DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment filed on September 24, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9 and 15 have been amended. Claims 4, 12 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of the response, filed 24 September 2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of PYO et al. (US 2013/0342479).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai (US 2022/0155938) in view of PYO et al. (US 2013/0342479).
Regarding claim 1, Hirai discloses a touch driving method for a display panel (Figs 1-5; [0031], e.g., a display panel 22), wherein the display panel has M partitions, M is a positive integer and M≥2 (Fig. 5; [0057], e.g., a plurality of touch detection regions R1-R4), each partition comprises a plurality of independent touch units (e.g., multiple independent touch/common electrodes 34 in each of the touch detection regions R1-R4), and each touch unit comprises at least one common electrode block connected to each other (e.g., each touch electrode includes one common electrode block 34);
a frame time comprises a display time period and a touch time period (Fig. 8; [0082]-[0085], e.g., a frame time Fa comprises a display time period Da and a touch time period T1a-T4a), the display time period comprises at least one display sub-time period (e.g., at least one display sub-time period Da), and the touch time period comprises at least one touch sub-time period (e.g., touch sub-time periods T1a-T4a); the driving method comprises:
in each display sub-time period, applying a common electrode signal to all the common electrode blocks ([0065], e.g., supplies a common voltage VCOM to all the common electrode blocks 34); and
in each touch sub-time period, applying a touch driving signal to all the touch units in N partitions (Fig. 8; [0085], e.g., in a touch sub-time period T1a, a touch driving signal TX is applied to all the common electrode blocks 34 in the touch detection region R1), and not applying the touch driving signal to the touch units in remaining partitions, N is a positive integer and 1≤N<M, and sensing sensing signals of the touch units in the N partitions (e.g., the touch driving signal TX is not applied to the remaining touch detection regions R2-R4 and the touch detection circuit 76 performs detection of a touch for each touch detection period, based on the touch detection signal RX received in each touch detection period).
Hirai does not specifically disclose wherein in each touch sub-time period, the common electrode signal is applied to the touch units of the remaining partitions.
However, PYO discloses a touch driving method for a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprising a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030], e.g., touch electrodes 111); the driving method comprising:
in each touch period (Fig. 4; [0033], [0058], e.g., driving a first group of the touch electrodes 111 in a first touch period and driving a second group of the touch electrodes 111 in a second touch period), applying a touch driving signal to a first group of the plurality of touch electrodes; and applying a common electrode signal to a second group of the plurality of touch electrodes ([0046], e.g., when the driving mode of the panel 100 is the touch driving mode, the touch scan signal is applied to Group1, and simultaneously the common voltage is applied to Group2 to which the touch scan signal is not applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of PYO in the invention of Hirai for applying a common electrode signal to touch units of remaining partitions to which a touch driving signal is not applied in order to prevent block dim and flickers (see [0065] of PYO).
Regarding claim 5, Hirai further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein 1≤N≤M/2 (Figs 5 and 8; e.g., N=1).
Regarding claim 6, Hirai further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the touch driving signal is a pulse signal (Fig. 8; [0066], e.g., the TX signal is a pulse signal).
Regarding claim 7, Hirai further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a touch position is determined by sensing a self-capacitance change signal of the touch units in the touch sub-time period ([0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Hirai discloses a touch display module, comprising a display panel (Figs 1-5; [0031], e.g., a display panel 22), wherein the display panel has M partitions, M is a positive integer and M≥2 (Fig. 5; [0057], e.g., a plurality of touch detection regions R1-R4), each partition comprises a plurality of independent touch units (e.g., multiple touch/common electrodes 34 in each of the touch detection regions R1-R4), each touch unit comprises at least one common electrode block connected to each other (e.g., each touch electrode includes one common electrode block 34), and the display panel further comprises a driving signal line and a sensing signal line connected to the touch units (Figs 3 and 5; [0033], [0046], e.g., the driving signal line and the sensing signal line 36 is connected to the touch units 34);
a frame time of the display panel comprises a display time period and a touch time period (Fig. 8; [0082]-[0085], e.g., a frame time Fa comprises a display time period Da and a touch time period T1a-T4a), the display time period comprises at least one display sub-time period (e.g., at least one display sub-time period Da), and the touch time period comprises at least one touch sub-time period (e.g., touch sub-time periods T1a-T4a);
in each display sub-time period, applying a common electrode signal to all the common electrode blocks through the driving signal line ([0065], e.g., supplies a common voltage VCOM to all the common electrode blocks 34); and
in each touch sub-time period, applying a touch driving signal to all the touch units in N partitions through the sensing signal line ([0085], e.g., in a touch sub-time period T1a, a touch driving signal TX is applied to all the common electrode blocks 34 in the touch detection region R1), and not applying the touch driving signal to the touch units in remaining partitions, N is a positive integer and 1≤N<M, and sensing sensing signals of the touch units in the N partitions (e.g., the touch driving signal TX is not applied to the remaining touch detection regions R2-R4).
Hirai does not specifically disclose wherein in each touch sub-time period, the common electrode signal is applied to the touch units of the remaining partitions.
However, PYO discloses a touch driving method for a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprising a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030], e.g., touch electrodes 111); the driving method comprising:
in each touch period (Fig. 4; [0033], [0058], e.g., driving a first group of the touch electrodes 111 in a first touch period and driving a second group of the touch electrodes 111 in a second touch period), applying a touch driving signal to a first group of the plurality of touch electrodes; and applying a common electrode signal to a second group of the plurality of touch electrodes ([0046], e.g., when the driving mode of the panel 100 is the touch driving mode, the touch scan signal is applied to Group1, and simultaneously the common voltage is applied to Group2 to which the touch scan signal is not applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of PYO in the invention of Hirai for applying a common electrode signal to touch units of remaining partitions to which a touch driving signal is not applied in order to prevent block dim and flickers (see [0065] of PYO).
Regarding claim 13, Hirai further discloses the touch display module according to claim 9, wherein 1≤N≤M/2 (Figs 5 and 8; e.g., N=1).
Regarding claim 15, Hirai discloses a display device (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0028], e.g., system 1), comprising a touch display module ([0029], e.g., touch display 20), the touch display module comprising a display panel ([0031], e.g., a display panel 22), wherein the display panel has M partitions, M is a positive integer and M≥2 (Fig. 5; [0057], e.g., a plurality of touch detection regions R1-R4), each partition comprises a plurality of independent touch units (e.g., multiple touch/common electrodes 34 in each of the touch detection regions R1-R4), each touch unit comprises at least one common electrode block connected to each other (e.g., each touch electrode includes one common electrode block 34), and the display panel further comprises a driving signal line and a sensing signal line connected to the touch units (Figs 3 and 5; [0033], [0046], e.g., the driving signal line and the sensing signal line 36 is connected to the touch units 34);
a frame time of the display panel comprises a display time period and a touch time period (Fig. 8; [0082]-[0085], e.g., a frame time Fa comprises a display time period Da and a touch time period T1a-T4a), the display time period comprises at least one display sub-time period (e.g., at least one display sub-time period Da), and the touch time period comprises at least one touch sub-time period (e.g., touch sub-time periods T1a-T4a);
in each display sub-time period, applying a common electrode signal to all the common electrode blocks through the driving signal line ([0065], e.g., supplies a common voltage VCOM to all the common electrode blocks 34); and
in each touch sub-time period, applying a touch driving signal to all the touch units in N partitions through the sensing signal line ([0085], e.g., in a touch sub-time period T1a, a touch driving signal TX is applied to all the common electrode blocks 34 in the touch detection region R1), and not applying the touch driving signal to the touch units in remaining partitions, N is a positive integer and 1≤N<M, and sensing sensing signals of the touch units in the N partitions (e.g., the touch driving signal TX is not applied to the remaining touch detection regions R2-R4).
Hirai does not specifically disclose wherein in each touch sub-time period, the common electrode signal is applied to the touch units of the remaining partitions.
However, PYO discloses a touch driving method for a touch panel, wherein the touch panel comprising a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030], e.g., touch electrodes 111); the driving method comprising:
in each touch period (Fig. 4; [0033], [0058], e.g., driving a first group of the touch electrodes 111 in a first touch period and driving a second group of the touch electrodes 111 in a second touch period), applying a touch driving signal to a first group of the plurality of touch electrodes; and applying a common electrode signal to a second group of the plurality of touch electrodes ([0046], e.g., when the driving mode of the panel 100 is the touch driving mode, the touch scan signal is applied to Group1, and simultaneously the common voltage is applied to Group2 to which the touch scan signal is not applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of PYO in the invention of Hirai for applying a common electrode signal to touch units of remaining partitions to which a touch driving signal is not applied in order to prevent block dim and flickers (see [0065] of PYO).
Regarding claim 19, Hirai further discloses the display device according to claim 15, wherein 1≤N≤M/2 (Figs 5 and 8; e.g., N=1).
6. Claim(s) 2-3, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai (US 2022/0155938) in view of PYO et al. (US 2013/0342479), and further in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2014/0285465).
Regarding claim 2, Hirai further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the display sub-time period and the touch sub-time period are arranged alternately (Fig. 8); the touch time period comprises K touch sub-time periods (e.g., 4 touch sub-time periods), and K is a positive integer; and in the touch time period within a frame time, the touch driving signal is applied to the touch units of different partitions in time periods (see Figs 5 and 8).
Hirai in view of PYO does not specifically disclose wherein in the M partitions of the display panel, every arbitrary N partitions are combined to form a partition group; and in the touch time period within a frame time, the touch driving signal is applied to the touch units of different partition groups in time periods, N×K=M.
However, Hayashi discloses a touch panel comprising M driving electrodes (Fig. 17; [0189]-[0191], e.g., 16 drive electrodes), wherein a touch driving period comprises K touch driving sub-time periods, wherein in the M drive electrodes of the touch panel, every arbitrary N driving electrodes are combined to form a group (Figs 17 and 21; [0208], e.g., 8 touch driving sub-time periods and every two driving electrodes are combined to form a group); and in the touch driving period, a touch driving signal is applied to touch electrodes of different driving electrode groups in time periods, N×K=M (Fig. 21; [0208], e.g., 8*2=16 (M)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Hayashi in the invention of Hirai in view of PYO for combining every 2 partitions to form a group so that the number of scan of the partitions can be reduced by half, thereby reducing the touch driving time (see [0208] of Hayashi).
Regarding claim 3, Hirai in view of PYO and Hayashi further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the M partitions of the display panel are arranged along a first direction (Fig. 5 of Hirai, e.g., the 4 partitions are arranged along the horizontal direction); every N partitions are combined along the first direction to form a partition group (e.g., every 2 partitions are combined along the horizontal direction to form a group. Also see Figs 17 and 21 of Hayashi); and in the touch time period within a frame time, the touch driving signal is applied to the touch units of different partition groups in time periods in sequence along the first direction (see Figs 17 and 21 of Hayashi, e.g., the touch driving signal is applied to the drive electrodes of different drive electrode groups in time periods in sequence along the Y direction).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
8. Claim(s) 8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai (US 2022/0155938) in view of PYO et al. (US 2013/0342479), and further in view of LV et al. (US 2024/0393630).
Regarding claim 8, Morioka further discloses the touch driving method for the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the display panel has a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array (Fig. 2; [0032], e.g., multiple pixels are arranged in an array), and each of the pixel units corresponds to one of the common electrode blocks (e.g., one common block 34).
Hirai in view of PYO does not specifically disclose wherein the each of the pixel units comprises at least three sub-pixels.
However, LV discloses a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array (Fig. 6; [0107], e.g., pixel electrodes 6 are arranged in an array), wherein each of pixel units comprises at least three sub-pixels (e.g., RGB sub-pixels), and wherein each of the pixel units corresponds to one of common electrode blocks (Fig. 6; [0021], [0108], e.g., a common electrode block 511).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of LV in the invention of Hirai in view of PYO for including at least three sub-pixels in each of pixel units in order to display an image through the at least three sub-pixels to emit light of corresponding colors.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Conclusion
/HONG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629