DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
“and skipping a the certain band or the full-band PLMN search mechanism when the at least one second skip condition of the user terminal is present.” should be " and skipping a
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “determining if the user terminal is located on a coverage hole; reducing a searching frequency range for scanning higher priority frequencies when the user terminal is located on the coverage hole; and increasing a monitoring interval of monitoring lower priority frequencies by the RSSI sniffer, or disabling the RSSI sniffer when the user terminal is located on the coverage hole.”
The aforementioned claim is listed in the alternative, it is unclear what the method’s next step would be if the user terminal is not located on a coverage hole.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-3, 9, 11-14 and 17-18 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Taking Claim 1 as exemplary, a review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “mechanism for scanning received signal strength indication (RSSIs) of certain frequency bands or user terminal supported frequency bands when the at least one first skip condition of the user terminal is absent and no suitable cell of the network is searched within the searchable frequency of the frequency list” i.e., Para [0011] specifically define the means i.e., The processor 13 performs a full-band power scan mechanism for scanning received signal strength indications (RSSIs) of certain frequency bands or user terminal UE supported frequency bands when the at least one first skip condition of the user terminal UE is absent and no suitable cell of the network is searched within the searchable frequency of the frequency list. (Para 0011) .
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheikh et al. (US Publication No. 20230098894 A1 and Sheikh hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Sheikh discloses an out-of-service recovery search method for a user terminal (i.e. the UE 110 may be out of service and searching for a cell and/or PLMN on which to access network services. Thus, various components (e.g., NAS, AS, RRC, etc.) of the UE 110 may perform operations to prepare for cell selection and/or a PLMN search.) Para [0100] and (i.e. FIG. 9 shows a method 900) Para [0099], comprising: establishing a frequency list comprising at least one searchable frequency by the user terminal (i.e. the UE 110 prepares a list of bands to search. The list may be based on stored information such as, but not limited to, a preconfigured list of frequency bands per RAT, per PLMN, per MCC and information identifying frequency bands previously detected by the UE.) Para [0108]; searching a suitable cell of a network according to the frequency list by the user terminal when the user terminal is in an out-of-service state (i.e. the UE 110 initiates cell selection or PLMN search task preparation. For example, the UE 110 may be out of service and searching for a cell and/or PLMN on which to access network services. Thus, various components (e.g., NAS, AS, RRC, etc.) of the UE 110 may perform operations to prepare for cell selection and/or a PLMN search.) Para [0100]; determining at least one first skip condition of the user terminal (i.e. the UE to exclude descoped RATs and frequency bands that are no longer deployed from being considered during a frequency scan. When the UE 110 is aware that an operator in a certain country as turned off deployment of a certain RAT or does not use a specific band anymore in a certain RAT, the UE 110 may focus its search o more applicable band and RAT combinations instead of wasting time and power searching for potential cells on descoped RATs or bands that are no longer deployed by the operator.) Para [0093]; performing a full-band power scan mechanism for scanning received signal strength indication (RSSIs) of certain frequency bands (i.e. The frequency scan comprises the UE tuning to each channel in a list of supported channels and measuring the strength of a signal detected on that frequency, e.g., the reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each of the scanned channels. In this step, only the strength of signal (e.g., RSSI) is measured) Para [0042] or user terminal supported frequency bands when the at least one first skip condition of the user terminal is absent and no suitable cell of the network is searched within the searchable frequency of the frequency list; skipping the full-band power scan mechanism when the at least one first skip condition of the user terminal is present and no suitable cell of the network is searched within the searchable frequency of the frequency list (i.e. the UE 110 may avoid (i.e. the recited skipping) scanning descoped RATs. An example of this is shown in FIG. 7b where the UE 110 search pattern 750 includes performing a search on an LTE RAT and a GSM RAT at the same location within which the search pattern 710 was performed. In contrast to the search pattern 710, the UE 110 does not perform a search on the UMTS RAT since it has been descoped at this location. The exemplary embodiments may enable the UE 110 to conserve resources since the UE 110 does not spend time or battery power performing an unsuccessful cell search on descoped RAT.) Para [0098]; and performing an RSSI sniffer for scanning a signal power of each frequency of the searchable frequency according to the frequency list after the full-band power scan mechanism is skipped (i.e. A cell search refers to the procedure where a UE attempts to detect and decode a broadcast(e.g., SSB) from a network cell to obtain the parameters for accessing the cell. The cell search may be performed during both cell selection and PLMN search. In a first step of the cell search, the UE performs a frequency scan. The frequency scan comprises the UE tuning to each channel (i.e. frequency) in a list of supported channels and measuring the strength of a signal detected on that frequency, e.g., the reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each of the scanned channels. In this step, only the strength of signal (e.g., RSSI) is measured, i.e., no channel decoding is performed at this stage. After the scan, the UE determines a sub-list of candidate channels where the signal strength is higher than a threshold. This threshold value, e.g., RSSI threshold, may depend on UE implementation.) Para [0042].
Regarding Claim 17, Sheikh discloses all the limitations of claim 1 in system form rather than method form. Further Sheikh discloses a system (See whole Figure 1, element 100; i.e. The memory may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations performed by the UEs 110, 112. The I/O device may be a hardware component or ports that enable a user to interact with the gNB 120A. The transceiver may be a hardware component configured to exchange data with the UEs 110, 112 and any other UE in the system 100.) Para [0030]; and a network search procedure adaptor configured to control at least one search strategy (i.e. The processor 205 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines for the UE 110. For example, the engines may include a specific band search (SBS) engine 235 and a descoped avoidance engine 240. The SBS engine 235 may perform operations including, but not limited to, determining a list of frequencies to search in each phase of a two-phase SBS search, determining a search pattern to use based on a current UE scenario, performing the SBS in accordance with the selected search pattern, and other operations to be described in further detail below. The descoped avoidance engine 240 may perform operations including, but not limited to, identifying a descoped RAT, identifying a descoped frequency band and omitting the identified descoped RATs and/or frequency bands from different aspects of cell selection procedures.) Para [0035]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 18, Sheikh discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Sheikh discloses determining at least one second skip condition of the user terminal (i.e. If the particular search is unsuccessful, then the UE proceeds to a next search based on predefined rules and/or a selected search pattern) Para [0050].; performing a full-band public land mobile network (PLMN) search mechanism for searching the suitable cell of the network having an RSSI greater than an RSSI threshold when the at least one second skip condition is absent (i.e. a particular search (SICS, SBS1, SBS2) is described as being performed on a particular RAT (RAT-A, RAT-B, RAT-C, RAT-D). As detailed above, each of these searches includes a scanning of all frequencies on a list, and a generation of a sub-list including frequencies where a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is above some threshold.) Para [0050]; and skipping a the certain band or the full-band PLMN search mechanism when the at least one second skip condition of the user terminal is present (i.e. a particular search (SICS, SBS1, SBS2) is described as being performed on a particular RAT (RAT-A, RAT-B, RAT-C, RAT-D). As detailed above, each of these searches includes a scanning of all frequencies on a list, and a generation of a sub-list including frequencies where a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is above some threshold. After the generation of the sub-list, the UE may attempt to camp to a selected frequency. If the particular search is unsuccessful, then the UE proceeds to a next search based on predefined rules and/or a selected search pattern) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 19, Sheikh discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Sheikh discloses camping on the suitable cell of the network by the user terminal when the suitable cell of the network is successfully searched and validated (i.e. scanning of all frequencies on a list, and a generation of a sub-list including frequencies where a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is above some threshold. After the generation of the sub-list, the UE may attempt to camp to a selected frequency.) Para [0050]; and performing the RSSI sniffer for scanning the signal power of each frequency of the searchable frequency according to the frequency list when the at least one first skip condition or the at least one second skip condition is present (i.e. a particular search (SICS, SBS1, SBS2) is described as being performed on a particular RAT (RAT-A, RAT-B, RAT-C, RAT-D). As detailed above, each of these searches includes a scanning of all frequencies on a list, and a generation of a sub-list including frequencies where a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is above some threshold. After the generation of the sub-list, the UE may attempt to camp to a selected frequency. If the particular search is unsuccessful, then the UE proceeds to a next search based on predefined rules and/or a selected search pattern, as will be described in detail below.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 5, Sheikh discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Further Sheikh discloses setting the RSSI threshold (i.e. This threshold value, e.g., RSSI threshold, may depend on UE implementation.) Para [0042]; and acquiring RSSI variations of the certain frequency bands or the user terminal supported frequency bands during an observation time interval (i.e. The frequency scan comprises the UE tuning to each channel in a list of supported channels and measuring the strength of a signal detected on that frequency, e.g., the reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each of the scanned channels. In this step, only the strength of signal (e.g., RSSI) is measured, i.e., no channel decoding is performed at this stage. After the scan, the UE determines a sub-list of candidate channels where the signal strength is higher than a threshold. ) Para [0042]; wherein the least one second skip condition of skipping the certain band or the full-band PLMN search mechanism, is skipping the PLMN search mechanism when all RSSIs of the certain frequency bands or the user terminal supported frequency bands are smaller than the RSSI threshold, or the RSSI variations are substantially static (i.e. scanning of all frequencies on a list, and a generation of a sub-list including frequencies where a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is above some threshold. After the generation of the sub-list, the UE may attempt to camp to a selected frequency. If the particular search is unsuccessful, then the UE proceeds to a next search based on predefined rules and/or a selected search pattern, as will be described in detail below.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 6, Sheikh discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Sheikh discloses prioritizing at least one first specified frequency from the at least one searchable frequency; reducing a first monitoring interval of monitoring the at least one first specified frequency by the RSSI sniffer; deprioritizing at least one second specified frequency from the at least one searchable frequency; and increasing a second monitoring interval of monitoring the at least one second specified frequency by the RSSI sniffer (i.e. The cell search may be performed during both cell selection and PLMN search. In a first step of the cell search, the UE performs a frequency scan. The frequency scan comprises the UE tuning to each channel in a list of supported channels and measuring the strength of a signal detected on that frequency, e.g., the reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each of the scanned channels.) Para [0042] and (i.e. After determining this sub-list of candidate channels, the UE attempts to decode the PSS and SSS on each candidate frequency, which will allow the UE to acquire frequency and time synchronization and detect the physical cell ID for the network cell. The UE may then select a cell and/or beam and decode the PBCH MIB and the RMSI to extract the PLMN ID, cell selection parameters and RACH parameters. When the extracted PLMN ID matches a PLMN ID from a list of PLMNs available to the UE, the UE performs a cell selection procedure. ) Para [0043].
Regarding Claim 16, Sheikh discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Sheikh discloses updating the frequency list according to at least one recently camped on frequency, at least one high priority frequencies available on a coverage region of the user terminal, and/or at least one frequency of a weak radio link searched by a link tracking technology (i.e. the UE 110 determines a current RAT deployment based on stored information. For example, the NAS may get the current RAT deployment information from the application processor of the UE 110 for a particular PLMN or MCC based on a current location (e.g., APACS data) of the UE 110. At this time, the application processor may provide an updated descoped RAT list. If the application provides the updated list, the NAS updates the descoped RAT list with the list provided by the application processor.) Para [0102].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-15, and 20 are objected to being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Sheikh et al. (US Publication No. 20230098894 A1 and Sheikh hereinafter), the closest prior art made of record, relates to a user equipment (UE) configured to determine, for each radio access technology (RAT) of a plurality of RATs, a first list of bands on which a public land mobile network (PLMN) is expected to be deployed and a second list of bands including bands not included in the first list, wherein the first list is determined based on a region where the UE is currently located and PLMN deployment information, select a search pattern for performing a cell search based on a current UE scenario, perform a first phase of the cell search and when the first phase of the cell search is unsuccessful and no cell is selected, perform a second phase of the cell search by either scanning frequencies included in the second list of bands for the first priority RAT or scanning frequencies included in the first list of bands for a second priority RAT.
However, Sheikh fails to show “setting a skip time length; and recording a time period of the user terminal in the out-of-service state; wherein the at least one first skip condition of skipping the full-band power scan mechanism, is skipping the full-band power scan mechanism and the PLMN search mechanism when the time period is smaller than the skip time length; acquiring timing information before the user terminal is in the out-of-service state; and shortening a carrier search radio frequency (RF) window by the user terminal according to timing information when the suitable cell is detected by link tracking; wherein the timing information is acquired by recording at least one synchronization signal before entering the out-of-service state; labeling at least one frequency as at least one skipped frequency when no suitable cell is found or no suitable cell of the network is camped on for N-times; and resetting the at least one skipped frequency when the suitable cell of the network is camped on, or a time duration of labeling the at least one frequency expires; wherein N is a positive integer; determining if the user terminal is located on a coverage hole; reducing a searching frequency range for scanning higher priority frequencies when the user terminal is located on the coverage hole; and increasing a monitoring interval of monitoring lower priority frequencies by the RSSI sniffer, or disabling the RSSI sniffer when the user terminal is located on the coverage hole; a presence of the coverage hole is determined according to a variation of an RSSI of a monitored stable signal after the user terminal enters the out-of-service state, and when the RSSI of the monitored stable signal is decayed over a preset level, the user terminal is located on the coverage hole; using a link tracking technology for tracking a weak radio link by the user terminal; and adjusting a network search procedure adaptor according to the weak radio link; using the link tracking technology for tracking the weak radio link by the user terminal, is performing a technology of searching the network according to the frequency list, performing the full-band power scan mechanism, and/or performing a full-band public land mobile network (PLMN) search mechanism for tracking at least one detectable cell having the weak radio link; detecting a cell according to the weak radio link by the user terminal; acquiring cell information, cell quality, and system information for validating the cell when the cell is successfully detected; and camping on the weak radio link of the cell when the cell is successfully validated; controlling at least one search strategy by adjusting the network search procedure adaptor when the user terminal fails to camp on the weak radio link of the cell; and using the link tracking technology for re-tracking the weak radio link by the user terminal according to the at least one search strategy; controlling the at least one search strategy comprises: preferring the RSSI sniffer to scan the signal power of the each frequency of the searchable frequency; skipping the full-band power scan mechanism and a full-band public land mobile network (PLMN) search mechanism; and shortening a carrier search radio frequency (RF) window by the user terminal; the processor sets a skip time length, the processor records a time period of the user terminal in the out-of-service state, and the processor skips the full-band power scan mechanism and the PLMN search mechanism according to the at least one search strategy controlled by the network search procedure adaptor when the time period is smaller than the skip time length”… as claimed (supports in Specification Paragraphs [0027];[0030-0034]; [0042], for example.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheikh et al. (US 20230098894 A1) “Multi-Band Multi-RAT Cell Search” (March 30, 2023) suggests a user equipment (UE) configured to determine, for each radio access technology (RAT) of a plurality of RATs, a first list of bands on which a public land mobile network (PLMN) is expected to be deployed and a second list of bands including bands not included in the first list, wherein the first list is determined based on a region where the UE is currently located and PLMN deployment information, select a search pattern for performing a cell search based on a current UE scenario, perform a first phase of the cell search and when the first phase of the cell search is unsuccessful and no cell is selected, perform a second phase of the cell search by either scanning frequencies included in the second list of bands for the first priority RAT or scanning frequencies included in the first list of bands for a second priority RAT.
Kurth et al. (WO2023073036A1) “Method for efficiently selecting a coverage level on recovery from out of service in cellular systems” (May 4, 2023) suggests efficiently selecting a coverage level on recovery from out of service in cellular systems performed by UE. The objective of the invention to present a method, which allows a UE after lack of coverage to get again service to a PLMN as fast as possible, will be solved by repeating a PLMN search within a retry PLMN search time interval, which is the sum of an EARFCN scan duration, a Band scan duration and a sleep time duration, whereas the UE selects between three scan modes comprising a last-registered EARFCN scan mode, a previous- registered EARFCN scan mode and a Band scan mode, the UE selects said scan modes in this order, whereas the UE starts with the last-registered EARFCN scan mode and selects an extreme coverage level (ECL2) for PLMN scanning within the EARFCN scan duration, if no PLMN is found, the UE enters the previous-registered EARFCN scan mode and first recalculates a remaining EARFCN scan duration of the EARFCN scan duration and selects randomly a coverage level and a registered EARFCN from a registered EARFCN list for PLMN scanning, if no PLMN is found within the remaining EARFCN scan duration, the UE enters the Band scan mode and calculates the Band scan duration and a coverage level budget for each coverage level and performs a Band scan if the coverage level budget is enough for at least one Band scan, if no PLMN is found, the UE increments the retry PLMN search time interval by a retry PLMN scan factor and passes through the procedure again until an accepted PLMN is found.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647