DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 09/23/2024 for application number 18/893,581. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOU et al. (US 2022/0357960 A1) in view of MALONEY et al. (US 2022/0019446 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, CHOU discloses:
An information handling system [POS system 1, FIG. 1] comprising:
at least one processor [embedded controller 12, FIG. 1];
a memory [storage 14; storage 14 is a non-volatile memory device, p. 26];
a network interface controller [microcontroller 11 with network communication capability, configured to communicate with cloud server 2, FIG. 1, p. 24];
and a Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) [BIOS 13, FIG. 1, p. 23];
wherein the information handling system is configured to: be configured according to a first set of BIOS settings [POS system 1 is configured to perform BIOS 13 during boot up, PAR. 30; system refers to original configuration value of the BIOS configuration setting (i.e. a first set of BIOS settings) for operation of the BIOS, p. 31];
communicate with a remote information handling system via the network interface controller to download a second set of BIOS settings [remote computer 3 (remote computer 3 is a computing device with network communication capability, par. 21) transfers new configuration value for BIOS configuration settings to POS system 1 via cloud network 2, FIG. 2 Steps S4-S5, p. 33-34];
and apply the second set of BIOS settings [embedded controller 12 updates BIOS configuration setting by storing the new configuration value to replace the original configuration value, FIG. 2 Step S7, p. 36].
CHOU does not explicitly disclose during installation of a particular operating system (OS), communicating with a remote information handling system to download a second set of settings; and wherein the second set of BIOS settings is based on the particular OS;
However, in the analogous art of bootstrapping, MALONEY teaches during installation of a particular operating system (OS) communicating with a remote information handling system to download a second set of settings [while an operating system is being installed, the particular computer is configured to receive an update to the configuration file (i.e. second set of settings) via a user interface (p. 123) and retrieve a package from a package repository (retrieving a package from a package repository is an installation task), p. 122; updates to the configuration file includes updates to installation tasks based on updates to the configuration file, p. 123]
wherein configuration settings are based on the particular OS [updates to installation tasks are based on updates to the configuration file, of which indicate different settings for the OS being installed, p. 123].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of CHOU and MALONEY before him before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the operating system-based settings and configuration of settings during OS installation as taught by MALONEY into the information handling system as disclosed by CHOU in order to enable an automatic modification of settings during the configuration of the computer [MALONEY p. 128].
Regarding Claim 2, CHOU and MALONEY teach the limitations of Claim 1 as applied above.
CHOU further discloses a Unified Extensible Firmware Interface (UEFI) BIOS [BIOS is a Unified EFI (UEFI), p. 28].
Regarding Claim 7, CHOU further discloses a method [method of Fig. 2].
The remainder of Claim 7 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 8, CHOU and MALONEY teach the method of Claim 7 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 8 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 2, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 13, CHOU further discloses an article of manufacture comprising a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions thereon that are executable by an information handling system (Computing unit 15 of POS system 1 executes BIOS code (i.e. computer-executable instructions) stored in storage 14, [0027]; storage 14 is an electrically-erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM) (i.e. a non-transitory, computer-readable medium), [0026]).
The remainder of Claim 13 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 14, CHOU and MALONEY teach the article of Claim 13 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 14 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 2, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over CHOU and MALONEY as applied to Claims 1, 7, and 13 above, and in further view of PAUL et al. (US 2015/0277929 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, CHOU and MALONEY teach the limitations of Claim 1 as applied above.
CHOU and MALONEY do not explicitly teach the information handling system further configured to execute a bootstrap OS prior to installation of the particular OS.
However, in the analogous art of booting, PAUL teaches a system configured to execute a bootstrap OS prior to installation of a particular OS [multi-option boot loader 1014 runs at device start-up on operating system 1012 (p. 21, FIG. 10) and accepts user selection prior to installing a choice OS, p. 39].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of CHOU, MALONEY, and PAUL before him before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate executing a bootstrap OS prior to installing a particular OS as taught by PAUL into the information handling system as taught by CHOU and MALONEY in order to allow for user input of a choice operating system prior to installing the OS [PAUL p. 39].
Regarding Claim 4, CHOU, MALONEY, and PAUL teach the limitations of Claim 3 as applied above.
PAUL further teaches the bootstrap OS configured to accept a user selection of which particular OS to install [multi-option boot loader running on operating system 1012 (p. 21, FIG. 10) at initial start-up allows a user to select an individual operating system and installs the chosen OS, p. 39].
Regarding Claim 6, CHOU and MALONEY teach the limitations of Claim 1 as applied above.
CHOU further teaches a third set of BIOS settings [remote computer 3 provides multiple different BIOS configuration settings for POS system 1, p. 39].
PAUL further teaches an information handling system configured to receive an instruction to install a different OS [device receives user decision to switch (i.e. install; choice operating system is installed, FIG. 6, p. 44-45) an operating system, p. 16, FIGS. 5-6];
And installing a different OS [after switching to a different operating system OS3, OS3 operates in a normal fashion, p. 19; an operating system in operable form means it is installed on the device, p. 20];
The remainder of Claim 6 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 1 and is rejected accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of CHOU, MALONEY, and PAUL before him before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate installing a different OS as taught by PAUL into the information handling system as taught by CHOU and MALONEY in order to allow a single device to satisfy many different users by enabling users to switch to a different operating system if desired [PAUL p. 20]
Regarding Claim 9, CHOU and MALONEY teach the method of Claim 7 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 9 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 10, CHOU, MALONEY, and PAUL teach the method of Claim 9 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 10 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 4, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 12, CHOU and MALONEY teach the method of Claim 7 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 12 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 6, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 15, CHOU and MALONEY teach the article of Claim 13 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 15 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 16, CHOU, MALONEY, and PAUL teach the article of Claim 15 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 16 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 4, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 18, CHOU and MALONEY teach the article of Claim 13 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 18 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 6, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 5, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOU and MALONEY as applied to Claims 1, 7, and 13 above, and in further view of ZHANG et al. (US 2016/0335066 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, CHOU and MALONEY teach the limitations of Claim 1 as applied above.
CHOU and MALONEY do not explicitly teach wherein the particular OS is a cloud OS associated with a particular cloud intent, and wherein the information handling system is an element of an information handling system cluster.
However, in the analogous art of OS installation, ZHANG teaches:
A cloud OS associated with a particular cloud intent [cloud deployment information includes a type of cloud platform to be deployed (i.e. particular cloud intent) and the operating system type of the cloud, p. 23]
And wherein an information handling system is an element of an information handling system cluster [multi-node environment implementing the cloud comprising a plurality of servers, p. 27].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of CHOU, MALONEY, and ZHANG before him before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the cloud OS and system cluster as taught by ZHANG into the information handling system as taught by CHOU and MALONEY in order to allow users to remotely access computing resources, alleviating the need to purchase the physical resources themselves [ZHANG p. 5].
Regarding Claim 11, CHOU and MALONEY teach the method of Claim 7 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 11 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 5, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 17, CHOU and MALONEY teach the article of Claim 13 as applied above.
The remainder of Claim 17 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 5, and is rejected accordingly.
CONCLUSION
/J.L.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2175
/ANDREW J JUNG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2175