DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on September 23, 2024, claims 1-20 have been examined this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonthron et al (US 2006/0262007 A1) in view of Wintermantel (US 2019/0265347 A1) and Tsuchihashi et al (US 2008/0136702 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bonthron teaches a method for scheduling of activation of dual frequency radar transceivers for detecting at least one radar target, comprising [0007 for short range radar with four sensor units]:
until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated [0007 for vehicle applications requiring less than four-quadrant coverage]:
obtaining, using the plurality of first radar transceivers, a first received radar signal [0008 for multiple radar sensor and 0081 for multiple frequency ranges];
generating first radar data based on the first received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a first detection region and a second detection region [0007 for radar for each quadrant (multiple detection regions) to provide surround covering].
Bonthron fails to explicitly teach until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated, iteratively.
Wintermantel has a method for the environmental detection of a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated, iteratively [0049 for monitoring object detection over multiple successive cycles (iterations)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the cyclic calculations as taught by Wintermantel for the purpose to check the plausibility of object movement over multiple cycles (Wintermantel, 0045-0048).
Bonthron fails to explicitly teach obtaining, using the second radar transceiver, a second received radar signal, wherein the second radar transceiver is different from the plurality of the first radar transceivers; and generating second radar data based on the second received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a third detection region.
Tsuchihashi has a radar device has a long-range radar sensor having a first transmission and receiving section (abstract) and teaches obtaining, using the second radar transceiver, a second received radar signal, wherein the second radar transceiver is different from the plurality of the first radar transceivers [0058 for range detection of the first object and using two frequency ranges for first and second object detection];
and generating second radar data based on the second received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a third detection region [0058 for first and second object detection with the number of antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the range calculations as taught by Tsuchihashi for the purpose to prevent for overlap processing (Tsuchihashi, 0060).
Regarding Claim 13, Bonthron teaches an apparatus comprising [0007 for short range radar with four sensor units]:
a device configured to obtain a first received radar signal and a second received radar signal [0007 for vehicle applications requiring less than four-quadrant coverage];
and a processing device operatively coupled to the device, the processing device configured to [0008 for multiple radar sensor and 0081 for multiple frequency ranges]:
until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated [0007 for vehicle applications requiring less than four-quadrant coverage]:
obtain, using the plurality of first radar transceivers, a first received radar signal [0007];
generate first radar data based on the first received radar signal to detect at least one radar target within a first detection region and a second detection region [0007 for radar for each quadrant (multiple detection regions) to provide surround covering].
Bonthron fails to explicitly teach until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated, iteratively.
Wintermantel has a method for the environmental detection of a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated, iteratively [0049 for monitoring object detection over multiple successive cycles (iterations)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the cyclic calculations as taught by Wintermantel for the purpose to check the plausibility of object movement over multiple cycles (Wintermantel, 0045-0048).
Bonthron fails to explicitly teach and obtain, using the second radar transceiver, a second received radar signal, wherein the second radar transceiver is different from the plurality of the first radar transceivers; generate second radar data based on the second received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a third detection region.
Tsuchihashi has a radar device has a long-range radar sensor having a first transmission and receiving section (abstract) and teaches and obtain, using the second radar transceiver, a second received radar signal, wherein the second radar transceiver is different from the plurality of the first radar transceivers [0058 for range detection of the first object and using two frequency ranges for first and second object detection];
generate second radar data based on the second received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a third detection region [0058 for first and second object detection with the number of antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the range calculations as taught by Tsuchihashi for the purpose to prevent for overlap processing (Tsuchihashi, 0060).
Regarding Claim 20, Bonthron teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to [0007 for short range radar with four sensor units]:
until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated [0007 for vehicle applications requiring less than four-quadrant coverage]:
obtain, using the plurality of first radar transceivers, a first received radar signal [0008 for multiple radar sensor and 0081 for multiple frequency ranges];
generate first radar data based on the first received radar signal to detect at least one radar target within a first detection region and a second detection region [0007 for radar for each quadrant (multiple detection regions) to provide surround covering].
Bonthron fails to explicitly teach until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated, iteratively.
Wintermantel has a method for the environmental detection of a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches until each of a plurality of first radar transceivers and a second radar transceiver has been activated, iteratively [0049 for monitoring object detection over multiple successive cycles (iterations)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the cyclic calculations as taught by Wintermantel for the purpose to check the plausibility of object movement over multiple cycles (Wintermantel, 0045-0048).
Bonthron fails to explicitly teach obtain, using the second radar transceiver, a second received radar signal, wherein the second radar transceiver is different from the plurality of the first radar transceivers; and generate second radar data based on the second received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a third detection region.
Tsuchihashi has a radar device has a long-range radar sensor having a first transmission and receiving section (abstract) and teaches obtain, using the second radar transceiver, a second received radar signal, wherein the second radar transceiver is different from the plurality of the first radar transceivers [0058 for range detection of the first object and using two frequency ranges for first and second object detection];
and generate second radar data based on the second received radar signal to detect the at least one radar target within a third detection region [0058 for first and second object detection with the number of antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the range calculations as taught by Tsuchihashi for the purpose to prevent for overlap processing (Tsuchihashi, 0060).
Regarding Claim 3 and 15, Bonthron teaches the obtaining using the plurality of the first radar transceivers comprises: transmitting, via a transmitter of the plurality of the first radar transceivers, a first radar signal [0080-0081];
and receiving, via a receiver of the plurality of the first radar transceivers, the first received radar signal [0081 for radar sensor's total occupied transmit spectral bandwidth is dependent on the radar frequency modulation bandwidth].
Regarding Claim 4 and 16, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the first radar transceiver is a 60 Gigahertz (GHz) radar transceiver.
Wintermantel has a method for the environmental detection of a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches teach the first radar transceiver is a 60 Gigahertz (GHz) radar transceiver [0005 for using both 24 and 77 GHz, functionally equivalent to 60 GHz in the same known radar frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the cyclic calculations as taught by Wintermantel for the purpose to check the plausibility of object movement over multiple cycles (Wintermantel, 0045-0048).
Regarding Claim 5 and 17, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the obtaining using the second radar transceiver comprises: transmitting, via a second radar transmitter, the second radar signal of a second frequency band; and receiving, via a second radar receiver, the second received radar signal.
Tsuchihashi has a radar device has a long-range radar sensor having a first transmission and receiving section (abstract) and teaches the obtaining using the second radar transceiver comprises: transmitting, via a second radar transmitter, the second radar signal of a second frequency band [0058-0059 for having two object detections];
and receiving, via a second radar receiver, the second received radar signal [0058 for first and second object detection with the number of antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the range calculations as taught by Tsuchihashi for the purpose to prevent for overlap processing (Tsuchihashi, 0060).
Regarding Claim 6 and 18, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the second radar transceiver is a 77 GHz radar transceiver.
Tsuchihashi has a radar device has a long-range radar sensor having a first transmission and receiving section (abstract) and teaches the second radar transceiver is a 77 GHz radar transceiver [0058 for first and second object detection with the number of antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the range calculations as taught by Tsuchihashi for the purpose to prevent for overlap processing (Tsuchihashi, 0060).
Regarding Claim 7, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the second radar transceiver is a 60 GHz radar transceiver.
Wintermantel has a method for the environmental detection of a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches teach the first radar transceiver is a 60 Gigahertz (GHz) radar transceiver [0005 for using both 24 and 77 GHz, functionally equivalent to 60 GHz in the same known radar frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the cyclic calculations as taught by Wintermantel for the purpose to check the plausibility of object movement over multiple cycles (Wintermantel, 0045-0048).
Regarding Claim 10, Bonthron teaches an overlapping of a beam pattern from two of the plurality of the first radar transceivers is below a predefined threshold to minimize interference [0008 for monitoring the entire region of the vehicle in permissible frequency bands and limiting the SNR for managing overlap].
Regarding Claim 12, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the plurality of the first radar transceivers and the second radar transceiver are sequentially activated according to a round robin order.
Wintermantel has a method for the environmental detection of a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches the plurality of the first radar transceivers and the second radar transceiver are sequentially activated according to a round robin order [0049 for monitoring object detection over multiple successive cycles (iterations)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the cyclic calculations as taught by Wintermantel for the purpose to check the plausibility of object movement over multiple cycles (Wintermantel, 0045-0048).
Claims 2, 8-9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonthron et al (US 2006/0262007 A1) in view of Wintermantel (US 2019/0265347 A1) and Tsuchihashi et al (US 2008/0136702 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Koch (US 2020/0041637 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach in response to the generating the first radar data and the second radar data, simultaneously processing the first radar data and the second radar data to obtain radar target information associated with the at least one radar target.
Koch has a method for operating a radar sensor in a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches in response to the generating the first radar data and the second radar data, simultaneously processing the first radar data and the second radar data to obtain radar target information associated with the at least one radar target [0028 for using parallel (simultaneous) processing for radar sensor data for each frequency range].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Koch for the purpose to evaluation results of both operating modes used at the same time (Koch, 0028).
Regarding Claim 8 and 19, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the plurality of the first radar transceivers comprise: a 60 GHz radar transceiver and a 77 GHz radar transceiver.
Koch has a method for operating a radar sensor in a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches the plurality of the first radar transceivers comprise: a 60 GHz radar transceiver and a 77 GHz radar transceiver [003 and 0033-0034].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Koch for the purpose to evaluation results of both operating modes used at the same time (Koch, 0028).
Regarding Claim 9, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the simultaneously processing the first radar data and the second radar data comprises: processing, using a first signal processing unit, the first radar data; and processing, using a second signal processing unit, the second radar data.
Koch has a method for operating a radar sensor in a motor vehicle (abstract) and teaches the simultaneously processing the first radar data and the second radar data comprises: processing, using a first signal processing unit, the first radar data [0028 for short look and long look processing];
and processing, using a second signal processing unit, the second radar data [0028 for using parallel (simultaneous) processing for radar sensor data for each frequency range].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Koch for the purpose to evaluation results of both operating modes used at the same time (Koch, 0028).
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonthron et al (US 2006/0262007 A1) in view of Wintermantel (US 2019/0265347 A1) and Tsuchihashi et al (US 2008/0136702 A1), as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Oswald et al (US 6,215,438 B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Bonthron fails to explicitly teach the plurality of the first radar transceivers are positioned at opposing corners of a vehicle.
Oswald has a radar system adapted to be installed on a vehicle (abstract) and teaches the plurality of the first radar transceivers are positioned at opposing corners of a vehicle [col 2, lines 25-45 for having two opposite corners].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar techniques, as disclosed by Bonthron, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Oswald for the purpose to cover a large area with fewer transmitters and receivers (Oswald, col 2, lines 25-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Margomenos (US 2009/0251356 A1) has an automotive radar includes a printed circuit board having a top surface and a bottom surface.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648