DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/30/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704).
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoyama teaches a temperature adjustment apparatus that performs thermal exchange with one or more objects by means of cooling water [fig 1], the temperature adjustment apparatus comprising:
a distribution portion including a distribution channel [31] through which the cooling water is distributed [0028]; and
a sensing system that senses a state of the distribution channel, wherein the sensing system includes: a pressure sensor provided at at least one position in the distribution channel, that senses pressure of the cooling water [0029]; and
a sensing unit [15] that senses a state of the distribution channel based on the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor [0029].
For clarity, the non-illustrated pressure sensors described in 0029 have been interpreted as separate pressure sensors located proximate to the illustrated temperature sensors and/or are integrated pressure and temperature sensors as shown in Janarthanam et al. (US10,211,493) in at least [col 6, lines 39-45; fig 2].
Regarding Claim 14, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Yokoyama teaches wherein the sensing system includes: a plurality of distribution channels [31] having different pressure of the cooling water, each distribution channel being identical to the distribution channel [0030-0033]; and a plurality of pressure sensors having different sensitivity according to the pressure of the cooling water, each pressure sensor being identical to the pressure sensor, and each being provided in the plurality of distribution channels [0029; also see claim 1].
Regarding Claim 16, Yokoyama teaches a sensing system that senses a state of a distribution channel through which cooling water is distributed [fig 1], comprising: a pressure sensor provided at at least one position in the distribution channel, which senses pressure of the cooling water [0029]; and a sensing unit [15] that senses a state of the distribution channel based on the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor [0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704) in view of Kim et al. (US2021/0323396).
Regarding Claim 2, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Yokoyama teaches wherein the distribution channel includes: a plurality of tubing [at least 31a, 31b; 0030; fig 1] and at least one of the pressure sensor is provided on at least one of the connection tubes [0029].
Yokoyama does not explicitly teach a connection control unit that controls which of the plurality of tubing are to be connected together, wherein the connection control unit includes: a plurality of connection tubes connected to the plurality of tubing; and a switching unit that switches which of the plurality of connection tubes are to be connected together.
However, Wan teaches a thermal management system for a vehicle [0002] having a connection control unit [105] that controls which of the plurality of tubing are to be connected together, wherein the connection control unit includes: a plurality of connection tubes [at least the tubes of coolant circuit 101, coolant circuit 106; by inspection at fig 1] connected to the plurality of tubing [0045]; and a switching unit that switches which of the plurality of connection tubes are to be connected together [0051; 0052] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a battery cooling device that reduces costs [0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have a connection control unit that controls which of the plurality of tubing are to be connected together, wherein the connection control unit includes: a plurality of connection tubes connected to the plurality of tubing; and a switching unit that switches which of the plurality of connection tubes are to be connected together in view of the teachings of Wan where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a battery cooling device that reduces costs.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704) in view of Kariya (US2008/0289811).
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Yokoyama teaches wherein the distribution channel includes: a major path [31c]; a plurality of branch paths [31a, 31b; 0030; fig 1]. Yokoyama does not explicitly teach a connection control unit that controls which of the plurality of branch paths is to be connected to the major path, wherein the pressure sensor is provided on the major path, the sensing unit compares the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor with a reference value, and senses a state of the distribution channel based on a comparison result, and the sensing unit corrects the reference value depending on which of the branch paths the connection control unit selected.
However, Kariya teaches a constant temperature controller [0002] having a connection control unit [20] that controls which of a plurality of branch paths [14; 15; 0060] is to be connected to a major path [at pump 21; fig 1], wherein a pressure sensor [22] is provided on the major path, the sensing unit [62] compares the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor with a reference value, and senses a state of the distribution channel based on a comparison result, and the sensing unit corrects the reference value depending on which of the branch paths the connection control unit selected [0077; 0092-0094; fig 1 & 4] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide capacity control for the pump and thereby improve the system [0077; 0092-0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have a connection control unit that controls which of the plurality of branch paths is to be connected to the major path, wherein the pressure sensor is provided on the major path, the sensing unit compares the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor with a reference value, and senses a state of the distribution channel based on a comparison result, and the sensing unit corrects the reference value depending on which of the branch paths the connection control unit selected in view of the teachings of Kariya where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide capacity control for the pump and thereby improve the system.
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Yokoyama teaches wherein the distribution channel includes: a plurality of annular paths [31a, 31b; 0030; fig 1]. Yokoyama does not explicitly teach a connection control unit that is capable of connecting two or more annular paths of the plurality of annular paths with each other, wherein the sensing unit compares the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor with a reference value, and senses a state of the distribution channel based on a comparison result, and the sensing unit corrects the reference value depending on which of the annular paths the connection control unit connected.
However, Kariya teaches a constant temperature controller [0002] having a connection control unit [20] that is capable of connecting two or more annular paths of the plurality of annular paths with each other [0060], wherein the sensing unit [62] compares the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor [22] with a reference value, and senses a state of the distribution channel based on a comparison result, and the sensing unit corrects the reference value depending on which of the annular paths the connection control unit connected [0077; 0092-0094; fig 1 & 4] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide capacity control for the pump and thereby improve the system [0077; 0092-0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have a connection control unit that is capable of connecting two or more annular paths of the plurality of annular paths with each other, wherein the sensing unit compares the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor with a reference value, and senses a state of the distribution channel based on a comparison result, and the sensing unit corrects the reference value depending on which of the annular paths the connection control unit connected in view of the teachings of Kariya where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide capacity control for the pump and thereby improve the system.
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the distribution channel includes a direction control unit that controls a direction in which the cooling water flows, and the sensing unit senses a state of the distribution channel based on the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor and a direction in which the cooling water flows, which is controlled by the direction control unit.
However, Kariya teaches a constant temperature controller [0002] having wherein a distribution channel includes a direction control unit [20] that controls a direction in which the cooling water flows, and a sensing unit [62] senses a state of the distribution channel based on the pressure sensed by a pressure sensor [22] and a direction in which the cooling water flows, which is controlled by the direction control unit [0077; 0092-0094; fig 1 & 4] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide capacity control for the pump and thereby improve the system [0077; 0092-0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have wherein the distribution channel includes a direction control unit that controls a direction in which the cooling water flows, and the sensing unit senses a state of the distribution channel based on the pressure sensed by the pressure sensor and a direction in which the cooling water flows, which is controlled by the direction control unit in view of the teachings of Kariya where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide capacity control for the pump and thereby improve the system.
Claim(s) 6 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704) in view of Matsunami et al. (US2019/0187016].
Regarding Claims 6 and 17-20, Yokoyama teaches the invention above but does not teach wherein the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell that generates a sensing signal according to the pressure of the cooling water, and at least a part of the sensor cell is covered with a protective film connected to a reference potential.
However, Matsunami teaches a pressure sensor [0003] having wherein a pressure sensor [10] includes a sensor cell [60] that generates a sensing signal according to the pressure of the cooling water [0111], and at least a part of the sensor cell is covered with a protective film connected to a reference potential [0082] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a sensors structure that prevents malfunction by the charged substance and has excellent charging resistance [0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have wherein the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell that generates a sensing signal according to the pressure of the cooling water, and at least a part of the sensor cell is covered with a protective film connected to a reference potential in view of the teachings of Matsunami where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a sensors structure that prevents malfunction by the charged substance and has excellent charging resistance.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704) in view of Hidaka et al. (US2021/0356346).
Regarding Claim 7, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the distribution channel includes a wall that surrounds a space through which the cooling water passes, an opening is provided in the wall, and the pressure sensor includes: an intake unit connected to the opening in the wall, which takes in the cooling water; and a sensor cell that senses the pressure of the cooling water taken in by the intake unit.
However, Hidaka teaches a pressure sensor [0001] having wherein a distribution channel [4] includes a wall that surrounds a space through which the cooling water passes, an opening [19] is provided in the wall [0060], and the pressure sensor includes: an intake unit [5] connected to the opening in the wall, which takes in the cooling water [0037-0039; figs 1-3]; and a sensor cell [2] that senses the pressure of the cooling water taken in by the intake unit [0047] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a sensors structure that measures pressure with high accuracy [0025].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have wherein the distribution channel includes a wall that surrounds a space through which the cooling water passes, an opening is provided in the wall, and the pressure sensor includes: an intake unit connected to the opening in the wall, which takes in the cooling water; and a sensor cell that senses the pressure of the cooling water taken in by the intake unit in view of the teachings of Hidaka where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a sensors structure that measures pressure with high accuracy.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704) in view of Kaminaga et al. (US2009/0218643).
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the distribution channel includes a wall that surrounds a space through which the cooling water passes, the wall includes: a concave portion provided on a surface on an opposite side from the space; and an opening that connects the concave portion with the space, and the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell arranged inside the concave portion, which senses the pressure of the cooling water.
However, Kaminaga teaches a pressure sensor [0001] having wherein the distribution channel includes a wall [23] that surrounds a space through which the cooling water passes [0050; fig 3], the wall includes: a concave portion provided on a surface on an opposite side from the space [see Drawing I]; and an opening that connects the concave portion with the space, and the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell [2] arranged inside the concave portion, which senses the pressure of the cooling water [0051] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a sensors structure that resists corrosion [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have wherein the distribution channel includes a wall that surrounds a space through which the cooling water passes, an opening is provided in the wall, and the pressure sensor includes: an intake unit connected to the opening in the wall, which takes in the cooling water; and a sensor cell that senses the pressure of the cooling water taken in by the intake unit in view of the teachings of Kaminaga where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a sensors structure that resists corrosion.
Drawing I
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (US2014/0311704) in view of Ueno et al. (US2018/0241160).
Regarding Claim 9, Yokoyama teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell having an output terminal that outputs a sensing signal according to the pressure of the cooling water and a power supply terminal to which power voltage is applied, and the sensor cell includes a chip capacitor that connects the output terminal with the power supply terminal.
However, Ueno teaches a pressure sensor [0001] having wherein the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell [0032; fig 19] having an output terminal that outputs a sensing signal according to the pressure of the cooling water and a power supply terminal to which power voltage is applied, and the sensor cell includes a chip capacitor that connects the output terminal with the power supply terminal [0033; 0036; 0047; fig 19] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a sensors structure that reduces cost [0102].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Yokoyama to have wherein the pressure sensor includes a sensor cell having an output terminal that outputs a sensing signal according to the pressure of the cooling water and a power supply terminal to which power voltage is applied, and the sensor cell includes a chip capacitor that connects the output terminal with the power supply terminal in view of the teachings of Ueno where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. . provide a sensors structure that reduces cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11, 12, 13 and 15 are also held as being objected to based upon dependency.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763