DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Amendments for claims 1 – 3, 5, 14 – 15 and 17 have been entered.
Claims 20 is canceled.
Claim 21 is new
Claims 1 – 19 and 21 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
Szajnowski monitors a received signal for interference in the intermediate frequency via distal processor item 27, which is after the down-conversion (mixing + filtering) item 21. See Szajnowski Fig. 1 item 21 and Para. 13. Down-conversion is known and understood in the art. See Gingras US 3922674 A Fig. 1. Similarly, Fig. 5 of Sakamoto shows determination of interference of a beat signal wherein beat signals are the output of a mixer and are considered the IF signal.
One of ordinary skill understands that interference can cause distortion in phase and/or amplitude, thus the combination with Sakamoto is reasonable wherein the motivation is to accurately determine interference. Smith is a basic KSR modification of two different inventions having a predictable result which is a radar for automobiles wherein Szajnowski radar has an advantage of improved quality by avoiding interference thus the motivation is ultimately market forces because automotive radars are desired to be interference resistant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Szajnowski (US 20100141504 A1) in view of Sakamoto (US 20080231496 A1) and, for cases depending from base claim 13 only, in further view of Smith (US 20180120842 A1).
As to claims 1 and 13, Szajnowski discloses a mobile platform comprising:
a microwave radar including:
an antenna device (Fig. 1 item 13, 17); and
a radar controller in communication with the antenna device (Fig. 1 items 1, 7), and configured to:
control the antenna device to transmit a microwave transmission signal and obtain a received signal, the microwave transmission signal and the received signal both being trapezoidal modulation waveforms, and one cycle of the trapezoidal modulation waveform including a frequency rising part, a frequency falling part, and a fixed frequency part (Fig. 4);
obtain an intermediate frequency signal mixed by a frequency of the microwave transmission signal and the received signal to the radar controller (Fig. 4 items 23, 21),
and determine whether the received signal is an interference signal based on the intermediate frequency signal (Para. 13), including:
an IF filter to filter out signals higher than max frequency and the resulting IF signal including interference that was not filtered out (Fig. 1 item 21 and Para. 13).
determining change information of a signal frequency and a signal amplitude of the intermediate frequency signal based on the intermediate frequency signal; and determining whether the received signal is the interference signal based on the change information of the signal frequency and the signal amplitude of the intermediate frequency signal (Paras. 13 & 18 appear to suggest this feature.); and
a controller in communication with the microwave radar, and configured to: determine coordinate information of a detection target corresponding to the received signal in response to the received signal being not the interference signal; and update a trajectory of the mobile platform based on the coordinate information of the detection target (Not taught.).
The Examiner believes that Szajnowski at Paras. 13 and 18 appears to suggest the features with respect to determining interference characteristics based on changes in the transmitted/received signal. The Examiner will introduce a secondary reference to better teach said features.
In the same field of endeavor, Sakamoto teaches that interference affects the frequency and amplitude of the transmitted/received signal. see Sakamoto Paras. 38 & 142.
In view of the teachings of Sakamoto it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to use changes in frequency and amplitude to better determine the existence and characteristics of any interference in order to improve detection of said any interference and improved ability to avoid and/or filter said any interference.
Szajnowski does not teach a mobile vehicle that navigates based on coordinate of a true object in response to said true object being determined not to be interference.
In the same field of endeavor, Smith teaches that autonomous vehicle navigates based on distinguishing false targets from true targets. See Smith Paras. 10, 15 and 35.
In view of the teachings of Smith, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to differentiate between false objects and true objects in order to more accurately navigate thereby improving safety.
Note that Smith only applies to claims for which the base claim is claim 13.
As to claims 2 and 14, Szajnowski in view of Sakamoto and Smith teach the mobile platform of claim 13, wherein the radar controller is further configured to: determine the received signal is the interference signal in response to a change state of the signal frequency of the received signal being gradually decreasing and then gradually increasing, and a change state of the signal amplitude being gradually increasing and then gradually decreasing (Szajnowski Fig. 12 up and down frequencies and as modified by Sakamoto.).
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Szajnowski in view of Sakamoto and Smith (for cases depending from base claim 13 only) and in further view of Richards (US 20020061080 A1).
As to claims 3 and 15, Szajnowski in view of Sakamoto and Smith does not teach the mobile platform of claim 2 and 13, wherein the radar controller is further configured to: obtain signal amplitude information of N sampling points of the intermediate frequency signal; select P extreme value points based on the signal amplitude information of the N sapling points, P being a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 and less than N; and determine whether the received signal is the interference signal based on index values of the P extreme value points.
In the same field of endeavor, Richards “The exemplary interference phase illustrated in waveform plots (f) and (g) of FIG. 9 causes an interference maximum positive amplitude peak (and thus, a gradient maximum) at time t.sub.NS and a maximum negative amplitude peak (and thus, a gradient minimum) at time t.sub.DS (Para. 253).”
In view of the teachings of Richards, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to look for positive and negative peak in order to differentiate between objects of interest and interference because many types of interference, e.g., other radars, will have positive and negative peaks, thus improving accuracy.
As to claims 4 and 16, Szajnowski in view of Sakamota, Smith and Richards teach the mobile platform of claim 3 and 15, wherein the radar controller is further configured to: eliminate the interference signal in response to determining that the received signal is the interference signal (Szajnowski Para. 13; Smith Para. 47; Richards Para. 26. It would be obvious to remove or reduce false objects or interference to improve accuracy and safety).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Szajnowski in view of Sakamoto, Smith (for cases depending from base claim 13 only), Richards and in further view of Kim (US 20160223645 A1).
As to claim 11, Szajnowski in view of Sakamoto, Richards and Smith does not teach the microwave radar of claim 1, wherein the radar controller is further configured to: set a difference between a delay of a fixed frequency range of the microwave transmission signal and a delay of the fixed frequency range of the microwave transmission signal of other microwave radars to be greater than a predetermined value.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches “as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, the first controller 116 may set a transmission delay time (hereinafter, referred to as “delay time”) between the transmission time of the first radio signal and the transmission time of the second radar signal while synchronizing the transmission times of the first and second radar signals. Further, the first controller 116 may set a first blanking time including an interference area of the first and second radar signals based on the delay time. (Para. 51).”
In view of the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled before filing to synchronize the radar to have a transmission delay that would be long enough to avoid interference by other radars in the area thereby reducing the risk of interference with said other radars.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 5 – 10, 12 and 17 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The features of claims 5, 17 and 20 are not taught by prior art. Claims 11 – 10 and 18 – 19 depend from claims 5 and 17. The feature concerning difference, as claimed, in claim 12 is not taught. The Examiner does not believe it would be obvious to modify.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W JUSTICE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648