DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed August 10, 2026. Claims 3 and 4 have been cancelled without prejudice. Claims 1, 2, and 5-14 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows. Claims 8-12 were previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to independent claim 1, applicant’s arguments, on pages 5-7 of the Remarks, have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the previously applied reference fails to disclose “each of the round prisms is triangle shaped having a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view.” However, as set forth below, Song et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1): each of the round prisms is triangle shaped having a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view (see e.g. Figure 1 and page 5, first paragraph for prism and 35 U.S.C. rejection for claim interpretation). Using a prism with rounded apex and straight line sides would result in light that has high linearity and brightness (see e.g. abstract of Song et al.).
Therefore claims 1, 2, 5-7, 13, and 14 are rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 13, and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to independent claim 1, the limitation, “each of the round prisms is a triangle shaped having a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view” renders the scope of the claim unclear. First, it is unclear how a prism can be both “round” and “triangle” shaped. For examination purposes, it is presumed that each of prisms is a “rounded triangle” rather than a round prism with a triangle shape. Further, “two straight lines connected the rounded apex” is unclear. Namely, it is not clear what the straight lines are connecting, (i.e. connected to each side of the rounded apex or connected to an adjacent prism). For examination purposes, it is presumed the shape of the claimed prism is a rounded triangle have a rounded apex with straight lines connected to the rounded apex that are angled non-perpendicularly with respect to the second side surface of the light guide.
Claims 2, 5-7, 13, and 14 depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata et al. (US 2021/0223465 A1) in view of Masao (JP 2019200358) and further in view of Song et al. (WO 2015141957, of which an English translation is attached).
In regard to claim 1, Numata et al. discloses a liquid crystal display device DSP (see e.g. paragraph [0024], Figures 1-4) having a liquid crystal LC being (see e.g. paragraph [0026], Figure 4) sandwiched between a thin-film transistor substrate SUB1 including a pixel electrode PE and an opposing substrate SUB2 (see e.g. paragraphs [0026], [0033], Figure 4),
wherein a display area DA is formed in a portion where the thin-film transistor substrate SUB1 and the opposing substrate SUB2 overlap (see e.g. paragraph [0029], Figure 1), and a terminal area Ex is formed in a portion of the thin-film transistor substrate SUB1 that does not overlap with the opposing substrate SUB2 (see e.g. paragraph [0032], Figures 1, 3, and 4),
a cover glass 30 (denoted “transparent substrate”) is arranged over the thin-film transistor substrate SUB1 or the opposing substrate SUB2 (see e.g. paragraph [0036], Figures 3, 4 and note it is arranged over both SUB1, SUB2),
a first side surface 1d (see e.g. paragraph [0039]) of a light guide plate LG1 (see e.g. paragraph [0038], Figure 4) contacts the terminal area side Ex of the cover glass 30 (see e.g. Figure 4 and note that the light guide contacts the terminal area side of 30 indirectly contacts or is in thermal contact with LG1),
a second side surface 1c (see e.g. paragraph [0039]) of the light guide plate LG1 (see e.g. paragraph [0038], Figure 4), the second side surface 1c being opposite to the first side surface 1d of the light guide plate LG1, is arranged with a plurality of light emitting diodes LD1 (see e.g. paragraph [0038], Figures 3, 4).
Numata et al. fails to disclose
first lenses are formed on the first side surface of the light guide plate,
round prisms which include a first round prism and a second round prism are formed on the second side surface of the light guide plate,
light emitted from the plurality of light emitting diodes enters the round prism of the light guide and exits through the first lens of the light guide,
a radius of curvature at an apex of the round prism is 0.01 mm or more,
a flat plane exists between the first round prism and the second round prism, and
a pitch of the round prisms in a first direction is larger than a width in the first direction of a round prism.
However, Masao discloses (see e.g. Figures 3-4):
first lenses 52 (denoted “output-side prism portions, see e.g. page 4, second full paragraph and Figure 4) are formed on the first side surface 30b (denoted “exit surface” see e.g. page 2, last full paragraph and Figure 4), of the light guide plate 30 (denoted “translucent base material”, see e.g. page 2, last full paragraph and Figure 4),
round prisms 42 (denoted “incident-side prism portions”, see e.g. page 4, first full paragraph and Figure 4) which include a first round prism 42 and a second round prism 42 (see e.g. Figure 4) are formed on the second side surface 30a (denoted “incident surface, see e.g. page 2, last full paragraph and Figure 4) of the light guide plate 30 (see e.g. Figure 4),
each of the round prisms 42 has a rounded apex (see e.g. Figure 4 for rounded apex) and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex (see e.g. Figure 4 for rounded apexes that are connected to straight lines on either side), in sectional view,
light emitted from the plurality of light emitting diodes 10 (see e.g. page 3, second full paragraph) enters the round prism 42 (i.e. on side 30a in Figure 4) of the light guide 30 and exits through the first lens 52 (i.e. on side 30b in Figure 4) of the light guide 30,
a flat plane exists between a first round prism 42 and a second round prism 42 (see e.g. Figure 4 and note there is a spacing between each prism 42).
a pitch of the round prisms 42 in a first direction is larger than a width in the first direction of a round prism 42 (see e.g. Figure 4 and note that the pitch between prisms 42 is larger than the width of 42).
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a configuration in which a radius of curvature at an apex of the round prism is 0.01 mm or more, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Given the teachings of Masao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Numata et al. with first lenses are formed on the first side surface of the light guide plate, round prisms which include a first round prism and a second round prism are formed on the second side surface of the light guide plate, each of the round prisms has a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view, light emitted from the plurality of light emitting diodes enters the round prism of the light guide and exits through the first lens of the light guide, a radius of curvature at an apex of the round prism is 0.01 mm or more, a flat plane exists between the first round prism and the second round prism, and a pitch of the round prisms in a first direction is larger than a width in the first direction of a round prism.
Providing the light guide plate with the surface structures would provide a light emitting device that has an improved evenness of luminance of the light emitted from the light emitting diodes (see e.g. abstract of Masao). Also, optimizing the size and orientation of the prisms in order to optimize the luminance evenness would be considered within ordinary skill in the art.
Numata et al., in view of Masao, fails to disclose
each of the round prisms is triangle shaped having a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view.
However, Song et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
each of the round prisms is triangle shaped having a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view (see e.g. Figure 1 and page 5, first paragraph for prism and 35 U.S.C. rejection above for claim interpretation).
Given the teachings of Song et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Numata et al., in view of Masao, with each of the round prisms is triangle shaped having a rounded apex and two straight lines connecting the rounded apex, in sectional view.
Using a prism with rounded apex and straight line sides would result in light that has high linearity and brightness (see e.g. abstract of Song et al.).
In regard to claim 2, Numata et al., in view of Masao, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the width in the first direction of the round prism is 80% to 95% of the pitch in the first direction of the round prisms.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a configuration in which the width in the first direction of the round prism is 80% to 95% of the pitch in the first direction of the round prisms, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Numata et al., in view of Masao, with wherein the width in the first direction of the round prism is 80% to 95% of the pitch in the first direction of the round prisms.
Optimizing the size and orientation of the prisms in order to optimize the luminance evenness would be considered within ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to claim 5, Numata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the first lenses are lenticular lenses.
However, Masao discloses (see e.g. Figures 3-4):
wherein the first lenses 52 are lenticular lenses (see e.g. Figure 4).
Given the teachings of Masao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Numata et al. with wherein the first lenses are lenticular lenses.
Providing the light guide plate with the surface structures would provide a light emitting device that has an improved evenness of luminance of the light emitted from the light emitting diodes (see e.g. abstract of Masao).
In regard to claim 6, Numata et al., in view of Masao discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a pitch of the round prisms is larger than a pitch of the first lenses.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein a pitch of the round prisms is larger than a pitch of the first lenses, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Numata et al., in view of Masao, with wherein a pitch of the round prisms is larger than a pitch of the first lenses.
Providing an optimized size of the input and output structures would provide a desired light distribution for a brighter display device.
In regard to claim 7, Numata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein an extending direction of the first lenses is same as an extending direction of the round prisms.
However, Masao discloses (see e.g. Figures 3-4):
wherein an extending direction of the first lenses 52 is same as an extending direction of the round prisms 42 (see e.g. Figures 3, 4 and note that the lenses and prisms both extend in 3 dimensions and thus have the same extending directions).
Given the teachings of Masao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Numata et al. with wherein an extending direction of the first lenses is same as an extending direction of the round prisms.
Providing the light guide plate with the surface structures would provide a light emitting device that has an improved evenness of luminance of the light emitted from the light emitting diodes (see e.g. abstract of Masao).
In regard to claim 13, Numata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the cover glass 30 is disposed on the opposing substrate SUB2 (see e.g. Figure 4).
In regard to claim 14, Numata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein a displayed image can be seen both from a side of the thin-film transistor substrate SUB1 and from a side of the opposing substrate SUB2 (see e.g. Figure 4 and note that an image may be displayed on both sides due to the transparency of the substrates).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871