This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 20090256453) in view of Badia (U.S. Pat. No. 6398445).
With respect to claim 1, Wang discloses a shelf safety pin assembly (Fig. 2, linking unit 3) for a cabinet (Fig. 4, server rack 6) comprising at least one removable shelf (server chassis 63), the shelf safety pin assembly (linking unit 3) comprising: a bracket (Fig. 5, outer sleeve 1 which is fixed to side post 61); a safety pin (inner sleeve 2) movably coupled to the bracket (Fig. 5 and 6 shows inner sleeve 2 moves into and out of fixed outer sleeve 1), the safety pin (inner sleeve 2) comprising an engagement end (Fig. 3, end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) having a rear-facing stopping surface (round surface of inner sleeve 2 facing the rear side of the cabinet); a spring (elastic element 5) configured to bias the engagement end (end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) towards a stopping structure (Fig. 5-6, spring 5 biases inner sleeve 2 towards locating hole 641 of slide rail 64); and a safety pin release (cap member 4).
Wang fails to disclose the safety pin engagement end has a forward facing camming surface.
Badia discloses a safety pin (Fig. 2, element 5) comprising an engagement end (see modified Fig. 2 below, engagement end of element 5 that protrudes into hole 4) having a rear-facing stopping surface (see modified Fig. 2 below, “stopping surface”) and a forward-facing camming surface (see modified Fig. 2 below, “camming surface” of latch 9).
Modified Fig. 2
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front-facing end of the inner sleeve of Wang to include a camming surface, such as taught by Badia, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the inner sleeve to automatically retract into the outer sleeve upon the sliding the chassis into the cabinet, without requiring the user to pull the linking unit to its retracted position, and to further prevent the chassis from moving in the opposite direction, out of the cabinet (Badia, Abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the bracket (outer sleeve 1) is configured to be mounted to the cabinet (Paragraph 0020, “the engaging section 12 of the outer sleeve 1 may be fixed in the through hole 62 of the side post 61”), and the at least one removable shelf (server chassis 63) includes the stopping structure (Fig. 4, locating hole 641 of slide rail 64 is included on server chassis 63).
With respect to claim 3, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses herein the stopping structure (locating hole 641 of slide rail 64) comprises at least a recess in the at least one removable shelf (the locating hole 641 is a hole, the hole is located on chassis 63 which includes slide rail 64 as shown in Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 4, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the recess (locating hole 641) is shaped to complement a shape of the safety pin (Figs. 5 and 6, locating hole 641 is appropriately sized and shaped to receive the inner sleeve 2, modified by Badia to have a camming surface).
With respect to claim 5, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. Badia further discloses wherein the recess (Fig. 4, hole 4 of moving element 8) includes a D-shaped profile (Fig. 1, hole 4 has a flat portion 12 and a half circle portion 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when modifying the inner sleeve of Wang to include the front-facing camming surface of Badia (such as taught in claim 1), to further modify the locating holes to have a D-shaped profiles, in order to utilize the flat portion to easily force the inner sleeve toward the spring and into a retracted position (Col. 2, lines 52-55) upon sliding the chassis into the cabinet, and to further utilize the half circle portion to engage with the inner sleeve when the chassis is stationary, allowing the weight of the chassis to be more evenly distributed around the surface of the inner sleeve (Col. 2, lines 62-66).
With respect to claim 6, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the safety pin release (cap member 4) includes a handle associated with the safety pin (Figs. 5 and 6, cap member 4 extends radially around the outer sleeve 1 allowing the user to grip and pull the cap member like a handle. Cap member 4 is connected to inner sleeve 2 via connecting rod 31).
With respect to claim 7, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the safety pin (inner sleeve 2) includes a first portion (Figs. 1 and 2, actuating rod 32 and connecting rod 31) and a second portion (Fig. 1, cap member 4) extending from the first portion at an angle relative to the first portion (Fig. 5, cap member 4 extends radially from connecting rod 31 forming a 90 degree angle).
With respect to claim 8, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the second portion (cap member 4) of the safety pin (inner sleeve 2) is configured to serve as the handle (Paragraph 0021, “a user can pull the cap member 4”).
With respect to claim 11, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein the safety pin (Wang, inner sleeve 2 as modified to include the front-facing camming surface of Badia) includes an edge that is at least one of beveled, tapered, or chamfered, and wherein the edge defines the camming surface (Badia, Fig. 2, camming surface of latch 9 is a flat, chamfered edge of element 5).
With respect to claim 12, Wang discloses a cabinet (Fig. 4, server rack 6) comprising: a frame (side posts 61); at least one removable shelf (server chassis 63) configured to be mounted within the frame (Fig. 4 shows server chassis 63 mounted within side posts 61); and at least one shelf safety pin assembly (Fig. 2, linking unit 3) comprising: a bracket (Fig. 5, outer sleeve 1 which is fixed to side post 61); a safety pin (inner sleeve 2) movably coupled to the bracket (Fig. 5 and 6 shows inner sleeve 2 moves into and out of fixed outer sleeve 1), the safety pin (inner sleeve 2) comprising an engagement end (Fig. 3, end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) having a rear-facing stopping surface (round surface of inner sleeve 2 facing the rear side of the cabinet); a spring (elastic element 5) configured to bias the engagement end (end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) towards a stopping structure (Fig. 5-6, spring 5 biases inner sleeve 2 towards locating hole 641 of slide rail 64); and a safety pin release (cap member 4).
Wang fails to disclose the safety pin engagement end has a forward facing camming surface.
Badia discloses a safety pin (Fig. 2, element 5) comprising an engagement end (see modified Fig. 2 below, engagement end of element 5 that protrudes into hole 4) having a rear-facing stopping surface (see modified Fig. 2 below, “stopping surface”) and a forward-facing camming surface (see modified Fig. 2 below, “camming surface” of latch 9).
Modified Fig. 2
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front-facing end of the inner sleeve of Wang to include a camming surface, such as taught by Badia, with a reasonable expectation of success in to order allow the inner sleeve to automatically retract into the outer sleeve upon the sliding the chassis into the cabinet, without requiring the user to pull the linking unit to its retracted position, and to further prevent the chassis from moving in the opposite direction, out of the cabinet (Badia, Abstract).
With respect to claim 13, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the bracket (outer sleeve 1) is configured to be mounted to the cabinet (Paragraph 0020, “the engaging section 12 of the outer sleeve 1 may be fixed in the through hole 62 of the side post 61”), and the at least one removable shelf (server chassis 63) includes the stopping structure (Fig. 4, locating hole 641 of slide rail 64 is included on server chassis 63).
With respect to claim 14, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the stopping structure (locating hole 641 of slide rail 64) comprises at least a recess in the at least one removable shelf (the locating hole 641 is a hole, the hole is located on chassis 63 which includes slide rail 64 as shown in Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 15, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the recess (locating hole 641) is shaped to complement a shape of the safety pin (Figs. 5 and 6, locating hole 641 is appropriately sized and shaped to receive the inner sleeve 2, modified by Badia to have a camming surface).
With respect to claim 16, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. Badia further discloses wherein the recess (Fig. 4, hole 4 of moving element 8) includes a D-shaped profile (Fig. 1, hole 4 has a flat portion 12 and a half circle portion 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when modifying the inner sleeve of Wang to include the front-facing camming surface of Badia (such as taught in claim 1), to further modify the locating holes to have a D-shaped profiles, in order to utilize the flat portion to easily force the inner sleeve toward the spring and into a retracted position (Col. 2, lines 52-55) upon sliding the chassis into the cabinet, and to further utilize the half circle portion to engage with the inner sleeve when the chassis is stationary, allowing the weight of the chassis to be more evenly distributed around the surface of the inner sleeve (Col. 2, lines 62-66).
With respect to claim 17, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the safety pin release (cap member 4) includes a handle associated with the safety pin (Figs. 5 and 6, cap member 4 extends radially around the outer sleeve 1 allowing the user to grip and pull the cap member like a handle. Cap member 4 is connected to inner sleeve 2 via connecting rod 31).
With respect to claim 18, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the safety pin (inner sleeve 2) includes a first portion (Figs. 1 and 2, actuating rod 32 and connecting rod 31) and a second portion (Fig. 1, cap member 4) extending from the first portion at an angle relative to the first portion (Fig. 5, cap member 4 extends radially from connecting rod 31 forming a 90 degree angle).
With respect to claim 19, Wang in view of Badia discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Wang) further discloses wherein the second portion (cap member 4) of the safety pin (inner sleeve 2) is configured to serve as the handle (Paragraph 0021, “a user can pull the cap member 4”).
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 20090256453) in view of Ji (U.S. Pat. No. 6299223).
With respect to claim 1, With respect to claim 1, Wang discloses a shelf safety pin assembly (Fig. 2, linking unit 3) for a cabinet (Fig. 4, server rack 6) comprising at least one removable shelf (server chassis 63), the shelf safety pin assembly (linking unit 3) comprising: a bracket (Fig. 5, outer sleeve 1 which is fixed to side post 61); a safety pin (assembly of inner sleeve 2 with actuating rod 32 and connecting rod 31) movably coupled to the bracket (Fig. 5 and 6 shows inner sleeve 2 moves into and out of fixed outer sleeve 1), the safety pin (assembly of inner sleeve 2 with actuating rod 32 and connecting rod 31) comprising an engagement end (Fig. 3, end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) having a rear-facing stopping surface (round surface of inner sleeve 2 facing the rear side of the cabinet); a spring (elastic element 5) configured to bias the engagement end (end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) towards a stopping structure (Fig. 5-6, spring 5 biases inner sleeve 2 with actuating rod 32 towards locating hole 641 of slide rail 64); and a safety pin release (cap member 4).
Wang fails to disclose the safety pin engagement end has a forward facing camming surface.
Ji discloses a safety pin (Fig. 20, shaft 118) comprising an engagement end (see modified Fig. 20A below, “engagement end”) having a rear-facing stopping surface (see modified Fig. 20A below, “stopping surface”) and a forward-facing camming surface (see modified Fig. 20A below, “camming surface”).
Modified Fig. 20A
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the linking unit of Wang by replacing the inner sleeve and actuating/connecting rod assembly of Wang with a singular shaft, such as taught by Ji, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a sloped camming surface that compensates for misalignment of the safety pin assembly and the chassis locating holes, and to further reduce excessive wear caused by friction between both the safety pin and the chassis.
With respect to claim 9, Wang in view of Ji discloses the limitation set forth above. Ji further discloses a guide pin (Fig. 20, projection pin 136) extending through a bore in the safety pin (Col. 5, lines 5-7, “two projections 136 are provided defining opposing ends of a pivot pin extending through an opening through the shaft 118” as shown in Fig. 20A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when replacing the sleeve/rod assembly of Wang with a singular shaft of Ji (as taught in claim 12) to further include the projection pin, in order to guide the shaft into and out of the housing/outer sleeve (Col. 5, lines 28-31) and to further prevent a side to side movement or “wiggle” of the shaft.
With respect to claim 10, Wang in view of Ji discloses the limitation set forth above. Ji further discloses wherein the bracket (Figs. 19 and 20, housing 116) further comprises a guide slot (slots 149), and the guide pin (projection pin 136) is configured to engage the guide slot (Col. 5, lines 33-37, “When the knob 120 has been fully turned, the projections 136 of the pin are positioned within the downwardly sloped portions of the cam slots 149 and the shaft 118 is thereby retained in its retracted position”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when including the projection pin of Ji (as taught in claim 13) to further include the slots in order to help retain the shaft in a retracted position, allowing a user to easily insert or withdraw a chassis into or out of the cabinet in one quick motion.
With respect to claim 12, Wang discloses a cabinet (Fig. 4, server rack 6) comprising: a frame (side posts 61); at least one removable shelf (server chassis 63) configured to be mounted within the frame (Fig. 4 shows server chassis 63 mounted within side posts 61); and at least one shelf safety pin assembly (Fig. 2, linking unit 3) comprising: a bracket (Fig. 5, outer sleeve 1 which is fixed to side post 61); a safety pin (assembly of inner sleeve 2 with actuating rod 32 and connecting rod 31) movably coupled to the bracket (Fig. 5 and 6 shows inner sleeve 2 moves into and out of fixed outer sleeve 1), the safety pin (assembly of inner sleeve 2 with actuating rod 32 and connecting rod 31) comprising an engagement end (Fig. 3, end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) having a rear-facing stopping surface (round surface of inner sleeve 2 facing the rear side of the cabinet); a spring (elastic element 5) configured to bias the engagement end (end of inner sleeve 2, near beveled section 21) towards a stopping structure (Fig. 5-6, spring 5 biases inner sleeve 2 towards locating hole 641 of slide rail 64); and a safety pin release (cap member 4).
Wang fails to disclose the safety pin engagement end has a forward facing camming surface.
Ji discloses a safety pin (Fig. 20, shaft 118) comprising an engagement end (see modified Fig. 20A below, “engagement end”) having a rear-facing stopping surface (see modified Fig. 20A below, “stopping surface”) and a forward-facing camming surface (see modified Fig. 20A below, “camming surface”).
Modified Fig. 20A
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the linking unit of Wang by replacing the inner sleeve and actuating/connecting rod assembly of Wang with a singular shaft, such as taught by Ji, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a sloped camming surface that compensates for misalignment of the safety pin assembly and the chassis locating holes, and to further reduce excessive wear caused by friction between both the safety pin and the chassis.
With respect to claim 20, Wang in view of Ji discloses the limitation set forth above. Ji further discloses a guide pin (Fig. 20, projection pin 136) extending through a bore in the safety pin (Col. 5, lines 5-7, “two projections 136 are provided defining opposing ends of a pivot pin extending through an opening through the shaft 118” as shown in Fig. 20A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when replacing the sleeve/rod assembly of Wang with a singular shaft of Ji (as taught in claim 12) to further include the projection pin, in order to guide the shaft into and out of the housing/outer sleeve (Col. 5, lines 28-31) and to further prevent a side to side movement or “wiggle” of the shaft.
Conclusion
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637