DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first frame including a cam” and the “second actuator,” both in Claim 20, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claim recites “a first frame including a cam” in line 2, which is not described in the specification or shown in the drawings. It is noted that the specification and drawings have the cam associated with the second frame. Claim 20 also recites a “second actuator,” which is not described in the specification or shown in the drawings. Claims 21-30 depend, either directly or indirectly, from claim 20 and are, therefore, rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. No. 2018/0242446 to Cho et al. (i.e., Ref. 1 hereinafter).
Referring to claim 20, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses a folding electronic device (201, Figs. 6A-12B) comprising: a first frame (201a) including a cam ([0133], not shown), the first frame (201a) coupled to a first actuator (207); the first actuator comprising a first spring ([0133], not shown), the first spring disposed between spring seats (i.e., within 207a, Fig. 9), the first actuator (207) coupled to the cam; a second frame (201b) having a pivot (withing hinge 205, Fig. 9), the second frame (201b) coupled to a second actuator (i.e., on the opposite side of the device (see Fig. 9); the second actuator comprising a second spring [0133]); and a display (260, Figs. 11B-12B) supported by the first frame (102a) and the second frame (102b); the first actuator (207 left side) and the second actuator (207 right side) being configured to urge the display (260) to move to a folded or unfolded position in response to rotation of the second frame about the pivot.
Referring to claim 21, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 20, the first frame (201a) including a first end (near center of left side), the second frame (201b) including a second end (near center of left side), wherein a distance between the first end and the second end implicitly changes in response to the rotation of the second frame about the pivot.
Referring to claim 22, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 21, wherein the distance between the first end and the second end in the folded position is smaller than the distance between the first end and the second end in the unfolded position. See Figs. 9 and 11.
Referring to claim 23, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 20, further including a stop (not shown) configured to prevent over-rotation of the second frame. See [0133-0134].
Referring to claim 24, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 20, wherein the display comprises a first display portion supported by the first frame, a second display portion supported by the second frame, and a third display portion between the first display portion and the second display portion. See [0107] and Figs. 5A-7B.
Referring to claim 25, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 24, wherein the third display portion (260d) covers a joint between the first frame and the second frame. See Fig. 7A.
Referring to claim 26, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 24, wherein the third display portion (260d) has a substantially arc shape when the folding electronic device is in the folded position. See Fig. 7A.
Referring to claim 27, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 24, wherein the display has a substantially flat profile when the folding electronic device is in the unfolded position. See Figs. 6A and 6B.
Referring to claim 28, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 20, wherein the first actuator is inherently configured to exert a force on the first frame throughout an entirety of the rotation of the second frame about the pivot.
Referring to claim 29, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 20, wherein the display is a flexible display comprising an active-matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) display or a flexible display comprising an electronic ink display. See [0048].
Referring to claim 30, as best understood by the Examiner, Ref. 1 discloses the folding electronic device of claim 20, wherein the folding electronic device is a cell phone or a smart phone. See [0033].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANTHONY Q EDWARDS whose telephone number is (571)272-2042. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:30am-5:00pm.
/Anthony Q Edwards/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
February 13, 2026