DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference character 51, present in figures 3-5, and 7, is missing from the description.
Reference character 52, present in figures 3-5, and 7, is missing from the description.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/940727.
18/893,895 (Current Application)
18/940,727
A routing structure comprising:
a first fixing portion fixed to a vehicle body of a vehicle;
a second fixing portion fixed to a slide body that moves along a vehicle front-rear direction at an opening provided in a roof of the vehicle body;
an exterior member having a first end portion held by the first fixing portion and a second end portion held by the second fixing portion;
an electric wire disposed inside the exterior member; and
an urging member disposed inside the exterior member and having a curved portion curved in a vehicle front-rear direction between the first end portion and the second end portion of the exterior member.
A routing structure comprising:
a first fixing part fixed to a vehicle body of a vehicle;
a second fixing part fixed to a slide body that moves along a vehicle front-rear direction with respect to an opening provided in a roof of the vehicle body;
an exterior member having a first end portion held by the first fixing part and a second end portion held by the second fixing part;
an electric wire inserted through the exterior member; and
a biasing member inserted through the exterior member and forming a curved portion curved in the vehicle front-rear direction between the first end portion and the second end portion of the exterior member, wherein
the second fixing part is disposed above the first fixing part in a vehicle up-down direction, and
the first fixing part and the second fixing part hold the first end portion and the second end portion such that the curved portion is inclined with respect to the vehicle up-down direction when viewed from the vehicle front-rear direction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou et al. (US 20120168225 A1), in view of Nishijima et al. (US 20070107926 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Satou teaches “A routing structure comprising:
a first fixing portion fixed to a vehicle body of a vehicle (see component 11, Satou, Figure 2);
a second fixing portion fixed to a slide body that moves along a vehicle front-rear direction (see component 12, Satou, Figure2);
an exterior member having a first end portion held by the first fixing portion and a second end portion held by the second fixing portion (see component 31, Satou, Figure 2);
an electric wire disposed inside the exterior member (electric wires, see Satou, paragraph 0029); and
an urging member disposed inside the exterior member and having a curved portion curved in a vehicle front-rear direction between the first end portion and the second end portion of the exterior member (spring member bent in a U-shape, see Satou, paragraph 0034).”
Satou does not teach “at an opening provided in a roof of the vehicle body.”
However, Nishijima teaches “at an opening provided in a roof of the vehicle body (see Nishijima, see Nishijima, paragraph 0059).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adapt the translating wire harness comprising a tensioning member as taught by Satou to be used in the sliding roof of a vehicle body as taught by Nishijima, to better guide the wires along the translating path and transfer load that would be applied to the wires into the tensioning member instead, decreasing fatigue in the wires, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Satou, Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Satou, in view of Nishijima teaches “The routing structure according to claim 1.” Satou additionally teaches “the slide body moves in a vehicle vertical direction in addition to the vehicle front-rear direction between a fully closed position where the slide body closes the opening and a fully open position where the slide body opens the opening (see Satou, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1),
a distance to the second end portion from the first end portion at the fully closed position along the vehicle vertical direction is a first distance (see Satou, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1),
a distance to the second end portion from the first end portion at the fully open position along the vehicle vertical direction is a second distance different from the first distance (see Satou, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1), and
the urging member has the curved portion having a curved shape whose diameter is the first distance, or has the curved portion having a curved shape whose diameter is the second distance (see Satou, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adapt the translating wire harness comprising a tensioning member as taught by Satou to be used in the sliding roof of a vehicle body as taught by Nishijima, to better guide the wires along the translating path and transfer load that would be applied to the wires into the tensioning member instead, decreasing fatigue in the wires, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Satou, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou et al. (US 20120168225 A1), in view of Nishijima et al. (US 20070107926 A1) and Miyamoto et al. (US 20030100214 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Satou, in view of Nishijima teaches “The routing structure according to claim 2.” Satou additionally teaches “a radius value of the arc shape is determined such that the urging member has a curved shape having the first distance as a diameter when the urging member is folded back, or determined such that the urging member has a curved shape having the second distance as a diameter when the urging member is folded back (see Satou, Figure 2, Annotation Set 1) .”
Satou in view of Nishijima does not teach “the urging member is a plate-like member,
a cross-sectional shape, of the urging member, orthogonal to an axis direction of the urging member is an arc shape.”
However, Miyamoto teaches “the urging member is a plate-like member,
a cross-sectional shape, of the urging member, orthogonal to an axis direction of the urging member is an arc shape (see component 29, Miyamoto, Figure 6).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adapt the translating wire harness comprising a tensioning member as taught by Satou to be used in the sliding roof of a vehicle body as taught by Nishijima, to better guide the wires along the translating path and transfer load that would be applied to the wires into the tensioning member instead, decreasing fatigue in the wires, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the tensioning member having a circular cross section as taught by Satou with a tensioning member having a rectangular cross section, forming a plate-like shape as taught by Miyamoto, to better resist a twisting moment on the wire harness, only allowing the harness to bend in a way that produces the desired radius, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Miyamoto, Figure 6
Regarding claim 4, Satou, in view of Nishijima and Miyamoto teaches “The routing structure according to claim 1.” Miyamoto additionally teaches “the urging member is located radially inside relative to the electric wire at the curved portion (see component 29, Miyamoto, Figure 5).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adapt the translating wire harness comprising a tensioning member as taught by Satou to be used in the sliding roof of a vehicle body as taught by Nishijima, to better guide the wires along the translating path and transfer load that would be applied to the wires into the tensioning member instead, decreasing fatigue in the wires, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the tensioning member having a circular cross section as taught by Satou with a tensioning member having a rectangular cross section, forming a plate-like shape as taught by Miyamoto, to better resist a twisting moment on the wire harness, only allowing the harness to bend in a way that produces the desired radius, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Miyamoto, Figure 5
Regarding claim 5, Satou in view of Nishijima and Miyamoto teaches all of the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 1, except “the routing structure includes the two urging members, and
one of the urging members is located radially inside relative to the electric wire, and the other of the urging members is located radially outside relative to the electric wire at the curved portion.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a second tensioning member to increase the amount of force that the wire harness can take, protecting the wires inside, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the duplicate tensioning member on the radially opposite side of the wires within the wire harness, since it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, Satou in view of Nishijima and Miyamoto teaches all of the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 1, except “the urging member is located radially outside relative to the electric wire at the curved portion.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the tensioning member on the radially opposite side of the wires within the wire harness, since it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited references all disclose vehicle wire harnesses:
Sekino et al. (US 20170297514 A1)
Kogure et al. (US 20070025061 A1)
/JRC/
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
September 14, 2026