixed state so as to securely keep the target object (see Fig. 11, the parts listed above cooperate to hold the first and second assemblies in a relatively fixed state to clamp the object therebetween).
Re. Cl. 13, Pang discloses: the second assembly comprises an insertion portion 17 and top cover shown in Fig. 3, Figs. 5) and a first clamping portion (16, Fig. 5) fixedly connected with the insertion portion (see Fig. 5); and wherein the first clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 5), and a plate surface of the first clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 2-6).
Re. Cl. 14, Pang discloses: the first assembly comprises a receiving portion (13, Fig. 4) and a second clamping portion (25, Fig. 4) connected with the receiving portion; the receiving portion comprises a first through hole and a side wall surrounding the first through hole (see Fig. 4, open end of 13 where 17 enters); the insertion portion is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from one end of the receiving portion (see Fig. 2-6), so that the first assembly and the second assembly are mated with each other (see Fig. 2-6); the second clamping portion is of a plate-shaped configuration (see Fig. 4), and a plate surface of the second clamping portion is perpendicular to the mating direction (see Fig. 2-6); the clamping space is a space located between the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion (see Fig. 2-6).
Re. Cl. 18, Pang discloses: the insertion portion comprises a base portion with a rectangular section (see 17, Fig. 3-5), and a sealing plate fixedly connected to an opening side of the base portion (see top cover shown in Fig. 3).
Re. Cls. 2-3, 12-14 Pang discloses that the second assembly is partially inserted into the first assembly or the opposite of what is claimed by the Applicant. In other words, Pang discloses the insertion portion is on the second assembly and the receiving portion is on the first assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to reverse parts (4) and (5) of Pang, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Chou US 2023/0211473 (hereinafter Chou).
Re. Cl. 11, Tseng does not disclose an auxiliary supporting piece; wherein the auxiliary supporting piece is rotatably installed on a side wall end of the receiving portion that is fixedly connected with the second clamping portion; an accommodating groove is defined on a plate surface of the second clamping portion away from the receiving portion; the auxiliary supporting piece in a non-working state is accommodated in the accommodating groove. Chou discloses a supporting device (Fig. 1) which includes opposing first and second assemblies (2, 3, Fig. 1) which function to clamp an object between opposing clamping portions (see Fig. 9). Re. Cl. 11, Chou discloses an auxiliary supporting piece (5, Fig. 4); wherein the auxiliary supporting piece is rotatably installed on a side wall end of the receiving portion that is fixedly connected with the second clamping portion (see Fig. 1, fixed to 311); an accommodating groove (see Fig. 2, groove between 311s where 5 fits) is defined on a plate surface of the second clamping portion away from the receiving portion (see Fig. 2); the auxiliary supporting piece in a non-working state is accommodated in the accommodating groove (see Fig. 3 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Tseng device to have the auxiliary supporting piece of Chou with reasonable expectation of success since Chou states that such a modification would enable clamping of objects having different configurations (Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-10, 17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barron US 2015/0217908, Chen US 6679463, Cunningham US 2017/0143087, and Depay US 7219866 disclose other known supporting devices presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632