DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ude (US-8820566-B2) in view of Minh (US-5826738-A).
Regarding claim 1, Ude discloses a container assembly (Fig. 1), comprising: a storage container (12) having a ring attachment portion (14), the storage container defining an interior (Fig. 10); and a lid assembly comprising: a ring (20) having internal threads (23), the ring being attachable to the ring attachment portion (Fig. 12); a lid (30) having external threads (38), the lid is configured to be inserted into the ring substantially without interference from the threads and can be rotated for sealing the lid to the ring; and a seal formed onto the ring (Fig. 12, at 21), wherein in a closed position, the lid assembly is coupled to the storage container, access to and from the interior of the storage container is restricted (Fig. 10).
Ude fails to teach an alignment mark aligned with a beginning end of the thread on the ring, and an alignment mark aligned on the lid with a beginning of the thread such that when the lid is inserted into the ring with the two alignment marks aligned with one another, wherein the seal substantially prevents fluid communication between the lid and the ring with the lid installed to the ring, wherein the lid assembly substantially prevents fluid communication between the interior of the storage container and an exterior environment.
Minh teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container assembly with an alignment mark (16) aligned with a securing structure, and an alignment mark (36) aligned on the lid with a connection structure such that when the lid is inserted into the ring with the two alignment marks aligned with one another (col. 3, lines 63-67), and wherein components of a container assembly can be formed to provide a seal on the container (col. 6, lines 35-44) such that the seal substantially prevents fluid communication in a closed position (col. 6, lines 35-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the assembly with alignment marks, in order to make it easier for a user to open and close the assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the assembly to create a substantially fluid tight seal, as taught by Minh, in order to prevent unwanted materials from entering or escaping the container assembly an in order to better protect the contents of the container assembly.
Regarding claim 7, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches, the internal threads and the external threads engage one another during rotation of the lid attaching the lid to the ring (Ude, col. 4, lines 53-62).
Regarding claim 8, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein the alignment mark of the ring is a first alignment mark, and the alignment mark of the lid is a second alignment mark and when the lid is rotated to a position where the first and second alignment marks align the thread are spaced apart and dis-engaged from one another such that the lid can be lifted out of the ring and inserted into the ring (Minh, col. 3, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 9, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein when the lid is rotated within the ring to a position where the first and second alignment marks are not aligned with one another, the internal and external threads are engaged from one another such that the lid cannot be lifted out of the ring (Minh, col. 3, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 10, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein the ring attachment portion of the storage container is an annular flange that extends away from an adjacent surface of the storage container, and the ring has an inner portion and an outer portion that fit over the annular flange (Ude, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 11, the modified container assembly of Ude wherein the ring includes a snap-fitting protrusion that snaps to a corresponding part of the annular flange of the ring attachment portion (based on the modified sizes).
Regarding claim 12, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein the seal (Ude, 21, 20, 28, 29) can molded to the ring (product by process).
Regarding claim 13, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein the seal (Ude, 21, 20, 28, 29) that can be overmolded to the ring (product by process).
Regarding claim 14, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein the seal includes an upper portion (Ude, 21) and a lower portion (Ude, 28, 29) separated from one another by a plurality of posts that are molded into corresponding openings in the ring, the upper portion is configured to facilitate sealing between a portion of the lid and the ring and the lower portion is configured to facilitate sealing between the ring and the ring attachment portion of the storage container (Ude, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein an upper surface of the lid includes: a plurality of protrusions (Ude, Fig. 8 at 60) ; and a recess defined between each of the protrusions, the recess configured to enable a user to rotate the lid.
Regarding claim 17, the modified container assembly of Ude teaches wherein a lower surface of the lid includes a plurality of radially extending ribs (Ude, Fig. 9, 34, 60)
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ude (US-8820566-B2) in view of Minh (US-5826738-A) and Ouellette (US-20140374418-A1).
The modified container assembly of Ude teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above but fails to teach wherein the assembly has surface texturing to be opaque, translucent or transparent.
Ouellette teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container assembly with texturing to be opaque, translucent or transparent (par. 0147).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container assembly to be opaque, translucent or transparent, in order to adjust how much a user could see through the assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, this case one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are different reasons for sealing a container based on the contents of the container. The principal of operation would not be changed by adapting the container to store different items or to protect items within the container to a different degree.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733