Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 04/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite “solder layer”. However, the specification recites “brazing” (See published ¶0103) as the welding technique. The term “solder layer” is interpreted as a filler metal used for brazing/welding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 depends from Claim 5 and recites the same method steps. It is unclear if the method steps are required to occur twice, or if there is a typo regarding the dependency of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-12, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US20140151011A1).
Claim 1
Kim teaches a method for manufacturing a heat exchanger (Figure 1, Item 100) comprising: providing a fin (20) and a heat exchange tube (10), a welding hole (20a) being arranged at the fin (Figures 5A-5C), and flow guide teeth (12) being arranged at an inner wall of the heat exchange tube (Figure 3B); passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole (Figure 2); and welding the fin and the heat exchange tube at a position of the welding hole. (¶0029)(It is noted that applicant discloses brazing as a welding method in Published ¶0103.)
Claim 2
Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube: covering an outer surface of the heat exchange tube with a solder layer. (Figure 5B shows the filler metal (25) on the fin covers the outer surface of the tube once the tube is expanded and prior to welding.)
Claim 3
Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising, before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube: covering an outer surface of the fin or an area to be welded at the welding hole with a solder layer. (Figure 5B shows the filler metal (25) on the fin is located at the area to be welded.)
Claim 5
Kim teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein welding the fin and the heat exchange tube includes: fixing the heat exchange tube passed through the welding hole and the fin so that the heat exchange tube and the fin maintain an attitude for welding (Kim, ¶0021 teaches the expansion of the tube (10) after insertion into the fin holes to closely adhere the tube to the fins.); placing the heat exchange tube and the fin that maintain the attitude for welding inside a heating furnace (Kim, ¶0049); and welding the heat exchange tube and the fin at the position of the welding hole using automatic welding. (Applicant describes the automatic welding as being enabled by applying a solder layer on the outer surface of the fin of the heat exchanger (See published ¶0086). Based on this, Kim teaches a filler brazing material (25) applied to the surface of the fin (20) in Figures 5C-5D that is used to weld the fins and tube together in a furnace (¶0049).)
Claim 7
Kim teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein welding the fin and the heat exchange tube includes: fixing the heat exchange tube passed through the welding hole and the fin so that the heat exchange tube and the fin maintain an attitude for welding (Kim, ¶0021 teaches the expansion of the tube (10) after insertion into the fin holes to closely adhere the tube to the fins.); placing the heat exchange tube and the fin that maintain the attitude for welding inside a heating furnace (Kim, ¶0049); and welding the heat exchange tube and the fin at the position of the welding hole using automatic welding. (Applicant describes the automatic welding as being enabled by applying a solder layer on the outer surface of the fin of the heat exchanger (See published ¶0086). Based on this, Kim teaches a filler brazing material (25) applied to the surface of the fin (20) in Figures 5C-5D that is used to weld the fins and tube together in a furnace (¶0049).)
Claim 10
Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein welding the fin and the heat exchange tube includes: fixing the heat exchange tube passed through the welding hole and the fin so that the heat exchange tube and the fin maintain an attitude for welding (Kim, ¶0021 teaches the expansion of the tube (10) after insertion into the fin holes to closely adhere the tube to the fins.); placing the heat exchange tube and the fin that maintain the attitude for welding inside a heating furnace (Kim, ¶0049); and welding the heat exchange tube and the fin at the position of the welding hole using automatic welding. (Applicant describes the automatic welding as being enabled by applying a solder layer on the outer surface of the fin of the heat exchanger (See published ¶0086). Based on this, Kim teaches a filler brazing material (25) applied to the surface of the fin (20) in Figures 5C-5D that is used to weld the fins and tube together in a furnace (¶0049).)
Claim 11
Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube: covering an outer surface of the fin with a solder layer or covering an area to be welded at the welding hole with a solder layer. (Figure 5B shows the filler metal (25) on the fin is located at the area to be welded.)
Claim 12
Kim teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein welding the fin and the heat exchange tube includes: fixing the heat exchange tube passed through the welding hole and the fin so that the heat exchange tube and the fin maintain an attitude for welding (Kim, ¶0021 teaches the expansion of the tube (10) after insertion into the fin holes to closely adhere the tube to the fins.); placing the heat exchange tube and the fin that maintain the attitude for welding inside a heating furnace (Kim, ¶0049); and welding the heat exchange tube and the fin at the position of the welding hole using automatic welding. (Applicant describes the automatic welding as being enabled by applying a solder layer on the outer surface of the fin of the heat exchanger (See published ¶0086). Based on this, Kim teaches a filler brazing material (25) applied to the surface of the fin (20) in Figures 5C-5D that is used to weld the fins and tube together in a furnace (¶0049).)
Claim 14
Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein welding the fin and the heat exchange tube includes: fixing the heat exchange tube passed through the welding hole and the fin so that the heat exchange tube and the fin maintain an attitude for welding (Kim, ¶0021 teaches the expansion of the tube (10) after insertion into the fin holes to closely adhere the tube to the fins.); placing the heat exchange tube and the fin that maintain the attitude for welding inside a heating furnace (Kim, ¶0049); and welding the heat exchange tube and the fin at the position of the welding hole using automatic welding. (Applicant describes the automatic welding as being enabled by applying a solder layer on the outer surface of the fin of the heat exchanger (See published ¶0086). Based on this, Kim teaches a filler brazing material (25) applied to the surface of the fin (20) in Figures 5C-5D that is used to weld the fins and tube together in a furnace (¶0049).)
Claim 15
Kim teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the heat exchange tube is made of at least one of aluminum-based material or copper-based material. (¶0024-0026 discuss copper or aluminum as the material for the heat exchanger tubes.)
Claim 16
Kim teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein providing the heat exchange tube includes: integrally forming the heat exchange tube with the flow guide teeth on the inner wall of the heat exchange tube, the flow guide teeth being configured for heat exchange with a medium inside the heat exchange tube. (Figure 3A teaches the tube has grooves (flow guide teeth) integrally formed on the inner wall. ¶0041 teaches the grooves increase heat transfer efficiency.)
Claim 17
Kim teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein providing the heat exchange tube includes: integrally forming the heat exchange tube with the flow guide teeth on the inner wall of the heat exchange tube, the flow guide teeth being configured for heat exchange with a medium inside the heat exchange tube. (Figure 3A teaches the tube has grooves (flow guide teeth) integrally formed on the inner wall. ¶0041 teaches the grooves increase heat transfer efficiency.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20140151011A1) in view of Shabtay (US20200318911A1).
Claim 4
Kim teaches the method according to claim 3.
Kim does not disclose before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube and after passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole: spraying welding flux at the position of the welding hole of the fin and an area to be welded of the heat exchange tube respectively.
However, Shabtay teaches before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube and after passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole: spraying welding flux at the position of the welding hole of the fin and an area to be welded of the heat exchange tube respectively. (¶0039 teaches fluxing of the heat exchanger prior to brazing by spraying on the assembly (¶0038 teaches this is after the tubes and fins are assembled). ¶0043 teaches the spraying allows the flux to coat the surfaces of the tubes and fins within the areas of contact.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known spray flux technique of Shabtay to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim based on ¶0040 of Shabtay “The flux removes any oxide layer from the surfaces of the heat exchanger components and allows the cladding material, as the source of the braze material, to properly flow and wet the surfaces to be joined by the braze material.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known the known spray flux technique of Shabtay to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the method of Kim will include a flux spray step prior to welding.
Claim 6
Kim teaches the method according to claim 2.
Kim does not disclose before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube and after passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole: spraying welding flux at the position of the welding hole of the fin and an area to be welded of the heat exchange tube respectively.
However, Shabtay teaches before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube and after passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole: spraying welding flux at the position of the welding hole of the fin and an area to be welded of the heat exchange tube respectively. (¶0039 teaches fluxing of the heat exchanger prior to brazing by spraying on the assembly (¶0038 teaches this is after the tubes and fins are assembled). ¶0043 teaches the spraying allows the flux to coat the surfaces of the tubes and fins within the areas of contact.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known spray flux technique of Shabtay to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim based on ¶0040 of Shabtay “The flux removes any oxide layer from the surfaces of the heat exchanger components and allows the cladding material, as the source of the braze material, to properly flow and wet the surfaces to be joined by the braze material.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known the known spray flux technique of Shabtay to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the method of Kim will include a flux spray step prior to welding.
Claim 13
Kim teaches the method according to claim 1.
Kim does not disclose before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube and after passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole: spraying welding flux at the position of the welding hole of the fin and an area to be welded of the heat exchange tube respectively.
However, Shabtay teaches before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube and after passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole: spraying welding flux at the position of the welding hole of the fin and an area to be welded of the heat exchange tube respectively. (¶0039 teaches fluxing of the heat exchanger prior to brazing by spraying on the assembly (¶0038 teaches this is after the tubes and fins are assembled). ¶0043 teaches the spraying allows the flux to coat the surfaces of the tubes and fins within the areas of contact.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known spray flux technique of Shabtay to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim based on ¶0040 of Shabtay “The flux removes any oxide layer from the surfaces of the heat exchanger components and allows the cladding material, as the source of the braze material, to properly flow and wet the surfaces to be joined by the braze material.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known the known spray flux technique of Shabtay to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the method of Kim will include a flux spray step prior to welding.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20140151011A1) in view of Martin (US20070221365A1).
Claim 8
Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising: processing the heat exchange tube including: providing a heat exchange tube body. (Figure 2)
Kim does not explicitly disclose bending the heat exchange tube body into a U-shaped heat exchange tube. Kim does disclose the tube has a U-shaped bend, but does not disclose the bending step. (Figure 1)
However, Martin teaches bending a heat exchange tube into a U-shaped heat exchange tube. (Figure 7, Figure 27 and ¶0064)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known heat exchanger tube bending technique of Martin to the U shaped tube of Kim in order to provide a heat exchanger tube with a tight return bend that is wrinkle free. (Martin ¶0013)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known the known U bend technique of Martin to the heat exchanger formation method of Kim because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the U bend shape of the tube of Kim will be formed by bending the tube.
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordlien (US20140298653A1) in view of Kim (US20140151011A1).
Claim 1
Nordlien teaches a method for manufacturing a heat exchanger (Figure 1) comprising: providing a fin (6) and a heat exchange tube (2), a welding hole (Figure 2) being arranged at the fin, passing the heat exchange tube through the welding hole (Figure 2); and welding the fin and the heat exchange tube at a position of the welding hole. (¶0038)(It is noted that applicant discloses brazing as a welding method in Published ¶0103.)
Nordlien does not disclose flow guide teeth being arranged at an inner wall of the heat exchange tube.
However, Kim teaches flow guide teeth (12) being arranged at an inner wall of the heat exchange tube (Figure 3B).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known forming of interior projections/grooves technique of Kim to the tubes of Nordlien in order to improve heat transfer efficiency. (See Kim ¶0024)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known forming of interior projections/grooves technique of Kim to the tubes of Nordlien because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the tubes of Nordlien will have interior flow guide teeth.
Claim 2
Nordlien in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, before welding the fin and the heat exchange tube: covering an outer surface of the heat exchange tube with a solder layer. (Nordlien ¶0038-0042 teach the tubes are clad with a filler material for brazing.)
Claim 9
Nordlien in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein covering the outer surface of the heat exchange tube includes: soaking the outer surface of the heat exchange tube in a solder solution to form the solder layer on the outer surface of the heat exchange tube. (Nordlien ¶0087 teaches the tubes can be dip coated, which is a soaking step.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20190162492A1
2017-04-12
¶0115 teaches spray coating of a member with flux after assembling.
US4645119A
1984-07-05
Figures 1-3 show a flux/brazing material (5) coated on the outside of the fin (4) material which covers the outside of the tube (2). Figure 7 shows the tubes are U shaped that “have been molded in advance”.
US20200318911A1
2018-12-14
¶0039 teaches fluxing of the heat exchanger assembly prior to brazing using a spraying or pouring technique. ¶0043 teaches the coating technique causes the flux to penetrate and coat the surfaces of the tubes and fins within the areas of contact.
US20140298653A1
2012-10-18
Coating on the tubes that includes a filler material (Solder) and a flux material.
US20140151011A1
2013-11-21
Tubes welded to fins using a filler material and brazing. Tubes have a u bend and internal ribs.
US20070221365A1
2006-03-24
Bending a heat exchanger tube to form a U bend (Figure 7).
US20050061492A1
2002-12-1
Figure 1 teaches bending of heat exchanger tubes to form a U bend.
WO2016072339A1
2016-05-12
Figure 1 shows a copper alloy hairpin tube (1) that has internal grooving (Figure 2).
US20090307898A1
2009-06-16
¶0013 teaches the use of a hairpin bender machine (88) for the bending of stock tubing to form the hairpin tubes. ¶0006 teaches these tubes are made from copper or aluminum.
US5142895A
1989-05-15
Figure 7 teaches a heat exchanger tube that is bend in a U bend.
US20100044023A1
2008-08-21
Figure 2 teaches a heat exchanger made from a plurality of hairpin tubes (20) and fins (12).
US20050155750A1
2004-01-20
¶0017 teaches the brazing a tube (20) and fin (12) in a braze furnace using a clad on the tube or fin.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726