DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to initial filing on 12/18/2024.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-13 have been newly added.
Claim 1-13 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2024, 07/24/2025, 10/30/2025 and 12/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/23/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2, 3, 7 and 11 are objected to because the term “TPMI” is an acronym, which could mean different things and /or change in meaning overtime, hence it would be desirable to write out the actual words which the acronym refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12101154. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 1 corresponds to conflicting claim 1 except it does not require the receiving the transmission mode from a second communication node.
Regarding claim 1, the table below shows that claim 1 of the patent contains the elements of claim 1 of the instant application, and therefore, is an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18/893849
Patent 12/101154
A transmission method, comprising:
determining a transmission mode of the first communication node by receiving the transmission mode from a second communication node;
determining, according to the transmission mode, a transmission power ratio;
sending a transmission according to the transmission power ratio; and
receiving scheduling information of the transmission from the second communication node,
wherein the scheduling information of the transmission is carried in physical layer signaling,
wherein the physical layer signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI),
and
wherein a number M of bits for a field of precoding information and number of layers in the physical layer signaling is determined by a maximum number of ports of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource in an SRS resource set corresponding to the transmission.
A transmission method, comprising:
determining a transmission mode of a first communication node;
determining, according to the transmission mode, a transmission power ratio; and
sending a transmission according to the transmission power ratio, wherein the transmission mode comprises one of a first mode or a second mode, and wherein determining the transmission power ratio according to the transmission mode comprises: in response to the transmission mode being the second mode, determining, according to a power capability of a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) of the transmission, the transmission power ratio; and in response to the transmission mode being the first mode, determining, according to a number of ports of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource corresponding to the transmission, the transmission power ratio, the method further comprising:
receiving scheduling information of the transmission from a second communication node,
wherein the scheduling information of the transmission is carried in physical layer signaling, wherein the physical layer signaling comprises downlink control information, DCI,
and
wherein a number M of bits for a field of precoding information and number of layers in the physical layer signaling is determined by a maximum number of ports of an SRS resource in an SRS resource set corresponding to the transmission,
wherein the physical layer signaling comprises SRS information, and the SRS information is used to indicate an SRS resource in an SRS resource set of the first communication node, wherein for the first communication node, the SRS resource in the SRS resource set has following features: a number of spatial relations associated with the SRS resource in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X2; and a number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X5; wherein X2 and X5 are all positive integers, and wherein a value of X5 depends on a capability of the first communication node, and a value of X2 is a predefined value.
Instant claim 2 and conflicting claim 1 correspond.
Instant claim 3 and conflicting claim 1 correspond.
Instant claim 4 and conflicting claim 4 and 5 correspond.
Instant claim 5 and conflicting claim 1 correspond.
Instant claim 6 corresponds to conflicting claim 5.
Instant claim 7 and conflicting claim 5 correspond.
Instant claim 8 and conflicting claim 5 correspond.
Instant claim 9 and conflicting claim 9 correspond except it does not require the receiving the transmission mode from a second communication node.
Instant claim 10 and conflicting claim 9 correspond.
Instant claim 11 and conflicting claim 9 correspond.
Instant claim 12 and conflicting claim 12 correspond.
Instant claim 13 and conflicting claim 9 correspond.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art 3GPP TSG RAN WG1#97.
Regarding claim 1, RAN WG1#97 discloses a transmission method, comprising:
determining a transmission mode of a first communication node (page 3, section 2.3, Alt1, “For a UE supporting Opt. 2 or/and Opt.3, network can indicate the VE via RRC signaling of which alternative of Opt.1/2/3 is used for power control of codebook-based PUSCH transmission”) by receiving the transmission mode from a second communication node (page 3, Att1.Opt.2: “2.3: Power scaling schemes Alt1: For a UE supporting Opt.2 or/and Opt.3, network can indicate the VE via RRC signaling of which alternative of Opt.1/2/3 is used for power control of codebook-based PUSCH transmission”);
determining, according to the transmission mode, a transmission power ratio (page 5. Alt6: “For capability 2 and 3 UEs, full uplink TX power capability is implicitly derived from the TPMI/TPMI group precoders For capability 2 and 3 UEs, full power is achievable with the introduced newcodebook Subset in Alt 1;” page 3, Att1.Opt.2: “2.3: Power scaling schemes Alt1: Rel-16 UE reports its support of three options via optional capability … Opt.2: The scale factor is the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the configured number of SRS ports for codebook based PUSCH”);
sending a transmission according to the transmission power ratio (page 3, Att1.Opt.2: “2.3: Power scaling schemes Alt1: Rel-16 UE reports its support of three options via optional capability … Opt.2: The scale factor is the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the configured number of SRS ports for codebook based PUSCH”), and
receiving scheduling information of the transmission from the second communication node, wherein the scheduling information of the transmission is carried in physical layer signaling, wherein the physical layer signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI) (page 4, ll. 16-22, If the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format 0_1),
and wherein a number M of bits for a field of precoding information and number of layers in the physical layer signaling is determined by a maximum number of ports of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource in an SRS resource set corresponding to the transmission (page 4, ll. 16-22, If the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format 0_1 and when txConfig in PUSCH-Config is set to ‘codebook,’ When altPowerScaling is not configures, the UE scales the linear value by the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the maximum number of SRS ports supported by the UE in one SRS resource).
Regarding claim 2, RAN WG1#97 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the transmission power ratio according to the transmission mode comprises:
in response to the transmission mode being the second mode, determining, according to a power capability of a TPMI of the transmission, the transmission power ratio (page 5. Alt6: “For capability 2 and 3 UEs, full uplink TX power capability is implicitly derived from the TPMI/TPMI group precoders For capability 2 and 3 UEs, full power is achievable with the introduced newcodebook Subset in Alt 1;” page 3, Att1.Opt.2: “2.3: Power scaling schemes Alt1: Rel-16 UE reports its support of three options via optional capability … Opt.2: The scale factor is the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the configured number of SRS ports for codebook based PUSCH”); or
in response to the transmission mode being the first mode, determining, according to a number of ports of an SRS resource corresponding to the transmission, the transmission power ratio (page 3, Att1.Opt.2: “2.3: Power scaling schemes Alt1: Rel-16 UE reports its support of three options via optional capability … Opt.2: The scale factor is the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the configured number of SRS ports for codebook based PUSCH”).
Regarding claim 3, RAN WG1#97 discloses the method according to claim 1, the transmission method further comprising: sending, to the second communication node, a full power capability supported by a predefined TPMI or TPMI group (page 1, 2.1: “… UE capability 2 can support full power transmission”); or sending, to the second communication node, a full power capability supported by a predefined TPMI or TPMI group corresponding to a respective number of ports. (page 1, 2.1: “… UE capability 2 can support full power transmission. Companies to check for any implementation issues and/or performance of Rel-16 full power transmission compared to Rel-15 non-coherent codebook subset uplink transmission”).
Regarding claim 4, RAN WG1#97 discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: the transmission method according to in response to the maximum rank of the first communication node being greater than the number of the ports of the SRS resource corresponding to the transmission (page 4, ll. 16-22, If the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format 0_1; page 4, ll. 16-22, If the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format 0_1 and when txConfig in PUSCH-Config is set to ‘codebook,’ When altPowerScaling is not configures, the UE scales the linear value by the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the maximum number of SRS ports supported by the UE in one SRS resource), the precoding information and the number of layers indicated by the value of the field of precoding information and number of layers in the physical layer signaling are analyzed based on the actual maximum rank, and the number of ports of the SRS resource corresponding to the transmission, wherein the actual maximum rank is equal to the number of the ports of the SRS resource corresponding to the transmission (page 4, ll. 16-22, If the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format 0_1 and when txConfig in PUSCH-Config is set to ‘codebook,’ When altPowerScaling is not configured, the UE scales the linear value by the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the maximum number of SRS ports supported by the UE in one SRS resource).
Claim 6 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Vivo-R1-1907671, page 1, 2.1: “UE capability 2 can support full power transmission”).
Claim 7 contains subject matter similar to claim 3, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Vivo-R1-1907671, page 1, 2.1: “UE capability 2 can support full power transmission”).
Claim 10 contains subject matter similar to claim 2, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 contains subject matter similar to claim 3, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 contains subject matter similar to claim 4, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5, 8 and 13 are allowed because the closest prior art of record 3GPP TSG RAN WG1#97 discloses UE capability 2 can support full power transmission and, Alt1, For a UE supporting Opt. 2 or/and Opt.3, network can indicate the VE via RRC signaling of which alternative of Opt.1/2/3 is used for power control of codebook-based PUSCH transmission (page3, section 2.3) and “For capability 2 and 3 UEs, full uplink TX power capability is implicitly derived from the TPMI/TPMI group precoders For capability 2 and 3 UEs, full power is achievable with the introduced newcodebook Subset in Alt 1,” (page 5. Alt6); and page 3, Att1.Opt.2: “2.3: Power scaling schemes Alt1: Rel-16 UE reports its support of three options via optional capability … Opt.2: The scale factor is the ratio of the number of antenna ports with a non-zero PUSCH transmission power to the configured number of SRS ports for codebook based PUSCH.”
There is no teaching or suggestion for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the method or system as disclosed by the prior art of record to have or render obvious specifically the features of wherein the physical layer signaling comprises SRS information, and the SRS information is used to indicate an SRS resource in an SRS resource set of the first communication node, wherein for the first communication node, the SRS resource in the SRS resource set has the following features: a number of spatial relations associated with the SRS resource in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X2; and a number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X5; wherein X2 and X5 are all positive integers, and wherein a value of X2 depends on a capability of the first communication node, and a value of X5 is a predefined value (claim 5); wherein the physical layer signaling comprises SRS information, and the SRS information is used to indicate an SRS resource in an SRS resource set of the first communication node, wherein for the first communication node, the SRS resource in the SRS resource set has the following features: a number of spatial relations associated with the SRS resource in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X2; and a number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X5; wherein X2 and X5 are all positive integers, and wherein a value of X2 depends on a capability of the first communication node, and a value of X5 is a predefined value. (Claim 8); and wherein the physical layer signaling comprises SRS information, and the SRS information is used to indicate an SRS resource in an SRS resource set of the first communication node, wherein for the first communication node, the SRS resource in the SRS resource set has the following features: a number of spatial relations associated with the SRS resource in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X2; and a number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set not exceeding a predefined value X5; wherein X2 and X5 are all positive integers, and wherein a value of X2 depends on a capability of the first communication node, and a value of X5 is a predefined value (Claim 13), in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11700601 to Lee et al: method and an apparatus by which user equipment controls transmission power of a sidelink signal in a wireless communication system that supports a sidelink, according to various embodiments. Disclosed are a method and an apparatus by which user equipment controls transmission power of a sidelink signal in a wireless communication system that supports a sidelink.
US 20230180151 to Nadakuduti et al: provide techniques and apparatus for operating a wireless communication device pursuant to radio frequency (RF) exposure compliance.
US 20220279492 to Park et al: a method and a device for transmitting and receiving uplink data in a wireless communication system. According to the present disclosure, a UE may transmit to a base station information related to a capability of the UE and the information may include a subset including at least one transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) supported by the UE.
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644