DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 September 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,652,065 to Park et al. (“Park”) in view of US 2005/0277733 to Wescott et al. (“Wescott”).
With regard to Claim 1, Park teaches a wood product comprising wooden elements treated with a loading solution, partially dried, and subjected to heat and pressure to a desired degree of cure (see Abstract; Col. 2, Lns. 27-29; Col. 3, Lns. 18-23; Col. 7, Lns. 53-56; Col. 11, Lns. 11-31). According to Park thus-treated wooden elements exhibit an increased parallel-to-grain bending modulus value as compared to untreated elements (see FIG. 5; Col. 4, Lns. 20-23).
Park teaches loading with a plurality of isocyanate resins and drying to a suitable degree of moisture as a co-reactant (see Col. 7, Lns. 17-49). To the extent that the reference does not expressly contemplate such isocyanate resins as water-blocking agents, Wescott is directed to water-resistant adhesive compositions suitable for use in bonding wood laminates, and teaches infiltrating veneer materials with a water-blocking agent to render improved durability (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0004], [0008], [0013]-[0017], [0051]-[0052], [0057], [0132]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have infiltrated veneers in the wood product of Park with a water-blocking agent, as taught by Wescott, and to have executed a drying step thereafter to achieve a desired degree of moisture as a co-reactant in order to obtain a wood product with improved durability.
With regard to Claim 2, Park teaches treated wooden veneer elements (see Abstract; Col. 1, Lns. 9-10).
With regard to Claims 3 and 8, Park teaches products comprising treated and untreated wooden elements and remarks on demand for exploiting all sources of wood and wood fiber materials, and indicates routine usage of strand materials in wooden products (see Col. 1, Lns. 45-51; Col. 12; Lns. 27-30; Col. 12, Lns. 53-55). Park does not expressly teach treating strand elements; however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have treated any type of wood elements routinely used in wooden products in view of the recognition of demand for efficient use of materials.
With regard to Claim 4, Park teaches products comprising treated and untreated wooden elements (see Col. 12; Lns. 27-30).
With regard to Claim 5, Park teaches I-joist products composed of treated wooden elements (see Col. 12, Lns. 41-54).
With regard to Claim 6, Park teaches plywood products composed of multiple treated plies (see Col. 3, Lns. 22-23).
With regard to Claim 7, Park teaches non-destructive bending modulus testing of treated wooden elements (see Col. 13, Lns. 30-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have selected wooden elements featuring minimum specified bending modulus properties, including values within the claimed range, in manufacturing wood products suitable for use in construction.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712