DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto (US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0111612).
In regard to claim 2, Matsumoto discloses an endoscope (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
an elongated shaft (12) defining a central axis and having an outer peripheral wall extending to a distal tip (19) of the elongated shaft wherein the outer peripheral wall terminates at a continuous edge surrounding an interior volume (lumen of channel tube (46)) extending through the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 12 below), the distal tip of the elongated shaft including a first portion defining a first area lying within a first plane that forms a non-perpendicular angle relative to the central axis of the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a second portion defining a second area lying within a second plane that is perpendicular to the central axis of the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and first and second transition portions interconnecting the first and second portions of the distal tip of the elongated shaft on opposed first and second sides of the distal tip of the elongated shaft, respectively (see annotated Fig. 15 below);
the interior volume extending through the elongated shaft, wherein a first portion of the interior volume terminates coplanarly with the first portion of the distal tip of the elongated shaft and fully occupies the first area, wherein a second portion of the interior volume terminates coplanarly with the second portion of the distal tip of the elongated shaft and partially occupies the second area, and wherein a third portion of the interior volume terminates between the first and second transition portions of the distal tip of the elongated shaft (Fig. 2 illustrates the interior family having the first, second and third portions as claimed); and
a visualization conduit (via conduit housing image fiber (56), Fig. 2) extending through the elongated shaft, the visualization conduit optically exposed coplanarly with the second plane such that a viewing angle through the visualization conduit is parallel to the central axis (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 12, Matsumoto discloses an endoscope (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
an elongated shaft (12) defining a central axis and having an outer peripheral wall extending to a distal tip (19) of the elongated shaft wherein the outer peripheral wall terminates at a continuous edge surrounding first and second interior volumes (first interior volume being lumen of channel tube (46) and second interior volume being volume through which illumination optics (71,72) extends through) extending through the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 12 below), the distal tip of the elongated shaft including a first portion that terminates to define a first area within a first plane disposed at a non-perpendicular angle relative to the central axis of the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a second portion that terminates to define a second area within a second plane disposed at a perpendicular angle relative to the central axis of the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and first and second transition portions interconnecting the first and second portions of the distal tip of the elongated shaft (see annotated Fig. 15 below);
the first interior volume extending through the elongated shaft (Fig. 2), the first interior volume terminating coextensively with the distal tip of the elongated shaft to fully occupy the first area and partially occupy the second area (Fig. 2); and
the second interior volume extending through the elongated shaft, the second interior volume separate from the first interior volume and terminating coextensively with the distal tip of the elongated shaft to partially occupy a portion of the second area not occupied by the first interior volume (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 3, Matsumoto teaches wherein the interior volume is defined by a channel (46) disposed within the elongated shaft (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 4, Matsumoto teaches wherein the visualization conduit is separate from the interior volume (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 5, Matsuomoto teaches further comprising an additional interior volume (via volume through which illumination optics (71,72) extends through)) extends) extending through the elongated shaft and separate from the interior volume (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 6, Matsumoto teaches wherein the additional interior volume is separate from the visualization conduit (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 7, Matsumoto teaches further comprising first and second additional interior volumes (first and second volumes that house fibers (71,72)) extending through the elongated shaft, the first and second additional interior volumes separate from the interior volume and disposed on opposing sides of the visualization conduit (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 8, Matsumoto teaches wherein the first plane forms an angle of from 20 degrees to 40 degrees relative to the central axis (Par. 67).
In regard to claim 9, Matsumoto teaches wherein the first portion of the distal tip of the elongated shaft defines a curvature (Fig. 11).
In regard to claim 10, Matsumoto teaches wherein the second portion of the distal tip of the elongated shaft defines a curvature (Fig. 11).
In regard to claim 11, Matsumoto teaches wherein the first and second transition portions of the distal tip of the elongated shaft define curvatures (Fig. 11).
In regard to claim 13, Matsumoto teaches further comprising a visualization conduit(via conduit housing image fiber (56), Fig. 2) extending through the elongated shaft, the visualization conduit separate from the first interior volume (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 14, Matsumoto teaches wherein the visualization conduit is optically exposed coplanarly with the second plane of the distal tip of the elongated shaft (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 15, Matsumoto teaches further comprising a third interior volume (via volume through which illumination optics (71,72) extends through)) extending through the elongated shaft (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 16, Matsumoto teaches wherein the second and third interior volumes are disposed on opposing sides of the visualization conduit (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 17, Matsumoto teaches further comprising a light fiber bundle (72) disposed within the second interior volume (Figs. 7-11).
In regard to claim 18, Matsumoto teaches wherein the first plane forms an angle of from 20 degrees to 40 degrees relative to the central axis (Par. 67).
In regard to claim 19, Matsumoto teaches wherein the first portion of the distal tip of the elongated shaft defines a curvature (Fig. 11).
In regard to claim 20, Matsumoto teaches wherein the second portion of the distal tip of the elongated shaft defines a curvature (Fig. 11).
In regard to claim 21, Matsumoto teaches wherein the first and second transition portions of the distal tip of the elongated shaft define curvatures (Fig. 11).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,096,913 (hereinafter ‘913) in view of Matsumoto (US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0111612).
Claims 1-20 of ‘913 teach all of the limitations of Claims 2-21 of the present application except for “an elongated shaft defining a central axis and having an outer peripheral wall extending to a distal tip of the elongated shaft wherein the outer peripheral wall terminates at a continuous edge surrounding an interior volume extending through the elongated shaft” in Claim 2 and “an elongated shaft defining a central axis and having an outer peripheral wall extending to a distal tip of the elongated shaft wherein the outer peripheral wall terminates at a continuous edge surrounding first and second interior volumes extending through the elongated shaft” in Claim 12.
Matsumoto teaches an analogous endoscope comprising a distal tip (19) defining a first interior space (46) running therethrough as well as an interior space through which illumination means (71,72) extends therethrough. Annotated Fig. 12 below illustrates that a continuous edge of an outer peripheral wall surrounds the first and second interior volumes. It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the shaft of ‘913 with the continuous edge of the peripheral wall of Matsuomoto as a matter of design choice to provide a sloped portion within the distal tip forming a guide paddle to aid insertion of the endoscope shaft within a body cavity and further enabling the working channel to extend through the sloped portion enabling increased range of motion of instruments exiting the working channel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “As demonstrated above, Matsumoto discloses a protrusion 32 defining a distal face 33 and a slope portion defining a channel port 41. However, Matsumoto does not teach or suggest "an elongated shaft defining a central axis and having an outer peripheral wall extending to a distal tip of the elongated shaft wherein the outer peripheral wall terminates at a continuous edge surrounding an interior volume extending through the elongated shaft" wherein the interior volume includes the first and second portions as recited in independent claim 2. (Emphasis added.)”
The examiner disagrees since as illustrated in annotated Fig. 12 below an outer peripheral wall terminates at a continuous edge which surrounds an interior volume extending through the shaft.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 September 1, 2026