DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-7 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controlled vehicle movement information acquisition unit configured to – corresponding to element 11 Fig. 2”, “surrounding object movement information acquisition unit configured to– corresponding to element 12 Fig. 2”, “risk occurrence time point prediction unit configured to – corresponding to element 13 Fig. 2”, “driver state recognition unit configured to – corresponding to element 14 in Fig. 2”, and “calling attention control unit configured to – corresponding to element 15 in Fig. 2” in claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “the surrounding object movement information includes information indicating whether or not the controlled vehicle is recognized in the surrounding object " renders the claims indefinite because it is not clear if the surrounding object itself recognize the controlled vehicle or the controlled vehicle appear within a recognition range associated with the surrounding object and how the surrounding movement information indicate whether the vehicle is recognized. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heck et al. (Heck; US 2023/0166731).
For claim 1, Heck discloses a driving assistance apparatus comprising:
a controlled vehicle movement information acquisition unit configured to acquire controlled vehicle movement information including position information of a controlled vehicle [E.g. 0389: the intersection violation predictor 222 may be configured to determine the distance d between the subject vehicle and the stop location by analyzing image(s) from the first camera 202. Alternatively, or additionally, the intersection violation predictor 222 may receive information from a GPS system indicating a position of the subject vehicle, and a location of an intersection. In such cases, the intersection violation predictor 222 may determine the distance d based on the position of the subject vehicle and the location of the intersection, 0393: the processing unit 210 may be configured to determine a distance d that is between the subject vehicle and a location in front of the vehicle, wherein the location may be a location of an object (e.g., a lead vehicle, a pedestrian, etc.) as captured in an image from the first camera 202, an expected stop position for the vehicle, etc. Various techniques may be employed in different embodiments to determine the distance d, 0394: the processing unit 210 may be configured to determine the distance d based on a Y-to-d mapping, wherein Y represents a y-coordinate in an image frame, and d represents the distance between the subject vehicle and the location corresponding to y-coordinate in the image frame. This concept is illustrated in the example of FIG. 20, which illustrates an example of a technique of determining a distance d between the subject vehicle and a location in front of the vehicle. In the top graph, different widths of bounding boxes of lead vehicles detected in camera images are plotted with respect to their respective y-coordinates (i.e., the y components of the respective locations of the bounding boxes of detected objects as they appear in the camera images), and a best-fit line can be determined to relate the y-coordinates and the respective widths of the bounding boxes. In the top graph, the y-coordinates are based on a coordinate system in which the origin y=0 is at a top of a camera image. In other embodiments, the y-coordinates may be based on other coordinate systems (e.g., a coordinate system in which the origin y=0 is at a bottom of the image, or in a middle of the image). In the illustrated example, the higher y-coordinate values correspond larger widths of the bounding boxes. This is because a vehicle detected closer to the camera will be larger (having larger corresponding bounding box) and will appear closer to a bottom of the camera image, compared to another vehicle that is further away from the camera. Also, in the illustrated example, the best-fit line in the top graph of FIG. 20 has a line equation with two parameters: B=−693.41 and m=1.46, where B is the value when y=0, and m is the slope of the best-fit line, 0395, Fig. 13];
a surrounding object movement information acquisition unit configured to acquire surrounding object movement information including position information of a surrounding object present around the controlled vehicle [E.g. 0393: the processing unit 210 may be configured to determine a distance d that is between the subject vehicle and a location in front of the vehicle, wherein the location may be a location of an object (e.g., a lead vehicle, a pedestrian, etc.) as captured in an image from the first camera 202, an expected stop position for the vehicle, 0394: the processing unit 210 may be configured to determine the distance d based on a Y-to-d mapping, wherein Y represents a y-coordinate in an image frame, and d represents the distance between the subject vehicle and the location corresponding to y-coordinate in the image frame. This concept is illustrated in the example of FIG. 20, which illustrates an example of a technique of determining a distance d between the subject vehicle and a location in front of the vehicle. In the top graph, different widths of bounding boxes of lead vehicles detected in camera images are plotted with respect to their respective y-coordinates (i.e., the y components of the respective locations of the bounding boxes of detected objects as they appear in the camera images), and a best-fit line can be determined to relate the y-coordinates and the respective widths of the bounding boxes. In the top graph, the y-coordinates are based on a coordinate system in which the origin y=0 is at a top of a camera image. In other embodiments, the y-coordinates may be based on other coordinate systems (e.g., a coordinate system in which the origin y=0 is at a bottom of the image, or in a middle of the image). In the illustrated example, the higher y-coordinate values correspond larger widths of the bounding boxes. This is because a vehicle detected closer to the camera will be larger (having larger corresponding bounding box) and will appear closer to a bottom of the camera image, compared to another vehicle that is further away from the camera. Also, in the illustrated example, the best-fit line in the top graph of FIG. 20 has a line equation with two parameters: B=−693.41 and m=1.46, where B is the value when y=0, and m is the slope of the best-fit line, 0395];
a risk occurrence time point prediction step of predicting a risk occurrence time point at which a predetermined risk occurs due to approaching of the controlled vehicle and the surrounding object, based on the controlled vehicle movement information and the surrounding object movement information [E.g. 0386: the intersection violation predictor 222 may determine TTB based on the equation: TTB=(d−BD)/V, where V is the speed of the vehicle. Because d is the distance from the current vehicle position to the stop location (e.g., stop line), and BD is the braking distance, the term (d-BD) represents the remaining distance to be traveled by the subject vehicle, during which time the driver may react to the environment before applying brake for the vehicle. Thus, the term (d-BD)/V represents the time that the driver has to react to the environment before applying the brake for the vehicle. In some embodiments, if TTB=(d−BD)/V<=a threshold reaction time, then the intersection violation predictor 222 may generate a control signal to operate a device to provide a warning to the driver, and/or to operate a device to automatically control the vehicle, 0389: the intersection violation predictor 222 may be configured to determine the distance d between the subject vehicle and the stop location by analyzing image(s) from the first camera 202. Alternatively, or additionally, the intersection violation predictor 222 may receive information from a GPS system indicating a position of the subject vehicle, and a location of an intersection. In such cases, the intersection violation predictor 222 may determine the distance d based on the position of the subject vehicle and the location of the intersection, 0405: when the second threshold TH2 is reached at t=5 sec, the signal generation controller 224 still uses the second threshold TH2 (for distracted state) because the state of the driver in this scenario changes from distracted state to not-distracted state only shortly before the threshold TH2 at t=5 sec. Thus, in some embodiments, the signal generation controller 224 may be configured to consider the state of the driver within a temporal window before the threshold (e.g., 1.5 sec, 2 sec, etc. before TH2) to determine whether to use the threshold for determining the generation of the control signal. In other embodiments, the signal generation controller 224 may be configured to consider the state of the driver at the time of the threshold to determine whether to use the threshold, 0406: the signal generation controller 224 utilizes the third threshold TH3 (at TTC=8 sec, which corresponds to t=2 sec) as the time for providing the control signal CS (to operate a warning device and/or a vehicle control). In other words, when the TTC decreases from the initial 10 sec and reaches the 8 sec threshold, then the signal generation controller 224 provides the control signal CS. Therefore, in the situation in which the driver is drowsy, the signal generation controller 224 will provide the control signal even earlier (i.e., earlier than when the driver is alert but is distracted) to cause a warning to be provided to the driver and/or to operate the vehicle, 0407];
a driver state recognition unit configured to recognize a state of a driver of the controlled vehicle [E.g. 0405: the output of the driver monitoring module 211 indicates that the driver is not-distracted (N) from t=0 to t=2 sec, is distracted (D) from t=2 to 3.5 sec, and becomes not-distracted (N) again from t=3.5 to 5 sec and beyond. Although the state of the driver is not-distracted (N) when the second threshold TH2 is reached at t=5 sec, the signal generation controller 224 still uses the second threshold TH2 (for distracted state) because the state of the driver in this scenario changes from distracted state to not-distracted state only shortly before the threshold TH2 at t=5 sec. Thus, in some embodiments, the signal generation controller 224 may be configured to consider the state of the driver within a temporal window before the threshold (e.g., 1.5 sec, 2 sec, etc. before TH2) to determine whether to use the threshold for determining the generation of the control signal. In other embodiments, the signal generation controller 224 may be configured to consider the state of the driver at the time of the threshold to determine whether to use the threshold, 0406: the output of the driver monitoring module 211 indicates that the driver is drowsy (R) from t=0 to t=2 sec (corresponding to TTC of 8 seconds) and beyond. Accordingly, the signal generation controller 224 utilizes the third threshold TH3 (at TTC=8 sec, which corresponds to t=2 sec) as the time for providing the control signal CS (to operate a warning device and/or a vehicle control). In other words, when the TTC decreases from the initial 10 sec and reaches the 8 sec threshold, then the signal generation controller 224 provides the control signal CS. Therefore, in the situation in which the driver is drowsy, the signal generation controller 224 will provide the control signal even earlier (i.e., earlier than when the driver is alert but is distracted) to cause a warning to be provided to the driver and/or to operate the vehicle, 0407: the threshold is variable in real time based on the state of the driver as determined by the driver monitoring module 211]; and
a calling attention control step of determining execution timing of calling attention by a notification device provided in the controlled vehicle and contents of the calling attention, based on a remaining time until the risk occurrence time point and the state of the driver recognized by the driver state recognition step [E.g. 0405-0408].
For claim 3, Heck discloses wherein the calling attention control unit increases a level of the calling attention as the remaining time until the predetermined risk occurrence time point decreases [E.g. 0405-0407, 0388].
For claim 4, Heck discloses wherein the driver state recognition unit recognizes a driving state of the controlled vehicle by the driver as the state of the driver, and the calling attention control unit does not execute the calling attention when it is determined that the driver is capable of avoiding the predetermined risk from the driving state of the controlled vehicle by the driver recognized by the driver state recognition unit [E.g. 0408, 0032, 0060, Fig. 13].
For claim 5, Heck discloses wherein the driver state recognition unit recognizes a health state of the driver [E.g. 0405-0407, 0032] and the direction of the line of sight of the driver [E.g. 0109, 0060-0063, 00405, 0052-0057], and when it is recognized by the driver state recognition unit that the line of sight of the driver is directed to the surrounding object [0405, 0060-0063], the calling attention control unit determines whether or not to perform the calling attention according to the health state of the driver recognized by the driver state recognition unit [E.g. 0405-0408].
For claim 6, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
For claim 7, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heck in view of Kawanishi et al. (Kawanishi; JP 2015/108926; machine translation is used).
For claim 2, Heck discloses wherein the driver state recognition unit recognizes a direction of a line of sight of the driver as the state of the driver [E.g. 0109, 0153, 0275, 0284, Fig. 5].
Heck fails to expressly disclose that the surrounding object movement information includes information indicating whether or not the controlled vehicle is recognized in the surrounding object, and the calling attention control unit executes the calling attention when it is determined that the controlled vehicle is not recognized in the surrounding object based on the surrounding object movement information, even in a case where it is recognized by the driver state recognition unit that the line of sight of the driver is directed to the surrounding object.
However, as shown by Kawanishi, it was well known in the art of vehicles to include surrounding object movement information includes information indicating whether or not the controlled vehicle is recognized in the surrounding object, and the calling attention control unit executes the calling attention when it is determined that the controlled vehicle is not recognized in the surrounding object based on the surrounding object movement information, even in a case where it is recognized by the driver state recognition unit that the line of sight of the driver is directed to the surrounding object [E.g. 0012, 0018-0020, 0030-0035, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles before
the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Heck with the teaching of Kawanishi in order to enable alerting the driver even when the surrounding object is recognized and thereby enhance the overall safety on the road, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689