DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,610,467. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 13, 25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,610,467 which encompasses the same metes, bounds, and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,100,285. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 12, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,100,285 which encompasses the same metes, bounds, and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (US 8,269,193) in view of Jin et al. (US 2023/0109612).
Regarding claim 1, Christensen discloses a method (abstract) comprising: detecting, via a sensor operatively connected to a reservoir containing a cleaning chemical (sensor attached to a reservoir in col. 5, lines 25-30), addition of a cleaning implement to the reservoir cleaning products in col. 6, lines 23-33); in the reservoir based on detected addition of the cleaning implement to the reservoir (col. 5, lines 20-37; col. 6, lines 16-39).
Christensen discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose tracking, via a controller, a time to expiration of the cleaning chemical; and issuing a user alert, via a user interface, when a tracked time of the cleaning chemical reaches an expiration time.
However, Jin discloses tracking, via a controller (computing device 495 in page 21, [0166]), a time to expiration of the cleaning chemical (page 21, [0168]) ; and issuing a user alert, via a user interface, when a tracked time of the cleaning chemical reaches an expiration time (page 21, [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Jin within the system of Christensen in order to track, monitor and clean activities of the room thereby increasing the reliability of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Christensen discloses wherein detecting addition of the cleaning implement to the reservoir comprises discriminating a detected change to the cleaning chemical not associated with addition of the cleaning implement to the reservoir (col. 5, lines 20-67; col. 6, lines 1-39).
Regarding claim 3, Christensen discloses wherein the cleaning implement is a rag or a sponge (cleaning products in col. 6, lines 23-37).
Regarding claim 4, Christensen and Jin disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Jin further discloses wherein tracking the time to expiration comprises at least one of: starting a timer upon addition of the cleaning implement to the reservoir; and reducing an amount of time to expiration for the cleaning chemical (page 21, [0168-0169]).
Regarding claim 5, Christensen discloses wherein the cleaning chemical is at least one of a sanitizing agent and a detergent (col. 6, line 23).
Regarding claim 6, Christensen discloses wherein the sensor is a pressure sensor (optical measuring in col. 4, lines 45-46).
Regarding claim 7, Christensen discloses wherein the pressure sensor comprises a fluid port positioned adjacent a bottom surface of the reservoir and a conduct extending out of the reservoir for communicating a pressure signal (col. 5, lines 20-38).
Regarding claim 8, Christensen discloses wherein the user interface is operatively connected to the reservoir (col. 5, line 30).
Regarding claim 9, Christensen discloses wherein: the reservoir comprises a bottom wall and an upwardly-extending sidewall, at least a portion of the sensor is contained within a housing, and the housing is attached to the upwardly-extending sidewall (fig. 7; col. 5, lines 20-38).
Regarding claim 10, Christensen discloses wherein the housing defines a slot, and the slot is positioned over an edge of the upwardly-extending sidewall to attach the housing to the upwardly-extending sidewall (fig. 7; col. 5, lines 20-38).
Regarding claim 11, Christensen discloses wherein the reservoir is a bucket (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Christensen discloses wherein the user interface comprises one or both of a speaker and a light (light in col. 1, lines 36-50).
Regarding claim 13, Christensen discloses wherein the expiration time is within a range from 30 minutes to 4 hours (time clock in col. 8, line 58).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 would be allowed if the double patenting rejection overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with all the limitations in the claims, the prior arts fail to teach or make obvious:
filling a reservoir with a cleaning chemical; introducing a cleaning implement into the reservoir, wherein introducing the cleaning implement into the reservoir causes a sensor operatively coupled to the reservoir to detect at least one of movement of the cleaning chemical and a pressure change of the cleaning chemical in response to the cleaning implement being introduced into the reservoir; and upon reaching an expiration time of the cleaning chemical determined based on detected addition of the cleaning implement to the reservoir, receiving a user alert.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Klainer et al. (US 4,892,383) discloses reservoir fiber optic chemical sensors.
O’Brien (US 2019/0389716) discloses level sensing apparatus.
Ott et al. (US 10,624,992) discloses human airway…..engineering.
Tokhtuev et al. (US 8,373,140) discloses fluorometric sensor.
DP
November 11, 2025
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685