DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one-piece assembly comprising (1) the first component that is a lever, stud, plate, and block and (2) the second component is a pallet-stone, spring, staff, and dial must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The figures currently only show the lever and pallet-stone. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The included abstract discloses a method, but the invention is an apparatus. The abstract should be written to properly summarize the invention. Also, the abstract uses the word “comprising,” which is legal phraseology that should be changed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 recite “a one-piece assembly,” but claim 1 already recites a one-piece assembly. Whether claims 2-5 refer to claim 1’s assembly or a new assembly is unclear. The limitations have been read as -the one-piece assembly-.
Claim 4 is rejected because it recites that the “one-piece assembly” comprises the first component that is a lever, stud, plate, and block, while the second component is a pallet-stone, spring, staff, and dial. The components cannot be all these structures at once as a “one-piece assembly,” since the structures are different in form and function and if they were bonded together as “one-piece,” they would be incapable of operating. For the purposes of examination, “a staff; the first” has been read as -a staff; or the first- so that the list of pairs of components are alternatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fawer et al. (GB 1057607).
Regarding claim 1, Fawer teaches (Figs. 1-3) a one-piece assembly of timepiece components comprising: a first component (1); and a second component (2, 3) configured to be bonded to the first component (page 1, line 84 to page 2, lines 1-4), wherein at least one of the first component and the second component (2, 3) is coated with epilame (shaded regions of 2, 3 and page 2, line 62), wherein an adhesive is located on a surface of at least one of the first component (1 and page 1, line 84 to page 2, lines 1-4) and the second component (8) to be bonded to one another, wherein an adhesion layer comprised of a primer composition is included on at least one of the first and second components in a localized joining area (8) of the first or second component, and wherein the primer composition is solidified. Page 2, lines 3-4 teach that the adhesion layer comprises gumlac (a form of shellac), which has a melting point of 167 F and is therefore solid during operational use of Fawer’s watch by a user (the gumlac must be solid to join and hold the two components together). See Gumlac.pdf and Shellac.pdf (under “Properties”).
Regarding claim 2, Fawer teaches (Figs. 1-3) the one-piece assembly of timepiece components according to claim 1, wherein it comprises a joining part (8) that connects the joining areas of the first (1) and second components (2, 3). See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 3, Fawer teaches (Figs. 1-3) the one-piece assembly of timepiece components according to claim 1, comprising a joining part (8), which is formed by a layer of adhesive (8) and an adhesion layer, in particular a primer composition layer. Page 1, line 84 to page 2, lines 1-4 teach that a layer of gumlac adhesive is applied to 8 to join 2 to 1.
Regarding claim 4, Fawer teaches (Figs. 1-3) the one-piece assembly of timepiece components according to claim 1, wherein: the first timepiece component is an escapement lever (1) and the second timepiece component is a lever pallet-stone (2).
Regarding claim 5, Fawer teaches the timepiece comprising a one-piece assembly of timepiece components according to claim 1. The assembly is of a watch (title), meaning it forms a part of a watch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dubois (US 20170068219) discloses ([0078]) coating a component with epilame except for a localized joining area (“a tribological agent is applied,” which creates friction/grip in that localized area).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831