DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on February 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 15, and 17 have been amended. Claims 4, 12 and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 13-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2015/0309661) in view of PYO et al. (US 2013/0342479).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a touch driving method for a display panel (Figs 2-5; [0039], e.g., touch driving method for a display panel 100),
wherein the display panel has M partitions, M is a positive integer and M≥2 (Fig. 3; [0041], e.g., 6 touch detection partitions), each partition comprises a plurality of independent touch units ([0040], e.g., a plurality of touch electrodes 510 in each of the touch detection partitions), and each touch unit comprises at least one common electrode block connected to each other ([0044], [0066], e.g., each touch electrode 510 includes one common electrode block 510);
a frame time comprises a display time period and a touch time period (Fig. 5; [0098]-[0099], e.g., a frame time comprises display time periods 1D-6D and touch time periods 1T-6T), the display time period comprises at least one display sub-time period (e.g., at least one display sub-time period 1D), and the touch time period comprises at least one touch sub-time period (e.g., at least one touch sub-time period 1T); the driving method comprises:
in each display sub-time period, applying a common electrode signal to all the common electrode blocks (Fig. 5; [0093], [0080], e.g., in each display sub-time period 1D-6D, the common voltage Vcom is supplied to all the common electrode blocks 510); and
in each touch sub-time period, applying a touch driving signal to all the touch units in N partitions ([0098], e.g., in the touch sub-time period 1T, the touch driving signal is supplied to all the touch units 510 in 2 partitions or a first touch detection group 1TG), and not applying the touch driving signal to the touch units in remaining partitions, N is a positive integer and 1<N < M (e.g., 1<2<6), and sensing sensing signals of the touch units in the N partitions (e.g., sensing the touch sensing signal in the 2 partitions (e.g., the firts touch detection group 1TG)),
wherein the display panel further comprises a driving signal line and a sensing signal line connected to the touch units (Fig. 8; [0076], e.g., the touch driving signal line and the sensing signal line 520 is connected to the touch electrodes 510), the M partitions of the display panel are arranged along a first direction, and the first direction is an extending direction of the sensing signal line (Fig. 8; e.g., the 6 partitions are arranged along the vertical direction and the vertical direction in an extending direction of the sensing signal line 520).
Kim does not specifically disclose wherein in each touch sub-time period, the common electrode signal is applied to the touch units of the remaining partitions.
However, PYO discloses a touch driving method for a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprising a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030], e.g., touch electrodes 111); the driving method comprising:
in each touch period (Fig. 4; [0033], [0058], e.g., driving a first group of the touch electrodes 111 in a first touch period and driving a second group of the touch electrodes 111 in a second touch period), applying a touch driving signal to a first group of the plurality of touch electrodes; and applying a common electrode signal to a second group of the plurality of touch electrodes ([0046], e.g., when the driving mode of the panel 100 is the touch driving mode, the touch scan signal is applied to Group1, and simultaneously the common voltage is applied to Group2 to which the touch scan signal is not applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of PYO in the invention of Kim for applying a common electrode signal to touch units of remaining partitions to which a touch driving signal is not applied in order to prevent block dim and flickers (see [0065] of PYO).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein 1≤N≤M/2 (Figs 3 and 8; e.g., N=2 and M=6).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the touch driving signal is a pulse signal (Fig. 5; [0077], e.g., the touch driving signal is a pulse signal).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a touch position is determined by sensing a self-capacitance change signal of the touch units in the touch sub-time period ([0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the display panel has a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., a plurality of pixels P are arranged in an array), each of the pixel units comprises at least three sub-pixels ([0044], e.g., a pixel P comprises three sub pixels), and each of the pixel units corresponds to one of the common electrode blocks ([0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a touch display module (Figs 2-5; [0039], e.g., a touch display device), comprising a display panel (e.g., a display panel 100),
wherein the display panel has M partitions, M is a positive integer and M≥2 (Fig. 3; [0041], e.g., 6 touch detection partitions), each partition comprises a plurality of independent touch units ([0040], e.g., a plurality of touch electrodes 510 in each of the touch detection groups), and each touch unit comprises at least one common electrode block connected to each other ([0044], [0066], e.g., each touch electrode 510 includes one common electrode block 510), and the display panel further comprises a driving signal line and a sensing signal line connected to the touch units (Fig. 8; [0076], e.g., the touch driving signal line and the sensing signal line 520 is connected to the touch electrodes 510);
a frame time of the display panel comprises a display time period and a touch time period (Fig. 5; [0098]-[0099], e.g., a frame time comprises display time periods 1D-6D and touch time periods 1T-6T), the display time period comprises at least one display sub-time period (e.g., at least one display sub-time period 1D), and the touch time period comprises at least one touch sub-time period (e.g., at least one touch sub-time period 1T);
in each display sub-time period, applying a common electrode signal to all the common electrode blocks through the driving signal line (Fig. 5; [0093], [0080], e.g., in each display sub-time period 1D-6D, the common voltage Vcom is supplied to all the common electrode blocks 510); and
in each touch sub-time period, applying a touch driving signal to all the touch units in N partitions through the sensing signal line ([0098], e.g., in the touch sub-time period 1T, the touch driving signal is supplied to all the touch units 510 in 2 partitions (e.g., the first touch detection group 1TG) through the sensing signalline), and not applying the touch driving signal to the touch units in remaining partitions, N is a positive integer and 1<N < M (e.g., 1<2<6), and sensing sensing signals of the touch units in the N partitions (e.g., sensing the touch sensing signal in the 2 partitions or the first touch detection group 1TG),
wherein the M partitions of the display panel are arranged along a first direction, and the first direction is an extending direction of the sensing signal line (Fig. 8; e.g., the 6 partitions are arranged along the vertical direction and the vertical direction in an extending direction of the sensing signal line 520).
Kim does not specifically disclose wherein in each touch sub-time period, the common electrode signal is applied to the touch units of the remaining partitions.
However, PYO discloses a touch driving method for a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprising a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030], e.g., touch electrodes 111); the driving method comprising:
in each touch period (Fig. 4; [0033], [0058], e.g., driving a first group of the touch electrodes 111 in a first touch period and driving a second group of the touch electrodes 111 in a second touch period), applying a touch driving signal to a first group of the plurality of touch electrodes; and applying a common electrode signal to a second group of the plurality of touch electrodes ([0046], e.g., when the driving mode of the panel 100 is the touch driving mode, the touch scan signal is applied to Group1, and simultaneously the common voltage is applied to Group2 to which the touch scan signal is not applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of PYO in the invention of Kim for applying a common electrode signal to touch units of remaining partitions to which a touch driving signal is not applied in order to prevent block dim and flickers (see [0065] of PYO).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further discloses the touch display module according to claim 9, wherein 1≤N≤M/2 (Figs 3 and 8; e.g., N=2 and M=6).
Regarding claim 14, Kim further discloses the touch display module according to claim 9, wherein the display panel has a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., a plurality of pixels P are arranged in an array), each of the pixel units comprises at least three sub-pixels ([0044], e.g., a pixel P comprises three sub pixels), and each of the pixel units corresponds to one of the common electrode blocks ([0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a display device (Figs 2-5; [0039], e.g., a display device), comprising a touch display module ([0039], e.g., touch display), the touch display module comprising a display panel (e.g., a display panel 100),
wherein the display panel has M partitions, M is a positive integer and M≥2 (Fig. 3; [0041], e.g., 6 partitions), each partition comprises a plurality of independent touch units ([0040], e.g., a plurality of touch electrodes 510 in each partition), and each touch unit comprises at least one common electrode block connected to each other ([0044], [0066], e.g., each touch electrode 510 includes one common electrode block 510), and the display panel further comprises a driving signal line and a sensing signal line connected to the touch units (Fig. 8; [0076], e.g., the touch driving signal line and the sensing signal line 520 is connected to the touch electrodes 510);
a frame time of the display panel comprises a display time period and a touch time period (Fig. 5; [0098]-[0099], e.g., a frame time comprises display time periods 1D-6D and touch time periods 1T-6T), the display time period comprises at least one display sub-time period (e.g., at least one display sub-time period 1D), and the touch time period comprises at least one touch sub-time period (e.g., at least one touch sub-time period 1T);
in each display sub-time period, applying a common electrode signal to all the common electrode blocks through the driving signal line (Fig. 5; [0093], [0080], e.g., in each display sub-time period 1D-6D, the common voltage Vcom is supplied to all the common electrode blocks 510); and
in each touch sub-time period, applying a touch driving signal to all the touch units in N partitions through the sensing signal line ([0098], e.g., in the touch sub-time period 1T, the touch driving signal is supplied to all the touch units 510 in 2 partitions or the first touch detection group 1TG), and not applying the touch driving signal to the touch units in remaining partitions, N is a positive integer and 1<N < M (e.g., 1<2<6), and sensing sensing signals of the touch units in the N partitions (e.g., sensing the touch sensing signal in the 2 partitions or the first touch detection group 1TG),
wherein the M partitions of the display panel are arranged along a first direction, and the first direction is an extending direction of the sensing signal line (Fig. 8; e.g., the 6 partitions are arranged along the vertical direction and the vertical direction in an extending direction of the sensing signal line 520).
Kim does not specifically disclose wherein in each touch sub-time period, the common electrode signal is applied to the touch units of the remaining partitions.
However, PYO discloses a touch driving method for a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprising a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030], e.g., touch electrodes 111); the driving method comprising:
in each touch period (Fig. 4; [0033], [0058], e.g., driving a first group of the touch electrodes 111 in a first touch period and driving a second group of the touch electrodes 111 in a second touch period), applying a touch driving signal to a first group of the plurality of touch electrodes; and applying a common electrode signal to a second group of the plurality of touch electrodes ([0046], e.g., when the driving mode of the panel 100 is the touch driving mode, the touch scan signal is applied to Group1, and simultaneously the common voltage is applied to Group2 to which the touch scan signal is not applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of PYO in the invention of Kim for applying a common electrode signal to touch units of remaining partitions to which a touch driving signal is not applied in order to prevent block dim and flickers (see [0065] of PYO).
Regarding claim 19, Kim further discloses the display device according to claim 15, wherein 1≤N≤M/2 (Figs 3 and 8; e.g., N=2 and M=6).
Regarding claim 20, Kim further discloses the display device according to claim 15, wherein the display panel has a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array (Fig. 2; [0042], e.g., a plurality of pixels P are arranged in an array), each of the pixel units comprises at least three sub-pixels ([0044], e.g., a pixel P comprises three sub pixels), and each of the pixel units corresponds to one of the common electrode blocks ([0044]).
6. Claim(s) 2-3, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2015/0309661) in view of PYO et al. (US 2013/0342479), and further in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2014/0285465).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the display sub-time period and the touch sub-time period are arranged alternately (Fig. 5); the touch time period comprises K touch sub-time periods (e.g., 6 touch sub-time periods), and K is a positive integer; in the M partitions of the display panel, every arbitrary N partitions are combined to form a partition group (Figs 3 and 8, e.g., every 2 partitions are combined to form a partition group); and in the touch time period within a frame time, the touch driving signal is applied to the touch units of different partition groups in time periods (see Figs 3, 5 and 8).
Kim in view of PYO does not specifically disclose wherein N×K=M.
However, Hayashi discloses a touch panel comprising M driving electrodes (Fig. 17; [0189]-[0191], e.g., 16 drive electrodes), wherein a touch driving period comprises K touch driving sub-time periods, wherein in the M drive electrodes of the touch panel, every arbitrary N driving electrodes are combined to form a group (Figs 17 and 21; [0208], e.g., 8 touch driving sub-time periods and every two driving electrodes are combined to form a group); and in the touch driving period, a touch driving signal is applied to touch electrodes of different driving electrode groups in time periods, N×K=M (Fig. 21; [0208], e.g., 8*2=16 (M)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Hayashi in the invention of Kim in view of PYO for combining every 2 partitions to form a group and including 3 touch driving sub-time periods in a touch time period in order to reduce the touch driving time (see [0208] of Hayashi).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of PYO and Hayashi further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 2, wherein every N partitions are combined along the first direction to form a partition group (e.g., every 2 partitions are combined along the vertical direction to form a group. Also see Figs 17 and 21 of Hayashi); and in the touch time period within a frame time, the touch driving signal is applied to the touch units of different partition groups in time periods in sequence along the first direction (see Figs 17 and 21 of Hayashi, e.g., the touch driving signal is applied to the drive electrodes of different drive electrode groups in time periods in sequence along the Y direction).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629