16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 14-19, 22-23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEIER et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20190318168 “Meier”) in view of Moll et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20240094822 “Moll”).
Regarding claim 9 Meier teaches An electronic device comprising (“[0043] FIG. 2A depicts a user device 202 displaying a representation 204 (e.g., an image) of an indoor physical environment 200, according to various embodiments. In the present embodiment, user device 202 is a standalone device, such as a hand-held mobile device (e.g., a smartphone) or a standalone head-mounted device”): one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing a method (“[0036] System 100 includes processor(s) 102 and memory(ies) 106. Processor(s) 102 include one or more general processors, one or more graphics processors, and/or one or more digital signal processors. In some embodiments, memory(ies) 106 are one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums (e.g., flash memory, random access memory) that store computer-readable instructions configured to be executed by processor(s) 102 to perform the techniques described below”) comprising:
detecting, via one or more input devices, a user interface of a first object in a physical environment of a user of the electronic device (“[0040]…. The first image sensor and the second image sensor are optionally configured to capture images of physical objects in the real environment from two distinct perspectives. In some examples, system 100 uses image sensor(s) 108 to receive user inputs, such as hand gestures.[0086]…… For example, the user device may identify a TV entity in the physical environment”);
in response to detecting the user interface of the first object, in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are satisfied (“[0065] As described above, to determine the entity type, the user device determines whether the combination of the one or more property values and the count of the one or more properties satisfies a confidence threshold. For example, if the confidence threshold is configured to be at least three properties with all property values above the confidence level criteria, the user device determines that cat 211B (corresponding to cat class entity 231B) is an entity of a second type (e.g., an outlier), which cannot be used for determining the physical environment associated with the entity. In the example shown in FIG. 2D, an entity of cat can be present in any physical environment and is thus a less reliable indicator for the type of physical environment.
[0111] At block 406, based on the identified at least one portion of the entity, whether the entity is an entity of a first type is determined”)”),
However Meier is silent about wherein the user interface of the first object is displayed on a display of the first object; wherein the user interface of the first object is displayed on a display of the first object;
Moll teaches user interface of a first object is displayed on a display of the first object; in response to detecting the user interface of the first object, in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are satisfied, wherein the one or more first criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a user interaction with one or more controls associated with the user interface of the first object is detected (“[0085] FIG. 5A is a diagram of a smart television display 500 having a cursor 502 displayed thereon as an aligned overlay object for manipulation by an AR-enabled eyewear device 100 in a sample configuration. As illustrated in FIG. 5B, a hand gesture 504 may be recognized by the AR-enabled eyewear device 100. [0087]…. For example, a hand gesture showing a “thumbs up” may be given a gesture ID that is recognized by the smart television display 500 to indicate that the volume is to be turned up on the smart television. Similarly, a head tilt may be recognized by the AR-enabled eyewear device 100 and assigned a gesture ID that is recognized by the smart television display 500 as a request to change channels up or down. [0097]……. The position of the rectangle of the smart television display 500 may be tracked in real-world coordinates using a SLAM service of the gesture detection/object tracking software 470 for such intersection point determinations”);
Moll and Meier are analogous art as both of them are related to AR/VR.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Meier by having user interface of a first object is displayed on a display of the first object; in response to detecting the user interface of the first object, in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are satisfied, wherein the one or more first criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a user interaction with one or more controls associated with the user interface of the first object is detected as taught by Moll.
The motivation for the above is to provide virtual information on a precise condition of user action.
Meier modified by Moll teaches presenting, via one or more displays, first content associated with the user interface of the first object in an environment independent of a location of the first object in the physical environment (Meier “[0086]…… For instance, a TV guide service or TV subscription service can be provided regardless of whether the TV entity is located in a bedroom or a living room. Accordingly, the user device is configured to present one or more virtual objects based on the identified TV entity (e.g., a virtual object enabling the user to receive an on-line movie streaming service) without having to determine the type of physical environment (e.g., whether the physical environment is a living room or bedroom).
Moll “[0085]…… Similarly, the contextual information tooltip 506 may be a menu for navigation to related items of interest. The contextual items tooltip 506 may be displayed on the smart television display 500 or may be overlayed on the display 180C of the AR-enabled eyewear device 100 as augmented content provided by the smart television or by the server 498, as appropriate.”).
Claim 1 is directed to a method claim and its steps are similar in scope and functions of the device claim 9 and therefore claim 1 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 9.
Claim 17 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim (Meier “[0036] System 100 includes processor(s) 102 and memory(ies) 106. Processor(s) 102 include one or more general processors, one or more graphics processors, and/or one or more digital signal processors. In some embodiments, memory(ies) 106 are one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums (e.g., flash memory, random access memory) that store computer-readable instructions configured to be executed by processor(s) 102 to perform the techniques described below”) and its scope and functions are similar in scope and functions of the device claim 9 and therefore claim 17 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18 Meier modified by Moll teaches wherein presenting the first content in the environment includes presenting one or more virtual representations in the environment in a first region relative to a current viewpoint of the user, wherein the first region relative to the current viewpoint of the user is independent of a location of the first object relative to the current viewpoint of the user (Meier “[0086]…… Accordingly, the user device is configured to present one or more virtual objects based on the identified TV entity (e.g., a virtual object enabling the user to receive an on-line movie streaming service) without having to determine the type of physical environment (e.g., whether the physical environment is a living room or bedroom)”).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19 Meier modified by Moll teaches wherein the one or more virtual representations are presented in the environment in accordance with a determination that a field of view of the environment does not include the user interface of the first object from the current viewpoint of the user (Meier Fig. 2A shows physical environment of kitchen where the TV doesn’t exist. Tv exist in the physical environment of living or bed room.
“[0085] In some embodiments, user device 202 can be configured to, while presenting representation 204 of the kitchen, provide one or more services using one or more of the virtual objects corresponding to the physical environment. With reference to FIG. 2H, as described above, the type of the physical environment in this embodiment is determined to be a kitchen. [0086]…… Accordingly, the user device is configured to present one or more virtual objects based on the identified TV entity (e.g., a virtual object enabling the user to receive an on-line movie streaming service) without having to determine the type of physical environment (e.g., whether the physical environment is a living room or bedroom)”).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 22 Meier modified by Moll teaches wherein the user interaction with one or more controls associated with the user interface of the first object incudes an input directed to the user interface of the first object (Moll “[0087]…. For example, a hand gesture showing a “thumbs up” may be given a gesture ID that is recognized by the smart television display 500 to indicate that the volume is to be turned up on the smart television. Similarly, a head tilt may be recognized by the AR-enabled eyewear device 100 and assigned a gesture ID that is recognized by the smart television display 500 as a request to change channels up or down”).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 23 Meier modified by Moll teaches the user interaction with one or more controls associated with the user interface of the first object includes: after detecting the input directed to the user interface of the first object, presenting a virtual element in the environment that is interactive to present the first content in the environment; and detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to user interaction with the virtual element (Moll “[0085]….. As illustrated in FIG. 5B, a hand gesture 504 may be recognized by the AR-enabled eyewear device 100 to, for example, trigger a contextual information tooltip 506 showing the IMDB rating and recent user ratings/reviews for the item pointed to by the cursor 502. Similarly, the contextual information tooltip 506 may be a menu for navigation to related items of interest. The contextual items tooltip 506 may be displayed on the smart television display 500 or may be overlayed on the display 180C of the AR-enabled eyewear device 100 as augmented content provided by the smart television or by the server 498, as appropriate”.
Meier “[0087] In some embodiments, after the user device presents one or more virtual objects, the user device receives input representing a selection a virtual object of the one or more presented virtual objects (e.g., from a user of the user device), and performs one or more tasks in accordance with the selected virtual object”).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 24 Meier modified by Moll teaches wherein presenting the first content in the environment includes: during a first time period, storing information associated with the user interface of the first object without presenting a first virtual representation associated with the user interface of the first object in the environment (Fig. 4step 404 and 406 describe entity identification during that time data is stored and virtual representation is not displayed “[0111]….. In accordance with a determination that the at least one portion of the entity does not correspond to at least one portion of a previously-identified entity, data indicative of the at least one portion of the entity are stored”); and
during a second time period after the first time period, presenting, via the one or more displays, one or more virtual representations associated with the user interface of the first object in the environment based on the information stored during the first time period (“[0115] At block 410, one or more virtual objects and a representation of the entity corresponding to the determined type of the physical environment are presented”).
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier modified by Moll and further in view of KO et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20250200830 “Ko”).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20 Meier modified by Moll is silent about wherein the one or more virtual representations are presented in the environment in accordance with a determination that the user interface of the first object is outside of a threshold distance from a location corresponding to the current viewpoint of the user in the environment.
Ko teaches one or more virtual representations are presented in the environment in accordance with a determination that the user interface of the first object is outside of a threshold distance from a location corresponding to the current viewpoint of the user in the environment (“[0144] Referring to FIG. 9, it is assumed that the external device 2000 is located further away from the electronic device 1000 than a first threshold distance, and the electronic device 1000 is unable to identify the location of the external device 2000. [0146] The electronic device 1000 may determine a second region where notification information is to be displayed, based on direction information included in presets or the location information, and display an affordance (e.g., for inducing a button input or a hand gesture input via a controller for switching to a VST mode) and the notification information in the second region”).
Ko and Meier modified by Moll are analogous art as both of them are related to AR/VR.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Meier modified by Moll by presenting one or more virtual representations in the environment in accordance with a determination that the user interface of the first object is outside of a threshold distance from a location corresponding to the current viewpoint of the user in the environment as taught by Ko.
The motivation for the above is to provide a virtual information indicating an alert.
Claim(s) 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier modified by Moll and further in view of YOSHIZAWA et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20260195998 “Yoshizawa”).
Regarding claims 25-27 Meier modified by Moll is silent about wherein the one or more first criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a mode of operation that includes presenting content in the environment associated with one or more objects included in the physical environment is currently active.
Yoshizawa teaches one or more first criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a mode of operation that includes presenting content in the environment associated with one or more objects included in the physical environment is currently active (“[0062] FIG. 8 is a flowchart of the object display control processing in this example. In FIG. 8, first, in step S101, the display control unit 1114 checks whether or not the HMD 100 is in the AR object display On mode. If it is in the AR object display On mode, the process proceeds to step S102. If it is not in the AR object display On mode, the process ends”);
Yoshizawa and Meier modified by Moll are analogous art as both of them are related to AR/VR.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Meier modified by Moll by having one or more first criteria that include a criterion that is satisfied when a mode of operation that includes presenting content in the environment associated with one or more objects included in the physical environment is currently active as taught by Yoshizawa.
The motivation for the above is to reduce unnecessary processing of AR image.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, pages 11-12 filed 06/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEIER et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20190318168 “Meier”) in view of Moll et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20240094822 “Moll”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612