DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosures of the prior-filed applications, Application No.’s 15141655, 62301546, 62217542, and 62154599 each fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of the prior filed applications listed above provides support for at least the flared leg of the arched bone contacting element of claims 1 and 10 and those claims dependent thereon, nor for the first and second arched bone contacting elements extending from an intermediate portion of a first support beam to an intermediate portion of a second support beam, and extending parallel to one another, as required by claim 14. Accordingly, claims 1-20 receive an effective filing date of 10/25/2016, which is the filing date of application No. 15334053.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 13-14, the limitation “wherein the at least one flared leg includes a first portion attached to the body…” is unclear because line 10 recites that the flared leg is attached to the peripheral structure. It appears as though the limitation in lines 13-14 should recite that the at least one flared leg includes a first portion attached to the peripheral structure.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the at least one flared leg of the second arched bone includes a first portion attached to the body…” is unclear because claim 4 recites that the flared leg is attached to the peripheral structure. It appears as though the limitation in claim 5 should recite that the at least one flared leg of the second arched bone contacting element includes a first portion attached to the peripheral structure.
Regarding claim 10, line 15 recites “wherein the flared leg includes a first, wide portion attached to the body..”. However, lines 5-6 recite that the ends of the first arched bone contacting element are attached to and integrally formed with the peripheral structure. It appears as though line 15 should recite that the flared leg includes a first, wide portion attached to the peripheral structure.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the posterior-anterior axis" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayer (Pat. No. US 9,364,339 B2)
Regarding claims 10-13, Mayer discloses an implant 10, comprising: a body including a peripheral structure bounding an interior region (illustrated in figure 14), and a first support beam 20 extending through the interior region substantially parallel to the posterior-anterior axis (figure 14); and a first arched bone contacting element 54 having two ends, wherein both ends are attached to and integrally formed with the peripheral structure of the body of the implant (figure 14); the peripheral structure having a superior surface configured to face an endplate of a vertebral body when the implant is implanted into an intervertebral space (figure 14); wherein the first arched bone contacting element 54 extends in a superior direction from the superior surface of the peripheral structure; wherein at least one of the two ends of the first arched bone contacting element forms a flared leg (illustrated in figure 14); wherein the flared leg includes a first, wide portion attached to the body and a second, narrow portion proximate an arched portion of the first arched bone contacting element (figure 14); further including a second arched bone contacting element 54 having two ends, wherein both ends are attached to and integrally formed with the peripheral structure of the body of the implant (figure 14). The first arched bone contacting element 54 and the second arched bone contacting element 54 are located adjacent to one another on the peripheral structure (figure 14). At least one of the two ends of the first arched bone contacting element 54 is substantially aligned with at least one of the two ends of the second arched bone contacting element 54 (figure 14). The first arched bone contacting element 54 extends along the peripheral structure and the second arched bone contacting element extends along the peripheral structure (figure 14); and wherein the first arched bone contacting element 54 extends at an oblique angle with respect to the second arched bone contacting element in order to substantially align with a curved portion of the peripheral structure (figure 14).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12097123 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art, Chataigner et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0226300 A1) fails to disclose at least wherein at least one of the two ends of the first arched bone contacting element is attached to and integrally formed with the peripheral structure, as required by claim 1. The arched bone contacting element of Charaigner is separated formed.
None of the prior art discloses nor suggests a pair of parallel arched bone contacting elements extending between intermediate portions of support beams within an interior of an implant. Afzal (Pub. No. US 2017/0258606 A1) discloses arched bone contacting elements, but fails to disclose that they extend parallel to one another and between two support beams that are located in an interior of an implant.
Examiner’s Comment
Several attempts were made to contact Applicant’s representative via telephone to discuss an Examiner’s Amendment to place the application in condition for allowance, but Examiner was unable to make contact with Applicant’s representative.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO form 892.
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773