DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/893,487 filed on 09/23/2024. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract includes phrases, such as, "This disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "This disclosure describes," etc., it should avoid using those phrases.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the term "part" in the various claims, applicant does not provide any specification definition of the term “part” in the specification. Therefore, the term is given its ordinary meaning, which is "a section or portion of a whole structure".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SEBERT (DE102010054481A1)
SEBERT discloses:
Claim 1: A shock-absorption structure (100; fig.4), comprising:
a first shock-absorption body (103) provided with a first mounting position (e.g. region of 103 where coupling means 4 is received);
a second shock-absorption body (assembly of 102 and 16) provided with a second mounting position (e.g. region of assembly 102 and 16 where coupling means 4 is received); and
an elastic shock-absorbing component (4) connected to both the first shock-
absorption body (103) and the second shock-absorption body (assembly of 102 and 16), wherein a movable gap (e.g. gap between the blocks 103; assembly of 102 and 16) is configured between the first shock-absorption body (103) and the second shock-absorption body (assembly of 102 and 16).
Claim 2: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 1, wherein the first shock-absorption body (103) and the second shock-absorption body (assembly of 102 and 16) are each configured to be in a circular shape (both 103 and 102 have circular shape).
Claim 3: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 1, wherein the shock-absorption structure (100; Fig.4) is provided with at least one shock-absorption zone (circumferential mounting regions of 103/102 which coupling means 4 are disposed. Note: the term “zone” does not have any special definition in the specification; the term “zone” is given its ordinary meaning as a region or area set off as distinct from surrounding);
a plurality of first holes (15) extend through the shock-absorption zone of the first shock-absorption body (103), and a plurality of second holes (openings defined by 16, see Fig.4) extend through the shock-absorption zone of the second shock-absorption body (assembly of 102 and 16); and
the elastic shock-absorbing component (4) passes through the first holes (15) and the second holes (openings defined by 16, see Fig.4).
Claim 7: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of first holes (15) and the plurality of second holes (openings defined by 16) are equal in quantity (see fig.4).
Claim 9: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 7, wherein the elastic shock-absorbing component (4) comprises a plurality of first elastic rings (4), the plurality of first elastic rings (4), the plurality of first holes (15), and the plurality of second holes (openings defined by 16) are equal in quantity; and
each first elastic ring (4) of the plurality of first elastic rings passes through the corresponding first hole (15) of the plurality of first holes and the corresponding second hole (openings defined by16) of the plurality of second holes.
Claim 15: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 3, wherein the shock-absorption structure is provided with a plurality of shock-absorption zones (circumferential mounting regions around 103/102 which coupling means 4 are disposed) ; and the elastic shock-absorbing component comprises multiple sets of elastic shock-absorbing components (group of one or more coupling member 4), the multiple sets of elastic shock-absorbing components (group of one or more coupling member 4) are respectively arranged at the plurality of shock-absorption zones (each group of coupling members is positioned at its corresponding circumferential mounting region), and are symmetrically configured (Fig.4 shows coupling members 4 are arranged symmetrically about central axis and with same angular distance between the adjacent coupling member).
Claim 16: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 1, wherein the first mounting position (e.g. region of 103 where coupling means 4 is received) comprises a first mounting hole (15) piercing through the first shock-absorption body (103), while the second mounting position (e.g. region of assembly 102 and 16 where coupling means 4 is received) comprises a second mounting hole (openings defined by 16) piercing through the second shock-absorption body (assembly 102 and 16).
Claim(s) 1-2,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HA (KR 20180036814 A)
HA discloses:
Claim 1: A shock-absorption structure (100; fig.2), comprising:
a first shock-absorption body (110) provided with a first mounting position (see annotated fig below);
a second shock-absorption body (120) provided with a second mounting position (see annotated fig below); and
an elastic shock-absorbing component (130) connected to both the first shock-
absorption body (110) and the second shock-absorption body (120), wherein a movable gap (see annotated Fig below) is configured between the first shock-absorption body (110) and the second shock-absorption body (120).
Claim 2: The shock-absorption structure (100, fig.2) according to claim 1, wherein the first shock-absorption body (110) and the second shock-absorption body (120) are each configured to be in a circular shape (both 110, 120 have circular shape as shown in Fig.2).
Claim 16: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 1, wherein the first mounting position (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 1) comprises a first mounting hole (114) piercing through the first shock-absorption body (110), while the second mounting position (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 1) comprises a second mounting hole (124) piercing through the second shock-absorption body (120).
Claim(s) 1, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keinänen (US 20160123422 A1)
Keinänen discloses:
Claim 1: A shock-absorption structure (110; fig.2), comprising:
a first shock-absorption body (114. Note: Under BRI, blocks 112,113,114 are reasonably considered shock-absorption bodies because they form part of damping structure in which spring wires 111b, 111c connects the blocks and dissipate the vibration.) provided with a first mounting position (e.g. region of 114 where spring 111b is coupled, see Fig.2);
a second shock-absorption body (112) provided with a second mounting position (e.g. region of 112 where spring 111b is coupled); and
an elastic shock-absorbing component (111b) connected to both the first shock-absorption body (114) and the second shock-absorption body (112),
wherein a movable gap (e.g. gap between the blocks 112 and 114) is configured between the first shock-absorption body (114) and the second shock-absorption body (112).
Claim 17: The shock-absorption structure according to claim 1, wherein the shock-absorption structure (110; Fig.2) further comprises a third shock-absorption body (113); a movable gap (gap between 113 and 114) is configured between the first shock-absorption body (114) and the third shock-absorption body (113); and the first shock-absorption body (114) and the third shock-absorption body (113) are connected via at least one elastic shock-absorbing component (111c).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a shock-absorption structure; specifically, “ a first end of the first elastic shock-absorbing part and a first end of the second elastic shock-absorbing part are positioned within the corresponding first hole of the plurality of first holes, and a second end of the first elastic shock-absorbing part and a second end of the second elastic shock-absorbing part are positioned within the corresponding second hole of the plurality of second holes.” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 4.
The closest references are HA or Sebert as recited above, neither the references disclose the paired first and second elastic parts sharing corresponding first and second holes required in claim 4. There is no reason or disclosure from prior art that would led one skills in the art to modify these arrangement to obtain the claimed configuration.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a shock-absorption structure; specifically, “a plurality of locking members are respectively positioned in the plurality of second locking holes to secure the elastic shock-absorbing component located at least partially within the plurality of second holes.” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 6.
The closest references are HA or Sebert as recited above, neither the references disclose the locking member arrangement as required in claim 6. There is no reason or disclosure from prior art that would led one skills in the art to modify these arrangement to obtain the claimed configuration.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a shock-absorption structure; specifically, “each first elastic member of the plurality of first elastic members sequentially passes through the plurality of first holes and the plurality of second holes corresponding to a respective shock-absorption zone of the plurality of shock-absorption zones.” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 8.
The closest references are HA or Sebert as recited above, neither the references disclose a single elastic member sequentially passing through a plurality first and second holes as required in claim 8. There is no reason or disclosure from prior art that would led one skills in the art to modify these arrangement to obtain the claimed configuration.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a shock-absorption structure; specifically, “wherein the plurality of first holes are greater in quantity than the plurality of second holes; and each the plurality of second holes corresponds to multiple first holes of the plurality of first holes.” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a shock-absorption structure; specifically, “wherein a quantity of the plurality of first holes is double that of the plurality of second holes” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither discloses nor renders obvious a shock-absorption structure; specifically, “each second elastic ring of the plurality of second elastic rings passes through one first hole and two corresponding second holes.” and in combination with the remaining structure of claim 12.
The closest references are HA or Sebert as recited above, neither the references disclose unequal hole number and routing relationships required in claims 10-12, including a 2:1 hole ratio with repeated passage through a second hole or an elastic ring passing through one first hole and two second holes. There is no reason or disclosure from prior art that would led one skills in the art to modify these arrangement to obtain the claimed configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SUN (CN 107514437 A) discloses two bodies with spring between the two bodies.
KIAV (RU 2735144 C1) discloses two bodies with spring between the two bodies.
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655A