DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the central portion," “the protrusion,” and “the hollow part” in lines 10-12. Since the earlier recitations of these limitations are presented in the alternative, there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the later section of the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the joint of the connection adapter” in lines 16 and 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 is further rejected due to its dependence on claim 1.
Claims 3-6 are rejected due to their dependence on claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
US 2017/0035275 (“YAJIMA”).
Regarding claim 1, YAJIMA teaches a fiber-optic cable magnetic coupling adapter (10), comprising: an adapter main body (11); a joint (12, 17) that is provided on one surface of the adapter main body and has a magnetic body (30a, 30b); and an insertion connection part (16a, 16b) that is provided on the other surface of the adapter main body and connected to a connector (20a, 20b), wherein the joint is provided as a recession that is recessed from a central portion of one surface of the adapter main body to an inner side of one surface (FIG. 2), but is provided so as to be engaged with a protrusion (23a, 23b) and has the hollow part formed inside and has opened one surface.
Regarding claim 2, YAJIMA teaches that when the joint is provided as the recession, the joint of a connection adapter (23a, 23b) is provided as the protrusion.
Regarding claim 6, YAJIMA teaches that the adapter and the connection adapter are connected with different types of connectors (FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAJIMA in view of US 2020/0096751 (“KRIOFSKE”).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, YAJIMA teaches the limitations of the base claim 2. YAJIMA does not teach that the adapter main body includes: a convex portion that protrudes from one surface of the adapter main body to an outer side of one surface; and a concave portion that is disposed at a gap from the convex portion and recessed into an inner side of the one surface, and the convex portion is provided to be engaged with the concave portion of the connection adapter, and the concave portion is provided to be engaged with the convex portion of the connection adapter, wherein the convex portion and the concave portion are provided as magnetic bodies, and the convex portion and the concave portion are provided to have different poles.
KRIOFSKE teaches an adapter main body (500) that includes: a convex portion (135) that protrudes from one surface of the adapter main body to an outer side of one surface; and a concave portion (415) that is disposed at a gap from the convex portion and recessed into an inner side of the one surface, and the convex portion is provided to be engaged with the concave portion of the connection adapter, and the concave portion is provided to be engaged with the convex portion of the connection adapter, wherein the convex portion and the concave portion are provided as magnetic bodies, and the convex portion and the concave portion are provided to have different poles (FIG. 5; par. [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effect filing date to modify the adapter of YAJIMA so as to include the convex and concave portions of KRIOFSKE. The motivation would have been to allow for rotational movement while maintaining mechanical connection (par. [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, YAJIMA teaches that the adapter further includes a screw hole for fixing a position of the adapter with respect to a position between the convex portion and the concave portion on the adapter main body (FIG. 5; par. [0060]; when combined with KRIOFSKE, as above).
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874