DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is dependent from cancelled claim 20 and is therefore incomplete and indefinite (See MPEP 608.01(n)V).
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed 30 July 2026. Claims 5, 6 and 8- 20 are canceled. Claims 21-25 are newly added. Claims 1-4, 7 and 21-25 are pending and are examined.
Claims 1, 2, 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2020/0256211) in view of Negoro (US 2005/0051642).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 3, Davis teaches an aircraft engine (Fig, 1) comprising:
a part requiring lubrication (40, 70, Fig. 2);
a lubrication system 60 operable to lubricate the part (¶40);
the lubrication system including a pump 64 connected to deliver lubricant to a lubricant injection jet 68, the part is a rotating part and the wherein the rotating part is a portion of a gear set (part 70 is coupled to inner shaft 40 which is part of the low speed spool , the low speed spool is coupled to a gear box 48 and thus the part is a portion of a gear set, ¶36).
Davis doesn’t teach the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part; structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone, the structure includes a spiral member extending along the cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion and there are a plurality of helical turns within the spiral member, the structure being within an interior of the first upstream portion, with the entire structure ending before the jet cone.
Negoro teaches lubricant injection jet for delivering a lubricant to an engine (42, Fig. 7, ¶1, feeding a lubricating oil to a crank of an engine, ¶5, feed the liquid lubricant to desired member of various kinds of devices and appliances). Negoro further the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion (2, Fig. 1) with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, the first cross-sectional area bore communicates in the upstream portion 2 is larger than the bore including the nozzle 42 with the jet cross-section area), the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part (Fig. 7); and structure (spiral body 7, Figs. 1-3) within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant (¶48, In this condition, the coolant is formed into a fierce whirl by the blades) with the structure ending before the jet cone (Fig. 7, ¶46, structure 1 is provided on the distal side of the nozzle 42. The nozzle 42 is the jet cone). The structure includes a spiral member extending along the cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion and there are a plurality of helical turns within the spiral member (Fig. 1). The design improves cooling and lubrication effects (¶17, ¶50). The structure being within an interior of the first upstream portion (the structure is within cylindrical body 2), with the entire structure ending before the jet cone (the jet cone is formed by nozzle 42, which is downstream of the cylindrical body 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis have a lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part, the structure being within an interior of the first upstream portion, with the entire structure ending before the jet cone; and structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone, the structure includes a spiral member extending along the cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion and there are a plurality of helical turns within the spiral member, as taught by Negoro, in order to improves cooling and lubrication effects of the injection jet.
Regarding claim 21, Davis teaches the invention of claim 1 and Davis further teaches the gear set drives an accessory that is part of the gas turbine (The gear set including the gear architecture 48 is coupled to low speed spool drives the fan 42. The fan 42 is an accessory.).
Response to Arguments of previous rejection: Applicant argues that the device in Negoro can’t be coupled to the two nozzles, 90, 92, of Davis because the two nozzles are coupled to a single flow line 88. Examiner disagrees. The nozzles 90 and 92 each branch from the single flow line 88. The device is Negoro is modular component designed to be attached along a flow line. It would be a simple modification to place the device of Negoro along one or both branches of the oil line branches in Davis to improve cooling and lubrication effects of the oil.
Applicant argues that the invention of Negoro is only limited to cutting tool applications. Examiner disagrees. Negoro specifically states the device can be used to feed lubricating oil to a crank of an engine (i.e., a rotating part of an engine as claimed) (¶1).
Applicant maps the jet cone to conical structure 34b. The rejection, which has not been modified in this regard, maps the jet cone to nozzle 42 in Negoro, which is clearly upstream. Further, the spiral structure in Negoro, which introduces the swirl is 7 in Fig. 1. This structure 7 clearly ends before conical structure 34b and nozzle 42. Thus, Examiner doesn’t agree with Applicant’s interpretation of Negoro.
Claim 4, 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2020/0256211) in view of Negoro (US 2005/0051642), Komazawa (US 2019/0118197) and Randhwa (US 2006/0174920).
Regarding claim 4, Davis teaches an aircraft engine (Fig, 1) comprising:
a part requiring lubrication (40, 70, Fig. 2);
a lubrication system 60 operable to lubricate the part (¶40);
the lubrication system including a pump 64 connected to deliver lubricant to a lubricant injection jet 68, the part is a rotating part and the wherein the rotating part is a portion of a gear set (part 70 is coupled to inner shaft 40 which is part of the low speed spool , the low speed spool is coupled to a gear box 48 and thus the part is a portion of a gear set, ¶36).
Davis doesn’t teach the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part; structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone, the structure being within an interior of the first upstream portion, with the entire structure ending before the jet cone and wherein the structure is rifled grooves formed on an inner periphery within a wall forming the first upstream portion.
Negoro teaches lubricant injection jet for delivering a lubricant to an engine (42, Fig. 7, ¶1, feeding a lubricating oil to a crank of an engine, ¶5, feed the liquid lubricant to desired member of various kinds of devices and appliances). Negoro further the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion (2, Fig. 1) with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, the first cross-sectional area bore communicates in the upstream portion 2 is larger than the bore including the nozzle 42 with the jet cross-section area), the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part (Fig. 7); and structure (body 7, Figs. 1-3) within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant (¶48, In this condition, the coolant is formed into a fierce whirl by the blades) with the structure ending before the jet cone (Fig. 7, ¶46, structure 1 is provided on the distal side of the nozzle 42. The nozzle 42 includes the jet cone). The design improves cooling and lubrication effects (¶17, ¶50). The structure being within an interior of the first upstream portion (the structure is within cylindrical body 2), with the entire structure ending before the jet cone (the jet cone is formed by nozzle 42, which is downstream of the cylindrical body 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis have a lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part, the structure being within an interior of the first upstream portion, with the entire structure ending before the jet cone; and structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone, as taught by Negoro, in order to improve cooling and lubrication effects of the injection jet.
Davis in view of Negoro teaches the invention as discussed so far. Davis in view of Negoro doesn’t teach the structure is rifled grooves formed on an inner periphery within a wall forming the first upstream portion.
Komazawa teaches identical nozzle designs to Negoro. The designs include an embodiment with rifling that introduces a swirl (Fig. 5B). The rifling is in an inner periphery of a bore, i.e., it is inside of an inner periphery of bore 130. The rifling is formed within a wall of a shaft that forms the first upstream portion (Fig. 5B) and is inserted in the bore. The rifling optimizes the flow structure (¶16, In the flow path in which the groove is formed, the velocity of the fluid does not decrease even at the bottom of the flow path. Thus, flow of the fluid is optimized.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the upstream structure of Davis have the structure be rifled grooves, as taught by Komazawa, in order to optimize the flow structure in the upstream portion.
Davis in view of Negoro and Komazawa teaches the invention as discussed so far. Davis in view of Negoro and Komazawa doesn’t teach rifled grooves are formed on an inner periphery of a bore within a wall forming the first upstream portion.
Randhwa teaches rifled grooves are formed on an inner periphery within a wall to induce whirl in a fluid existing through a jet (Fig. 6). Negoro describes that whirl in the fluid is needed to have their device operate properly (¶49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis in view of Negoro and Komazawa have rifled grooves are formed on an inner periphery within a wall, as taught by Randwha, in order to generate the required whirl specified by Negoro.
Regarding claim 7, Davis teaches a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1) comprising:
a compressor section 24;
a turbine section 28;
a combustor section 26; and
at least one rotating shaft 40;
a mechanical system comprising:
a part requiring lubrication 72;
a lubrication system (60, Fig. 2) operable to lubricate the part ;
the lubrication system including a pump 64 connected to deliver lubricant (¶16) to a lubricant injection jet 68.
the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part; and
structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone , the part is a rotating part and the wherein the rotating part is a portion of a gear set (part 70 is coupled to inner shaft 40 which is part of the low speed spool , the low speed spool is coupled to a gear box 48 and thus the part is a portion of a gear set, ¶36).
Davis doesn’t teach the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part; structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone, the structure is rifled grooves formed on an inner periphery of a bore within a wall forming the upstream portion.
Negoro teaches lubricant injection jet for delivering a lubricant to an engine (42, Fig. 7, ¶1, feeding a lubricating oil to a crank of an engine, ¶5, feed the liquid lubricant to desired member of various kinds of devices and appliances). Negoro further the lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion (2, Fig. 1) with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, the first cross-sectional area bore communicates in the upstream portion 2 is larger than the bore including the nozzle 42 with the jet cross-section area), the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part (Fig. 7); and structure (spiral body 7, Figs. 1-3) within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant (¶48, In this condition, the coolant is formed into a fierce whirl by the blades) with the structure ending before the jet cone (Fig. 7, ¶46, structure 1 is provided on the distal side of the nozzle 42). The design improves cooling and lubrication effects (¶17, ¶50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis have a lubricant injection jet including a first upstream portion with a first cross-sectional area bore communicating into a jet cone having a jet cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area bore of the first upstream portion, the jet cone being operable to deliver lubricant to the part; and structure within the first upstream portion structured to induce swirling into the lubricant, with the structure ending before the jet cone, as taught by Negoro, in order to improves cooling and lubrication effects of the injection jet.
Davis in view of Negoro teaches the invention as discussed so far. Davis in view of Negoro doesn’t teach the structure is rifled grooves formed on an inner periphery within a wall forming the first upstream portion.
Komazawa teaches identical nozzle designs to Negoro. The designs include an embodiment with rifling that introduces a swirl (Fig. 5B). The rifling is in an inner periphery of a bore, i.e., it is inside of an inner periphery of bore 130. The rifling is formed within a wall of a shaft that forms the first upstream portion (Fig. 5B) and is inserted in the bore. The rifling optimizes the flow structure (¶16, In the flow path in which the groove is formed, the velocity of the fluid does not decrease even at the bottom of the flow path. Thus, flow of the fluid is optimized.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the upstream structure of Davis have the structure be rifled grooves, as taught by Komazawa, in order to optimize the flow structure in the upstream portion.
Davis in view of Negoro and Komazawa teaches the invention as discussed so far. Davis in view of Negoro and Komazawa doesn’t teach rifled grooves are formed on an inner periphery of a bore within a wall forming the first upstream portion.
Randhwa teaches rifled grooves are formed on an inner periphery within a wall to induce whirl in a fluid existing through a jet (Fig. 6). Negoro describes that whirl in the fluid is needed to have their device operate properly (¶49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis in view of Negoro and Komazawa have rifled grooves are formed on an inner periphery within a wall, as taught by Randwha, in order to generate the required whirl specified by Negoro.
Regarding claim 23, Davis teaches the invention of claim 1 and Davis further teaches the gear set drives an accessory that is part of the gas turbine (The gear set including the gear architecture 48 is coupled to low speed spool drives the fan 42. The fan 42 is an accessory.).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2020/0256211) in view of Negoro (US 2005/0051642 as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Miller (US 2005/0183529).
Regarding claim 22, Davis in view of Negoro teaches then invention as discussed above for claim 21. Davis in view of Negoro doesn’t teach the accessory is a fuel pump.
Miller teaches an accessory gearbox can be coupled to the low speed spool (Figs. 1 and 2) to drive a fuel pump (¶4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis in view of Negoro have an accessory gearbox including a fuel pump as an accessory as part of the gear set, as taught by Miller, in order to allow fuel to be provided to the engine.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 2020/0256211) in view of Negoro (US 2005/0051642), Komazawa (US 2019/0118197) and Randhwa (US 2006/0174920) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Miller (US 2005/0183529).
Regarding claim 24, Davis in view of Negoro teaches then invention as discussed above for claim 23. Davis in view of Negoro, Komazawa and Randhwa doesn’t teach the accessory is a fuel pump.
Miller teaches an accessory gearbox can be coupled to the low speed spool (Figs. 1 and 2) to drive a fuel pump (¶4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Davis in view of Negoro, Komazawa and Randhwa have an accessory gearbox including a fuel pump as an accessory as part of the gear set, as taught by Miller, in order to allow fuel to be provided to the engine.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the pending claims have been carefully considered
but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection discussed above that were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. However, to the extent possible Applicant arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P. OLYNICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741